Bill S-6, Yukon and Nunavut Regulatory Improvement Act: Letter of Introduction

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

June 9, 2014

Dear Premier, Grand Chief, Chief, President of Aboriginal Organization, Board Chairperson, Board Executive Director, Industry Partner:

I am pleased to inform you that on June 3, 2014, our Government introduced Bill S-6, the Yukon and Nunavut Regulatory Improvement Act, which includes amendments to the Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Act and the Nunavut Waters and Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal Act.

Canada's North holds tremendous resource potential. Bill S-6 will help Northerners realize their economic aspirations by ensuring a strong, effective, predictable and modern regulatory system. The amendments proposed in this Bill will, among other improvements, introduce legislated beginning-to-end time limits for environmental assessments in the Yukon, and water license approvals in Nunavut.  It also enables the Government of Canada to develop regulations for cost recovery, while streamlining assessments and licensing practices.

These amendments promote investor confidence and create opportunities for jobs and economic growth, while ensuring sound environmental stewardship. This will ensure that the North remains a strong, competitive and attractive jurisdiction to live, work and invest for generations to come.

This legislation complements previous legislative initiatives to modernize northern regulatory systems, including Bill C-47, which enacted the Nunavut Planning and Project Assessment Act and the Northwest Territories Surface Rights Board Act, as well as Bill C-15, the Northwest Territories Devolution Act, which included changes to the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act. Bill S-6 will also complete the legislative component of our Governments' Action Plan to Improve Northern Regulatory Regimes.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your contribution to the development of the Bill. The input we received from Aboriginal groups, territorial governments, and boards was instrumental in improving and strengthening this legislation. I look forward to your continued participation, and hope that you will lend your support to this important step in implementing the Action Plan to Improve Northern Regulatory Regimes.

 

Sincerely,

 

Bernard Valcourt, PC, QC, MP

Projet de loi S-6, Loi sur l’amélioration de la réglementation au Yukon et au Nunavut : lettre d'introduction

Le 9 juin 2014

Mesdames et Messieurs les premiers ministres, grands chefs, chefs, présidents d'une organisation autochtone, présidents d'un conseil, directeurs exécutifs d'un conseil et partenaires de l'industrie,

Je suis heureux de vous annoncer que, le 3 juin 2014, notre gouvernement a déposé le projet de loi S-6, Loi sur l'amélioration de la réglementation au Yukon et au Nunavut, qui prévoit des modifications à la Loi sur l'évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique au Yukon et à la Loi sur les eaux du Nunavut et le Tribunal des droits de surface du Nunavut.

Le potentiel des ressources du Nord canadien est immense. Le projet de loi S-6 aidera les résidants du Nord à réaliser leurs aspirations sur le plan économique grâce à un système réglementaire fort, efficace, prévisible et moderne. Les modifications proposées dans le projet de loi sont notamment l'ajout de délais prescrits par la loi pour les évaluations environnementales au Yukon et l'approbation des permis d'utilisation des eaux au Nunavut. Le projet de loi permet également au gouvernement du Canada d'établir des règlements liés au recouvrement des coûts et de simplifier les processus pour les évaluations et l'octroi de permis.

Les modifications proposées favorisent la confiance des investisseurs et créent des occasions d'emplois et de croissance économique tout en assurant une bonne gestion de l'environnement. Ainsi, le Nord demeurera une région attrayante, concurrentielle et forte où il fait bon vivre, travailler et investir pour les générations à venir.

Le projet de loi complète d'autres projets législatifs visant à moderniser les systèmes réglementaires du Nord, y compris le projet de loi C-47, édictant la Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire et l'évaluation des projets au Nunavut et la Loi sur l'Office des droits de surface des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, et le projet de loi C-15, Loi sur le transfert de responsabilités aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest, qui modifie la Loi sur la gestion des ressources de la vallée du Mackenzie. Le projet de loi S-6 complétera la portion législative du Plan d'action du gouvernement visant à améliorer les régimes de réglementation dans le Nord.

J'aimerais vous remercier de votre participation à l'élaboration de ce projet de loi. Les commentaires que nous avons reçus des groupes autochtones, des gouvernements des territoires et des conseils ont été essentiels en vue d'améliorer et de renforcer le projet de loi. Je vous remercie de votre participation continue et j'espère pouvoir compter sur votre appui pour cette étape importante de la mise en œuvre du Plan d'action visant à améliorer les régimes de réglementation dans le Nord.

 

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l'expression de ma considération distinguée.

 

Bernard Valcourt, C.P., c.r., député