ARCHIVED - Horizontal Initiatives: Aboriginal Economic Development Strategic Partnerships Initiative (SPI)

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Name of Lead Department(s):

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)

Lead Department Program:

Under AANDC's Program Alignment Architecture, the Strategic Partnerships Initiative is categorized under the Strategic Outcome entitled "The Land and Economy". The Program for the initiative is entitled "Aboriginal Economic Development".

Start date of the Horizontal Initiative:

June 17, 2010

End date of the Horizontal Initiative:

On-going

Total federal funding allocation (start to end date):

$85.5 million over five years – total Grants and Contributions (G&C) and Operations and Maintenance (O&M)

Description of the Horizontal Initiative (including funding agreement):

The Strategic Partnerships Initiative (SPI) supports Aboriginal participation in the economy, with a particular focus on the forestry, fisheries, mining, energy and the agriculture sectors. A key component of the new Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development, SPI enables more than a dozen partnering federal departments and agencies to provide a co-ordinated federal response to existing and emerging Aboriginal economic development opportunities.

SPI builds partnerships among federal departments, Aboriginal communities, provincial and territorial governments and the private sector to help Aboriginal Canadians take advantage of complex market-driven opportunities in key sectors of the economy. The initiative's funding is intended to fill gaps that cannot be addressed by existing programs. There are 13 signatories to the Treasury Board Submission for the Aboriginal Economic Development Strategic Partnerships Initiative:

SPI fosters a whole-of-government approach to Aboriginal economic development by enabling federal partners to align investments and resources around shared objectives. The program helps eliminate funding gaps in existing federal programming that could otherwise limit or exclude Aboriginal involvement in emerging economic development opportunities.

The initiative also helps to build closer partnerships with non-federal partners, including provincial and territorial governments, the private sector and Aboriginal individuals, organizations, businesses and communities. These partnerships help bring together the people and the resources required for Aboriginal communities to take advantage of opportunities.

Shared Outcome(s):

The SPI allows for a horizontal approach to federal investments that: ensures that federal investments are aligned and targeted toward market-driven opportunities; the Government of Canada is able to anticipate, plan for, and engage in opportunities; and that the Government of Canada is able to maximize the results of federal investments and be better positioned to lever funds from non-federal sources. Additionally, the SPI creates a single-window approach (shared application, monitoring and reporting) to federal investments in shared priorities and addresses program gaps that might preclude Aboriginal participation in economic opportunities.

Governance Structure(s):

Central to the governance structure of the SPI is the Federal Coordination Committee (FCC) for Aboriginal Economic Development. The FCC validates and prioritizes investment opportunities from a whole-of-government perspective. The FCC also monitors and ensures that all relevant federal departments and agencies work together with Aboriginal groups to advance these opportunities.

Performance Highlights:

For 2013–2014 the 12 initiatives supported under the SPI resulted in 56 partnerships are in place of which 40 were newly established in fiscal 2013-2014. More than $5.4 million in federal funding and $25.2 million in non-federal funding was leveraged. The Department approved the addition of Environment Canada and the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency as partners to the Strategic Partnerships Initiative. The addition of these key organizations as signatories to the program will help further the goal of implementing a whole-of-government approach to Aboriginal economic development. In February, a proposed response to the Eyford Report was brought forward to Cabinet with the objective of building Aboriginal support for energy projects. Measures were approved to support engagement activities, economic and business development, land-use planning, and fish habitat restoration under SPI.

Federal Partners PAA Programs Contributing activities/programs Total Allocation (from start date to end date)
($ millions)
2013–2014 ($ millions)
* Performance indicators are defined in the Performance Measurement Strategies and/or Performance Measurement Frameworks (PMF) of each federal partner.
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Aboriginal Economic Development Not applicable 85.5 Planned Spending: 17.3

Actual Spending: 15.2

Expected Results: The objective of the SPI is to increase economic development opportunities for Aboriginal Canadians by stimulating partnerships between federal and non-federal partners. This is intended to lead to greater participation by Aboriginal peoples in the Canadian economy.

SPI will result in partnerships and strategic investments in economic and resource development opportunities. Other outcomes identified for SPI include:

  • Capacity for Aboriginal stakeholders;
  • Co-operation and collaboration between federal and Aboriginal partners;
  • Simplified government application, monitoring and reporting requirements;
  • Aboriginal business development; and
  • Strategic federal approach to Aboriginal economic development.

Contributing activity/program results (using specific indicators)*: Twelve initiatives supported under the SPI resulted in 56 partnerships in place of which 40 were newly established in fiscal 2013–2014.

During 2013–2014, more than $5.4 million in federal funding and $25.2 million in non-federal funding was leveraged.

Total 85.5 over five years Total Planned Spending: 17.3

Total Actual Spending: 15.2

Comments on Variances:

The variance on planned spending and actual was due to two initiatives declaring surplus funding too late in the fiscal year to reprofile the money.

Results Achieved by Non-Federal Partners (if applicable):

Not Applicable

Contact Information

Jennifer Cairnie
Director
Strategic Initiatives and Partnerships Directorate
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Telephone: 819-994-7219
jennifer.cairnie@aandc-aadnc.gc.ca

 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Initiatives horizontales : Initiative de partenariats stratégiques (IPS) pour le développement économique des Autochtones

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Nom du ministère responsable

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC)

Programme du ministère responsable

En vertu de l'architecture d'alignement de programme d'AADNC, l'initiative de partenariats stratégiques est classée dans le résultat stratégique intitulé « Les terres et l'économie ». Le programme de l'initiative s'intitule « Développement économique des Autochtones ».

Date de mise en œuvre Initiative

17 juin 2010

Date de clôture

Sur une base continue

Montant total des fonds fédéraux affectés (de la mise en œuvre à la clôture)

85,5 millions de dollars sur cinq ans – Subventions et contributions (S et C) et Fonctionnement et entretien (F et E)

Description de l'initiative horizontale (y compris l'accord de financement)

L'initiative de partenariats stratégiques (IPS) est un programme visant à promouvoir la participation des Autochtones à l'économie qui accorde une place importante à la foresterie, aux pêches, à l'exploitation minière, à l'énergie et à l'agriculture. Volet important du nouveau Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones, l'IPS permet à plus d'une douzaine de ministères et d'organismes fédéraux partenaires d'offrir une réponse fédérale coordonnée aux possibilités déjà existantes et émergeantes de développement économique autochtone.

L'IPS permet aux ministères fédéraux, aux collectivités autochtones, aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et au secteur privé de nouer des partenariats entre eux afin d'aider les Canadiens autochtones à tirer parti de débouchés complexes axés sur le marché dans des secteurs essentiels de l'économie. Le financement de l'initiative a pour objet de combler les lacunes qui ne pourraient être comblées par les programmes existants. La présentation au Conseil du Trésor de l'Initiative de partenariats stratégiques (IPS) pour le développement économique des Autochtones contient 13 signataires :

L'IPS préconise une approche pangouvernementale au développement économique des Autochtones en permettant à des partenaires fédéraux d'aligner les investissements et les ressources en tenant compte des objectifs communs. Le programme aide à combler les lacunes en matière de financement des programmes fédéraux existants qui autrement pourraient limiter ou empêcher la participation des Autochtones aux nouvelles perspectives de développement économique.

Cette initiative contribue aussi à resserrer les liens avec les partenaires non fédéraux, notamment les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, le secteur privé, ainsi que les particuliers, les organisations, les entreprises et les collectivités autochtones. Ces partenariats contribueront à regrouper les personnes et les ressources nécessaires pour permettre aux collectivités autochtones de profiter des possibilités offertes dans des secteurs clés de l'économie.

Résultats partagés

L'IPS prévoit une approche horizontale pour les investissements fédéraux, ce qui permettra : de s'assurer que les investissements fédéraux sont alignés avec les débouchés axés sur le marché et ciblés sur ceux-ci; de veiller à ce que le gouvernement du Canada soit en mesure de prévoir, de planifier et de saisir les occasions qui se présentent; et de s'assurer que le gouvernement du Canada est en mesure d'optimiser les résultats des investissements fédéraux et de mieux se positionner pour tirer profit des fonds provenant de sources non fédérales. En outre, l'IPS offre un mode d'action à guichet unique (demande, surveillance et production de rapports partagées) pour les investissements fédéraux dans les priorités communes et comble les lacunes des programmes fédéraux qui pourraient empêcher la participation des Autochtones aux projets de développement économique.

Structures de gouvernance

Le Comité de coordination fédéral (CCF) pour le développement économique des Autochtones s'avère essentiel à la structure de gouvernance de l'IPS. Le CCF valide et classe en ordre de priorité les occasions d'adopter une démarche pangouvernementale pour l'investissement en vertu de l'IPS. Le CCF surveille également tous les ministères et organismes fédéraux concernés et il veille à ce qu'ils travaillent ensemble avec les groupes autochtones, en vue de faire progresser ces occasions.

Points saillants du rendement

Pour 2013-2014, les 12 initiatives appuyées par l'IPS ont donné naissance à 56 partenariats, dont 40 ont vu le jour durant l'exercice de 2013-2014. Plus de 5,4 millions de dollars ont été obtenus du gouvernement fédéral, de même que des fonds de sources non fédérales totalisant 25,2 millions de dollars. Le Ministère a approuvé l'ajout d'Environnement Canada et de l'Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale comme partenaires de l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques. L'ajout de ces organismes clés à titre de signataires du programme contribuera à l'atteinte de l'objectif de mise en œuvre d'une approche pangouvernementale en matière de développement économique des Autochtones. En février, une proposition de réponse au rapport Eyford a été présentée au Cabinet afin de renforcer l'appui des Autochtones envers les projets énergétiques. Des mesures ont été approuvées pour soutenir des activités d'engagement, le développement économique et entrepreneurial, l'aménagement du territoire et la restauration de l'habitat du poisson dans le cadre de l'IPS.

Partenaires fédéraux Programmes de l'AAP Activités/programmes associés Affectations totales (de la mise en œuvre à la clôture)
(en millions de dollars)
2013–2014
(en millions de dollars)
* Les indicateurs de rendement sont définis dans les stratégies de mesure du rendement ou dans les cadres de mesure du rendement (CMF) de chacun des partenaires fédéraux.
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada Développement économique des Autochtones Sans objet 85,5 Dépenses prévues : 17,3

Dépenses réelles : 15,2

Résultats attendus : L'objectif de l'Initiative de partenariats stratégiques consiste à multiplier les perspectives de développement économique pour les Canadiens autochtones en favorisant la création de partenariats entre les organismes fédéraux et non fédéraux partenaires ainsi qu'en misant sur les investissements d'autres ordres du gouvernement et du secteur privé. Elle vise à améliorer la participation des Autochtones à l'économie canadienne.

L'IPS entraînera la création de partenariats et des investissements dans des possibilités d'activité économique et d'exploitation des ressources. Parmi les autres résultats attendus pour l'IPS, on peut citer :

  • une capacité accrue pour les intervenants autochtones;
  • la collaboration entre les organismes fédéraux et autochtones;
  • des exigences gouvernementales simplifiées pour les demandes, la surveillance et les rapports;
  • développement économique pour les Canadiens autochtones; et
  • une approche fédérale stratégique en matière de développement économique autochtone.

Résultats des activités/programmes associés (en utilisant des indicateurs spécifiques)* : Douze initiatives appuyées par l'IPS ont donné naissance à 56 partenariats, dont 40 ont vu le jour durant l'exercice de 2013-2014.

En 2013-2014, plus de 5,4 millions de dollars ont été obtenus du gouvernement fédéral, de même que des fonds de sources non fédérales totalisant 25,2 millions de dollars.

Total 85,5
(sur 5 ans)
Dépenses prévues totales : 17,3

Dépenses réelles totales : 15,2

Commentaires sur les écarts :

L'écart entre les dépenses prévues et les dépenses réelles est lié au fait que deux initiatives ont déclaré un surplus budgétaire trop tard pour permettre la réaffectation des sommes visées durant l'exercice financier.

Résultats atteints par les partenaires non fédéraux (le cas échéant) :

Sans objet

Personnes-ressources :

Jennifer Cairnie
Directeur
Direction des Initiatives stratégiques et des partenariats
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-994-7219
jennifer.cairnie@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

 
Date de modification :