Comprehensive Audit of the AANDC and Attawapiskat First Nation Management Control Framework - Follow-up Report Status Update as of December 31, 2013

PDF Version (27 Kb, 3 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of December 31, 2013

Regional Operations

Comprehensive Audit of the AANDC and Attawapiskat First Nation Management Control Framework
Approval Date: 09/28/2012

Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program  Response
1. The Ministerial Loan Guarantee process should be reviewed, in consultation with CMHC, giving consideration to the following:
  • Developing stricter enforcement practices with respect to eligibility requirements and taking remedial action with regard to non-compliance;
  • Implementing practices to certify completion of housing units by a suitably qualified professional according to National Building Code of Canada standards or an accepted equivalent set of standards;
  • Conducting a risk-based periodic review of First Nation inspection records; and,
  • Developing formal practices (e.g. Memorandum of Understanding between AANDC and CMHC) to require that the results of CMHC Physical Condition Reviews and client visit reports be shared with AANDC as a mandatory requirement of the eligibility process.
We concur with this recommendation.

Lenders providing loans backed by Ministerial Loan Guarantees (MLGs), including CMHC, must assure due diligence with loan management, including prudent lending practices, arrears, default and reporting to AANDC. AANDC will work with lenders to identify opportunities for improving due diligence processes.

AANDC is exploring mechanisms for improving National Building Code compliance.
Q3, 2013-14 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:

A Memorandum of Understanding between AANDC and CMHC was signed in April 2013. The MOU addresses the sharing of information in order to increase due diligence and effectively collaborate on the management of the Ministerial Loan Guarantee program.

AANDC and CMHC have collaborated to increase compliance with building standards for new homes on reserve. A new requirement for an attestation of code compliance by a qualified third party inspector will be implemented by CMHC in 2014.

AANDC is in the process of revising the Terms and Conditions for Ministerial Loan Guarantees; these revisions will reflect new requirements for building code compliance by borrowers.

The Department continues to work with CMHC to address issues concerning due diligence and loan management.

Revised Expected Completion date: Q1 2014-15

AES: Implementation ongoing.
2. The Capital Facilities and Maintenance (CFM) Program terms and conditions should be reviewed, giving consideration to the following:
  • Including eligibility requirements which require demonstrated financial management capability with respect to the First Nation's housing program (e.g. Replacement Reserve Account, collection practices, reliable housing reports);
  • Adding the requirement that a separate Housing Authority be established as a CFM eligibility requirement;
  • Discontinuing the practice of allowing minor core capital to be used for the purposes of debt repayment; and,
  • Clarifying housing report definitions and developing housing performance indicators which can be used to assess maintenance needs and establish a baseline on which to measure ongoing performance.
We concur with this recommendation.

AANDC will review the CFM Program as it relates to housing, and consider the issues identified by this audit when next renewing the Terms and Conditions for the program.
Q3, 2013-14 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:

The department has identified a number of issues for undertaking administrative reforms to its minor capital funding stream, of which housing is a part. These reforms introduce a risk-based approach that prioritizes health and safety, and will help ensure that assets funded by AANDC in First Nation communities achieve their intended operational life. Reforms to the administration of housing funds are being considered concurrently for future integration into the renewed Terms and Conditions of the CFM Program.

Community Infrastructure Branch is currently working with the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Branch on renewing our Performance Measurement Strategy. The updated strategy will be completed by April 2014 in accordance with the Department’s Performance Measurement Strategy Action Plan.  Strategies to revise our housing performance indicators are being explored as part of this work.

Revised Expected Completion date: Q1 2014-15

AES: Implementation ongoing.
 
 
Date modified:

Vérification intégrée du cadre de contrôle de gestion d'AADNC et de la Première Nation d'Attawapiskat - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 décembre 2013

Format PDF (27 Ko, 3 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 décembre 2013

Opérations régionales

Vérification intégrée du cadre de contrôle de gestion d'AADNC et de la Première Nation d'Attawapiskat
Date d'approbation 2012-09-28

Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement prévue
Réponse du programme
1. Il faudrait examiner le processus de garantie d’emprunt ministérielle, en consultation avec la SCHL, à la lumière des considérations suivantes :
  • Établir des méthodes d’application plus strictes des conditions d’admissibilité et prendre des mesures correctives en cas de non-conformité;
  • Mettre en œuvre des pratiques d’attestation de l'achèvement des unités d'habitation par un professionnel convenablement qualifié, conformément aux normes du Code national du bâtiment du Canada ou d'un ensemble de normes équivalentes acceptables;
  • Effectuer un examen périodique fondé sur le risque des registres d'inspection de la Première Nation;
  • Élaborer des pratiques formelles (p. ex. protocole d'entente entre AADNC et la SCHL) afin d'obliger à communiquer à AADNC les résultats des examens de l'état physique et des visites sur le terrain effectués par la SCHL, à titre d’exigence obligatoire du processus de détermination de l'admissibilité.
Nous souscrivons à cette recommandation.

Les prêteurs accordant des prêts protégés par une garantie d'emprunt ministérielle (GEM) doivent faire preuve d'une diligence raisonnable dans la gestion des prêts, notamment en ce qui concerne les pratiques de prêts avisées, les arriérés, les non-remboursements et la présentation de rapport à AADNC. Le Ministère collaborera avec les prêteurs à la détermination des possibilités d'améliorer les processus de diligence raisonnables.

AADNC étudie des méthodes d’amélioration de la conformité au Code national du bâtiment.
T3, 2013-2014 État : En cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :

En avril 2013, AADNC et SCHL ont signé un protocole d’entente qui traite du partage de l’information en vue d’améliorer la diligence raisonnable et de réaliser une collaboration efficace sur la gestion du programme de garantie d’emprunt ministérielle.

AADNC et SCHL ont collaboré à l’augmentation de la conformité aux normes de construction de nouvelles habitations dans la réserve. En 2014, la SCHL instaurera une nouvelle obligation d’attestation de conformité au code par un tiers inspecteur qualifié.

AADNC révise actuellement les modalités des garanties d’emprunt ministérielles, en fonction des nouvelles exigences en matière de conformité au Code du bâtiment par les emprunteurs.

Le Ministère poursuit sa collaboration avec la SCHL en vue de traiter de questions de diligence raisonnable et de gestion des prêts.

Date d’achèvement prévue révisée : T1 de 2014-2015

SVE : La mise en œuvre se poursuit.
2. Les modalités du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien (PIE) devraient être revues, en tenant compte des points suivants :
  • Inclure des conditions d'admissibilité qui exigent que soit démontrée la capacité de la Première Nation de gérer financièrement son programme de logement (p. ex. compte de remplacement dans la réserve, méthodes de perception, rapports fiables en matière de logement);
  • Ajouter aux conditions d'admissibilité au PIE l'obligation de mettre sur pied un organisme d'habitation distinct;
  • Cesser de permettre que les fonds de base octroyés pour les petits projets d'immobilisations soient utilisés pour rembourser des dettes;
  • Clarifier les définitions dans les rapports sur le logement et élaborer des indicateurs de rendement en matière de logement qui peuvent servir à évaluer les besoins d'entretien et à établir une base de référence pour mesurer le rendement continu.
Nous souscrivons à cette recommandation.

AADNC examinera le PIE en lien avec le logement et prendra en considération les problèmes soulevés par cette vérification lors du renouvellement des conditions du programme.
T3, 2013-2014 État : En cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :

Le Ministère a entrepris des réformes administratives visant plusieurs aspects de la voie de financement de ses dépenses en capital secondaires, dont le logement est un élément. Ces réformes introduisent une approche axée sur le risque qui accorde la priorité à la santé et la sécurité, et qui veillera à ce que les biens financés par AADNC dans les collectivités des Premières Nations aillent jusqu’au bout du cycle de vie prévu. Concurremment, on envisage des réformes de l’administration des fonds du logement, pour intégration future dans les modalités renouvelées du programme de PIE.

La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires collabore avec la Direction générale de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen au renouvellement de notre Stratégie de mesure du rendement. La Stratégie mise à jour sera achevée en avril 2014, conformément au plan d’action de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement du Ministère. Dans le cadre de ce travail, des stratégies de révision de notre rendement à l’égard du logement sont à l’étude.

Date d’achèvement prévue révisée : T1 de 2014-2015

SVE : La mise en œuvre se poursuit.
 
 
Date de modification :