ARCHIVED - Horizontal Initiatives: Nutrition North Canada

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Name of lead department(s):

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)

Lead department program:

Northern Governance and People

Start date of the Horizontal Initiative:

April 1, 2011

End date of the Horizontal Initiative:

On-going

Total federal funding allocation (start date to end date):

$301,359,500 over five years

Description of the horizontal initiative (including funding agreement):

The objective of AANDC's food subsidy program is to make healthy foods more accessible and affordable to residents of isolated northern communities.

Registered retailers in the North, country food processors/distributors located in eligible communities, and food suppliers in the South who supply small retailers, institutions and individuals in these isolated communities, can apply for a subsidy based on the weight of eligible foods shipped by air to eligible northern communities. These subsidies are to be passed on to northern consumers by appropriate reductions in the selling prices of eligible foods. The terms of the funding arrangements with AANDC's subsidy recipients (northern and southern retailers/wholesalers) will be governed by contribution agreements.

Since price is not the only factor that influences consumption, the Program will be supported by targeted Health Canada initiatives that encourage the purchase, preparation and consumption of healthy foods. Funding will flow to communities via contribution agreements with Aboriginal communities/organizations, and/or territorial governments.

Shared outcome(s):

By making nutritious food more accessible and affordable, the Program seeks to increase its consumption and contribute to better overall health of the population, both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal. It is expected that the subsidy will help lower the prices of nutritious foods in the North. In combination with complementary health promotion activities, it is expected that consumption of these foods will increase in the short and mid-term, and that in the longer term more individuals living in eligible communities are expected to adopt healthier eating patterns which will contribute to decreases in the rates of chronic and infectious diseases.

Governance structure(s):

An Oversight Committee and an external Advisory Board were created to provide direction and oversight for the new Program. The role of the Oversight Committee is to monitor the achievement of Program objectives and the effectiveness of cost containment measures, and provide strategic direction to Program managers on Program policy and operational matters. AANDC chairs the committee and seeks advice from Health Canada on health and nutrition-related issues, and from Transport Canada on transportation-related issue such as the impacts of the new Program on northern air services.

The Nutrition North Canada Advisory Board will be composed of five to seven members who represent the perspectives and interests of northern residents and communities in relation to the management and effectiveness of the Program.

Performance highlights:

After three years of operation, the Nutrition North Canada (NNC) program is well implemented and on track to achieve the immediate outcomes in line with the NNC Performance Measurement Framework:

Phase 1 of a News Canada campaign featuring radio and video news segments. The segments were developed and approved.

Federal PartnersPAA ProgramsContributing activities/programsTotal Allocation (from start date to end date)
($ millions)
2013–14 ($ millions)
* Performance indicators are defined in the Performance Measurement Strategies and/or Performance Measurement Frameworks (PMF) of each federal partner.
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada Northern Governance and People Nutrition North 286.9 Planned spending:57.2

Actual spending: 66.2

Expected results: Consumption of nutritious food in eligible communities

Contributing activity/program results (using specific indicators)*: As an indicator of consumption of nutritious food, the estimated weight of eligible food purchased per capita is expected to increase annually. For the period of 2013–2014, there were 277 kilograms per capita of fully eligible subsidized foods shipped. This represents a 4% increase over the volume of the same food shipped in 2012–2013.

Health Canada First Nations and Inuit Primary Health Care Nutrition North Canada Nutrition Education Initiatives 14.5
(2011–2012 to
2015–2016,
and on-going
annually at 2.9)
Planned spending:2.9

Actual spending: 2.7

Expected results:

  • 71 communities served by NNC nutrition education initiatives
  • 1,000 NNC nutrition education initiatives supported

Contributing activity/program results (using specific indicators)*:

  • Achived. 71 communities served by Nutrition North Canada (NNC) nutrition education initiatives.
  • Exceeded. 1,100 NNC nutrition education initiatives supported such as: promotion of healthy foods, cooking skills classes, youth-focussed activities, in-store taste tests and grocery store tours as well as activities to support traditional or country food knowledge and skills.
Total 301.4 Total planned spending:60.1

Total actual spending: 68.9

Comments on Variances:

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

The $9 million variance between planned and actual spending for the 2013–2014 period is attributed to growth in demand for subsidized food.

Health Canada

Actual spending was lower than planned in 2013–2014 as Health Canada was able to identify efficiencies such as the use of teleconference/videoconference discussions, coordinating travel to communities and offering joint training sessions to support multiple programs. This allowed for the sharing of program delivery costs with other program areas.

Results Achieved by Non-Federal Partners (if applicable):

The Nutrition North Canada Advisory Board held two face-to-face meetings in 2013–2014. The Board met with the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development to discuss their observations and to provide advice and recommendations Following the first year of the program, the Board communicated the activities and the issues it considered in its First Report of the Advisory Board: for the Period February 2011-March 2012, which is available in the Advisory Board section of the Program website.

Contact information:

Christopher McDonell
A/Director
Strategic Partnerships Initiative
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Telephone: 819-994-7219
Christopher.McDonell@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Initiatives horizontales : Nutrition Nord Canada

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Nom du ou des ministères responsables :

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC)

Programme du ministère responsable :

Gouvernance et gens du Nord

Date de mise en œuvre :

1er avril, 2011

Date de clôture :

Sur une base continue

Montant total des fonds fédéraux affectés (de la mise en œuvre à la clôture) :

301 359 500 $ au cours des cinq prochaines années

Description de l'initiative horizontale (y compris l'accord de financement) :

L'objectif du Programme de subvention alimentaire d'AADNC est que les résidants des collectivités isolées du Nord aient plus facilement accès à des produits alimentaires sains et abordables.

Les détaillants enregistrés dans le Nord, les transformateurs et les distributeurs de produits alimentaires des collectivités admissibles ainsi que les fournisseurs de produits alimentaires du Sud qui assurent l'approvisionnement des petits détaillants, des institutions et des particuliers dans ces collectivités isolées peuvent présenter une demande de subvention qui sera établie en fonction du poids des aliments admissibles qui auront été expédiés par avion aux collectivités admissibles du Nord. Les consommateurs du Nord devraient en fin de compte bénéficier de ces subventions grâce aux réductions appropriées dans le prix de vente des produits alimentaires admissibles. Les modalités financières de cette subvention d'AADNC avec les bénéficiaires (les détaillants et les grossistes du Nord et du Sud) seront régies dans le cadre des ententes de contribution.

Comme le prix n'est pas le seul facteur influençant les choix des consommateurs, des initiatives ciblées de Santé Canada qui encouragent l'achat, la préparation et la consommation de produits alimentaires sains seront également mises en œuvre dans le cadre de ce programme. Des fonds seront versés aux collectivités dans le cadre d'ententes de contribution avec les collectivités et les organisations autochtones et/ou les gouvernements territoriaux.

Résultats partagés :

En rendant les aliments nutritifs plus facilement accessibles et plus abordables, le Programme permet à la population autochtone et non autochtone d'en consommer davantage et contribue ainsi à l'amélioration de la santé en général. La subvention devrait entrainer une baisse du prix des aliments nutritifs dans le Nord. En combinaison avec d'autres activités de promotion de la santé, on pense que la consommation de ces aliments augmentera à court et à moyen terme, et qu'à plus long terme, la population adoptera des habitudes alimentaires plus saines, ce qui réduira d'autant le taux de maladies chroniques et infectieuses.

Structures de gouvernance :

Un Comité de surveillance et un Conseil consultatif ont été mis sur pied afin d'assurer la surveillance et l'orientation du programme. Le rôle du Comité de surveillance est de veiller à l'atteinte des objectifs du programme et à l'efficacité des mesures de limitation des coûts et d'orienter les gestionnaires sur les questions de politique et d'exploitation du programme. AADNC préside le comité et consulte Santé Canada sur des questions de santé et de nutrition et Transport Canada sur des questions de transport, notamment sur les répercussions qu'aura le nouveau programme sur les services aériens dans le Nord.

Le Conseil consultatif de nutrition Nord Canada sera composé de cinq à sept membres qui représentent les points de vue et les intérêts des résidants et des collectivités du Nord en lien avec la gestion et l'efficacité du Programme.

Points saillants du rendement :

Après deux ans de mise en œuvre, le programme Nutrition Nord Canada est bien organisé et sur le point d'atteindre les résultats immédiats en conformité avec le cadre de mesure du rendement de NNC :

Première phase d'une campagne d'Actualité Canada comportant des capsules d'actualité radiophoniques et vidéo : les segments ont été élaborés et approuvés.

Partenaires fédérauxProgrammes de l'AAPActivités/programmes associésAffectations totales (de la mise en œuvre à la clôture) (en millions de dollars)2013–14 (en millions de dollars)
* Les indicateurs de rendement sont définis dans les stratégies de mesure du rendement ou dans les cadres de mesure du rendement (CMF) de chacun des partenaires fédéraux.
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada Gouvernance et gens du Nord Nutrition Nord Canada 286,9 Dépenses prévues :57,2

Dépenses réelles : 66,2

Résultats attendus : Consommation de produits alimentaires nutritifs dans les collectivités admissibles.

Résultats des activités/programmes associés (en utilisant des indicateurs spécifiques)* : À titre d'indicateur de consommation d'aliments nutritifs, le poids estimatif des aliments admissibles achetés par personne devrait augmenter annuellement. Pour la période de 2013-2014, les expéditions d'aliments subventionnés ont totalisé 277 kilogrammes, soit une hausse de 4 % par rapport au volume expédié en 2012-2013

Santé Canada Soins de santé primaires des Premières Nations et des Inuit Initiatives d'éducation nutritionnelle de Nutrition Nord Canada 14,5
(De 2011-2012 à 2015-2016, avec reconduction annuelle à 2,9)
Dépenses prévues :2,9

Dépenses réelles : 2,7

Résultats attendus :

  • Initiatives d'éducation nutritionnelle de Nutrition Nord Canada (NNC) offertes dans 71 collectivités.
  • 1 000 initiatives d'éducation nutritionnelle de NNC offertes.

Résultats des activités/programmes associés (en utilisant des indicateurs spécifiques)* :

  • Résultat atteint. Les initiatives d'éducation à la nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada (NNC) sont accessibles à 71 collectivités.
  • Résultat dépassés. On dénombre 1 100 initiatives d'éducation à la nutrition appuyées par NNC, comme la promotion des aliments sains, des cours de cuisine, des activités pour les jeunes, des dégustations en magasin, des visites d'épiceries et des activités favorisant la transmission des connaissances et des compétences culinaires traditionnelles ou nationales.
Total 301,4 Dépenses prévues totales :60,1

Dépenses réelles totales : 68,9

Commentaires sur les écarts :

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

L'écart de 9 millions de dollars entre les dépenses prévues et réelles pour la période de 2013-2014 est lié à l'augmentation de la demande visant les aliments subventionnés.

Santé Canada

Santé Canada : Les dépenses réelles ont été inférieures aux dépenses prévues en 2013-2014 puisque Santé Canada a trouvé des façons d'économiser, comme la tenue de discussions par téléconférence/vidéoconférence, la coordination des déplacements vers les collectivités et l'organisation de séances de formation conjointes en soutien à différents programmes. Ces mesures ont permis la répartition des coûts liés à la prestation du programme avec d'autres volet.

Résultats atteints par les partenaires non fédéraux (le cas échéant) :

Le Conseil consultatif de Nutrition Nord Canada a tenu deux réunions en personne en 2013-2014. Le Conseil a rencontré le ministre d'AADNC pour discuter de ses observations, de même que pour lui faire part de ses conseils et de ses recommandations. Après la première année du programme, le Conseil a fait part des activités et des enjeux examinés dans son Premier rapport du Conseil consultatif – Période de février 2011 à mars 2012 accessible dans la section «Conseil consultati» du site Web du programme.

Personne-ressource :

Christopher McDonell
Directeur par intérim
Direction des Initiatives stratégiques et des partenariats
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Téléphone: 819-994-7219
Christopher.McDonell@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

 
Date de modification :