Audit of the Implementation of the Child and Family Services Enhanced Prevention Focused Approach - Follow-up Report Status Update as of December 31, 2013

PDF Version (34 Kb, 7 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of December 31, 2013

ESDPP

Audit of the Implementation of the Child and Family Services Enhanced Prevention Focused Approach
Approval Date: 09/28/2012

Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program Response
1. Ensure that more formal processes be put in place that provide/ demonstrate proper governance, accountability and oversight for initial costing models, accountability frameworks, and actual implementation leading to an overview of expenditures and results. AANDC HQ and Regions should then collaborate with partners in trying to address arising issues. Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships (ESDPP) will analyze what may be necessary to have within formal tripartite processes and will discuss these needs with relevant stakeholders.

With this information, ESDPP will formalize EPFA processes for:
  1. Establishing initial costing models;
  2. Establishing accountability frameworks;
  3. Regular monitoring of implementation, expenditures and results.
In addition, ESDPP will produce records of EPFA bilateral and tripartite meetings.

ESDPP will organize and host regular conference calls and face-to-face/ videoconference meetings with regional partners to address implementation issues as they arise within specific jurisdictions.
September 2013 Status: Underway

Update/rationale:
As of 31/12/2013


Work has continued from Q2 pertaining to the compilation of arising issues regarding costing occurring at tripartite tables.

Work is underway to clarify roles and responsibilities of tripartite partners including expectations for AANDC funding recipients.

ESDPP has formalized EPFA processes in jurisdictions that have yet to transition to the new approach (BC, NB & NL).

For example, in BC, the EPFA Tripartite Framework is being reviewed and updated with BC stakeholders. An Executive Steering Committee and a Technical Working Group are in place and meet on a regular basis to ensure ongoing progress. A draft EPFA framework is now developed and has been discussed with the Technical Working Group and was shared with the BC First Nations Chiefs for comments. After their review, this will be sent to the Executive Steering Committee for in Q4 for completion. A generic template for the EPFA costing model has been shared and discussed with the Technical Working Group. The Executive Steering Committee met in October 2013 and the Technical Working Group continues to meet weekly, records of discussion are kept and distributed to all participants. EPFA approaches were also presented and discussed at the Joint Gathering in Vancouver in October 2013.

The FNCFS program continues to work trilaterally on a CFS Engagement Process and bilaterally on an Accountability Framework for CFS in Alberta.

Also, initial discussions on a bilateral Quality Assurance Framework in Saskatchewan are scheduled to begin in January 2014.

SPPB is undertaking risk-based program compliance reviews of individual agencies. This work will accelerate in 2014-15.

AES: Ongoing

2. Ensure that the Program undertakes regular reviews (i.e. annually) of the implementation of EPFA in each jurisdiction that will include an assessment of the costing models and the development of and reporting against business plans both financially and on activity results. Agencies provide the Program with sufficient information with respect to EPFA expenditures against the activities in the Agency business plans. AANDC HQ and Regions should then collaborate with partners in trying to address any arising issues. ESDPP will continue to liaise with regions through monthly conference calls and informal conversations to review financial pressures that may arise during EPFA implementation. These conversations have/will allow HQ to forecast future costing while also allowing HQ and Regions to develop possible mitigation strategies for arising issues.

ESDPP HQ will also begin the process of annually reviewing a sample of Business Plans in order to allow ESDPP to better report against business plans both financially and on results.

In the last quarter of fiscal year 2011/12, ESDPP reviewed the 5-year Business Plan templates and has ensured consistent use of the tool by clarifying that the intent is for recipients to provide annual updates which project ahead 5 years.
September 2013 Status: Request to close
Update/Rationale:
As of September 30, 2013


Bilateral conference calls with regions occur on a regular basis. Monthly conference calls continue to be held between HQ FNCFS program staff and their regional counterparts with the SPPB DG and ARDGs on all Branch issues.

Regions and HQ FNCFS continue to review the EPFA costing models to identify options to mitigate future financial pressures.

In 2012-13, ESDPP HQ continued to work with Regions to ensure that the common template outlining criteria required to develop business plans (developed in FY 11-12) was being used consistently across all regions.

AES: Recommend to close.

3. Establish a common set of outcome-based non-financial performance measures and baseline for EPFA These should be communicated to all Regions and incorporated into Agency business plans. In addition, ensure that the development of the new Information Management system incorporates the ability to track and report on the performance measures and baseline. The program will develop and establish baseline measures of their First Nation Child and Family Services (FNCFS) National Child Welfare Outcomes Matrix indicators by March 31, 2013. March 31, 2013 Status: Request to close
Update/Rationale:
As of September 30, 2013


FNCFS data collection instruments (DCI) have been reduced to one national DCI and one national business plan.  Six outcome-based indicators have been developed for FNCFS that are measurable and reportable. Following release 2 of the First Nation Child and Family Services Information Management System scheduled for April 1, 2014, AANDC will report on the Social Development Performance Measurement Strategy on an annual basis. The review of the Agencies’ business plans involve ensuring that the measures are incorporated.

The system will further enhance the program’s data quality and contribute to evidence-based decision making. In an effort to streamline and reduce the reporting burden, SPPB is working to enter into data sharing agreements with willing provinces and territories.

AES: Recommend to close.

In the annual update on indicators for the approved 2011 Social Development Performance Measurement Strategy, the FNCFS program has identified the data that would be required to support ongoing measurement of the programs. September 2013
4. Review the EPFA administrative structure and distribution of Human Resource needs of both HQ and the Regional Offices in order to determine an optimal and/or practical level of staffing necessary to efficiently administer and manage the EPFA. Headquarters will review the FNCFS administrative structure and distribution of Human Resources needs in consultation with Regional Operations.

ESDPP will develop and update tools, manuals, guidelines, templates, technical interpretation bulletins and information circulars in order to clarify program requirements enhance compliance and reduce reporting burden in the regions. Tools that will be updated include the National Social Programs Manual. Tools now being developed include the Management Control Framework; Integrated Risk Management Framework; a National Handbook on Program Compliance; a DCI Management Framework; and technical interpretation bulletins or information circulars to clarify FNCFS program policy, as required.

Through monthly conference calls and annual face-to-face/videoconference meetings, ESDPP and Regions will continue to support one another in identifying efficiencies in order to help ease the workload burden that has been identified. Minutes from all Headquarters/Regions monthly calls and face-to-face/videoconferences will be produced and shared.

All above documents will help ensure consistent and streamlined processes, serving to alleviate the administrative burden on regional staff.
September 2013 Status: Underway

Update/rationale:
As of 31/12/2013


A Program Management Business Plan to develop a structure for the Program is underway and will be completed by March 31, 2014.

On December 6, 2013 SPPB communicated to AANDC Regions the overview of changes to 2014-15 Data Collection Instruments (DCI), Proposals and Application Work Plans (PAW). Minor amendments have been made with reporting requirements in order to further facilitate improvements in program management, reduce duplication, streamline and improve clarity of the Annual Business Plan. Updates of the Business Plans will be required on a yearly basis. This work is linked to the FNCFS IMS which is actively being used by AANDC Regions.

Regional training on FNCFS Information Management System data input has been completed and additional ad-hoc training may occur as required. Training on system’s reporting capabilities is planned for Q4.

Work on the National Social Program Manual is ongoing; the FNCFS section has been revised to better clarify program management requirements and will be available and effective April 1, 2014.

The two Information Circulars specified in Q2 are being finalized and will be completed and available at the same time as the manual.

Work is ongoing on all policies described in Q2. FNCFS colleagues work with other programs across SPPB to continue to develop policies that capture common issues and for consistency.

Bi-lateral conference calls with regions continue to take place on a regular basis. Monthly conference calls continue to be held between HQ FNCFS program staff and their regional counterparts, and the SPPBs DG and ARDGs on all Branch issues.

AES: Ongoing.

 
 
Date modified:

Vérification de la mise en œuvre de l'approche améliorée axée sur la prévention pour les Services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières nations - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 décembre 2013

Format PDF (56 Ko, 8 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 31 décembre 2013

SPPEDS

Vérification de la mise en œuvre de l'approche améliorée axée sur la prévention pour les Services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières nations
Date d'approbation 28-09-2012

Recommandations du projet Plan d'action d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Veiller à ce que des processus plus officiels soient instaurés et documentés pour assurer et démontrer une gouvernance efficace et une reddition de comptes appropriée, approuver les premiers modèles de coûts et les cadres redditionnels, et surveiller la mise en œuvre de l'AAAP afin d'obtenir une vue d'ensemble des dépenses et des résultats. L'administration centrale et les régions d'AADNC devraient ensuite travailler en collaboration avec les partenaires concernés pour aborder les problèmes qui se posent. Le Secteur des programmes et des partenariats en matière d'éducation et de développement social (SPPEDS) analysera les éléments que doivent comporter les processus tripartites officiels et discutera de ces besoins avec les intervenants concernés.

À partir de cette information, le SPPEDS officialisera les processus suivants de l'AAAP :
  1. établissement des modèles de coûts initiaux;
  2. établissement des cadres redditionnels;
  3. contrôle régulier de la mise en œuvre, des dépenses et des résultats.
De plus, le SPPEDS dressera le procès-verbal des réunions bilatérales tripartites concernant l'AAAP.

Le SPPEDS organisera des conférences téléphoniques et en personne, ainsi que des vidéoconférences avec des partenaires régionaux afin de résoudre les problèmes de mise en œuvre qui se présentent dans des provinces données.
Septembre 2013 État : en cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013


Depuis le deuxième trimestre, on poursuit le travail de compilation des questions qui surgissent aux rencontres tripartites concernant l’établissement des coûts.

On clarifie actuellement les rôles et responsabilités des partenaires tripartites, y compris ce qu’on attend des bénéficiaires du financement d’AADNC.

Le SPPEDS a formalisé les processus d’AAAP dans les compétences qui n’ont pas encore fait la transition à la nouvelle approche (C.-B., N.-B. et T.-N.-L.).

En C.-B., par exemple, le cadre tripartite sur l’AAAP est en cours d’examen et de mise à jour avec les intervenants de cette province. Un Comité directeur exécutif et un Groupe de travail technique sont établis et se réunissent régulièrement pour veiller à la poursuite des progrès. Une ébauche de cadre d’AAAP est préparée et a été examinée avec le Groupe de travail technique, puis soumise aux observations des chefs des Premières Nations de la C.-B. À la suite de leur examen, on l’enverra au Comité directeur exécutif pour achèvement au T4. Un gabarit générique pour le modèle d’établissement de coût de l’AAAP a été communiqué au Groupe de travail technique et évalué avec lui. Le Comité directeur exécutif s’est réuni en octobre 2013 et le Groupe de travail technique poursuit ses rencontres hebdomadaires; des comptes rendus des discussions sont préparés et envoyés à tous les participants. Les approches de l’AAAP ont été également présentées et discutées à la Rencontre qui a eu lieu à Vancouver en octobre 2013.

Le programme des SEFPN poursuit son travail trilatéral quant au processus d’engagement des SEF, et son travail bilatéral sur un cadre de responsabilisation pour les SEF en Alberta.

De plus, des discussions initiales doivent commencer en janvier 2014 sur un cadre d’assurance de la qualité bilatéral en Saskatchewan.

La DGPSP lance des examens de conformité, axés sur le risque, des programmes des organismes individuels. Ce travail sera accéléré en 2014-2015.

SVE : En cours

2. S'assurer qu'un examen de la mise en œuvre de l'AAAP est effectué périodiquement (p.ex. tous les ans) dans chaque province, qui comporte une évaluation des modèles de coûts, des rapports financiers et des résultats des activités par rapport aux  plans prévus. Les agences fournissent l'information nécessaire concernant les dépenses engagées pour l'AAAP relativement aux activités prévues dans leurs plans respectifs. L'administration centrale et les régions d'AADNC devraient ensuite travailler en collaboration avec les partenaires concernés pour aborder les problèmes qui se posent. Le SPPEDS communiquera avec les régions au moyen de conférences téléphoniques mensuelles et de conversations informelles dans le but d'examiner les pressions financières qui s'exercent durant la mise en œuvre de l'AAAP. Ces conversations permettront à l'administration centrale d'établir des prévisions de coûts et d'élaborer des mesures pour atténuer les difficultés.

Le SPPEDS (administration centrale) entamera le processus d'examen annuel d'un échantillon de plans d'activités, qui lui permettra d'établir des rapports plus utiles faisant état des dépenses engagées et des résultats obtenus par rapport aux plans d'activités.

Au cours du dernier trimestre de l'exercice 2011-2012, le SPPEDS a examiné les modèles du plan d'activités quinquennal et a fait en sorte que l'outil soit appliqué uniformément en précisant qu'il était destiné à permettre aux bénéficiaires de présenter des mises à jour annuelles établissant des projections quinquennales.
Septembre 2013 État : Demande de fermeture du dossier
Mise à jour/Justification :
30 septembre 2013


Des conférences téléphoniques bilatérales avec les régions sont tenues de façon régulière. Des conférences téléphoniques mensuelles continuent d’avoir lieu entre les agents du programme des SEFPN de l’AC et leurs homologues régionaux, ainsi qu’avec le DG et les DGRA de la DGPSP sur toutes les questions d’intérêt pour la Direction générale.

Les SEFPN de l’AC et les régions continuent d’examiner les modèles de coûts afin de trouver des façons d’atténuer les pressions financières ultérieures.

En 2012-2013, le SPPEDS-AC a continué de travailler avec les régions pour veiller à ce que le modèle commun précisant les critères requis pour l’élaboration des plans d’activités (conçu en 2011-2012) soit utilisé de façon uniforme à l’échelle des régions.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée.

3. Établir une série commune d'indicateurs de rendement et de niveaux de référence non financiers, axés sur les résultats de l'AAAP, qui doit être communiquée à toutes les régions et intégrée dans les plans d'activités des agences. De plus, s’assurer que le nouveau système de gestion de l’information permettra d’effectuer le suivi de ces indicateurs de rendement et niveaux de référence et de produire des rapports connexes. Le programme élaborera et établira des indicateurs de référence relatifs aux SEFPN basés sur la Matrice d'indicateurs de protection de la jeunesse (MIP) avant le 31 mars 2013. 31 mars 2013 État : Demande de fermeture du dossier
Mise à jour/Justification :
30 septembre 2013


Les instruments de collecte de données (ICD) des SEFPN ont été regroupés sous un ICD national et un plan d’activités national. Six indicateurs axés sur les résultats ont été établis pour les SEFPN, lesquels sont mesurables et peuvent faire l’objet de rapports. Après le lancement de la deuxième version du système de gestion de l’information des SEFPN, prévu pour le 1er avril 2014, AADNC produira des rapports annuels sur la Stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le développement social. L’examen des plans d’activités des agences vise notamment à s’assurer que les mesures y sont intégrées.

Le système permettra d’améliorer la qualité des données relatives aux programmes et favorisera un processus décisionnel fondé sur les preuves. En vue de rationaliser et de réduire le fardeau en matière de rapports, la DGPSP s’efforce de conclure des ententes d’échange de données avec les provinces et les territoires intéressés.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier recommandée.

Dans la mise à jour annuelle des indicateurs de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement pour le développement social de 2011, le programme des SEFPN a identifié les données nécessaires pour mesurer adéquatement le rendement des programmes. Septembre 2013
4. Réviser la structure administrative de l'AAAP ainsi que la répartition des ressources humaines tant à l'administration centrale que dans les bureaux régionaux, afin de déterminer le niveau de dotation optimal ou adéquat requis pour administrer et gérer efficacement l'AAAP. L'administration centrale examinera la structure administrative des SEFPN, ainsi que la répartition des besoins en ressources humaines en consultation avec Opérations régionales.

Le SPPEDS élaborera et tiendra à jour des outils, des manuels, des lignes directrices, des modèles, ainsi que des bulletins d'interprétation et d'information afin de clarifier les exigences de programme, d'assurer la conformité et de réduire les exigences en matière de rapports dans les régions. Le Manuel national des programmes sociaux fait partie des outils qui seront mis à jour. Parmi ceux qui sont en cours d'élaboration, mentionnons le cadre de contrôle de gestion, le cadre de gestion intégrée du risque, le manuel national sur la conformité des programmes, le cadre de gestion des instruments de collecte de données (ICI), ainsi que des bulletins d'interprétation technique et des bulletins d'information ayant pour but de clarifier la politique relative aux SEFPN suivant les besoins.

Au moyen de conférences téléphoniques mensuelles et de rencontres en personne ou de vidéoconférences annuelles, le SPPEDS et les régions continueront à collaborer en vue d'améliorer l'efficacité et d'alléger la charge de travail. Toutes les conférences téléphoniques mensuelles et toutes les rencontres en personne et les vidéoconférences annuelles feront l'objet d'un procès-verbal qui sera distribué aux personnes concernées.

Tous les documents énumérés ci-dessus permettront d'assurer l'uniformisation et l'harmonisation des processus dans le but de réduire la charge de travail administrative du personnel régional.
Septembre 2013 État : en cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013


Un plan d’affaires de la gestion de programme est en préparation en vue d’élaborer une structure pour le programme, et sera achevé au plus tard le 31 mars 2014.

Le 6 décembre 2013, la DGPSP a communiqué aux régions d’AADNC une vue d’ensemble des modifications apportées aux ICD, et aux propositions, demandes et plans de travail, de 2014-2015. Les exigences en matière de rapports ont été légèrement modifiées de manière à faciliter encore les améliorations de la gestion des programmes, à réduire les tâches en double, et à simplifier et clarifier le plan d’activités annuel. Des mises à jour des plans d’activités devront être apportées tous les ans. Ce travail est rattaché au SGI des SEFPN, dont les régions d’AADNC font un usage actif.

La formation régionale sur l’entrée des données dans le Système de gestion de l’information des SEFPN est achevée, et une formation particulière supplémentaire pourrait être donnée au besoin. On prévoit une formation sur les capacités de rapport du système au T4.

Le travail sur le Manuel national sur les programmes sociaux se poursuit; la partie sur les SEFPN, qui a été révisée de manière à mieux indiquer les exigences de gestion du programme, sera disponible et en vigueur le 1er avril 2014.

Les deux circulaires d’information indiquées au T2 sont mises au point, et seront achevées et disponibles en même temps que le Manuel.

On travaille sur toutes les politiques décrites au T2. Les collègues aux SEFPN collaborent avec d’autres programmes à la DGPSP pour continuer d’élaborer des politiques qui portent sur des questions communes, et pour en assurer la cohérence.

Les conférences téléphoniques bilatérales avec les régions se poursuivent à intervalles réguliers. Les conférences téléphoniques mensuelles se poursuivent entre les agents du programme des SEFPN de l'AC et leurs homologues régionaux, ainsi qu'avec le DG et les DGRA de la DGPSP, sur toutes les questions d'intérêt pour la Direction générale.

SVE : En cours.
 
 
Date de modification :