Audit Information

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

To access the Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business (PSAB) set-aside requirements, a business has to register in the Aboriginal Business Directory (ABD) certifying that the business is Aboriginal as defined within the PSAB.

Aboriginal businesses are requested to provide proof of meeting the PSAB criteria through the self-declaration certificate when they register in the ABD or when they bid on the PSAB set-aside requirements. For that reason, AANDC conducts audits to ensure that self-declared Aboriginal businesses meet the PSAB criteria and that set-aside requirements are effectively reserved for the PSAB registered businesses. 

What is a compliance audit?

The Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business compliance audit verifies that the Aboriginal businesses, joint ventures or partnerships registered in the Aboriginal Business Directory under the PSAB meet the Ownership, Control, Aboriginal Employment and Aboriginal Content criteria where applicable.

Ownership Criterion

The Aboriginal ownership criterion requires an Aboriginal person(s) and/or Aboriginal firm(s) to have at least 51% ownership of the business.

Control Criterion

The Aboriginal control criterion requires an Aboriginal person or Aboriginal business to have at least 51% of control of the business.

Employment Criterion

The Aboriginal employment criterion applies to an Aboriginal business which has six or more full-time employees at the date of registering under the PSAB or bidding on a PSAB set-aside requirement. At least 33% of the full-time employees have to be Aboriginal persons and this ratio must be maintained throughout the duration of the PSAB registration and the contract if a requirement is awarded.

Aboriginal Content Criterion

The Aboriginal content criterion dictates at least 33% of the total value of the work to be performed under a contractFootnote 1 is performed by an Aboriginal business contractor or by a combination of that contractor and other Aboriginal businesses. The value of the work is considered to be the total value of the contract less any material directly purchased by the contractor for the performance of the contract. (For more information please refer to Interpretation Bulletin - Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business)

Why conduct a compliance audit?

AANDC is mandated to verify the eligibility of bidders on the PSAB set-aside requirements and maintain the integrity of the PSAB Aboriginal Business Directory (ABD). Compliance audits ensure Aboriginal businesses registered under the PSAB meet the policy's criteria.

AANDC communicates audit progress and results to other government departments. Information pertaining to audits is confidential until it is finalized.

What kinds of audits are conducted?

For PSAB compliance, AANDC conducts three types of audits.

1.  Pre-award Audit

According to Contracting Policy Notice (CPN) 1997-6, section 8.1.4 and 8.2, AANDC needs to be notified by the contracting authority for all PSAB set-aside requirements (regardless of the value of the contract).

A pre-award audit is mandatory for PSAB set-aside requirements valued at, or greater than, $2 million. However, pre-award audits may be conducted for requirements below the value of $2 million when a need is identified, either by the requisitioning department, the contracting authority or AANDC. A pre-award audit may also be conducted on a random basis.

A pre-award audit is performed to verify that the Aboriginal business to be audited meets the Ownership, Control, and Employment criteria of the PSAB policy. Note that the Aboriginal content is not audited when it is a pre-award audit or a random audit. However; the auditor ensures that the Aboriginal joint venture or partnership is aware of the Aboriginal content criterion.

When a pre-award audit is conducted the auditing process can only begin when all the bids have been received and evaluated by the contracting authority. The contracting authority will then notify AANDC of the two best-assessed bidders, without disclosing the bid price. The audit of the two best-assessed bidders will be performed before the requirement is awarded.

Mandatory pre-award audits are prioritized as the award of the contract is dependent on the audit results. If the business fails to provide the required documentation to AANDC, their bid is considered non-compliant.

Once the contract is awarded the contracting authority must provide AANDC with the following information:

  • Name of the business selected
  • Dollar value of the contract
  • Description of goods, services, or construction
  • Solicitation number
  • Closing date
  • Buyer name and phone/fax numbers

This can be sent by email to: saea-psab@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca or by fax to 819 956-9837.

2.  Post-award Audit

A post-award audit is conducted to verify if the Aboriginal business meets the Ownership, Control, and Employment criteria as well as the Aboriginal Content criterion. The audit can be random or requested by a contracting authority. The purpose of the post-award audit is to ensure that the contractor meets the PSAB criteria during the contract duration. It also ensures the integrity of the Aboriginal Business Directory.

3.  Random Audit

An audit for compliance can be performed on a random basis. It is not related to any pre- or post-awarded requirement. The purpose of the audit for compliance is to ensure the integrity of the Aboriginal Business Directory by guaranteeing that businesses registered under the PSAB are compliant with the requirements set out in the CPN 1996-6.

The audit for compliance follows the exact same procedure as the pre-award audit procedure.

Note:
When a joint venture between an Aboriginal business and a non-Aboriginal business or a joint venture between two Aboriginal businesses is to be audited, the PSAB eligibility of the Aboriginal businesses must be verified in order for the joint venture to be assessed accurately. The Aboriginal partner must meet the Ownership, Control, and Employment criteria before the joint venture or partnership audit can be performed.

Do registered businesses, joint ventures and partnerships agree to be audited?

As part of the PSAB registration process the registered Aboriginal business declares it meets the PSAB criteria and agrees to provide all documents to verify compliance when requested by the Government of Canada. Therefore, any registered Aboriginal business, joint venture or partnership that has been notified of an audit and/or requested to provide documentation and information to assess its compliance with the PSAB criteria, is obliged to provide the requested documentation to the Government of Canada. In addition, with all pre-award or post-award audits, the bidders agree to provide the Government of Canada with any requested information for an audit.

In the case where the Aboriginal business, joint venture or partnership does not respond to the auditor's request for information or documents, AANDC has the right to remove the Aboriginal business, joint venture or partnership from the Aboriginal Business Directory on behalf of the Government of Canada.

Once the audit is completed - what next?

When the audit for compliance is completed the audit results are communicated to the contracting authority where applicable (pre-award audits and post-award audits) and to the audited business. If the audited business is deemed compliant with the PSAB it will continue to be eligible to bid on set-aside requirements.

If the audited business is deemed non-compliant with the PSAB, the Government of Canada could apply the following civil consequences:

  • business profile removed from the Aboriginal Business Directory;
  • forfeiture of the bid deposit;
  • retention of the holdback;
  • disqualification from participating in future set-aside requirements; and
  • termination of the contract.

The business has the opportunity to re-register in the ABD when it complies with the PSAB criteria.

Note:
In the event that a contract is terminated, the Government of Canada may engage another contractor to complete the performance of the contract and the Aboriginal business or joint venture in fault shall be responsible for any additional costs incurred by the Government of Canada.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

This applies only on PSAB Set-aside contracts.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Information de vérification

Pour avoir accès aux marchés réservés de la Stratégie d’approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones (SAEA), une entreprise doit s’inscrire au Répertoire des entreprises autochtones (REA) attestant qu’il s’agit d’une entreprise autochtone au sens de la SAEA.

Les entreprises autochtones sont tenues de prouver qu'elles satisfont aux critères de la SAEA par la « Déclaration d'admissibilité d'un fournisseur autochtone » qu'elles remplissent lorsqu'elles s'inscrivent au REA, ou lorsqu'elles présentent une soumission pour un marché réservé. Pour cette raison, AADNC procède à des vérifications pour s'assurer que les entreprises qui se déclarent autochtones répondent bien aux critères de la SAEA et que les marchés réservés profitent effectivement aux entreprises inscrites au REA

Qu’est-ce qu’une vérification de conformité?

La vérification de conformité de la SAEA vise à déterminer si les entreprises, les coentreprises ou les partenariats autochtones inscrits au REA, dans le cadre de la SAEA, répondent lorsqu’il y a lieu aux critères de propriété, de contrôle, d'emploi autochtone et de teneur autochtone.

Critère de propriété autochtone

La personne ou l'entreprise autochtone doit détenir au moins 51 % des intérêts de l'entreprise.

Critère de contrôle autochtone

La personne ou l'entreprise autochtone doit détenir au moins 51 % du contrôle de l'entreprise.

Critère d’emploi autochtone

Le critère d'emploi autochtone s'applique à l'entreprise autochtone qui compte au moins six employés à plein temps à la date d'inscription en vertu de la SAEA ou à la date de la soumission pour un marché réservé. Au moins 33 % des employés à plein temps doivent être des Autochtones, et cette proportion doit être maintenue pendant toute la durée de l'inscription en vertu de la SAEA et, si un marché réservé est octroyé, pendant toute la durée du contrat.

Critère de teneur autochtone

Au moins 33 % des travaux exécutés dans le cadre du contratNote de bas de page 1 doivent être effectués par un entrepreneur autochtone, lequel peut agir seul ou avec d'autres entreprises autochtones. La valeur des travaux consiste en la valeur totale du contrat, moins tout le matériel directement acheté par l'entrepreneur pour l'exécution du contrat. (Pour plus d'information, voir Bulletin d'interprétation - Stratégie d'approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones)

Pourquoi procéder à une vérification de conformité?

AADNC a l'obligation de vérifier l'admissibilité des entreprises qui soumissionnent pour les marchés réservés de la SAEA et de préserver l'intégrité du REA. Les vérifications de conformité permettent d'assurer que les entreprises autochtones inscrites en vertu de la SAEA répondent bien aux critères.

AADNC informe les autres ministères fédéraux de l'état d'avancement des vérifications et de leurs résultats. L'information relative aux vérifications demeure confidentielle jusqu'à ce qu'elle soit finalisée.

Quels types de vérifications sont effectuées?

Pour ce qui est de la conformité à la SAEA, AADNC mène trois types de vérifications.

1.  Vérification antérieure

D’après l'Avis sur la Politique des marchés (APM) 1997-6, sections 8.1.4 et 8.2, AADNC doit être avisé par l'autorité contractante de tous les marchés réservés en vertu de la SAEA (peu importe la valeur du marché).

Une vérification antérieure est obligatoire pour les marchés réservés d'une valeur égale ou supérieure à 2 millions de dollars. Les marchés de moins de 2 millions de dollars peuvent toutefois faire l'objet d'une vérification antérieure lorsque le ministère requérant, l'autorité contractante ou AADNC le juge nécessaire. Une vérification antérieure peut également être menée au hasard.

Une vérification antérieure a pour but de déterminer si l'entreprise autochtone visée satisfait aux critères de propriété, de contrôle et d’emploi de la SAEA. À noter que la teneur autochtone n'est pas vérifiée lors d'une vérification antérieure ou d'une vérification au hasard. Cependant, le vérificateur doit déterminer si la coentreprise ou le partenariat autochtone est au fait du critère de teneur autochtone.

Lorsqu'on procède à une vérification antérieure, le processus de vérification peut seulement commencer après que l'autorité contractante a reçu et évalué toutes les soumissions. L'autorité contractante communique alors à AADNC l'identité des deux soumissionnaires classés premier et deuxième, sans dévoiler les prix offerts. Ces deux soumissionnaires seront vérifiés avant que le marché ne soit octroyé.

Les vérifications antérieures obligatoires ont la priorité, puisque l'octroi du marché dépend des résultats de la vérification. Si l'entreprise ne peut produire la documentation demandée par AADNC, sa soumission sera jugée non recevable.

Une fois le marché octroyé, l'autorité contractante doit communiquer à AADNC les renseignements suivants :

  • nom de l'entreprise retenue
  • valeur du marché en dollars
  • description des biens, services ou travaux de construction
  • numéro de l'appel d'offres
  • date de clôture
  • nom de l'acheteur, avec numéros de téléphone/télécopieur

Ces renseignements peuvent être communiqués par courriel à saea-pasb@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca ou par télécopieur au 819-956-9837.

2.  Vérification postérieure

La vérification postérieure sert à déterminer si l'entreprise autochtone répond aux critères de propriété, de contrôle et d’emploi ainsi qu'au critère de teneur autochtone. La vérification peut être effectuée au hasard ou demandée par l'autorité contractante. La vérification postérieure a pour but d'assurer que l'entrepreneur répond aux critères de la SAEA pendant toute la durée du marché. Elle assure également l'intégrité du REA.

3.  Vérification au hasard

Une vérification de conformité peut être effectuée au hasard. Elle n'est reliée à aucun marché ayant fait l'objet d'une vérification antérieure ou postérieure. La vérification de conformité a pour but d'assurer l'intégrité du REA en garantissant que les entreprises inscrites en vertu de la SAEA satisfont aux exigences énoncées dans l'APM 1996-6.

La vérification de conformité se déroule exactement comme la vérification antérieure.

Note :
Lorsqu'il faut vérifier une coentreprise formée d'une entreprise autochtone et d'une entreprise non autochtone ou de deux entreprises autochtones, il est nécessaire de déterminer l'admissibilité des entreprises autochtones à la SAEA, pour pouvoir vérifier la coentreprise avec exactitude. Le partenaire autochtone doit satisfaire aux critères de propriété, de contrôle et d’emploi avant que la coentreprise ou le partenariat ne puisse être vérifié.

Est-ce que les entreprises, les coentreprises et les partenariats inscrits acceptent d’être vérifiés?

Dans le cadre du processus d'inscription de la SAEA, l'entreprise autochtone inscrite déclare qu'elle satisfait aux critères de la SAEA et accepte de produire tous les documents que lui demande le gouvernement du Canada pour vérifier la conformité. Par conséquent, une entreprise, une coentreprise ou un partenariat autochtone inscrit et ayant été avisé d'une vérification et/ou prié de produire des documents et des informations pour évaluer sa conformité aux critères de la SAEA est tenu de fournir cette documentation au gouvernement du Canada. En outre, dans toutes les vérifications antérieures ou postérieures, les soumissionnaires acceptent de communiquer au gouvernement du Canada tout renseignement demandé pour une vérification.

Lorsqu'une entreprise, une coentreprise ou un partenariat autochtone ne fournit pas les informations ou les documents demandés par le vérificateur, AADNC a le droit de retirer du REA cette entreprise, cette coentreprise ou ce partenariat, au nom du gouvernement du Canada.

Une fois la vérification terminée, que se passe-t-il?

Au terme de la vérification de conformité, les résultats de la vérification sont communiqués à l'autorité contractante lorsqu'il y a lieu (vérifications antérieures et postérieures) et à l'entreprise vérifiée. Si l'entreprise vérifiée est jugée conforme à la SAEA, elle demeurera admissible à soumissionner pour les marchés réservés.

Une entreprise jugée non conforme à la SAEA s'expose aux conséquences civiles suivantes :

  • retrait du profil de l'entreprise du REA;
  • saisie du dépôt de soumission;
  • blocage des retenues;
  • exclusion de toute participation à de futurs marchés réservés;
  • résiliation du contrat.

L'entreprise peut s'inscrire à nouveau au REA une fois qu'elle se conforme aux critères de la SAEA.

Note :
En cas de résiliation d'un contrat, le gouvernement du Canada peut demander à un autre entrepreneur de mener à terme les travaux du contrat, et l'entreprise ou la coentreprise autochtone fautive devra assumer tous les frais supplémentaires engagés par le gouvernement du Canada.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Ne s’applique qu’aux marchés réservés en vertu de la SAEA.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1