ARCHIVED - Status Report on Transformational and Major Crown Projects

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Description:

In the 2007 Speech from the Throne, the Government of Canada outlined that there are both new opportunities and new challenges in the North, and indicated it would bring forward an integrated Northern Strategy focused on strengthening Canada's sovereignty, protecting environmental heritage, promoting economic and social development, and improving and devolving governance. As a signature deliverable of this new commitment, the Government also promised to "build a world-class Arctic research station that will be on the cutting edge of Arctic issues, including environmental science and resource development. This station will be built by Canadians, in Canada's Arctic, and it will be there to serve the world." The Prime Minister announced Cambridge Bay, Nunavut, as the location for the Canadian High Arctic Research Station (CHARS) in August 2010.

The Prime Minister announced a new investment in the next phases of the Canadian High Arctic Research Station on August 23, 2012: $142.4 million for the construction, equipment, and fit-up of the Canadian High Arctic Research Station (CHARS) and $46.2 million over six years for the phase-in of the Science and Technology Program. An additional $26.5 million per year has been set aside, as of 2018–2019, for the on-going program and operations of the Station. The Prime Minister also announced the winning bidder for the design of the station. Fournier Gersovitz Moss Drolet et associés architectes and NFOE et associés architectes, operating as a joint venture, have been awarded the Design Consultant contract through a competitive and transparent bidding process.

CHARS will be operational in 2017 to coincide with Canada's 150th anniversary.

Project Phase:

Design: Budget 2010 provided $18 million over four years for the design of CHARS. The selection of a design consultant is completed and the design concept has been finalized. The contract for advisory services during the design of CHARS was awarded to EllisDon Corporation in joint venture with NCC Dowland in June 2013.

Sponsoring and Participating Departments and Agencies

Sponsoring Department Contracting Authority Participating Departments
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) AANDC and PWGSC

Prime and Major Subcontractor(s)

Prime Contractor Major Subcontractor(s)
A Construction Manager will be identified in 2014 Construction is scheduled to begin in 2014

Major milestones

Major Milestone Date
Creation of a Canadian High Arctic Research Station announced Speech from the Throne 2007
CHARS Feasibility: $2 million over 2 years Budget 2009
CHARS Design: $18 million over 4 years Budget 2010
Cambridge Bay location announced by Prime Minister August 2010
CHARS mandate announced by Minister December 2010
Feasibility Study Released on Science.gc.ca September 2011
RFP for Design Consultant Tendered September 2011
RFP for Design Consultant Closed November 2011
Design Consultant Proposals Evaluated – Phase 1 December 2011
Design Consultant Proposals Evaluated – Phase 2 February 2012
Announced Design Consultant Contract August 2012
RFP for Construction Management Services tendered November 2012
RFP for Construction Management Services closed December 2012
RFP for Construction Management Services evaluated January 2013
Site announced in Cambridge Bay February 2013
Construction Management contract for Advisory Services awarded June 2013
Schematic Design Report completed August 2013
Design Development Report completed March 2014
Prepare construction drawings Spring 2014
Begin Construction Summer/fall 2014
Operational by 150th anniversary of Confederation July 1, 2017
Commissioning Completed 2018

Project Outcomes:

Progress Report and Explanations of Variances:

Industrial benefits:

 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Rapport d'étape sur les projets transformationnels et les grands projets de l'État

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Description :

Dans le discours du Trône de 2007, le gouvernement du Canada a insisté sur le fait qu'il existe de nouvelles possibilités et de nouveaux défis dans le Nord; il a en outre expliqué qu'il allait concevoir une stratégie intégrée pour le Nord, centrée sur le renforcement de la souveraineté du Canada, la protection du patrimoine environnemental, la promotion du développement économique et social, ainsi que l'amélioration et le transfert de la gouvernance. À titre de produit livrable caractéristique de ce nouvel engagement, le gouvernement a aussi promis de « construire une station de recherche de calibre mondial qui se maintiendra à la fine pointe des questions arctiques, comme les sciences de l'environnement et le développement des ressources naturelles. Cette station, bâtie par des Canadiens dans l'Arctique canadien, servira le monde entier ». En août 2010, le premier ministre a annoncé que la Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique (SRCEA) serait construite à Cambridge Bay, au Nunavut.

Le 23 août 2012, le premier ministre a annoncé de nouveaux investissements dans les prochaines étapes de la création de la SRCEA : 142,4 millions de dollars pour la construction, l'équipement et l'aménagement de la Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique (SRCEA) et 46,2 millions de dollars, échelonnés sur six ans, pour la mise en place progressive du Programme de sciences et de technologie. Une somme supplémentaire de 26,5 millions de dollars par année sera mise de côté, à compter de 2018-2019, pour le bon déroulement du programme et les activités courantes de la SRCEA. Le premier ministre a également annoncé le nom du soumissionnaire retenu pour la conception de la Station. L'atelier Fournier Gersovitz Moss Drolet et associés architectes ainsi que la firme NFOE et associés architectes, qui ont formé une coentreprise pour ce projet, se sont vu accorder le marché pour les services de consultants en conception au terme d'un processus d'appel d'offres concurrentiel et transparent.

La SRCEA sera opérationnelle d'ici 2017 de manière à coïncider avec le 150e anniversaire du Canada.

Phase du projet :

Conception : Le budget de 2010 prévoit 18 millions de dollars sur quatre ans pour la conception de la SRCEA. Le choix d'un expert-conseil en conception est fait et les caractéristiques de la conception ont été définies. En juin 2013, le marché pour les services consultatifs pendant la conception de la SRCEA a été octroyé à EllisDon Corporation, en coentreprise avec NCC Dowland.

Ministères et organismes parrains et participants

Ministère parrain Pouvoir d'attribution des contrats Ministère participant
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) AADNC et TPSGC

Entrepreneur principal et sous-traitants principaux

Entrepreneur principal Sous-traitants principaux
Un directeur des travaux sera choisi en 2014. Le début de la construction est prévu pour 2014.

Principaux jalons

Jalon important Date
Annonce de la création de la Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique Discours du Trône, 2007
Faisabilité de la SRCEA : 2 millions de dollars sur 2 ans Budget de 2009
Conception de la SRCEA : 18 millions de dollars sur 4 ans Budget de 2010
Annonce de l'emplacement à Cambridge Bay par le premier ministre Août 2010
Annonce du mandat de la SRCEA par le ministre Décembre 2010
Publication de l'étude de faisabilité sur Science.gc.ca Septembre 2011
Lancement de la demande de proposition (DP) pour l'obtention des services de consultants en conception Septembre 2011
Clôture de la DP pour l'obtention des services de consultants en conception Novembre 2011
Évaluation des propositions des consultants en conception – Phase 1 Décembre 2011
Évaluation des propositions des consultants en conception – Phase 2 Février 2012
Annonce de l'attribution du marché pour les services de consultants en conception Août 2012
Lancement de la DP pour les services de gestion de la construction Novembre 2012
Clôture de la DP pour les services de gestion de la construction Décembre 2012
Évaluation de la DP pour les services de gestion de la construction Janvier 2013
Annonce du site à Cambridge Bay Février 2013
Attribution du marché pour les services consultatifs d'un gestionnaire de la construction Juin 2013
Achèvement du rapport de schéma de la conception Août 2013
Achèvement du rapport d'élaboration de la conception Mars 2014
Préparation des dessins d'exécution Printemps 2014
Début de la construction Été-automne 2014
En fonction au 150e anniversaire de la Confédération 1er juillet 2017
Achèvement de la mise en service 2018

Résultats du projet :

Rapport d'étape et explication des écarts :

Retombées industrielles :

 
Date de modification :