Evaluation of Indian Moneys, Estates and Treaty Annuities - Follow-up Report Status Update as of December 31, 2013

PDF Version (50 Kb, 13 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of December 31, 2013

RIA

Evaluation of Indian Moneys, Estates and Treaty Annuities
Approval Date: 04-25-2013
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. Explore the development of a workable alternative to Band Moneys that would provide First Nations access to funds in the CRF outside the constraints of the Indian Act and present proposed alternative to the Strategic Policy Committee. After exploring options regarding Indian Moneys, RIA has drafted an optional policy allowing for the transfer of all of a First Nation's current and future capital moneys pursuant to Section 64(1)(k) of the Indian Act. The policy will be finalized in 2013. December 2013 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:


  • Policy drafted.
  • Once approvals are given, AANDC will be inviting First Nations to comment on the proposed policy through the Departmental website.
  • Implementation of the policy is targeted for early in the 2014-2015 fiscal year.
AES: Substantially implemented, recommendation will be closed once the strategy has been finalized/approved.
2. Any changes to Band Moneys and alternatives, be designed to increase the transparency of Band moneys expenditures to members, better supports access to capital for economic development and promote greater self-sufficiency. The new 64(1)(k) policy will include requirements that trust arrangements provide for reporting to membership on the management of the trust. December 2013 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:


  • The draft policy includes reporting requirements to membership.
  • Once approvals are given, AANDC will be inviting First Nations to comment on the proposed policy through the Departmental website.
  • This online engagement approach aligns with the Government of Canada’s commitment to increase transparency.
  • The input gathered during the online engagement period will be used to finalize the new policy.
AES: Substantially implemented, recommendation will be closed once the strategy has been finalized/approved.
3. That AANDC revise the Manual for the Administration of Band Moneys to reflect current policy and modern practices. The new 64(1)(k) policy will include a requirement that trust arrangements have guidelines on capital encroachment.

IMETA will ensure that policies, directives and procedures are aligned with the Indian Act.
December 2013 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:


  • Capital encroachment guidelines are included in the draft policy.
Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:


  • The draft policy is aligned with the Indian Act.
  • Tools and processes (such as FAQs, fact sheets, process maps, templates and proposal criteria) are being developed to support policy implementation.
  • In addition, an update to the Manual for the Administration of Band Moneys is being drafted that will ensure that the manual better aligns with current practices and better reflects the program parameters as set out by the Indian Act. This update will be finalized and available on-line by March 31, 2014.
AES: Underway – in progress
4. Facilitate a discussion with First Nations on how to report back to members in a clear and useful manner on Band Moneys expenditures. The new 64(1)(k) policy will include requirements that trust arrangements include provisions regarding accountability and reporting to the membership for moneys expended out of the trust. December 2013 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:


  • Draft policy includes accountability and reporting requirements.
AES: Substantially implemented, recommendation will be closed once the strategy has been finalized/approved.
5. Develop policies and procedures for Living Estates to identify dependent adults and confirm AANDC jurisdiction. The Manual for the Administration of Property Pursuant to Section 51 of the Indian Act was updated and circulated in August 2012. The new edition clarifies how to determine and confirm AANDC jurisdiction. Completed  
RIA, in collaboration with regions, will pursue the development of information sharing agreements with provinces and territories with a view to clarifying jurisdictional issues and identifying dependent adults who are subject to the Minister's legislative authority. March 2014
The joint RIA-RO working group will establish a community of practice on living and decedent estates to identify implementation strategies to support the application of policies and procedures outlined in the manual on an ongoing basis. The community of practice will also be mandated to explore alternatives to the estates regime with a view to improve services to clients. Online options will be explored such as using GC Pedia, video conferencing and other available technologies. March 2014
6. Examine the appropriateness of the "administrator of last resort" policy for Living Estates. The new edition of the Manual for the Administration of Property Pursuant to Section 51 of the Indian Act provides clearer direction with respect to AANDC's responsibility to monitor the administration of property of a dependent adult when a non-departmental administrator is appointed. Completed  
The joint RIA-RO working group will assess the effectiveness and appropriateness of the policy and develop implementation strategies to guide regional officers. March 2014
The working group will also review existing agreements between various regions (Manitoba, British Columbia and Northwest Territories) and their respective Provincial Public Guardians and Trustees as well as other potential alternatives. The working group will explore the cost-effectiveness and feasibility of encouraging the development of similar agreements or alternatives nationally. March 2014
7. Examine IMETA HQ's relationship with regions in order to provide more consistent and timely support for the administration of Living Estates. Establish monthly training and information teleconferences between IMETA and regions focused on specific topics. June 2013  
The joint RIA-RO working group will review the management systems and procedures in place in each region, identify best practices and draw upon this analysis to propose additional strategies to resolve the communication gap between regions and IMETA. Timely and consistent communications will then be supported and maintained through the community of practice on living and decedent estates on an ongoing basis. March 2014
8. Ensure a standard approach to data entry into the Estates Reporting System in order to generate more reliable data for program management. IMETA is currently working with the Indian Registration System (IRS) re-development team with a view to preparing the Estates Reporting System for integration in the new IRS system. Ongoing  
The joint RIA-RO working group will identify areas requiring enhancements to enable regional officers and AANDC managers to use the Estates Reporting System as an effective case management, reporting and monitoring tool. The working group will mandate the community of practice on living and decedent estates to explore strategies to encourage a national standard approach to data entry. March 2014
9. Revisit the policy of securing assets in Decedent Estates to identify and mitigate risks such as addressing delays in the notification of death and possible policy conflicts with existing cultural practices. The joint RIA-RO working group will develop strategies to mitigate the risks related to delays of notification of death and other impediments to securing assets. March 2014  
10. Develop a strategic approach to capacity development to increase effectiveness and efficiency of Decedent Estates with appropriate measurements to monitor success. The joint RIA-RO working group will draw upon current examples of capacity building initiatives, such as the Memorandum of Understanding with the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne, and wills workshops, to explore the feasibility of developing a sustainable and accessible approach to capacity development for estates management in First Nations communities nationally. December 2013 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2013:


  • A RIA-RO working group has been struck and met in November 2013 to begin establishing objectives and milestones.
  • Terms of Reference have been drafted and will be reviewed and approved at the next working group meeting, to take place in February 2014.
  • Approaches to capacity building will be examined in future meetings.
AES: Underway – in progress
11. Examine the appropriateness of the "administrator of last resort" policy in the administration of Decedent Estates. The joint RIA-RO working group will engage with Land and Economic Development to assess the appropriateness of the "administrator of last resort policy" and explore strategies to ensure the proper legal distribution of the reserve land assets of an estate. March 2014  
12. Explore the feasibility of adopting and implementing the British Columbia Minimum Value Policy for Decedent Estates on a national scale. Finalize and implement the British Columbia Minimal Value Estates and Expedited Section 50 Sale policies for Decedent Estates on a national scale. Completed  
Other tools identified by and based on best regional practices are currently undergoing a risk analysis. The joint RIA-RO working group will review the outcome of this analysis and recommend strategies for implementation. March 2014
13. Revisit and revise as appropriate the Treaty Annuities Payment Experience to better serve regional needs. Since they are better placed to recruit individuals to meet their needs, regional offices will be responsible for managing the Treaty Annuity Payment Experience. A letter to the regional directors general was sent on October 19, 2012, to advise the regions that RIA will no longer be involved in the TAPE. Completed  
14. Explore options for dealing with resource shortages during the treaty payment season, including making participation in treaty events mandatory to regular duties of all Individual Affairs staff. A workshop with regions and other sectors was held in January 2012 to identify current issues with respect to the effective delivery of treaty annuities to First Nations individuals.

The joint RIA-RO working group will review and confirm key issues identified and recommend sustainable solutions as well as explore alternatives to the current service delivery model.
March 2014  
15. Refine the TPS data collection in order to facilitate more effective program management and synchronize the TPS with the Estates Reporting System in order to improve the reliability of the data overall. IMETA has begun engaging the IRS re-development team with a view to preparing the TPS for integration in the new IRS integrated platform. Ongoing  
The joint RIA-RO working group will identify necessary improvements to better support service delivery in the regions and support management in their reporting requirements. March 2014
16. Coordinate regular forums among Indian Moneys, Estates and Treaty Annuities regional and headquarters staff to provide opportunities for information exchange, sharing of best practices and lessons learned. The joint RIA-RO working group will recommend approaches to improve the communications between IMETA and the regions. The community of practice on treaty annuity payments will be mandated to foster and maintain sustainable, timely and consistent communications. It will also promote the sharing of best practices with a view to developing standardized approaches to the administration of treaty annuity payments. March 2014  
Date modified:

Évaluation de Fonds des Indiens, successions et annuités découlant des traités - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 décembre 2013

Format PDF (56 Ko, 14 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 décembre 2013

RAI

Évaluation de Fonds des Indiens, successions et annuités découlant des traités
Date d'approbation 2013-04-25
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Étudier la possibilité d'élaborer une solution de rechange viable au Programme des fonds des Indiens qui permettrait aux Premières Nations d'accéder aux fonds du Trésor sans être assujetties aux contraintes de la Loi sur les Indiens et présenter la solution de rechange proposée au Comité des politiques stratégiques. Après avoir examiné les options concernant l'argent des Indiens, le Secteur de la RAI a rédigé une politique optionnelle autorisant le transfert de tous les fonds de capital actuels et futurs d'une Première Nation conformément à l'alinéa 64(1)k) de la Loi sur les Indiens. L'élaboration de la politique sera terminée en 2013. Décembre 2013 État : En cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :


  • La politique est rédigée.
  • Quand on aura obtenu les approbations, AADNC invitera les Premières Nations à commenter la politique proposée au moyen du site Web du Ministère.
  • La date cible de mise en œuvre de la politique est le début de l’exercice 2014-2015.
SVE : Largement mis en œuvre, la recommandation sera close après que la stratégie aura été mise au point et approuvée.
2. Les modifications au Programme des fonds des Indiens et les solutions de rechange connexes doivent viser à accroître la transparence des dépenses des fonds des bandes faites au profit des membres, à améliorer l'accès au capital aux fins du développement économique et à promouvoir une plus grande autonomie. En vertu de la nouvelle politique relative à l'alinéa 64(1)k), les accords de fiducie devront prévoir la reddition de comptes aux membres concernant la gestion fiduciaire. Décembre 2013 État : En cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :


  • L’ébauche de politique prévoit l’obligation de rendre des comptes aux membres.
  • Une fois que les approbations auront été accordées, AADNC invitera les Premières Nations à commenter la politique proposée sur le site Web du Ministère.
  • Cette méthode de mobilisation en ligne va dans le sens de l’engagement pris par le gouvernement du Canada d’améliorer la transparence.
  • Les données recueillies au cours de la période de mobilisation en ligne serviront à donner sa forme finale à la nouvelle politique.
SVE : Largement mis en œuvre, la recommandation sera close après que la stratégie aura été mise au point et approuvée.
3. AADNC doit réviser le Guide d'administration des fonds des bandes afin de tenir compte de la politique actuelle et des pratiques modernes. En vertu de la nouvelle politique relative à l'alinéa 64(1)k), les accords de fiducie devront comprendre des lignes directrices concernant l'empiètement sur le capital.

FISAT s'assurera que les politiques, directives et procédures s'harmonisent avec la Loi sur les Indiens.
Décembre 2013 État : En cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :


  • L’ébauche de politique contient des lignes directrices concernant l’empiétement sur le capital.
État : En cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :


  • L’ébauche de politique est harmonisée avec la Loi sur les Indiens.
  • On élabore des outils et processus (FAQ, fiches d'information, descriptions du processus, modèles et gabarits, critères proposés, etc.) à l’appui de la mise en œuvre de la politique.
  • On rédige de plus une mise à jour du Guide d’administration des fonds des bandes pour que celui-ci corresponde davantage aux pratiques actuelles, ainsi qu’aux paramètres du programme énoncés dans la Loi sur les Indiens. Cette mise à jour sera achevée et offerte en ligne au plus tard le 31 mars 2014.
SVE : En cours et de manière continue
4. Faciliter la discussion avec les Premières Nations sur la façon de rendre compte aux membres, d'une façon claire et pratique, de l'utilisation qui est faite des fonds des bandes. En vertu de la nouvelle politique relative à l'alinéa 64(1)k), les accords de fiducie devront comprendre des dispositions sur la reddition de comptes aux membres concernant les dépenses des fonds en fiducie. Décembre 2013 État : En cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :


  • L’ébauche de politique prévoit des exigences de reddition de comptes et d’établissement de rapports.
SVE : Largement mis en œuvre, la recommandation sera close après que la stratégie aura été mise au point et approuvée.
5. Élaborer des politiques et des procédures pour le Programme d'administration du patrimoine des vivants afin d'identifier les adultes à charge et de confirmer la compétence d'AADNC. Le Guide d'administration des biens, qui est conforme à l'article 51 de la Loi sur les Indiens, a été mis à jour et distribué en août 2012. La nouvelle édition précise la façon de déterminer et de confirmer la compétence d'AADNC. Achevé  
Le RAI, en collaboration avec les régions, continuera d'élaborer des ententes d'échange de renseignements avec les provinces et les territoires dans le but de clarifier les questions de compétence et de recenser les adultes à charge visés par l'autorisation légale du ministre. Mars 2014
Le groupe de travail mixte RAI-OR établira une communauté de pratique sur les biens des personnes vivantes et les biens des défunts pour cerner des stratégies de mise en œuvre pour appuyer l'application continue des politiques et des procédures établies dans le Guide. La communauté de pratique aura également le mandat d'étudier les diverses solutions de rechange au régime d'administration des successions en vue d'améliorer les services à la clientèle. Elle envisagera des options en ligne, telles que l'utilisation de GCPedia, des vidéoconférences et d'autres technologies disponibles. Mars 2014
6. Examiner la pertinence de la politique sur les « administrateurs de dernier recours » dans le cadre du Programme d'administration du patrimoine des vivants. La nouvelle édition du Guide d'administration des biens, qui est conforme à l'article 51 de la Loi sur les Indiens, fournit une orientation plus claire concernant la responsabilité d'AADNC d'effectuer un suivi de l'administration de la propriété d'un adulte à charge lors de la désignation d'un administrateur n'appartenant pas au Ministère. Achevé  
Le groupe de travail mixte RAI-OR évaluera l'efficacité et la pertinence de la politique et élaborera des stratégies de mise en œuvre pour guider les agents régionaux. Mars 2014
Le groupe de travail examinera également les ententes entre diverses régions (Manitoba, Colombie-Britannique et Territoires du Nord-Ouest) et les tuteurs et curateurs publics de leur province respective, ainsi que d'autres solutions de rechange potentielles. Le groupe de travail examinera le rapport coût-efficacité et la faisabilité d'adopter des mesures pour encourager l'élaboration d'ententes similaires ou de solutions de rechange à l'échelle nationale. Mars 2014
7. Examiner la relation entre l'AC de FISAT et les régions afin d'offrir un soutien plus uniforme en temps plus opportun aux fins de l'administration du Programme d'administration du patrimoine des vivants. Organiser tous les mois des téléconférences de formation et d'information axées sur des sujets particuliers entre FISAT et les régions. Juin 2013  
Le groupe de travail mixte RAI-OR examinera les systèmes et les procédures de gestion en place dans chaque région, déterminera les pratiques exemplaires et se servira de cette analyse pour proposer des stratégies supplémentaires afin de combler les lacunes au niveau de la communication entre les régions et FISAT. Par la suite, la communauté de pratique sur les biens des personnes vivantes et les biens des défunts assurera une communication cohérente et opportune, et ce, de façon continue. Mars 2014
8. Veiller à l'adoption d'une approche normalisée pour la saisie des données dans le Système de rapports sur les successions afin de générer des données plus fiables pour la gestion du programme. FISAT collabore actuellement avec l'équipe chargée de la refonte du Système d'inscription des Indiens (SII) afin de préparer l'intégration du Système de rapports sur les successions dans le nouveau SII. En cours  
Le groupe de travail mixte RAI-OR déterminera les secteurs qui nécessitent des améliorations pour permettre aux agents régionaux et aux gestionnaires d'AADNC d'utiliser le Système de rapports sur les successions comme un outil efficace de gestion des cas, de reddition de comptes et de suivi. Le groupe de travail donnera à la communauté de pratique sur les biens des personnes vivantes et les biens des défunts le mandat d'examiner des stratégies afin d'encourager l'adoption d'une approche normalisée à l'échelle nationale pour la saisie des données. Mars 2014
9. Revoir la politique sur la sécurité des biens dans le cadre du Programme d'administration des successions pour cerner et atténuer les risques tels que les délais de notification des décès et les conflits possibles entre les politiques et les pratiques culturelles actuelles. Le groupe de travail mixte RAI-OR élaborera des stratégies pour atténuer les risques liés aux retards dans la notification des décès et d'autres obstacles à la sécurité des biens. Mars 2014  
10. Mettre au point une approche stratégique en matière de développement des capacités, qui comprendra des mesures du rendement appropriées aux fins de suivi, pour accroître l'efficacité et l'efficience du Programme d'administration des successions. Le groupe de travail mixte RAI-OR se servira d'exemples d'initiatives actuelles de renforcement des capacités comme le Protocole d'entente conclu avec le Conseil des Mohawks d'Akwesasne et les ateliers sur la préparation d'un testament afin d'étudier la faisabilité d'élaborer une approche viable et accessible en vue du développement des capacités en matière de gestion des successions dans les collectivités des Premières Nations à l'échelle nationale. Décembre 2013 État : En cours

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 31 décembre 2013 :


  • Un groupe de travail RAI-OR a été mis sur pied et s’est réuni en novembre 2013 pour commencer à fixer des objectifs et des jalons.
  • Un mandat a été rédigé; il sera examiné et approuvé à la prochaine réunion du groupe de travail, qui doit se tenir en février 2014.
  • Des approches du renforcement de la capacité seront étudiées aux réunions à venir.
SVE : En cours et de manière continue
11. Examiner la pertinence de la politique sur les « administrateurs de dernier recours » aux fins de l'administration du Programme d'administration des successions. Le groupe de travail mixte RAI-OR collaborera avec le Secteur terres et développement économique pour évaluer la pertinence de la politique sur les « administrateurs de dernier recours » et examiner des stratégies en vue d'assurer une distribution appropriée sur le plan juridique des biens d'une succession situés sur des terres de réserve. Mars 2014  
12. Étudier la faisabilité d'adopter et de mettre en œuvre à l'échelle nationale la politique sur la valeur minimale de la Colombie-Britannique dans le cadre du Programme d'administration des successions. Terminer et mettre en œuvre à l'échelle nationale la politique de la Colombie-Britannique sur la valeur minimale des successions et la politique sur la vente accélérée aux termes de l'article 50 dans le cadre du Programme d'administration des successions. Achevé  
D'autres outils déterminés en fonction des pratiques exemplaires régionales et fondés sur celles-ci font actuellement l'objet d'une analyse de risque. Le groupe de travail mixte RAI-OR examinera les résultats de cette analyse et recommandera des stratégies de mise en œuvre. Mars 2014
13. Revoir et réviser au besoin l'Expérience du paiement des annuités prévues dans les traités pour mieux répondre aux besoins régionaux. Étant donné qu'ils sont mieux placés pour recruter des personnes qui répondront à leurs besoins, les bureaux régionaux seront chargés de gérer l'Expérience du paiement des annuités prévues dans les traités. Une lettre à l'intention des directeurs généraux régionaux a été envoyée le 19 octobre 2012 pour informer les régions que le Secteur de la RAI ne participera plus à l’EPAT. Achevé  
14. Étudier différentes options pour gérer les pénuries de ressources pendant la saison des paiements de traités, y compris la possibilité de rendre obligatoire la participation aux événements liés aux traités dans le cadre des fonctions normales de l'ensemble du personnel des Affaires individuelles. Un atelier avec les régions et d'autres secteurs a été tenu en janvier 2012 pour cerner les problèmes actuels concernant l'efficacité du versement des annuités de traités aux particuliers des Premières Nations.

Le groupe de travail mixte RAI-OR examinera et confirmera les principaux problèmes relevés et recommandera des solutions viables et étudiera des solutions de rechange au modèle actuel de prestation des services.
Mars 2014  
15. Perfectionner la collecte des données relatives au SPT pour faciliter une gestion plus efficace du programme et synchroniser le SPT et le Système de rapports sur les successions, de manière à améliorer la fiabilité des données en général. FISAT a commencé à collaborer avec l'équipe chargée de la refonte du SII en vue de préparer l'intégration du SPT dans la nouvelle plateforme intégrée du SII. En cours  
Le groupe de travail mixte RAI-OR déterminera les améliorations nécessaires pour mieux appuyer la prestation des services dans les régions et aider la direction à respecter les obligations redditionnelles. Mars 2014
16. Coordonner des forums réguliers entre les membres du personnel des régions et de l'administration centrale de Fonds des Indiens, successions et annuités découlant des traités pour créer des possibilités d'échange de renseignements et de partage des pratiques exemplaires et des leçons apprises. Le groupe de travail mixte RAI-OR recommandera des approches visant à améliorer les communications entre FISAT et les régions. La communauté de pratique sur les paiements d'annuités prévues dans les traités aura comme mandat de favoriser et d'assurer une communication durable, cohérente et opportune. Elle fera également la promotion du partage des pratiques exemplaires dans le but d'élaborer des approches normalisées pour l'administration des paiements d'annuités découlant de traités. Mars 2014  
Date de modification :