ARCHIVED - Drinking Water, Wastewater, and Sources of Drinking Water: Summary of Northwest Territories' Regulations

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Introduction

While all provinces and territories have laws governing drinking water and wastewater management, there is no regulatory regime governing the same on First Nation lands. The Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act (the Act), which came into force on November 1, 2013, allows for the development of federal regulations to close this regulatory gap so that residents on First Nation lands have comparable levels of health and safety protections for drinking water as other Canadians.

Subsections 5(3) and 5(4) of the Act allow for regulations made under this Act to incorporate by reference laws of the province/territory, with adaptations to address the realities on First Nation lands. One set of regulations will be developed for each region, to harmonize as much as possible with each province's/territories' specific mechanisms for regulating water and wastewater.

The purpose of this summary is to present the 11 essential regulatory components under the Act. These components have been identified by AANDC, Health Canada, and the Department of Justice as essential to meeting the Act's objective of protecting public health. The summary maps the 11 essential regulatory components against relevant provincial/territorial acts and regulations. These acts and regulations are under consideration for incorporation into federal regulations to be made under the Act. Feedback provided by First Nation leadership, their technical experts, and other stakeholders on this summary will help inform the drafting of federal regulations for the relevant region.

Disclaimer

This summary has been prepared by a third party. It does not represent the Government of Canada's official position on the content of federal regulations to be developed under the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act, nor does it represent any position of the territorial government.

Similarly, in no way should this summary be relied on as constituting legal advice of the Government of Canada, nor does it provide a complete description of the content of the province's drinking water and wastewater regulatory regime. Any errors or inaccuracies are not intentional, and the Government of Canada is not responsible for anything resulting from the reader's use of, or reliance on, these materials.

1. Key Essential Regulatory Component: Protecting sources of drinking water

The Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act, Section 4(1)(b)

Sources of drinking water need to be protected from contamination. Drinking-water sources in particular need to be protected with the view to protecting human health.  Regulatory requirements must protect sources of drinking water from potential sources of contamination, such as requiring minimum distances between wells and septic systems. 

Territorial Acts and Regulations under Consideration

Rationale:

Water Supply Systems Regulation states that an operator or prospective operator seeking the Chief Public Health Officer's approval of a water source must provide satisfactory evidence that the quantity of water available is adequate to supply the water demand (including the firefighting demands of the users of the water system, and a reasonable surplus anticipated growth) and it is practicable to convert it to drinking water.

2. Key Essential Regulatory Component: Location, design, construction, modification, maintenance, operation, and decommissioning of drinking water and wastewater systems

The Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act, Sections 4(1)(c) and 4(1)(e)

Drinking water systems need to be located, designed, constructed, modified, maintained, and operated in accordance with applicable standards so that the drinking water they produce is safe, clean, and reliable.  The same principle applies to wastewater systems.  Wastewater needs to be treated effectively.  These requirements are typically detailed in permits, sometimes known as approvals.  All provincial and territorial governments in Canada require some form of permit for drinking water and wastewater systems. 

Territorial Acts and Regulations under Consideration

Rationale:

Public Health Act authorizes the Chief Public Health Officer to approve water sources for water supply systems.

Public Sewerage Systems Regulation detail design requirements for sewers and sewer pumping stations, including that the design must be adequate to ensure that the gathering, treatment, and disposal of sewage does not create a health hazard. 

Water Supply Systems Regulation requires that a professional engineer certifies any construction, alteration, or modification of a water supply system, and authorizes the Chief Public Health Officer to approve the operation of a water supply system before operation begins.

3. Key Essential Regulatory Component: Distribution of drinking water and collection of wastewater by truck

The Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act, Sections 4(1)(d) and 4(1)(f)

In rural, low-density areas, distribution of drinking water can occur by tanker truck and stored in tanks or cisterns. Similarly, sewage removal by tanker truck from household holding tanks and delivery to treatment facilities may also occur. First Nation communities are often small, remote, and rural and sometimes use these systems. These types of delivery and removal systems may also be used if there is a disruption in normal operations. Regulations will allow for the development of enforceable standards for the construction, operation, and maintenance of equipment associated with bulk transport of drinking water and wastewater. 

Territorial Acts and Regulations under Consideration

Rationale:

Water Supply Systems Regulation regulates the distribution and storage of water by truck and by pipe, including the source of the drinking water, design of the truck equipment, and the operation and maintenance of the trucks and other equipment.

4. Key Essential Regulatory Component: Training and certification of operators

The Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act, Section 4(1)(a)

Those responsible for the day-to-day operation and maintenance of drinking water and wastewater systems must have the appropriate training and certification.  Requirements for the training and certification of operators must be included within regulations and must be proportional to the facility's complexity.  Provincial and territorial certification requirements are well established in Canada and can be supported by successful training initiatives such as the Circuit Rider Training Program.  Hub-models, wherein a certified operator has responsibility for operating and managing more than one system, should be allowable.

Territorial Acts and Regulations under Consideration

Rationale:

Water Supply Systems Regulation requires that water supply systems are to be operated by a person with the proper certifications, in accordance with the GNWT "Water and Wastewater Operator Certification Guidelines".The Water Supply Systems Regulation gives the Chief Public Health Officer the authority to approve the daily operation, control and management of a water supply system by a foreperson who does not have the proper certification if:

5. Key Essential Regulatory Component: Treatment standards

The Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act, Sections 4(1)(f) and 4(2)

Treatment standards are required to manage the risk from hazards that may compromise public health and safety.  Regulations must allow for the authority to set standards for physical, chemical, biological and radiological parameters.  With respect to drinking water quality, the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality is endorsed by a federal-territorial-provincial committee and will be used as a basis for drinking-water quality standards. There will be a need to consider variations to meet local needs for some values, such as total dissolved solids, that are more aesthetic than health-based. Discussions with provinces and territories are needed to determine how the regulation of wastewater treatment standards may change in light of the recent coming into force of the Wastewater Systems Effluent Regulations (SOR/2012-139).

Territorial Acts and Regulations under Consideration

Rationale:

Water Supply Systems Regulation states that the standards governing the sampling, testing, treatment and quality of water are set out in the schedule of this RegulationFootnote 1, including the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality, published by the Health Canada, which are officially adopted under this regulation, and the standard operating procedures for the sampling testing, treatment and quality of water approved by the Chief Public Health Officer.

6. Key Essential Regulatory Component: Monitoring, sampling, and testing

The Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act, Sections, 4(1)(g), 4(3)(a), and 5(1)(k)

Monitoring is undertaken to determine whether a system is performing at the appropriate level based on its design. For drinking water, monitoring covers water quality and treatment performance, including source water, process performance, treated water, and distribution system quality. Discussion with provinces and territories are needed to determine how the treatment, monitoring, sampling, and testing of wastewater may be influenced by the recently enacted Federal Wastewater Systems Effluent Regulations (SOR/2012-139).

Territorial Acts and Regulations under Consideration

Rationale:

Water Supply System Regulation states that the standards governing the sampling, testing, treatment and quality of water are set out in the schedule of this Regulation, including the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality, published by Health Canada, which are officially adopted under this regulation, and the standard operating procedures for the sampling testing, treatment and quality of water approved by the Chief Public Health Officer.

7. Key Essential Regulatory Component: Collection, recording, and reporting of information

The Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act, Sections 4(1)(g), 4(3)(a), and 5(1)(k)(l)

The collection, recording, and reporting of information is covered to varying degrees in provincial and territorial regulatory regimes. The collection and recording of information is required to evaluate compliance with standards. For consideration in proposed regulations is a requirement for the reporting of water quality to consumers.

Territorial Acts and Regulations under Consideration

Rationale:

Water Supply System Regulation states that operators, water supply forepersons and water supply workers must maintain records and comply with the reporting requirements in the Public Health Act and the regulation and the direction of the Public Health Officer.

8. Key Essential Regulatory Component: Handling, use, and disposal of wastewater treatment products

The Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act, Section 4(1)(h)

The primary health hazards associated with wastewater treatment products are excreta-related pathogens, some vector-borne diseases and certain chemicals. Pathogens can survive long enough to be transmitted viably to people and some pathogens can survive long enough to multiply. Requirements for the handling, use and disposal of wastewater treatment products must be designed to protect public health and the environment. Where wastewater treatment products are used, rules are also needed. 

Territorial Acts and Regulations under Consideration

To be confirmed in consultation with the Territorial government.

Rationale:

Not yet identified within the Territories’ Act and regulations

9. Key Essential Regulatory Component: Emergency measures in response to the contamination of drinking water

The Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act, Section 4(3)(c)

It is in the most stressful of circumstances that clearly defined roles and responsibilities of various partners is most crucial, and a good regulatory regime will spell out this obligation to communicate potential hazards/contamination events. Communication of potential hazards is a key step in protecting those that may be in harm's way, and in the event of possible or confirmed water contamination or water-borne illness event, there will be little time for determining roles and responsibilities.

Territorial Acts and Regulations under Consideration

Rationale:

Public Health Act authorizes the Chief Public Health Officer to issue any advisory, bulletin or warning that is considered necessary in respect of drinking water, a water source, or a water supply system.

Water Supply System Regulation (NWT Reg 108-2009) states that the Chief Health Officer may order the closure or cessation of operations of a water supply system.

10. Key Essential Regulatory Component: Mechanisms and verification of compliance with the regulations

The Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act, Sections 4(3)(b) and 5

Mechanisms for ensuring compliance with regulations, e.g. audits, inspections, monitoring by the regulator or third-party, are needed to determine if standards are met, and enforcement mechanisms are a necessary part of the regulations.  Careful consideration of the most effective ways of ensuring compliance with regulations in First Nation communities will need to take place to ensure emphasis is placed on prevention, rather than penalty. Compliance issues will be handled on a case by case basis and adapted to account for the realities in First Nation communities.  Where there is no immediate risk of harm, the primary focus will be on working together to achieve compliance.

Territorial Acts and Regulations under Consideration

Rationale:

The Public Health Act authorizes the Minister of Health and Social Services to appoint the Chief Public Health Officer, and describes the duty and powers of the Chief Health Officer.  It details the duties of public health officers, who have the same authority as peace officers.

Public Sewerage Systems Regulation authorizes the Chief Public Health Inspector to inspect public sewerage systems and the authority to issue direction regarding non-compliance.

The Water Supply System Regulations state the duty to comply with the regulation for water supply system operators.  The regulations do not apply to a water supply system that serves five or fewer households.

11. Key Essential Regulatory Component: Appeal mechanisms

The Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act, Section 9

Regulations would require a mechanism for appeals.  Appeal tribunals provide a mechanism to assure some checks and balances with appropriate public involvement surrounding regulatory decision-making. Appeals may be brought by the regulated community or others affected by the decisions of the regulator.

Territorial Acts and Regulations under Consideration

Rationale:

The Public Health Act states that health hazard orders may be appealed to the Supreme Court.

Public Sewerage Systems Regulation states that and operator may appeal to the Minister of Health and Social Services after an order to close a public sewerage system is handed.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Regarding the Schedule within Water Supply System Regulation (NWT Reg 108-2009): "The summary table set out in the Schedule to these regulations may be viewed by appointment at the office of the Registrar of Regulations located on 4th Floor of the Courthouse, Legislation Division, Yellowknife (867) 873-7462."

Return to first footnote 1 referrer

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Eau potable, eaux usées et sources d'eau potable : Résumé des règlements des Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Introduction

Alors que les provinces et les territoires ont tous des lois régissant la gestion de l'eau potable et des eaux usées, aucune réglementation ne s'applique aux terres des Premières Nations. La Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations (la Loi), entrée en vigueur le 1er novembre 2013, permet de prendre des règlements fédéraux pour combler ce vide juridique, afin que les personnes résidant sur les terres des Premières Nations jouissent, en matière d'eau potable, de protections de la santé et de la sécurité comparables à celles des autres Canadiens.

Les paragraphes 5(3) et 5(4) de la Loi permettent que les règlements pris incorporent par renvoi tout texte législatif d'une province et d'un territoire, et que des adaptations pour tenir compte des réalités des terres des Premières Nations y soient apportées. On élaborera pour chaque région un ensemble de règlements qui s'harmonisera le plus possible avec les mécanismes de réglementation de l'eau et des eaux usées de chaque province ou territoire.

Ce résumé a pour but de présenter 11 éléments de réglementation essentiels en vertu de la Loi. AADNC, Santé Canada et Justice Canada ont déterminé que ces éléments étaient essentiels pour réaliser l'objectif de la Loi de protéger la santé du public. Le résumé présente les 11 éléments de réglementation essentiels par rapport aux lois et règlements provinciaux et territoriaux pertinents. Ces lois et règlements sont examinés en vue de leur incorporation possible dans les règlements fédéraux qui seront conçus en vertu de la Loi. La rétroaction que fourniront les dirigeants des Premières Nations, leurs experts techniques et d'autres intervenants au sujet du résumé aidera à orienter la rédaction des règlements fédéraux de la région visée.

Avertissement

Le présent résumé a été établi par un tiers. Il n'exprime ni la position officielle du gouvernement du Canada quant à la teneur des règlements fédéraux à prendre en vertu de la Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations, ni celle du gouvernement territorial.

Le résumé ne doit en aucun cas être considéré comme un avis juridique du gouvernement du Canada, et il ne constitue pas une description complète du régime réglementaire provincial sur l'eau potable et les eaux usées. Les erreurs ou inexactitudes ne sont pas intentionnelles, et le gouvernement du Canada n'est pas responsable des problèmes qui pourraient résulter de l'utilisation de ce document.

1. Élément de réglementation essentiel : protection des sources d'eau potable

Alinéa 4(1)(b) de la Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations

Il faut protéger les sources d'eau contre la contamination, en particulier les sources d'eau potable afin de protéger la santé humaine. Les exigences réglementaires doivent garantir la source d'eau contre d'éventuelles contaminations, par exemple en établissant des distances minimales entre les puits et les installations septiques.

Lois et règlements du territoire examinés

Explication :

Le Règlement sur les réseaux d'aqueduc précise que l'exploitant ou l'exploitant potentiel qui demande l'approbation d'une source d'eau par l'administrateur en chef de la santé publique doit fournir une preuve satisfaisante selon laquelle la quantité d'eau disponible est suffisante pour satisfaire la demande en eau (y compris les besoins de la lutte contre les incendies par les utilisateurs du réseau, et une provision excédentaire pour tenir compte de la croissance prévue de la demande) et qu'il est possible de convertir l'eau de cette source en eau potable.

2. Élément de réglementation essentiel : emplacement, conception, construction, modification, entretien, exploitation et désaffectation des systèmes d'alimentation en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées

Alinéas 4(1)(c) et 4(1)(e) de la Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations

Les systèmes d'alimentation en eau potable doivent être situés, conçus, construits, modifiés, entretenus et exploités conformément aux normes applicables afin que l'eau potable qu'ils produisent soit salubre, propre et fiable. Les mêmes exigences s'appliquent aux systèmes de traitement des eaux usées, qui doivent traiter les eaux usées de manière efficace. Ces exigences sont habituellement précisées dans les permis, parfois appelés approbations. Tous les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada exigent un permis quelconque à l'égard des systèmes d'alimentation en eau et de traitement des eaux usées. 

Lois et règlements du territoire examinés

Explication :

La Loi sur la santé publique autorise l'administrateur en chef de la santé publique à approuver les sources d'eau pour les systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau.

Le Règlement sur les réseaux d'égouts publics précise les exigences de conception des égouts et des postes de pompage d'égout, et il énonce que la conception doit être suffisante pour garantir que la collecte, le traitement et l'élimination des eaux usées ne créent pas un danger pour la santé.

Le Règlement sur les réseaux d'aqueduc exige qu'un ingénieur certifie toute construction, transformation ou modification d'un système d'approvisionnement en eau, et autorise l'administrateur en chef de la santé publique d'approuver l'exploitation d'un système d'alimentation en eau avant le début de son exploitation.

3. Élément de réglementation essentiel : distribution d'eau potable et collecte des eaux usées par camion

Alinéas 4(1)(d) et 4(1)(f) de la Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations

Dans les régions rurales peu peuplées, l'eau potable peut être distribuée au moyen de camions-citernes et stockée dans des réservoirs ou des citernes, tout comme les eaux usées des fosses septiques peuvent être collectées par camions-citernes pour être acheminées vers des installations de traitement. Les collectivités des Premières Nations étant souvent de petite taille, éloignées et situées en milieu rural, elles utilisent parfois ces systèmes de distribution et de collecte, qui peuvent aussi être employés dans les cas d'interruption des services réguliers. Les règlements permettront d'élaborer des normes applicables à la construction, à l'exploitation et à l'entretien de l'équipement utilisé pour le transport en vrac de l'eau potable et des eaux usées. 

Lois et règlements du territoire examinés

Explication :

Le Règlement sur les réseaux d'aqueduc réglemente la distribution et le stockage de l'eau par camion et par canalisations, y compris la source de l'eau potable, de la conception de l'équipement de camions, et l'exploitation et l'entretien des camions et d'autres équipements.

4. Élément de réglementation essentiel : formation et accréditation des opérateurs

Alinéa 4(1)(a) de la Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations

Les responsables de l'exploitation et de l'entretien au quotidien des systèmes d'alimentation en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées doivent avoir reçu la formation et détenir les accréditations appropriées. Les exigences relatives à la formation et à l'accréditation des opérateurs doivent être incluses dans les règlements et doivent prendre en compte la complexité de l'installation. Les exigences provinciales et territoriales relatives à l'accréditation sont bien définies au Canada et peuvent être appuyées par des initiatives de formation qui ont fait leurs preuves, comme le programme de formation itinérante. Les modèles centralisés où un opérateur accrédité exploite et gère plusieurs systèmes à la fois devraient être autorisés. 

Lois et règlements du territoire examinés

Explication :

Le Règlement sur les réseaux d'aqueduc exige que les systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau soient exploités par une personne ayant les accréditations appropriées, conformément aux «Lignes directrices sur l'accréditation des opérateurs d'installations de traitement de l'eau potable et des eaux usées» du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le Règlement sur les réseaux d'aqueduc donne également à l'administrateur en chef de la santé publique le pouvoir d'approuver l'exploitation, le contrôle et la gestion quotidiens d'un système d'approvisionnement en eau par un contremaître qui ne possède pas la bonne certification si :

5. Élément de réglementation essentiel : normes de traitement

Alinéa 4(1)(f) et paragraphe 4(2) de la Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations

Des normes de traitement sont requises pour gérer les risques de santé et de sécurité publiques. Les règlements doivent autoriser l'établissement de normes applicables à des paramètres physiques, chimiques, biologiques et radiologiques. On se fondera sur les Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada, approuvées par un comité fédéral-provincial-territorial, pour définir les normes relatives à la qualité de l'eau. Afin de répondre aux besoins locaux, il faudra en outre admettre des variations de certaines valeurs, par exemple la quantité acceptable de matières dissoutes totales, qui sont établies en fonction de considérations davantage esthétiques que sanitaires. En matière d'eaux usées, il faudra discuter avec les provinces et les territoires pour déterminer de quelle façon la réglementation des normes relatives au traitement pourra être modifiée par le Règlement sur les effluents des systèmes d'assainissement des eaux usées (DORS/2012-139) récemment entré en vigueur.

Lois et règlements du territoire examinés

Explication :

Le Règlement sur les réseaux d'aqueduc indique que les normes régissant l'échantillonnage, les tests, le traitement et la qualité de l'eau sont précisés à l'annexe du règlementNote de bas de la page 1, y compris les Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable canadienne, publiées par Santé Canada, qui sont officiellement adoptées en vertu du présent la réglementation et les procédures d'utilisation normalisées pour les essais d'échantillonnage, le traitement et la qualité de l'eau approuvés par l'administrateur en chef de la santé publique.

Alinéas 4(1)(g), 4(3)(a) et 5(1)(k) de la Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations

La surveillance vise à déterminer si un système donne le rendement prévu. Dans le cas d'un système d'alimentation en eau potable, la surveillance porte sur la qualité de l'eau et le rendement du traitement, y compris la qualité des sources d'approvisionnement, le rendement des divers procédés, la qualité de l'eau traitée et la qualité du système de distribution. Dans le cas d'un système de traitement des eaux usées, il faudra discuter avec les provinces et les territoires pour déterminer dans quelle mesure le traitement, la surveillance, l'échantillonnage et l'analyse des eaux usées seront influencés par le Règlement sur les effluents des systèmes d'assainissement des eaux usées (DORS/2012-139) récemment adopté par le gouvernement fédéral.

Lois et règlements du territoire examinés

Explication :

Le Règlement sur les réseaux d'aqueduc indique que les normes régissant l'échantillonnage, les tests, le traitement et la qualité de l'eau sont précisées à l'annexe du présent règlement, qui comprend les Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada, publiées par Santé Canada, qui sont officiellement adoptées en vertu du règlement, et les procédures d'exploitation normalisées pour les essais d'échantillonnage, le traitement et la qualité de l'eau approuvées par l'administrateur en chef de la santé publique.

7. Élément de réglementation essentiel : collecte, consignation et communication de renseignements

Alinéas 4(1)(g) et 4(3)(a) et sous-alinéa 5(1)(k)(I) de la Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations

Les régimes de réglementation provinciaux et territoriaux abordent à des degrés divers la collecte, la consignation et la communication de renseignements. La collecte et la consignation des renseignements sont nécessaires pour évaluer le respect des normes. Il est envisagé d'exiger dans la réglementation la communication de renseignements sur la qualité de l'eau aux consommateurs.

Lois et règlements du territoire examinés

Explication :

Le Règlement sur les réseaux d'aqueduc précise que les opérateurs, les contremaîtres et les travailleurs de l'approvisionnement en eau doivent tenir des registres et se conformer aux exigences de déclaration de la Loi sur la santé publique et la réglementation et les directives de l'administrateur de la santé publique.

8. Élément de réglementation essentiel : manipulation, utilisation et élimination des substances résultant du traitement des eaux usées

Alinéa 4(1)(h) de la Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations

Les principaux dangers pour la santé que présentent les substances résultant du traitement des eaux usées sont les pathogènes issus des matières fécales, certaines maladies à transmission vectorielle et certains produits chimiques. Les pathogènes peuvent survivre suffisamment longtemps pour être transmis à des personnes, et certains peuvent survivre assez longtemps pour se multiplier. Les exigences relatives à la manipulation, à l'utilisation et à l'élimination des substances résultant du traitement des eaux usées doivent être formulées de façon à protéger la santé publique et l'environnement. Il faut aussi établir des règles pour les cas où ces substances sont utilisées.   

Lois et règlements du territoire examinés

Devront être confirmés par consultation auprès du gouvernement territorial.

Explication :

Point qui n'est pas encore précisé dans les lois ou les règlements des territoires.

9. Élément de réglementation essentiel : mesures d'intervention d'urgence à prendre en cas de contamination de l'eau potable

Alinéa 4(3)(c) de la Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations

Dans les situations les plus stressantes, il est primordial que les rôles et les responsabilités des différents partenaires soient clairement définis, et un bon régime réglementaire énoncera l'obligation de communiquer les dangers potentiels et les contaminations avérées. La communication des dangers potentiels est une étape clé pour protéger les personnes susceptibles d'être touchées. Dans un cas possible ou confirmé de contamination de l'eau ou d'éclosion d'une maladie d'origine hydrique, le temps est compté lorsqu'il s'agit de déterminer les rôles et les responsabilités.

Lois et règlements du territoire examinés

Explication :

La Loi sur la santé publique autorise l'administrateur en chef de la santé publique à émettre tout avis, bulletin ou avertissement qui est considéré comme nécessaire en ce qui concerne l'eau potable, une source d'eau ou un système d'approvisionnement en eau.

Le Règlement sur les réseaux d'aqueduc (Règl. des T.N.-O. 108-2009) prévoit que l'administrateur en chef de la santé peut ordonner la fermeture ou la cessation des activités d'un réseau d'approvisionnement en eau.

10. Élément de réglementation essentiel : mécanismes de conformité et vérification de la conformité aux règlements

Alinéa 4(3)(b) et article 5 de la Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations

Les mécanismes pour assurer et contrôler l'application, par exemple les vérifications, les inspections et la surveillance par l'autorité de réglementation ou une tierce partie, sont une composante nécessaire des règlements. Il faudra déterminer avec soin les meilleurs moyens d'assurer la conformité aux règlements dans les collectivités des Premières Nations, de façon que l'accent porte sur la prévention plutôt que sur les sanctions. Les problèmes de conformité seront gérés au cas par cas et en tenant compte des réalités propres aux terres des Premières Nations. En l'absence de menace immédiate, l'objectif premier sera de collaborer en vue d'obtenir la mise en conformité.

Lois et règlements du territoire examinés

Explication :

La Loi sur la santé publique autorise le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux à nommer l'administrateur en chef de la santé publique et elle décrit ses fonctions et pouvoirs. Elle précise les fonctions des administrateurs de la santé publique, qui ont la même autorité que les agents de la paix.

Le Règlement sur les réseaux d'égouts publics autorise l'administrateur en chef de la fonction publique à inspecter les réseaux d'égout publics et lui donne l'autorité pour publier des directives relativement à la non-conformité.

Le Règlement sur les réseaux d'aqueduc précise le devoir des opérateurs de systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau de se conformer au Règlement. Ce dernier ne s'applique pas à un système d'approvisionnement qui dessert cinq ménages ou moins.

11. Élément de réglementation essentiel : mécanismes d'appel

Article 9 de la Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations

Les règlements doivent prévoir un mécanisme d'appel. Les tribunaux d'appel offrent une possibilité de recours avec une participation publique appropriée au processus décisionnel. Les appels peuvent être interjetés par la collectivité réglementée ou par d'autres entités touchées par les décisions de l'organisme de réglementation.

Lois et règlements du territoire examinés

Explication :

La Loi sur la santé publique précise que les ordres qui peuvent entraîner des risques pour la santé peuvent être contestés devant la Cour suprême.

Le Règlement sur les réseaux d'égouts publics prévoit que l'opérateur peut faire appel au ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux après la publication d'une ordonnance de fermeture d'un réseau d'égouts public.

Notes de bas de la page

Notes de bas de la page 1

En ce qui concerne l'annexe du Règlement sur les réseaux d'aqueduc (R-108-2009 des T.N.-O.) : le tableau récapitulatif figurant à l'annexe du règlement peut être consulté sur rendez-vous au bureau du Registraire des règlements situé au 4e étage du palais de justice, Division des affaires législatives, Yellowknife (867-873-7462).

Retour à la première référence de la note de bas de page 1

 
Date de modification :