Coffee benefits communities — and bears

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Summer 2014
Latest Stories | Stories Archive

"Coffee makes space for the human connection," says Paul Biglin, co-owner of Spirit Bear Coffee.

Paul Biglin, co-owner of Spirit Bear Coffee, is a passionate advocate for community development. He's also passionate about good coffee.

"Coffee can do something technology can't; it's a way for people to look into each other's eyes and get an idea of who they really are," said Biglin. "Coffee makes space for the human connection."

When the vision of a sustainable coffee came to Biglin, it wasn't just about perfectly roasted beans. It was also about the power of a purchase to make a difference for individuals, communities, and the environment.

Organic, fair trade coffee that gives back to the source is the driving force behind the pure Arabica beans Paul sells across British Columbia. The communities where the coffee is grown benefit from the sales, as do the First Nation communities which has entrusted Biglin's company with their stories and cultural symbols. In return for the use of the spirit bear name to brand its company, Spirit Bear Coffee donates a percentage of their profits to the Great Bear Conservancy and also supports wildlife sanctuaries across Canada.

Bill Helin, brand designer and partner in the company, is a member of the Tsimshian Nation and the team's link to the Tsimshian community and culture. Since Spirit Bear coffees helps raise awareness of First Nation culture, Bill seeks input from Tsimshian elders when a new design element is being considered. Every new coffee roast is linked to a coastal First Nations story and named after a symbolic animal.

Over the past five years, Spirit Bear has expanded to more than 300 venues across Canada, parts of the United States, and even earned the role of official coffee of Whistler-Blackcomb and Metro Vancouver Parks and Recreation. This small, four-person company seizes opportunities to build long-lasting, mutually beneficial relationships.

Spirit Bear Coffee also provides opportunities for young First Nations entrepreneurs to gain experience in the hospitality industry. Through their coffee program, organizations can create a "pop-up coffee shop" and sell coffee at events. The people operating the pop-up shops then have the option of turning this temporary arrangement into a longer-term business opportunity.

Spirit Bear Coffee supports young First Nations entrepreneurs through its "pop-up coffee shop" program.

Spirit Bear can credit some of its success to Aboriginal Business Match (ABM). When Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada and the Penticton Indian Band initiated the annual event in 2010, it was a revolutionary opportunity for First Nation businesses — and businesses looking to do business with First Nations — to come together and network in fast, focused meetings. For many participants, these meetings have resulted in both on-the-spot deals and future partnerships.

"Meeting face-to-face and connecting with others is how we communicate our standards and goals," said Biglin. "Networking is an essential to our business."

Spirit bears play an important role in the culture of West coast First Nations. The spirit bear (Kermode bear), which lives on the central and north coast of British Columbia, Canada, is a subspecies of the North American Black Bear. About 10 per cent of Kermode bears have white or cream-coloured coats.

Date modified:

Le café : des avantages pour les collectivités... et pour les ours

Été 2014
Cas de réussites les plus récents | Archive des cas de réussite

« Le café permet aux personnes d’établir des liens entre elles, » a dit Paul Biglin, copropriétaire du Spirit Bear Coffee.

Paul Biglin, copropriétaire du Spirit Bear Coffee, est un défenseur passionné du développement communautaire. Il voue également une passion au bon café.

« Le café réussit à accomplir quelque chose que la technologie est incapable de faire, a affirmé M. Biglin. En effet, il permet aux gens de se regarder droit dans les yeux et de découvrir qui ils sont vraiment. Le café permet aux personnes d'établir des liens entre elles. »

Lorsque M. Biglin s'est penché sur la question du café issu de l'agriculture durable, il ne songeait pas seulement à des grains de café parfaitement torréfiés. Il pensait également à ce que représentait la réalisation d'achats ayant des répercussions sur les particuliers, les collectivités et l'environnement.

L'acquisition de café équitable et biologique, et dont les profits reviennent aux producteurs, est ce qui motive l'achat des grains purs de la variété arabica que M. Biglin vend dans l'ensemble de la Colombie-Britannique. Les collectivités où le café est cultivé bénéficient des ventes, tout comme les Premières Nations qui ont confié à l'entreprise de M. Biglin leurs histoires et leurs symboles culturels. Le Spirit Bear Coffee, en échange de l'utilisation de l'ours blanc comme nom de commerce, fait don d'un pourcentage de ses profits à la conservation de la forêt du Grand Ours. L'entreprise appuie également des réserves fauniques partout au Canada.

Bill Helin, concepteur de l'image de marque et partenaire de l'entreprise, est un membre de la Nation Tsimshian et constitue le lien entre l'équipe et la communauté et la culture tsimshians. Puisque le café du Spirit Bear contribue à faire connaître la culture des Premières Nations, M. Helin demande conseil aux aînés de la Nation Tsimshian lorsqu'il réfléchit à un nouvel élément de conception. Chaque nouvelle torréfaction de café est liée à l'histoire d'une Première Nation de la côte et nommée d'après un animal symbolique.

Depuis cinq ans, le Spirit Bear Coffee a ouvert plus de 300 établissements dans l'ensemble du Canada et dans certains secteurs des États-Unis. L'entreprise a même hérité du rôle de fournisseur officiel de café à Whistler Blackcomb et pour le service des loisirs et des parcs du district régional du Grand Vancouver. Cette petite entreprise de quatre employés a su saisir les bonnes occasions et nouer des relations à long terme mutuellement avantageuses.

Le Spirit Bear Coffee soutient des jeunes entrepreneurs autochtones par leur offert des stands temporaires de vendre du café.

Le Spirit Bear Coffee donne aussi l'occasion à de jeunes entrepreneurs autochtones d'acquérir de l'expérience dans l'industrie de l'hôtellerie. Par l'entremise de son programme de café, les organismes peuvent installer des stands temporaires et vendre du café lors d'activités. Les personnes s'occupant de ces stands temporaires ont ensuite la possibilité de continuer à long terme.

Le Spirit Bear Coffee peut attribuer une partie de son succès à l'Aboriginal Business Match. Lorsque le ministère des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord Canada et la bande de Penctiton ont lancé cette initiative en 2010, il s'agissait d'une méthode révolutionnaire pour les entreprises des Premières Nations – ainsi que pour les entreprises désirant faire affaire avec des Premières Nations – de se réunir et de réseauter dans le cadre de rencontres courtes et ciblées. Pour de nombreux participants, ces rencontres ont donné lieu à des investissements immédiats et à de futurs partenariats.

« Nous communiquons nos normes et nos objectifs en nous rencontrant et en établissant des liens, a expliqué M. Biglin. Le réseautage est essentiel à la conduite de nos affaires. » 

Le Spirit Bear Coffee joue un rôle important dans la culture des Premières Nations de la côte Ouest. L'ours blanc (ours Kermode), qui habite sur la côte centrale et la côte nord de la Colombie-Britannique (au Canada), est une sous-espèce de l'ours noir de l'Amérique du Nord. Environ 10 % des ours blancs Kermode ont une fourrure blanche ou crème.

Date de modification :