Summative Evaluation of Post-Secondary Education Program - Follow-up Report Status Update as of December 31, 2013

PDF Version (17 Kb, 2 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of December 31, 2013

Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships Sector – Education Branch

Summative Evaluation of Post-Secondary Education Program
Approval Date: 22/06/12
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. Develop a strategic, transparent framework to ensure clear definitions of  roles, responsibilities, commitments, funding approaches and accountabilities for Post-secondary education. In Budget 2010, the Government committed to engaged in a new approach to providing support to First Nation and Inuit post-secondary students to ensure that the students receive the support they need to pursue higher education. The new approach will be effective and accountable, and will be coordinated with other federal student support programs.

The findings in this Evaluation will be considered as the Department develops options for education reform.
Fall 2014  
2. Further, support partnership development with First Nations, education organizations and institutions to facilitatestudent transitions and support. In Budget 2010, the Government committed to engage in a new approach to providing support to First Nation and Inuit post-secondary students to ensure that the students receive the support they need to pursue higher education. The new approach will be effective and accountable, and will be coordinated with other federal student support programs.

The findings in this Evaluation will be considered as the Department develops options for education reform.
Fall 2014  
3. Work to develop data collection methods that allow for the reliable assessment of student enrollment and success. The Education Branch agrees that the data on student enrollment and success is not reliable. The Branch has revised its data collection instruments (DCIs) as well as the timing of the reporting process to improve the reliability and completeness of the data. The new DCIs will apply from 2012-2013 onwards, with the first set of data to be submitted by recipients in June 2013.  July 2013 Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:


The reports from First Nations on Post-Secondary Student Support and University and College Entrance Preparation programs for 2012-13 have been coming in since August 2013. As of December 2013, 107 reports are still due and 348 are at different stages of review and compliance, before being accepted as final and entered into the database. Regional offices are following up with the First Nations whose reports are overdue in accordance with the Policy on Transfer Payments and the terms of the funding agreements in place. It should be noted that regional offices are giving precedence to completing the K-12 Nominal Roll since it is essential to calculating 2014-2015 funding level for essential education services.

AES: Ongoing – Once sufficient data are collected, efforts should be made to assess improvements in the reliability and completeness of data.
Date modified:

Évaluation sommative du programme d'éducation postsecondaire - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 décembre 2013

Format PDF (20 Ko, 2 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 décembre 2013

Secteur des programmes et des partenariats en matière d'éducation et de développement social – Direction générale de l'éducation

Évaluation sommative du programme d'éducation postsecondaire
Date d'approbation 22 juin 2012
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Élaborer un cadre stratégique transparent pour assurer des définitions claires des rôles, des responsabilités, des engagements, des méthodes de financement et des obligations de rendre compte en matière d’éducation postsecondaire. Dans son budget de 2010, le gouvernement s’est engagé à adopter une nouvelle approche pour appuyer les étudiants des Premières Nations et inuits de niveau postsecondaire afin de voir à ce qu’ils reçoivent tout le soutien nécessaire leur permettant de poursuivre des études supérieures. Cette nouvelle approche sera efficace et transparente, et sera coordonnée avec les autres programmes fédéraux d’aide aux étudiants.

Le Ministère tiendra compte des conclusions de la présente évaluation dans son élaboration de solutions pour la réforme de l’éducation.
Automne 2014  
2. Appuyer davantage la formation de partenariats avec les Premières Nations, les organismes éducationnels et les établissements d'enseignement pour faciliter la transition et le soutien des étudiants. Dans son budget de 2010, le gouvernement s’est engagé à adopter une nouvelle approche pour appuyer les étudiants des Premières Nations et inuits de niveau postsecondaire afin de voir à ce qu’ils reçoivent tout le soutien nécessaire leur permettant de poursuivre des études supérieures. Cette nouvelle approche sera efficace et transparente, et sera coordonnée avec les autres programmes fédéraux d’aide aux étudiants.

Le Ministère tiendra compte des conclusions de la présente évaluation dans son élaboration de solutions pour la réforme de l’éducation.
Automne 2014  
3. S’efforcer d’élaborer des méthodes de collecte de données qui permettent l’évaluation fiable de l’inscription et de la réussite des étudiants. La Direction générale de l’éducation convient que les données actuelles sur les taux d’inscription et de réussite ne sont pas fiables. Elle a revu ses instruments de collecte de données (ICD) ainsi que l’échéancier du processus d’établissement de rapports dans le but d’améliorer la fiabilité et l’exhaustivité des données. Les nouveaux ICD seront en vigueur dès 2012-2013. Le premier ensemble de données sera envoyé par les bénéficiaires en juin 2013. Juillet 2013 État : en cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013
:

Les rapports des Premières Nations sur les programmes d'aide aux étudiants de niveau postsecondaire et programmes préparatoires à l’entrée au collège et à l’université pour 2012-2013 nous parviennent depuis août 2013. En date de décembre 2013, 107 rapports sont encore en souffrance et 348 en sont à différents stades d’examen et de conformité, avant d’être acceptés à titre final et insérés dans la base de données. Les bureaux régionaux assurent le suivi des Premières Nations dont les rapports sont en souffrance, conformément à la Politique sur les paiements de transfert et aux modalités des ententes de financement établies. À noter que les bureaux régionaux accordent la préséance à l’achèvement de la liste nominative de la maternelle à la 12e année, puisqu’il est d’importance capitale de calculer le niveau de financement des services d’éducation essentiels pour 2014-2015.

SVE : En cours – Une fois que suffisamment de données auront été recueillies, il faudrait s’efforcer d’évaluer les améliorations relatives à la fiabilité et à l’exhaustivité des données.
Date de modification :