Renewing the Federal Comprehensive Land Claims Policy

Ministerial Special Representative's Report on Comprehensive Land Claims Policy Renewal

The report of Douglas Eyford, Ministerial Special Representative on Renewing the Comprehensive Land Claims Policy was released on April 2, 2015. Mr. Eyford was appointed in July 2014 by the Minister to lead engagement with Aboriginal groups on the Comprehensive Land Claims Policy. Over the past six months, Mr. Eyford met with representatives from more than 100 Aboriginal groups, federal, provincial and territorial governments, and industry.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada would like to thank Mr. Eyford for undertaking this important work. Over the coming months, AANDC will be engaging with Aboriginal groups as well as other stakeholders, including those who provided input during the engagement meetings, in order to seek their feedback on Mr. Eyford's recommendations. The Government will then carefully review and consider this additional feedback, along with Mr. Eyford's recommendations.

Since 1973, the Government of Canada has been negotiating comprehensive land claims or modern treaties with Aboriginal groups and provincial or territorial governments. The policy that guides the federal government in these treaty negotiations is called the comprehensive land claims policy.

The last update of this policy was published in 1986. Canada's policy approach to treaty negotiations has evolved significantly since 1986 through discussions with Aboriginal and provincial or territorial partners at negotiating tables and as a result of various court decisions. Many of these changes are not reflected in the 1986 policy publication.

Aboriginal groups, provincial and territorial governments and others have long called for renewed federal approaches to accelerate progress in treaty making to advance reconciliation and unlock new economic opportunities for Aboriginal communities. The Government of Canada has heard these concerns and is looking at ways to address these issues. New measures to advance treaty negotiations and reconciliation outside treaties were announced in July 2014 in response to past engagements.

Background on the Engagement Process

On July 28, 2014, Minister Valcourt announced the appointment of Douglas Eyford as a Ministerial Special Representative to lead engagement with Aboriginal groups and key stakeholders to renew and reform the Comprehensive Land Claims Policy, as part of a new framework for addressing Section 35 Aboriginal rights.

As a starting point for dialogue, AANDC released a document called Renewing the Comprehensive Land Claims Policy: Towards a Framework for Addressing Section 35 Aboriginal Rights. This interim policy outlines the Government of Canada's current approach to treaty negotiations, along with key updates. This interim policy includes important new principles of recognition and reconciliation and was shaped by extensive past engagement with negotiating partners. It responds to calls for change, including some key recommendations of the 2013 Eyford report (PDF) on West Coast Energy Infrastructure.

Over the past six months, engagement took place through various means, including in-person meetings held at treaty negotiation tables, regional meetings led by Mr. Eyford and through online tools. During the engagement period, Mr. Eyford met with over 100 Aboriginal communities, many Aboriginal organizations, third parties and governments.

The Ministerial Special Representative's Report

Mr. Eyford has prepared a report outlining what he heard during the engagement process and setting out his recommendations for further improvements to the treaty process. This independent report was made available on AANDC's website on April 2, 2015.

Over the coming months, AANDC will be engaging with Aboriginal groups as well as other stakeholders, including those who provided input during the engagement meetings to seek their feedback on Mr. Eyford's recommendations.

The Government of Canada looks forward to the additional feedback it will receive.

How is this Interim Policy different from the 1986 policy?

This interim policy outlines Canada's current approach to treaty negotiations, including the major developments that have occurred since the publication of the last comprehensive land claims policy in 1986.

The interim policy was shaped by extensive engagement with negotiating partners since 2009 to try to identify solutions to address key impediments and accelerate progress. It is a starting point for dialogue that responds to calls for change in key areas, including:

This is one step in the evolution of federal policies and approaches for addressing section 35 Aboriginal rights. Canada recognizes that these federal policies and approaches will continue to evolve over time and is continuing to work with partners to negotiate fair agreements that work for and benefit all parties.

Date modified:

Renouvellement de la politique fédérale sur les revendications territoriales globales

Rapport du représentant spécial du ministre sur le renouvellement de la Politique sur les revendications territoriales globales

La rapport de Douglas Eyford, représentant spécial du ministre, sur le renouvellement de la Politique sur les revendications territoriales globales a été publié le 2 avril 2015. M. Eyford a été nommé en juillet 2014 par le ministre pour diriger le processus de mobilisation des groupes autochtones au sujet du renouvellement de la Politique sur les revendications territoriales globales. Au cours des six derniers mois, M. Eyford a rencontré des représentants de plus de 100 groupes autochtones, des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, et de l'industrie.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada veut remercier M. Eyford d'avoir entrepris cet important travail. Au cours des prochains mois, AADNC consultera les groupes autochtones et d'autres intervenants, y compris ceux qui ont participé aux séances de mobilisation, afin d'obtenir leurs commentaires sur les recommandations de M. Eyford. Le gouvernement examinera ensuite attentivement ces commentaires et les prendra en considération parallèlement aux recommandations de M. Eyford.

Depuis 1973, le gouvernement du Canada négocie des revendications territoriales globales, ou traités modernes, avec des groupes autochtones et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux. La politique qui oriente le gouvernement fédéral dans la négociation de ces traités est désignée sous le nom de politique sur les revendications territoriales globales.

La dernière mise à jour de cette politique a été publiée en 1986. L'approche stratégique du Canada en matière de négociation de traités a évolué considérablement depuis, grâce aux discussions tenues avec les partenaires autochtones et provinciaux et territoriaux aux tables de négociation et par suite de diverses décisions rendues par les tribunaux. Bon nombre de ces changements ne se reflètent pas dans la politique de 1986.

Les groupes autochtones, les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et d'autres demandent depuis longtemps au gouvernement fédéral de mettre en place des approches renouvelées permettant d'accélérer la conclusion des traités dans le but de faire avancer la réconciliation et de créer de nouveaux débouchés économiques pour les collectivités autochtones. Le gouvernement du Canada a entendu ces préoccupations et examine des moyens d'aborder ces questions. De nouvelles mesures pour faire progresser la négociation des traités et la réconciliation à l'extérieur des traités ont été annoncées en juillet 2014 en réponse à la mobilisation précédente.

Contexte du processus de discussion

Le 28 juillet 2014, le ministre Valcourt a annoncé la nomination de Douglas Eyford à titre de représentant spécial du ministre pour diriger la mobilisation auprès des groupes autochtones et des intervenants clés en vue de renouveler et de réformer la Politique sur les revendications territoriales globales, dans le contexte d'un nouveau cadre pour traiter des droits ancestraux reconnus par l'article 35.

Comme point de départ au dialogue, AADNC a publié un document intitulé Le renouvellement de la Politique sur les revendications territoriales globales : Vers un cadre pour traiter des droits ancestraux prévus par l'article 35. Cette politique provisoire décrit l'approche actuelle du gouvernement du Canada en matière de négociation de traités et les principales mises à jour. Regroupant d'importants nouveaux principes de reconnaissance et de réconciliation, elle a été façonnée à la lumière des discussions approfondies tenues dans le passé avec les partenaires de négociation. Elle répond aux demandes de changement, y compris à certaines recommandations clés du rapport Eyford de 2013 (PDF) sur l'infrastructure d'énergie sur la côte Ouest.

Au cours des six derniers mois, diverses activités de mobilisation ont été tenues, notamment des rencontres en personne aux tables de négociation des traités, des réunions régionales organisées par M. Eyford et à l'aide d'outils en ligne. Pendant la période de mobilisation, M. Eyford a rencontré plus de 100 collectivités autochtones, plusieurs organisations autochtones, tierces parties et représentants gouvernementaux.

Rapport du représentant spécial du ministre

M. Eyford a préparé un rapport soulignant ce qu'il a entendu pendant le processus de mobilisation. Il y énonce aussi des recommandations pour améliorer davantage le processus de négociation de traités. Ce rapport indépendant est accessible sur le site Web d'AADNC depuis le 2 avril 2015.

Au cours des prochains mois, AADNC consultera les groupes autochtones et d'autres intervenants, y compris ceux qui ont participé aux séances de mobilisation, afin d'obtenir leurs commentaires sur les recommandations de M. Eyford.

Le gouvernement du Canada attend avec impatience la rétroaction supplémentaire qu'il recevra.

En quoi cette politique provisoire diffère-t-elle de la politique de 1986?

Cette politique provisoire décrit l'approche actuelle du Canada en matière de négociation de traités, y compris les faits nouveaux majeurs qui sont survenus depuis la publication de la dernière politique sur les revendications territoriales globales, en 1986.

La politique provisoire a été façonnée à la lumière des discussions approfondies tenues avec les partenaires de négociation depuis 2009 afin de tenter de trouver des solutions pour surmonter les principaux obstacles et accélérer les progrès. Il s'agit d'un point de départ au dialogue qui répond aux demandes de changement dans des secteurs clés, notamment :

Il s'agit d'une étape dans l'évolution des politiques et approches fédérales pour aborder la question des droits ancestraux visés par l'article 35. Le Canada reconnaît que ces politiques et approches fédérales continueront d'évoluer au fil du temps et il continue de collaborer avec les partenaires pour négocier des ententes équitables qui sont acceptables et profitables pour toutes les parties.

Date de modification :