ARCHIVED - Report on Fox Lake Cree Nation

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Name: Fox Lake Cree Nation
Location: Manitoba
Population: 232 on reserve; 1,162 total registered
Default status at time of audit: Not in default (2011-2012)
Current default status: Recipient Managed (2013-14)
Current Chief: Walter Spence
Time period covered by audit: April 1, 2010 to March 31, 2011
Amount of AANDC funding audited: $2,717,474

Background

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) selected the Fox Lake Cree Nation for a recipient audit in 2012-2013 based on their level of risk received as part of the 2011-12 general assessment process, and other risk factors.

This recipient audit was undertaken to:

This audit was selected as a joint audit with Health Canada and was conducted by Spearhead Management Canada Limited in January 2013.

Findings

The audit found that for the 2010-2011 fiscal year, the recipient complied with the non-financial Terms and Conditions of the Contribution Agreement except in respect to the reporting requirements. The auditor determined that the funds reviewed were expended for the purposes for which they secured. The audit identified an amount of $4,426 payable to the recipient for eligible expenditures.

Program Administration

The audit examined program administration policies and processes and found that adequate program administration controls were in place. Observations included:

  • The Band follows a custom election process where the Chief and Council stay in office until they are dismissed based on the wishes of Band Members. A motion for a new election may be made at the Band meeting which is held every three months. While Band meeting attendance is low, there is general satisfaction with the election process.
  • As part of the organizational structure, AANDC programs are delivered by Program Managers who report to the Director of Operations, who in turn, reports to the Chief and Council.
  • Work plans have been developed in accordance with the Agreement, approved by the Region and implemented. Performance expectations are clearly stated and the objectives set are clear.
  • Changes to the activities and/or programs were discussed with AANDC and approved in accordance with the terms of the Agreement.
  • The recipient has implemented an appropriate governance structure to support program delivery. The Program Managers develop their program plans based on the budget allocation received from AANDC. They meet with the other Coordinators and the Band Manager to integrate their plans, and the completed budget is forwarded to the Chief and Council for information.
  • The recipient has access to qualified resources with the expertise and capacity to deliver the Programs and services identified in the Agreement. The staff members are accredited in their own fields and receive ongoing training to maintain their level of expertise.
  • While the recipient has sound business practices and formal policies and procedures related to the AANDC programs have been implemented and support the program delivery, certain manuals to support personnel in their activities are out of date and should to be revised to match the current work environment.

Financial Management

The audit examined the recipient's financial controls to ensure cost-effective service delivery and effective operation, and found that adequate financial controls were in place. Observations included:

  • Program budgets have been developed and are monitored through monthly financial reports that are presented to Chief and Council. However, the general ledger and year end financial statements were not set up in accordance with the various programs listed in the AANDC Contribution Agreement, thereby making it difficult to generate reports and monitor budgets by program.
  • Expenditures were supported by acceptable invoices and by evidence of work performed or goods received, and payment was issued in accordance with the specific terms and conditions of the programs.
  • Monthly bank reconciliations were performed.
  • There is an appropriate segregation of duties to record and approve financial transactions.
  • While the recipient has implemented and follows an internal travel directive, accommodations claims unsupported by receipts are not in line with what is considered reasonable for AANDC funds. Travel claims have been adjusted accordingly.
  • Expenditures were properly accounted for on the general ledger, incurred within the timeframe of the Agreement, paid for, reasonable, supported by appropriate evidence, and related to the activities of the programs.
  • Documentation supporting the sample of transactions selected for examination as part of our audit was readily available and any additional information requested was submitted on a timely basis.

Management Reporting System

The audit examined the reporting systems that the recipient put in place to ensure the adequacy of the information used to support the decision-making process. Observations included:

  • The Recipient has developed procedures to support the preparation of reports using the financial system in place.
  • The information maintained and reported by the Fox Lake Cree Nation for the fiscal year 2010-2011 was adequate but failed to match the format identified in the Contribution Agreement. AANDC has acknowledged that the Programs supported by the Agreement have been delivered, notwithstanding the fact they have not been reported on properly.
  • External auditors did not provide a qualified or denial of opinion on the recipient's audited financial statements.

Recommendations

The auditor provided recommendations in the following areas:

Program Administration

  • The recipient should update the Code of Conduct Manual, the Financial Administration Manual and the Administrative Policy Manual and make them available to staff once they have been approved by the Chief and Council.

Financial Management

  • The recipient should set up the chart of accounts in line with the programs identified in the Agreement to facilitate the generation of reports and support a more efficient monitoring process.
  • The recipient should ensure that accommodation allowances paid to travelers are in line with the National Joint Council Travel Directive.

Management Reporting System

  • The recipient should report expenditures in accordance with the budget lines identified in the Contribution Agreement.

Current Status

A copy of the final report has been sent to the recipient.

Following receipt of the final Recipient Audit report, a review of additional information revealed a subsequent payment of $7,500 made to the recipient. This reverses the amount owing to the recipient and results in a recoverable amount of $3,074 owing to Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Rapport sur Fox Lake Cree Nation

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Nom : Nation crie de Fox Lake (site Web disponible en anglais seulement)
Lieu : Manitoba
Population : 232 dans la réserve; 1 162 inscrits au total
État des manquements au moment de la vérification : Pas de manquement (2011-2012)
État actuel des manquements : Gestion par le bénéficiaire (2013-2014)
Chef actuel : Walter Spence
Période couverte par la vérification : du 1er avril 2010 au 31 mars 2011
Montant du financement d'AADNC vérifié : 2 717 474 $

Contexte

Affaires Autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a choisi Fox Lake Cree Nation pour faire l'objet d'une vérification du bénéficiaire en 2012-2013 en raison du résultat obtenu lors de l'évaluation des risques 2011-2012 et d'autres facteurs de risque.

La vérification de ce bénéficiaire consiste à :

Cette vérification a été sélectionnée pour être conjointement faite avec Santé Canada et a été menée par Spearhead Management Canada Ltée en janvier 2013.

Constatations

Les vérificateurs ont constaté que pour l'exercice 2010-2011, le bénéficiaire s'est conformé aux conditions non financières de l'accord de contribution, sauf en ce qui a trait aux exigences en matière de rapports. Les vérificateurs ont déterminé que les fonds ayant fait l'objet de l'examen avaient été dépensés pour les fins auxquelles ils étaient destinés. On a constaté qu'un montant de 4 426 $ était dû au bénéficiaire au titre des dépenses admissibles.

Administration des programmes

Les vérificateurs ont examiné les politiques et les processus d'administration des programmes et ont constaté que des mesures de contrôle administratif suffisantes étaient en place. Les observations comprennent ce qui suit :

  • La bande suit un processus électoral coutumier selon lequel le chef et les membres du conseil conservent leur poste tant et aussi longtemps que les membres de la bande le souhaitent. Une motion visant à déclencher une élection peut être présentée lors de la réunion de la bande qui se tient tous les trois mois. Même si la participation aux réunions de la bande est faible, on constate que les membres sont en général satisfaits du processus électoral.
  • Dans le cadre de la structure organisationnelle, les programmes d'AADNC sont exécutés par des gestionnaires de programme qui relèvent du directeur des Opérations; ce dernier relève directement du chef et des membres du conseil.
  • Des plans de travail ont été élaborés conformément à ce qui est indiqué dans l'accord et ils ont été mis en œuvre. Les attentes au point de vue du rendement sont clairement énoncées et les objectifs établis sont clairs.
  • Des modifications aux activités ou aux programmes ont fait l'objet de discussions avec AADNC et ont été approuvées, conformément aux modalités de l'accord.
  • Le bénéficiaire a mis en œuvre une structure de gouvernance appropriée à l'appui de la prestation des programmes. Les gestionnaires de programmes élaborent leurs propres plans en fonction des enveloppes budgétaires reçues d'AADNC. Ils se réunissent avec les autres coordonnateurs ainsi qu'avec l'administrateur de la bande en vue de l'intégration de leurs plans, et le budget, une fois achevé, est transmis au chef et aux membres du conseil à titre d'information.
  • Le bénéficiaire a accès à des ressources compétentes, dotées d'une expertise et d'une capacité à fournir les programmes et les services décrits dans l'accord. Les membres du personnel sont accrédités dans leur domaine de spécialisation, et reçoivent une formation continuelle en vue de conserver leur niveau d'expertise.
  • Le bénéficiaire s'est doté de pratiques rigoureuses, ayant mis en place des politiques et des procédures officielles en ce qui a trait aux programmes d'AADNC et à l'appui de la prestation de ces derniers. Cependant, certains guides visant à appuyer le personnel dans le cadre de ses activités sont désuets et gagneraient à être révisés afin de mieux correspondre à l'environnement de travail actuel.

Gestion financière

Les vérificateurs ont examiné les mesures de contrôle financier du bénéficiaire afin de s'assurer de la rentabilité de la prestation des services et de l'efficacité de leur fonctionnement; ils ont constaté que des mesures de contrôle financier adéquates étaient en place. Les observations comprennent ce qui suit :

  • Les budgets des programmes ont été élaborés et font l'objet d'une surveillance mensuelle au moyen de rapports financiers qui sont présentés au chef et au conseil. Toutefois, il a été constaté que le grand livre et les états financiers de fin d'exercice n'ont pas été établis conformément aux divers programmes énumérés dans l'accord de contribution d'AADNC, ce qui rend plus complexe la production des rapports et la surveillance des budgets par programme.
  • Les dépenses étaient justifiées par des factures acceptables ainsi que par des preuves que les travaux avaient été réalisés ou les marchandises avaient été reçues, et les paiements avaient été effectués conformément aux modalités des programmes.
  • Les rapprochements bancaires mensuels ont été effectués.
  • Une ségrégation appropriée des tâches relatives à l'inscription et à l'approbation des transactions financières a été constatée.
  • Même si le bénéficiaire a mis en œuvre et respecte une directive interne sur les voyages, des demandes de remboursement de frais de logement, non justifiées par des reçus, ne correspondent pas aux limites jugées raisonnables pour les fonds fournis par AADNC. Les demandes de remboursement de frais de voyage ont été corrigées en conséquence.
  • Les dépenses étaient comptabilisées correctement dans le grand livre; elles avaient été effectuées dans les délais prévus dans l'accord, avaient été payées, étaient raisonnables, étayées par des pièces justificatives appropriées, et avaient trait aux activités des programmes.
  • La documentation à l'appui de l'échantillon de transactions choisi en vue de l'examen dans le cadre de la vérification était facilement accessible, et tous les renseignements additionnels demandés ont été fournis en temps utile.

Système de rapports de gestion

Les vérificateurs ont examiné le système de rapports mis en place par le bénéficiaire afin de s'assurer de l'adéquation des renseignements utilisés à l'appui du processus de décision. Les observations comprennent ce qui suit :

  • Le bénéficiaire a élaboré des procédures à l'appui de la préparation des rapports en se servant du système financier en place.
  • Les renseignements conservés et déclarés par Fox Lake Cree Nation pour l'exercice 2010-2011 étaient adéquats, mais ne respectaient pas le format décrit dans l'accord de contribution. AADNC a reconnu que les programmes appuyés par l'accord avaient été exécutés, malgré le fait qu'ils n'avaient pas fait l'objet de rapports appropriés.
  • Des vérificateurs externes n'ont pas formulé d'opinion avec réserve, ni établi l'impossibilité d'exprimer une opinion sur les états financiers vérifiés du bénéficiaire.

Recommandations

Les vérificateurs ont formulé des recommandations dans les domaines suivants :

Administration des programmes

  • Le bénéficiaire devrait mettre à jour le Code de conduite, le Manuel d'administration financière ainsi que le Manuel de la politique administrative et les mettre à la disposition du personnel suite à leur approbation par le chef et les membres du conseil.

Gestion financière

  • Le bénéficiaire devrait mettre en place le plan comptable conformément aux programmes mentionnés dans l'accord afin de faciliter la production de rapports et d'améliorer l'efficacité du processus de surveillance.
  • Le bénéficiaire devrait voir à ce que les allocations de logement versées aux voyageurs concordent avec la Directive sur les voyages du Conseil national mixte.

Système de rapports de gestion

  • Le bénéficiaire doit déclarer les dépenses conformément aux postes budgétaires prévus dans l'accord de contribution.

État actuel

Une copie du rapport final a été envoyée au bénéficiaire.

Après réception du rapport de vérification du bénéficiaire, un examen de renseignements supplémentaires a révélé qu'un paiement de 7 500 $ a été versé au bénéficiaire. Cela annule le montant dû au bénéficiaire et se traduit par un montant recouvrable de 3 074 $, payable à Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

Date de modification :