ARCHIVED - Horizontal Initiatives: Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement – Health Supports Component

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Name of lead department(s):

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)

Lead department program:

Residential Schools Resolution

Start date of the Horizontal Initiative:

September 2003 (RHSP), July 2004 (Crisis Line)

End date of the Horizontal Initiative:

March 31, 2016 (RHSP), March 31, 2016 (Crisis Line)

Total federal funding allocation (start to end date):

$480,690,019

Description of the Horizontal Initiative (including funding agreement):

AANDC's Resolution and Individual Affairs Sector supports former students in crisis by funding the National Indian Residential School Crisis Line, a national, 24-hour toll-free support service (1-866-925-4419) operated by trained Aboriginal crisis counselors. AANDC is also responsible for coordinating the verification of program eligibility, and ensuring that Health Canada is aware of dates for Independent Assessment Process hearings and Truth and Reconciliation and Commemoration events as they arise, so that health supports can be provided to former students in a seamless fashion.

Health Canada's Indian Residential Schools Resolution Health Support Program (IRS RHSP), a component of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement (IRSSA) ensures that former students of Indian residential schools and their families can safely address a broad spectrum of mental wellness issues related to the disclosure of childhood abuse through all phases of the IRSSA.

The RHSP components include: cultural support services provided by Elders; emotional support services provided by Resolution Health Support Workers (RHSWs); professional counseling; and assistance with the cost of transportation to access counseling, Elder, and/or Traditional Healer services.

Shared outcome(s):

The IRSSA Health Supports component works toward the achievement of two outcomes:

Governance structure(s):

AANDC is responsible for the overall implementation of the IRSSA and is working in partnership with Health Canada to coordinate and provide services for former Indian residential school students throughout all phases of the IRSSA.

Performance highlights:

AANDC and Health Canada jointly provide access to services in the claimants' community, at Independent Assessment Process hearings and at Truth and Reconciliation events. In 2013–2014, the Crisis Line responded to a total of 5,038 calls including 44 calls related to suicide intervention. Also in 2013–2014, Health Canada met the demand for health services at 4,165 Independent Assessment Process (IAP) hearings and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's (TRC) 3 national events (Montréal, Vancouver, Edmonton) and 10 community events.

Federal Partners PAA Programs Contributing activities/programs Total Allocation (from start date to end date)
($ millions)
2013–2014 ($ millions)
¹ Performance indicators are defined in the Performance Measurement Strategies and/or Performance Measurement Frameworks (PMF) of each federal partner.
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada Residential Schools Resolution Indian Residential Schools Crisis Line 38.9 Planned Spending: 4.3

Actual Spending: 3.4

Expected Results: Demand-driven health supports are provided to former Indian residential school students and their families through all phases of the IRSSA.

Contributing activity/program results (using specific indicators)¹: Demand-driven health supports have been provided to former Indian residential school students, their families and persons of interest, through all phases of the IRSSA. In 2013–2014, a total of 5,038 calls for support were responded to by the team of crisis counselors, compared to 7,787 calls received in 2012–2013, providing a wide range of services including suicide intervention on 44 calls. The Indian Residential School Crisis Line continues to provide critical and culturally appropriate support to former Indian residential school students, their families and persons of interest, from all areas of the country (including many isolated regions where alternate services are very limited). The results were as expected and within service levels for 2013–2014 (financially, slightly below total obligations; operationally, consistently exceeding the 95% service agreement level).

Health Canada First Nations and Inuit Primary Health Care Indian Residential Schools Resolution Health Support Program 441.8 Planned Spending: 65.4

Actual Spending: 63.0

Expected Results: Demand-driven health support services are accessible to former Indian residential school students and their families throughout all phases of the IRSSA.

Contributing activity/program results (using specific indicators): Provided health support services at the TRC national events in Montréal, Vancouver, and Edmonton. Results are not fully tabulated for the Edmonton event, but an estimated 50,000 health support interactions took place at the first two national events.

Health supports were also provided to 100% of the 4,165 former Indian residential school students who requested support at their IAP hearing.

Total 480.7 Total Planned Spending: 69.7

Total Actual Spending: 66.4

Comments on Variances:

The demand-driven nature of the IRS RHSP resulted in less expenditures than planned for the counselling and transportation components. The costs attributed to delivering health supports at the TRC events were less than originally planned as well. Expenditures included in Total Actual Spending are Employee Benefit Plan and internal services. Overhead, oversight and Non Controllable Salaries are not included.

Results achieved by non-federal partners (if applicable):

Not applicable

Contact Information:

Health Canada

Andrea Challis
Manager, Indian Residential School Resolution Health Support Program
Mental Health and Addictions Division
Community Programs Directorate
First Nations and Inuit Health Branch, Health Canada
Telephone: 613-952-1377
andrea.challis@hc-sc.gc.ca

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Alia Butt
A/Director General
Settlement Agreement Policy and Partnerships
Resolution and Individual Affairs Sector
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Telephone: 613-996-2603
alia.butt@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Initiatives horizontales : Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens - volet Soutien en santé

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Nom du ministère responsable :

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC)

Programme du ministère responsable :

Résolution des questions des pensionnats

Date de mise en œuvre :

Septembre 2003 (Programme de soutien en santé - résolution), Juillet 2004 (ligne d'écoute téléphonique)

Date de clôture :

31 mars 2016 (Programme de soutien en santé – résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens), 31 mars 2016 (ligne d'écoute téléphonique)

Montant total des fonds fédéraux affectés (de la mise en œuvre à la clôture) :

480 690 019 $

Description de l'initiative horizontale (y compris l'accord de financement) :

Le Secteur de la résolution et des affaires individuelles d'AADNC appuie les anciens élèves en situation de crise en finançant la ligne d'écoute téléphonique de Résolution des questions de pensionnats indiens, un service de soutien sans frais offert 24 heures sur 24 (1-866-925-4419), exploité par des conseillers autochtones qualifiés en intervention d'urgence. AADNC coordonne également la vérification de l'admissibilité au programme. Le Ministère veille à ce que Santé Canada soit au courant des dates auxquelles auront lieu les audiences sur le Processus d'évaluation indépendant, les travaux de la Commission et les activités commémoratives de vérité et de réconciliation, au fur et à mesure qu'elles se présentent, de manière à ce que les anciens élèves puissent recevoir sans heurts du soutien en santé.

Le Programme de soutien en santé - résolution des pensionnats indiens (PSSRPI) de Santé Canada est une composante de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens (CRRPI). Le PSSRPI vise à aider les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens et leur famille à régler un large éventail de problèmes de santé mentale associés à la divulgation de la violence faite aux enfants dans le cadre de toutes les phases de la CRRPI.

Les éléments du PSSR comprennent ce qui suit : des services de soutien culturel offerts par des aînés; des services de soutien émotionnel dispensés par des travailleurs de la santé communautaire (résolution); des services de consultation professionnelle; et de l'aide financière au transport pour accéder aux services de consultation ainsi qu'aux services offerts par un guérisseur traditionnel.

Résultats partagés :

Le volet Soutien en santé de la CRRPI correspond à deux résultats :

Structures de gouvernance :

AADNC assure la mise en œuvre générale de la Convention de règlement et s'occupe de coordonner et de fournir, en collaboration avec Santé Canada, les services destinés aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens, et ce, tout au long du processus établi par la Convention.

Points saillants du rendement :

AADNC et Santé Canada offrent conjointement l'accès à des services au sein de la collectivité des demandeurs, dans le cadre des audiences sur le processus d'évaluation indépendant et des activités de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation (CVR). En 2013-2014, l'équipe de la ligne d'écoute téléphonique a répondu à 5 038 appels, dont 44 appels pour lesquels des services de prévention du suicide ont été offerts. De plus, en 2013-2014, Santé Canada a répondu à des demandes de services de soutien dans le cadre de 4 165 audiences sur le processus d'évaluation indépendant, des trois activités nationales de la CVR (à Montréal, à Vancouver et à Edmonton), ainsi que de 10 activités communautaires.

Partenaires fédéraux Programmes de l'AAP Activités/programmes associés Affectations totales (de la mise en œuvre à la clôture)
(en millions de dollars)
2013–2014
(en millions de dollars)
¹ Les indicateurs de rendement sont définis dans les stratégies de mesure du rendement et/ou le cadre de mesure du rendement (CMR) de chaque partenaire fédéral.
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada Résolution des questions des pensionnats Ligne d'écoute téléphonique - Pensionnats indiens 38,9 Dépenses prévues : 4,3

Dépenses réelles : 3,4

Résultats attendus : Les formes de soutien en santé dictées par la demande sont offertes aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens et à leur famille pendant toutes les phases de la CRRPI.

Résultats des activités/programmes associés (en utilisant des indicateurs spécifiques)¹ : Des services de soutien en santé dictés par la demande ont été offerts aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens, à leur famille et à leurs proches à toutes les phases de la CRRPI. En 2013-2014, l'équipe de conseillers en intervention d'urgence a répondu à 5 038 appels, par rapport à 7 787 appels en 2012-2013. À la suite de ces appels, une importante gamme de services a dû être assurée, dont des interventions en prévention du suicide dans le cas de 44 appels. L'équipe de cette ligne d'écoute téléphonique continue d'offrir un soutien essentiel et culturellement approprié aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens, à leur famille et à leurs proches partout au pays (y compris dans de nombreuses régions isolées où les autres services sont très limités). Les résultats constatés correspondent aux résultats escomptés et répondent aux normes de services établies pour 2013-2014 (sur le plan financier, ils sont légèrement en deçà des obligations totales, tandis qu'ils dépassent constamment l'accord de service établi à 95 % sur le plan des opérations).

Santé Canada Programmes et services liés à la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuit Programme de soutien en santé - résolution des pensionnats indiens 441,8 Dépenses prévues : 65,4

Dépenses réelles : 63,0

Résultats attendus : Les formes de soutien en santé dictées par la demande sont offertes aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens et à leur famille pendant toutes les phases de la CRRPI.

Résultats des activités/programmes associés (en utilisant des indicateurs spécifiques) : Services de soutien en santé offerts dans le cadre des activités nationales de la CVR de Montréal, de Vancouver et d'Edmonton. Le calcul des résultats n'est pas complet pour l'activité d'Edmonton, mais on estime que 50 000 interactions en santé ont eu lieu lors des deux premières activités nationales.

Des services de soutien en santé ont aussi été offerts à 100 % des 4 165 anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens qui en ont fait la demande à l'issue de leur audience sur le processus d'évaluation indépendant.

Total 480,7 Dépenses prévues totales : 69,7

Dépenses réelles totales : 66,4

Commentaires sur les écarts :

Les services du Programme de soutien en santé – résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens (PSS RQPI) reposant sur la demande, les dépenses réelles sont inférieures aux dépenses prévues pour les volets de la consultation et du transport. Les coûts liés à la prestation de services de soutien en santé lors des activités de la CVR ont également été inférieurs aux prévisions. Les coûts du régime d'avantages sociaux des employés et des services internes sont inclus dans les dépenses réelles totales, mais les coûts indirects, la surveillance et les salaires non contrôlables n'en font pas partie.

Résultats atteints par les partenaires non fédéraux (le cas échéant) :

Sans objet

Personnes-ressources :

Santé Canada

Andrea Challis
Gestionnaire, Programme de soutien en santé de la resolution des Pensionats Indiens
Bien-être mental
Direction des Conseils interprofessionnels et aides aux programmes
Direction générale de la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits
Téléhone: 613-952-1377
andrea.challis@hc-sc.gc.ca

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

Alia Butt
Directeur general par intérim
Direction générale de la Convention de règlements politiques et partenariats
Secteur de Résolution et des affaires individuelles
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Telephone: 613-996-2603
alia.butt@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

 
Date de modification :