Backgrounder - Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada’s Financial Picture

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is one of numerous federal departments and agencies that deliver programs and services to First Nations, Inuit, Métis and people living in Canada's North. These programs play an important role in building strong, viable communities and improving the quality of life for Aboriginal people and Northerners.

AANDC is responsible for the majority of federal programs and services that support Aboriginal people and Northerners. According to the 2014-2015 Main Estimates, tabled in Parliament on February 27,2014, AANDC will spend approximately $8.1 billion (see chart below). Of this, approximately 84 per cent goes directly to recipients through transfer payments. Much of this funding ensures that Aboriginal people have access to basic services comparable to those provided to other Canadians through provincial, municipal and territorial governments. These services include education, housing, community infrastructure (water and sewage systems), social support services, and other benefits. In addition to expenditures for basic services, the department promotes economic development, negotiates and oversees the implementation of comprehensive and specific claim settlements, and implements practical forms of self-government.

The cost of basic services is driven by a young and growing population. In fact, in 2011, almost half (46%) of Aboriginal people were less than 25 years of age compared with almost one-third (29%) of non-Aboriginal people. This creates a growing demand for basic services with overall population/price increases of 3 to 4 per cent per year for the department.

Since 1997-1998, funding for essential programs and services provided by the department have been subject to a two per cent escalator. It should be noted that this does not apply to other AANDC program areas, such as the negotiation and settlement of claims, litigation or Northern Affairs.

Historical Expenditure Profile

Over the period from 2009-2010 to 2014-2015, AANDC's expenditures increased from $7.4 billion to $8.1 billion (in accordance with the 2014-2015 Main Estimates), which represents an average annual increase of about two per cent. This growth in expenditures reflects increased ongoing demand for essential programs and services. However, other factors have contributed to this increase as well. The department has been assigned additional duties in recent years, notably Residential Schools Resolution, which has increased the department’s spending. The growth in spending can also be attributed to an increased focus on the settlement of claims as well as to significant investments made in priority areas through successive federal budgets since 2006.

While the department has taken on more responsibilities, its administrative overhead has remained relatively stable at about 2 to 3 per cent of its budget.

Capitalizing on Efficiencies

The department is taking steps to operate more efficiently and better execute its mandate. For example, AANDC is actively investing in tripartite agreements, particularly in the areas of education and child and family services. These agreements allow the department to draw on provincial government expertise, while building greater understanding of the unique needs and circumstances of a diverse Aboriginal population. The department is also reducing the reporting burden of First Nations communities by implementing the federal Policy on Transfer Payments. It has also introduced a revised Default Prevention and Management Policy to provide a range of support and tools to communities. These tools and more are contributing to the reduction in the administrative burden on First Nations.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, like every other department, is contributing to the effort to eliminate the deficit. As part of measures announced in Budget 2012, the department achieved savings of $24.4 million in the first year, followed by $55.1 million in 2013-14 and will result in ongoing savings of $160.6 million by 2014-15. Much of the savings will be achieved through changes in the department’s internal operations and streamlining program management and business processes, including the elimination of approximately 480 Full-Time Equivalents across the department by April 1, 2014. Savings are achieved over the next three years through other measures such as internal restructuring and reducing discretionary spending (e.g. travel, hospitality, temporary help). However, front line service delivery for essential services will not be affected as a result of savings measures.

In an effort to bring greater clarity and understanding to its suite of programs, the Department has undertaken a consolidation of some of its transfer payment terms and conditions. This consolidation will contribute to increased flexibility and supports the reduction of reporting burden for recipients, as well as more appropriately managing the administration of transfer payments.

The department’s changes to the 2014-15 Program Alignment Architecture reflect significant efforts to simplify and clarify the program structure to more meaningfully depict programs in relation to their expected results for Aboriginal people, Northerners and Canadians. The term "Program Alignment Architecture" refers to a structured inventory of a department's programs, where programs are arranged in a hierarchical manner to depict the logical relationship between each program and the Strategic Outcome(s) to which they contribute.

The intended impact of the new Program Alignment Architecture is improved program clarity and simplicity and to allow the department to tell a transparent results story, not only at the Program level, but also at the Sub-Program level.

In summary, the department will report on 16 programs in its Program Alignment Architecture, three programs which have been restructured / reorganized from the previous Program Alignment Architecture; four programs with name changes and some realignment from the previous Program Alignment Architecture; and, and nine programs with relatively minor or no changes from the previous Program Alignment Architecture.

Getting Results

As AANDC moves forward, it will continue to take a more targeted approach to improving programs and services for Aboriginal peoples and Northerners, by focusing on structural reforms and increasing the effectiveness of long-term investments. In trying to find practical solutions to real issues, work will continue with willing partners to renovate programs and develop innovative approaches in the areas of housing, education partnerships and economic development. Maximizing the value of our investments in these areas will have a significant and positive impact on improving the quality of life for Aboriginal peoples, Northerners and all Canadians.

 
Text description for Expenditures by Category

This image is of a pie chart showing the breakdown of departmental expenditures for 2014-15. The breakdown is shown as follows: $6,767 million (84%) transfer payments; $26 million (0%) loans; $6 million (0%) capital; $750 million (9%) statutory/fiduciary obligations; $307 million (4%) program delivery; $51 million (1%) negotiation costs; $173 million (2%) administrative overhead.

This image also contains two tables; the first demonstrates the breakdown of forecasted operating expenses – which total $1,281 million – as follows: $1,215 million for operating expenditures (Vote 1); and the following statutory expenses: $61 million for employee benefit plans; $3 million for resource royalties and $2 million for loan guarantees. The second table demonstrates the breakdown of transfer payments – which total $6,767 million – as follows: $6,654 million for grants and contributions (Vote 10); and the following statutory expenses: $74 million for land claims settlement acts, $27 million for First Nations infrastructure, $9 million for the Labrador Inuit Claims Agreement and $1 million for Indian annuities.

The source for the information for the chart is page 163 of the 2014-15 Main Estimates. Figures may not add due to rounding.

Date modified:

Document d’information - Portrait financier d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) est l’un des nombreux ministères et organismes fédéraux offrant des programmes et des services aux Premières Nations, aux Inuits, aux Métis et aux résidants du Nord canadien. Ces programmes jouent un rôle important dans l’établissement de collectivités fortes et viables et l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des Autochtones et des résidants du Nord.

AADNC est chargé de la majorité des programmes et des services fédéraux offerts aux Autochtones et aux résidants du Nord. Conformément au Budget principal des dépenses pour 2014-2015, déposé au Parlement le 27 février 2014, AADNC dépensera environ 8,1 milliards de dollars (voir le tableau ci-dessous). Environ 84 % de ce montant sera versé directement aux bénéficiaires sous forme de paiements de transfert. Une large part de ces fonds vise à donner aux Autochtones un accès garanti à des services de base comparables à ceux qui sont offerts aux autres Canadiens par les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi que les administrations municipales. Ces services comprennent l’éducation, le logement, l’infrastructure communautaire (approvisionnement en eau et traitement des eaux usées), les services de soutien social et autres. En plus des dépenses pour les services de base, le Ministère favorise le développement économique, négocie et supervise la mise en œuvre des accords sur les revendications globales et particulières, et assure la mise en œuvre de formes pratiques d’autonomie gouvernementale.

Le coût des services de base est en corrélation avec une population jeune et croissante. En 2011, près de la moitié (46 %) des Autochtones étaient âgés de moins de 25 ans, comparativement à près du tiers (29 %) des non-Autochtones. Il s’ensuit une demande croissante de ces services, avec une augmentation générale de la population et des prix de 2 à 4 % par année pour le Ministère.

Depuis 1997-1998, le financement alloué par AADNC pour les programmes et les services essentiels est assujetti à une indexation de 2 %. Il convient de signaler que cette indexation ne s’applique pas aux autres secteurs de programmes du Ministère, comme la négociation et le règlement des revendications, les litiges ou les affaires du Nord.

Profil historique des dépenses

Entre 2009 2010 et 2014 2015, les dépenses d’AADNC sont passées de 7,4 milliards de dollars à 8,1 milliards de dollars (selon le Budget principal des dépenses pour 2014 2015), ce qui représente une augmentation annuelle moyenne d’environ 2 %. Cette hausse découle d’une augmentation constante de la demande pour les programmes et les services essentiels. Toutefois, d’autres facteurs y ont aussi contribué. En effet, on a confié au Ministère des tâches additionnelles au cours des dernières années, notamment la résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens, ce qui a augmenté ses dépenses. On peut également citer l’attention accrue portée au règlement des revendications, de même que les importants investissements engagés dans des domaines prioritaires au fil des budgets fédéraux qui se sont succédés depuis 2006.

Le Ministère doit donc assumer de nouvelles responsabilités, mais ses frais administratifs généraux demeurent plus ou moins stables, à environ 2 ou 3 % de son budget.

Tirer profit des économies

Le Ministère prend des mesures pour accroître l’efficacité de ses opérations et mieux s’acquitter de son mandat. Par exemple, AADNC investit activement dans la conclusion d’ententes tripartites, particulièrement dans les domaines de l’éducation et des services à l’enfance et à la famille. Ces accords permettent au Ministère de tirer profit de l’expertise des gouvernements provinciaux et de mieux comprendre les besoins et les circonstances particulières des divers groupes autochtones. Le Ministère s’emploie aussi à simplifier la production des rapports attendus des Premières Nations en mettant en œuvre la nouvelle Politique sur les paiements de transfert. Il a aussi présenté une version révisée de la Politique de la prévention et gestion des manquements pour offrir une vaste gamme d’appuis et d’outils aux collectivités. Ces outils, et d’autres aussi, contribuent à réduire le fardeau administratif pour les Premières Nations.

AADNC, comme tous les autres ministères, contribue aux efforts déployés en vue d’éliminer le déficit. Dans le cadre des mesures annoncées dans le budget de 2012, le Ministère a pu réaliser des économies de 24,4AADNCmillions de dollars lors de la première année, puis de 55,1AADNCmillions en 2013-2014, ce qui se traduira par des économies continues de 160,6AADNCmillions d’ici 2014-2015. La plus grande partie de ces économies proviendra des changements apportés aux opérations internes du Ministère et de la gestion simplifiée des programmes et des processus opérationnels. Cela comprend l’élimination d’environ 480 équivalents temps plein au Ministère avant le 1er avril 2014. D’autres mesures y contribueront aussi, comme la restructuration interne et la réduction des dépenses discrétionnaires (p. ex., les déplacements, l’accueil et l’aide temporaire). Cependant, la prestation des services de première ligne pour les services essentiels ne sera pas touchée.

Afin de clarifier ses programmes et d’en améliorer la compréhension, le Ministère a entrepris de regrouper certaines modalités associées aux paiements de transfert. Ce regroupement permettra une souplesse accrue et appuiera la réduction du fardeau administratif des bénéficiaires tout en améliorant la gestion des paiements de transfert.

Les modifications apportées par le Ministère à son architecture d’alignement des programmes (AAP) pour 2014-2015 tiennent compte des efforts considérables déployés pour simplifier et clarifier la structure des programmes et mettre davantage en lumière le lien qui existe entre les programmes destinés aux Autochtones, aux résidants du Nord et aux Canadiens, et les résultats escomptés. L’AAP est un inventaire structuré des programmes du Ministère fondé sur un classement hiérarchique qui montre les liens logiques entre les programmes et avec les résultats stratégiques auxquels ils contribuent.

La nouvelle architecture a pour objet de simplifier et de clarifier les programmes ainsi que de permettre au Ministère de rendre compte des résultats de façon transparente, tant au niveau des programmes qu’à celui des sous-programmes.

En résumé, le Ministère rendra compte de 16 programmes figurant dans son AAP. Par rapport à l’architecture précédente, trois programmes ont été restructurés ou remaniés, quatre programmes ont été renommés et légèrement remaniés, et neuf programmes ont très peu changé ou pas du tout.

Obtenir des résultats

AADNC continuera de bien cibler son approche en vue d’améliorer les programmes et les services offerts aux Autochtones et aux résidants du Nord en misant sur des réformes structurales et sur une plus grande efficacité des investissements à long terme. Dans la recherche de solutions pratiques à des problèmes réels, le travail se poursuivra avec les partenaires intéressés en vue d’améliorer les programmes et d’élaborer des approches novatrices dans les domaines du logement, des partenariats en éducation et du développement économique. L’optimisation de la valeur de nos investissements dans ces domaines contribuera grandement à améliorer la qualité de vie des Autochtones, des résidants du Nord et de tous les Canadiens.

 
Description textuelle - Dépenses par catégorie

Ce diagramme circulaire présente la ventilation des dépenses du Ministère pour 2014 2015. La ventilation est la suivante : 6 767 M$ (84 %) en paiements de transfert; 26 M$ (0 %) en prêts; 6 M$ (0 %) en capital; 750 M$ (9 %) en obligations légales et fiduciales; 307 M$ (4 %) pour l’exécution des programmes; 51 M$ (1 %) en frais de négociation; 173 M$ (2 %) en frais généraux administratifs.

L’image contient également deux tableaux. Le premier donne une ventilation des dépenses de fonctionnement prévues, s’élevant à 1 281 M$ : 1 215 M$ en frais de fonctionnement (crédit 1), puis les dépenses législatives suivantes : 61 M$ pour les régimes d’avantages sociaux; 3 M$ pour les redevances pour l’exploitation des ressources et 2 M$ pour les garanties d’emprunt. Le deuxième tableau montre la ventilation des paiements de transfert, qui totalisent 6 767 M$ : 6 654 M$ pour les subventions et contributions (crédit 10), puis les dépenses législatives suivantes : 74 M$ pour les lois sur le règlement des revendications territoriales; 27 M$ pour l’infrastructure des Premières Nations; 9 M$ pour l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuit du Labrador et 1 M$ pour les annuités aux Indiens.

Les renseignements du diagramme sont tirés de la page 13 du Budget principal des dépenses de 2014-2015. Les totaux ne sont pas nécessairement exacts en raison des arrondissements.

Date de modification :