ARCHIVED - Horizontal Initiatives: First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan (FNWWAP)

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Name of Lead Department(s):

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)

Lead Department Program:

Community Infrastructure

Start date of the Horizontal Initiative:

April 1, 2008

End date of the Horizontal Initiative:

March 31, 2016

Total federal funding allocation (start to end date):

$3,096,486,118

In Budget 2008, the Government of Canada provided $330,639,806 over two years to support on-reserve water/wastewater infrastructure and complementary activities through the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan (FNWWAP). Budgets 2010, 2012 and 2014 each extended the program for an additional two years, with total new funding of $985,015,644 over the six years. Canada's Economic Action Plan – Budget 2009 announced another $165 million over two years for the completion of drinking water and wastewater infrastructure projects. Existing departmental reference levels of funding allocated for First Nations water and wastewater activities from Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada and Health Canada provide another $1,615,830,668.

Description of the Horizontal Initiative (including funding agreement)

The prime objective of the FNWWAP is to support First Nation communities on reserves in bringing their drinking water and wastewater services to a level and quality of service comparable to those enjoyed by Canadians living in communities of similar size and location. There are five key activity areas in the FNWWAP: infrastructure investments; operations and maintenance; training; monitoring and awareness; and standards.

To meet the objectives of the FNWWAP, several program enhancements have been introduced, including a national engineering assessment of existing water and wastewater facilities; consultations on a new federal legislative framework for safe drinking water; increased training through the Circuit Rider Training Program; modification of existing policies related to small water and septic systems and agreements for water and wastewater services; investment in a National Wastewater Program; and development of waterborne illness procedures.

The FNWWAP was implemented as part of government commitments in the 2007 Speech from the Throne, Budget 2008, Budget 2010, and Budget 2012 to support First Nations' access to safe drinking water. It supports the continued commitment to promote access to clean water in Aboriginal communities announced in the 2011 Speech from the Throne.

The FNWWAP supports AANDC's Strategic Outcome, The Land and Economy: Full participation of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis individuals and communities in the economy. The FNWWAP also supports the HC strategic outcome of the department's First Nations and Inuit Health Programming and Services: Better health outcomes and reduction of health inequalities between First Nations and Inuit and other Canadians.

More information is available at these websites:

Shared Outcome(s)

The FNWWAP works toward the achievement of four outcomes:

Governance Structure(s)

The FNWWAP is a successor to the joint First Nations Water Management Strategy (2003–2008) and the AANDC Plan of Action for Drinking Water (2006–2008). A memorandum of understanding has been in place between AANDC and HC since 2005 regarding data sharing related to drinking water. AANDC shares information on the proposed water and wastewater infrastructure investments; the annual inspections of water and wastewater treatment plants; and action related to drinking water advisories. Conversely, HC shares information such as drinking water sample results that do not meet the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality and reasons for recommending drinking water advisories. At the working level, the Strategic Water Management on Reserve Committee, which includes representatives from HC, AANDC, Environment Canada and the Assembly of First Nations, provides a forum for discussion to share information and co-ordinate joint action, although this is not a formal decision making body. It also provides integrated and co-ordinated leadership to ensure safe drinking water for First Nation communities and to implement the FNWWAP.

Directors general and assistant deputy ministers from HC and AANDC meet when needed to exchange and coordinate action on all relevant issues related to the FNWWAP.

Performance Highlights

The Government of Canada and First Nations strongly believe that First Nation communities should have access to the same quality of safe, clean and reliable drinking water as Canadians outside of First Nations lands. Between 2006 and 2014, the Government of Canada will have invested approximately $3 billion to support First Nation communities in managing their water and wastewater infrastructure and in related public-health activities.

Under FNWWAP, efforts to support First Nations improve water and wastewater services in their communities are based on a long-term plan founded on four pillars:

Capital investments have been prioritized for the highest risk systems and to address factors that are the greatest contributors to risk such as capacity, training, operations and maintenance.

Under the long-term strategy, positive results continue to emerge as measured in the Annual Performance Inspections conducted by the Departmental regional offices:

The Government of Canada is committed to working with First Nations region by region on the development of regulations which will be phased-in over time. This phased approach will help to ensure that First Nations and system operators are prepared to meet the regulatory requirements.

Federal Partners PAA Programs Contributing activities/programs Total Allocation (from start date to end date)
($ millions)
Planned Spending by Contributing activities/programs 2013-2014
($ millions)
2013–2014 ($ millions)
¹ Performance indicators are defined in the Performance Measurement Strategies and/or Performance Measurement Frameworks (PMF) of each federal partner.

* AANDC total allocation includes internal services, whereas the planned and actual spending is for sub-program 3.3.1 Water and Wastewater Infrastructure only, and excludes internal services and accommodation costs.

** Results exclude transferred communities.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Community Infrastructure and Internal Services Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program – FNWWAP funding 1,104 136.6 Planned Spending: 328.59

Actual Spending: 295.1

Expected Results: Increase in percent of First Nation drinking water systems with low-risk ratings.

TARGET: 50% low risk by 2015

and

Increase in percent of First Nation wastewater systems with low-risk ratings.

TARGET: 70% low risk by 2015

Contributing activity/program results (using specific indicators)¹: Low risk ratings increased from 38% to 44% for water systems and from 43% to 52% for wastewater systems between 2012–2013 and 2013–2014.

CEAP funding 165 Not applicable
Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program – A base funding 1,576.5 192
Health Canada First Nations and Inuit Health Drinking Water Safety Program – FNWWAP funding 211.7 27.4

Planned Spending: 32.52

Actual Spending: 22.52

Expected Results: Increase in the number of First Nations communities south of 60° with increased or maintained capacity to monitor their drinking water quality per Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality (GCDWQ) and reduce health risks associated with drinking water quality and supply.

Contributing activity/program results (using specific indicators): All First Nation communities had access to trained personnel (Community-Based Drinking Water Quality Monitor or Environmental Health Officer) to sample and test drinking water quality at tap.

Forty one percent of public water systems (formerly called piped drinking water distribution systems) in First Nations communities were monitored as per the frequency recommended in the GCDWQ**. Although compliance shows a decrease this year, it is important to note that on average, public water systems were sampled at 78% of the recommended frequency in the GCDWQ.

All regions have a water database in place to monitor sample results.

There were no instances where gastrointestinal illness was identified as a possible waterborne disease outbreak.

Twenty five water, wastewater, and solid waste project proposals were reviewed at headquarters as well as provided responses to 88 professional and technical requests for advice to First Nation communities within the context of public health protection.

Recruitment and retention strategies are on-going.

Drinking Water Safety Program – A based funding 39.35 5.12
Total 3,096.5 Total Planned Spending: 361.1

Total Actual Spending: 317.6

Comments on Variances:

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

The Department's planned 2013–2014 spending for sub-program – Water and Wastewater was $136,607,380 from Budget 2012 and $191,978,652 from A-base, for a total of $328,586,032 (excludes internal services and accommodation costs). Actual spending for water and wastewater initiatives was $295,097,655 in 2013–2014. The $33,488,377 difference between planned spending and actual spending primarily reflects reallocations of A-base to address pressures in other programs, notably Social Development and Federal Administration of Reserve Land.

Health Canada

The government's continued investment commitment for the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan and the prioritized investments have resulted in the continuation of improved water and wastewater system risk levels. Variance between the planned and actual spending is explained as follows: The surplus is mainly due to funding that was reallocated to environmental public health urgent priorities and public health related emergencies and responses such as H1N1 and spring flooding in Alberta. There was also realignment of resources associated with the implementation of the BC Tripartite initiative.

Results Achieved by Non-Federal Partners (if applicable):

Not Applicable

Contact Information:

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Daniel Leclair
Director General
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Community Infrastructure Branch
Telephone: 819-953-4636
Daniel.Leclair@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

Health Canada

Ivy Chan
Director
Health Canada
Interprofessional Advisory and Program Support Directorate,
Environmental Public Health Division

Telephone: 613-948-7773
ivy.chan@hc-sc.gc.ca

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Initiatives horizontales : Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Nom du ministère responsable :

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC)

Programme du ministère responsable :

Infrastructure communautaire

Date de mise en œuvre :

1er avril 2008

Date de clôture :

31 mars 2016

Montant total des fonds fédéraux affectés (de la mise en œuvre à la clôture) :

3 096 486 118 $

Dans le budget de 2008, le gouvernement du Canada avait accordé un budget de 330 639 806 $ sur deux ans pour soutenir l'installation de systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées et des activités complémentaires au sein des réserves par l'entremise du Plan d'action pour la gestion de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Les budgets de 2010, de 2012 et de 2014 ont respectivement permis la reconduction du programme pour deux ans. Le financement total ainsi accordé sur six ans s'élève à 985 015 644 $. Par l'entremise du budget de 2009 lié au Plan d'action économique du Canada, un financement supplémentaire de 165 millions de dollars sur deux ans a été annoncé pour compléter les projets d'infrastructures d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées. Les niveaux de référence actuels en ce qui a trait au financement, par AADNC et Santé Canada, des activités d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées prévoient une somme supplémentaire de 1 615 830 668 $.

Description de l'initiative horizontale (y compris l'accord de financement) :

Le Plan d'action sur l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées a principalement pour objectif d'aider les collectivités des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves à avoir accès à des services d'alimentation en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées d'une qualité et d'un niveau comparables à ceux dont bénéficient les autres collectivités canadiennes de taille et d'emplacement semblables. Le Plan d'action se concentre sur cinq secteurs prioritaires : l'infrastructure; l'exploitation et l'entretien; la formation; le respect des normes; la surveillance et la sensibilisation.

Une série d'améliorations ont été apportées dans le but d'atteindre les objectifs du Programme, notamment, une évaluation de toutes les installations d'alimentation en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées qui existent à l'échelle nationale; une contribution au nouveau cadre législatif fédéral relatif à l'eau potable; la formation de nouveaux opérateurs grâce au Programme de formation itinérante; le remaniement des politiques régissant les petits systèmes d'alimentation en eau et les fosses septiques; la modification des ententes sur la prestation des services d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées; l'investissement dans un Programme national de gestion des eaux usées; l'établissement de nouvelles procédures afin de mieux dépister les maladies d'origine hydrique.

Le Plan d'action a été établi en vue de permettre au gouvernement du Canada de s'acquitter de l'engagement qu'il a pris dans le discours du Trône de 2007 et dans les budgets de 2008, de 2010 et de 2012, soit d'aider les Premières Nations à avoir accès à une eau potable sécuritaire. Ce dernier permet de continuer à appuyer notre engagement à promouvoir l'accès à l'eau potable, dans les communautés autochtones annoncées dans le discours du Trône de 2011.

De même, le Plan d'action contribue à l'atteinte du résultat stratégique du Ministère axé sur les terres et l'économie, soit la « participation entière des personnes et des collectivités des Premières Nations, des Métis, des Indiens non inscrits et des Inuit à l'économie ». Il permet également d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats en matière de santé et de réduire les inégalités entre l'état de santé des Inuits et des Premières Nations et celui des autres Canadiens, un des résultats stratégiques établis par Santé Canada dans le cadre de ses Programmes et services de santé destinés aux Inuits et aux Premières Nations.

Pour obtenir d'autres renseignements, veuillez consulter les documents suivants

Résultats partagés :

Le Plan d'action vise l'atteinte de quatre objectifs :

Structures de gouvernance :

Le Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations fait suite à la Stratégie de gestion de l'eau des Premières Nations (2003–2008) et au Plan d'action pour la gestion de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations (2006–2008). En 2005, AADNC et Santé Canada ont conclu un protocole d'entente en vertu duquel ils se sont engagés à échanger toute information pertinente relative à l'eau potable. Par conséquent, AADNC fournit de l'information sur les investissements proposés dans les installations d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées, sur les inspections menées chaque année dans les usines d'épuration de l'eau et de traitement des eaux usées ainsi que sur les mesures prises à la suite d'un avis concernant la qualité de l'eau potable. De son côté, Santé Canada transmet à AADNC les résultats de l'analyse des échantillons d'eau qui ne respectent pas les Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada et lui indique les raisons pour lesquelles il recommande l'émission d'un avis concernant l'eau potable. Sur le plan pratique, on a créé le Comité de gestion stratégique de l'eau dans les réserves qui regroupe des représentants d'AADNC, de Santé Canada, d'Environnement Canada et de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations. Ce comité offre une tribune privilégiée pour échanger de l'information et coordonner des actions collectives. Même s'il n'a pas de pouvoir de décision comme tel, le Comité dirige de façon cohérente la mise en œuvre du Plan d'action et une voie pour travailler dans le but de s'assurer que les collectivités des Premières Nations ont accès à une eau potable sécuritaire.

Les directeurs généraux et les sous-ministres adjoints d'AADNC et de Santé Canada se réunissent régulièrement pour discuter et coordonner les activités entreprises à l'appui du Plan d'action.

Points saillants du rendement :

Le gouvernement du Canada et les Premières Nations croient fermement que les collectivités des Premières Nations devraient avoir accès à un approvisionnement en eau potable aussi sécuritaire, aussi propre et aussi fiable que celui des Canadiens résidant hors des territoires des Premières Nations. De 2006 à 2014, le gouvernement du Canada aura investi quelque trois milliards de dollars pour soutenir les collectivités des Premières Nations dans la gestion de leur infrastructure en eau potable et en eaux usées et dans des activités de santé publique connexes.

En vertu du Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations, les efforts visant à aider les Premières Nations à améliorer leurs systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout reposent sur un plan à long terme prenant appui sur quatre piliers :

La priorité en ce qui a trait aux dépenses en immobilisation a été accordée aux systèmes comportant les risques les plus élevés et à la résolution des facteurs qui contribuent le plus aux risques, comme la capacité, la formation, les opérations et l'entretien.

En vertu de la stratégie à long terme, des résultats positifs continuent de faire surface au fil des inspections annuelles de rendement réalisées par les bureaux ministériels régionaux :

Le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à travailler avec les Premières Nations dans chaque région à l'élaboration de règlements qui entreront progressivement en vigueur. Cette approche graduelle contribuera à faire en sorte que les Premières Nations et les opérateurs de systèmes soient bien préparés pour se conformer aux exigences réglementaires.

Partenaires fédéraux Programmes de l'AAP Activités/programmes associés Affectations totales (de la mise en œuvre à la clôture)*
(en millions de dollars)
Dépenses prévues par activités/programmes associés 2013-2014
(en millions de dollars)
2013-2014 (en millions de dollars)
¹ Les indicateurs de rendement sont définis dans les stratégies de mesure du rendement et/ou le cadre de mesure du rendement (CMR) de chaque partenaire fédéral.

* L'allocation totale d'AADNC inclut les services internes, alors que les dépenses prévues et réelles se rapportent strictement au sous-programme 3.3.1 touchant l'eau et les eaux usées et excluent les services internes, de même que les coûts d'hébergement.

** Les résultats excluent les communautés transférées.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada Infrastructure communautaire Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien (Financement du Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations) 1 104 136,6 Dépenses prévues : 328,59

Dépenses réelles : 295,1

Résultats attendus : Augmentation du pourcentage des systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau potable.

CIBLE : 50% des systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau potable d'ici 2015

et

Augmentation du pourcentage des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations qui présentent un faible niveau de risque.

CIBLE : 70% des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées d'ici 2015

Résultats des activités/programmes associés (en utilisant des indicateurs spécifiques) : La proportion de systèmes d'eau potable à faible risque est passée de 38 % à 44 % et le pourcentage des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées à faible risque s'est accru de 43 % à 52 % entre 2012-2013 et 2013-2014.

Fond du Plan d'action économique du Canada 165 Sans objet
Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien (Services votes-Crédits alloués) 1 576,5 192
Santé Canada Santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits Programme sur la qualité de l'eau potable — Financement du Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations) 211,7 27,4 Dépenses prévues : 32,52

Dépenses réelles : 22,52

Résultats attendus : Augmentation du nombre de collectivités des Premières Nations au sud du 60e parallèle qui ont maintenu ou amélioré leur capacité à surveiller la qualité de l'eau potable, conformément aux Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada, et à réduire les risques pour la santé associés à l'approvisionnement et à la qualité de l'eau.

Résultats des activités/programmes associés (en utilisant des indicateurs spécifiques) : Toutes les collectivités des Premières Nations ont eu accès à des employés qualifiés (contrôleur communautaire de la qualité de l'eau potable ou agent d'hygiène du milieu) pour le prélèvement d'échantillons et la vérification de la qualité de l'eau potable au robinet.

Quarante et un pour cent des systèmes publics de distribution d'eau (autrefois appelés réseaux de distribution de l'eau potable) des collectivités des Premières Nations ont été surveillés à la fréquence prescrite dans les Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada**. Malgré une diminution de ce taux de conformité cette année, soulignons qu'en moyenne, les systèmes publics de distribution d'eau ont été échantillonnés à 78 % de la fréquence prescrite dans les Recommandations.

Toutes les régions disposent d'une base de données sur l'eau aux fins de la surveillance des résultats d'échantillonnage.

Aucun cas de maladie gastro-intestinale n'a été associé à une possible éclosion de maladie d'origine hydrique.

Le siège social a examiné 25 propositions de projets d'approvisionnement en eau potable, de traitement des eaux usées et de traitement des déchets solides et répondu à 88 demandes de conseils professionnels et techniques reçues de la part de collectivités des Premières Nations en lien avec la protection de la santé publique.

Les stratégies de recrutement et de maintien en poste se poursuivent.

Programme sur la qualité de l'eau potable — Financement du Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations) 39,35 5,12
Total 3096,5 Dépenses prévues totales : 361,1

Dépenses réelles totales : 317,6

Commentaires sur les écarts :

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

Les dépenses prévues par le ministère pour 2013-2014 en lien avec le sous-programme touchant l'eau et les eaux usées s'élevaient à 136 607 380 $ en provenance du budget de 2012, et à 191 978 652 $ à partir des services votés, pour un montant total de 328 586 032 $ (excluant les services internes et les frais d'hébergement). Les dépenses réelles liées aux initiatives touchant l'eau et les eaux usées s'élèvent à 295 097 655 $ en 2013-2014. L'écart de 33 488 377 $ entre les dépenses prévues et les dépenses réelles est principalement attribuable aux réaffectations du budget des services votés destinées à répondre à des besoins urgents dans d'autres programmes, notamment du côté des activités Développement social et Gestion fédérale des terres de réserve.

Santé Canada

Sur la somme des dépenses prévues aux fins de l'initiative touchant l'eau et les eaux usées, soit 32 525 699 $, les dépenses réelles n'ont totalisé que 22 524 593 $ en 2013-2014. Une somme de 2 200 000 $ prélevée à même le solde de 9 596 669 $ a été transférée à la Régie de la santé des Premières Nations dans la foulée de la mise en œuvre de l'accord-cadre tripartite de la Colombie-Britannique. Le reste du financement a été réaffecté à des priorités urgentes en matière de santé publique environnementale, à des urgences et à des interventions touchant la santé publique, comme la H1N1 et les inondations printanières en Alberta. Une portion de cette somme a également servi à assumer, en partie, les dépenses partagées liées à des activités touchant la santé publique environnementale.

Résultats atteints par les partenaires non fédéraux (le cas échéant) :

Sans objet

Personnes-ressources

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

Daniel Leclair
Directeur Général
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Direction générale des Infrastructures communautaires
Téléphone : 819-953-4636
Daniel.Leclair@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Santé Canada

Ivy Chan
Directeur
Santé Canada
Conseils Interprofessionnels et aide aux programmes, Santé environnementale et publique
Téléphone : 613-948-7773
ivy.chan@sc-hc.gc.ca

 
Date de modification :