2014–2015 Departmental Sustainable Development Strategy — Themes I–IV

Overview of the Federal Government's Approach to Sustainable Development

The 2013–2016 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS), tabled on November 4, 2013, guides the Government of Canada’s 2013–2016 sustainable development activities. The FSDS articulates Canada’s federal sustainable development priorities for a period of three years, as required by the Federal Sustainable Development Act (FSDA). The purpose of the FSDA is to provide the legal framework for developing and implementing a federal sustainable development strategy that will make environmental decision-making more transparent and accountable to Parliament. AANDC supports the implementation of the FSDS through the activities found in this departmental strategy.

Sustainable Development Management System

AANDC’s vision is a future in which First Nations, Inuit, Métis and northern communities are healthy, safe, self-sufficient and prosperous — a Canada where people make their own decisions, manage their own affairs and make strong contributions to the country as a whole.

Sustainable Development is an integral part of the department’s mandate and AANDC continues to take sustainable development and environmental risks into consideration in the development of policies, programs, plans and reports. The commitments made in this strategy are aligned with the Department’s Program Alignment Architecture and the Performance Measurement Framework.

Department-led Target

FSDS Goal FSDS Target Performance Indicator
Goal 3: Water Quality and Water Quantity — Protect and enhance water so that it is clean, safe and secure for all Canadians and supports healthy ecosystems. 3.1 Target Increase the percent of on-reserve First Nations water systems with low risk ratings from 27% to 50% by 2015. Increase the percent of on-reserve First Nations wastewater systems with low risk ratings from 35% to 70% by 2015. Risk rating for First Nations water and wastewater systems management.

Departmental Implementation Strategies

3.1.1 Increase on-reserve First Nations capacity to operate and maintain water and wastewater systems by improving access to and support for operator certification and training, in order to augment the number of certified operators. (AANDC)

3.1.2 Prioritize investment support to on-reserve First Nations to target highest-risk water and wastewater systems. (AANDC)

3.1.3 Provide on-reserve First Nations with funding and advice regarding, design, construction, operation and maintenance of their water and wastewater treatment facilities. (AANDC)

3.1.6 Develop, and update as required technical guidance protocols, such as the Protocol for Centralised Drinking Water in First Nations Communities and the Protocol for Centralised Wastewater Treatment and Disposal in First Nations Communities, and the Protocol for Decentralised Water and Wastewater Systems in First Nations Communities. (AANDC)

3.1.7 Develop appropriate regulatory framework and legislation for safe drinking water and wastewater treatment in First Nations communities on reserves. (AANDC)

Theme II: Maintaining Water Quality and Availability PAA Sub-program 3.3.1 Water and Wastewater Infrastructure

Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets
First Nation communities have a base of safe water and wastewater that meets established standards Percentage of First Nation drinking water systems that have LOW risk ratings 50%* (by March 31, 2015)
(2011 baseline: 27%)
Percentage of First Nation wastewater systems that have LOW risk ratings 65% (by March 31, 2015)
(2011 baseline: 35%)
Percentage of First Nation drinking water systems with treated water that meets prescribed standards in the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality 85% (by March 31, 2015)
(2011 baseline: 46%)
Percentage of First Nation wastewater systems producing treated water that meet effluent quality regulations and guidelines 70% of systems meet current standards (by March 31, 2016)
*According to the National Assessment 2010 results, the baseline for the percentage of First Nation drinking water systems that had low risk ratings was set at 27%. It was assessed that the activities of the Capital Facilities Maintenance Program would have an incremental impact on the system risks enabling the Program to reach 50% of systems by 2015.

Departmental Implementation Strategies

FSDS Goal FSDS Target Departmental Implementation Strategy
Goal 1: Climate Change — In order to mitigate the effects of climate change, reduce greenhouse gas emission levels and adapt to unavoidable impacts. 1.1 Target: Climate Change Mitigation — Relative to 2005 emission levels, reduce Canada’s total GHG emissions 17% by 2020. (led by Environment Canada) 1.1.47: Work with Aboriginal and northern communities, organizations and governments on the development of sustainable energy.

Theme I: Addressing Climate Change and Air Quality PAA Sub-program 3.4.5: Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency

Clean Air Agenda Planned Spending for 2014–2015: $3,926,420

Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets
Greenhouse gas emissions in Aboriginal and northern communities are reduced Projected Reductions in GHG Emissions resulting from all projects funded by the ecoEnergy for Aboriginal and Northern Communities Program (2011–2016) Projected 1.5 Mt (by March 31, 2016)

FSDS Goal FSDS Target Departmental Implementation Strategy
Goal 1: Climate Change — In order to mitigate the effects of climate change, reduce greenhouse gas emission levels and adapt to unavoidable impacts. 1.2. Target: Climate Change Adaptation — Facilitate reduced vulnerability of individuals, communities, regions and economic sectors to the impacts of climate change through the development and provision of information and tools. (led by Environment Canada) 1.2.1: Work with Aboriginal and northern communities, organizations and governments on climate change issues by supporting them in managing vulnerabilities and opportunities created by a changing climate. (AANDC)

Theme I: Addressing Climate Change and Air Quality PAA Sub-program 4.1.3: Climate Change Adaptation

Clean Air Agenda Planned Spending for 2014–2015: $4,599,420

Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets
Aboriginal and northern communities implement adaptation measures and decisions to protect community health and safety Number of communities implementing adaptation plans and measures 10 Communities over 4 years (by March 31, 2016)


FSDS Goal FSDS Target Departmental Implementation Strategy
Goal 1: Climate Change — In order to mitigate the effects of climate change, reduce greenhouse gas emission levels and adapt to unavoidable impacts. 1.2. Target: Climate Change Adaptation — Facilitate reduced vulnerability of individuals, communities, regions and economic sectors to the impacts of climate change through the development and provision of information and tools. 1.2.5: Work with Aboriginal and northern communities to develop and deploy standards that support more resilient infrastructure and reduce impacts from climate change at the community level. (AANDC, SCC)

Theme I: Addressing Climate Change and Air Quality PAA Sub-program 4.1.3: Climate Change Adaptation

Clean Air Agenda Planned Spending for 2014–2015: $187,000

Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets
Community health and safety in the North is strengthened Number of new and revised codes and standards and guidelines for infrastructure in the North being adopted 2 out of 4 codes completed (by March 31, 2015)

FSDS Goal FSDS Target Departmental Implementation Strategy
Goal 4: Conserving and Restoring Ecosystems, Wildlife and Habitat, and Protecting Canadians — Resilient ecosystems with healthy wildlife populations so Canadians can enjoy benefits from natural spaces, resources and ecological services for generations to come. 4.7. Target: Environmental Disasters, Incidents and Emergencies — Environmental disasters, incidents and emergencies are prevented or their impacts mitigated. (led by Public Safety and Environment Canada) 4.7.4: In accordance with mandated responsibilities, provide environmental and/or other information to reduce the risk of, and advice in response to, the occurrence of events such as polluting incidents, wildlife disease events or severe weather and other significant hydro-meteorological events as applicable. (AAFC, AANDC, DFO, EC, HC, IC, NRCan, PC, PS, PWGSC, TC)

Theme III: Protecting Nature and Canadians PAA Sub-program 3.4.6: Emergency Management Assistance

Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets
First Nations respond to and recover from emergencies Percentage of eligible* emergency response costs that are funded 100% (by March 31, 2015)
Percentage of eligible* recovery projects that are funded 100% (by March 31, 2015)
*Eligible costs are outlined in the Emergency Management Assistance Program's Terms and Conditions (Authority #330).

The EMAP enters into agreements with emergency management providers to deliver response and recovery activities to First Nations. The program seeks funding from Treasury Board which is used to reimburse emergency management providers. While EMAP funding has an effect on First Nations, the actual response and recovery activities undertaken by First Nations or other providers are out of EMAP's control to measure. Due to the nature of emergency management, the only measureable performance indicator at this time for the EMAP is funding.


FSDS Goal FSDS Target Departmental Implementation Strategy
Goal 4: Conserving and Restoring Ecosystems, Wildlife and Habitat, and Protecting Canadians — Resilient ecosystems with healthy wildlife populations so Canadians can enjoy benefits from natural spaces, resources and ecological services for generations to come. 4.8. Target: Chemicals Management — Reduce risks to Canadians and impacts on the environment and human health posed by releases of harmful substances. (led by Environment Canada and Health Canada) 4.8.1: Implement the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan and complete remediation and risk management activities at known high priority federal contaminated sites. (AAFC, AANDC, CSC, DFO, DND, EC, NRC, PC, PWGSC, RCMP, TC)

Theme III: Protecting Nature and Canadians PAA Sub-program 3.2.4: Contaminated Sites (On Reserve)

Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets
Federal liabilities related to the existence of contaminated sites are reduced Dollar Reduction in total of the known federal financial liabilities in confirmed contaminated sites at the beginning of the fiscal year $8 million (by March 31, 2015)
First Nation land is available for development Number of contaminated sites completely remediated 5 (by March 31, 2015)
Decreased risk to public health and safety Number of Class 1 sites (with existing concerns for public health and safety) where risk reduction is occurring 15 (by March 31, 2015)

Theme III: Protecting Nature and Canadians PAA Sub-program 4.3.2: Contaminated Sites (Northern)

Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets
Contaminated sites are managed to ensure the protection of human health and the safety of the environment while bringing economic benefit to the North Number of sites in Step 8 (implementation) through Step 10 (monitoring) of the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan 10-step process 40 (by March 31, 2015)
Percentage of Northerners and Aboriginal peoples employed within Contaminated Sites projects 60% (by March 31, 2015)

FSDS Goal FSDS Target Departmental Implementation Strategy
Goal 4: Conserving and Restoring Ecosystems, Wildlife and Habitat, and Protecting Canadians — Resilient ecosystems with healthy wildlife populations so Canadians can enjoy benefits from natural spaces, resources and ecological services for generations to come. 4.8 Target: Chemicals Management — Reduce risks to Canadians and impacts on the environment and human health posed by releases of harmful substances. (led by Environment Canada and Health Canada) 4.8.7: The Northern Contaminants Program will continue monitoring contaminant levels in wildlife and people in the Canadian North. (AANDC)

Theme III: Protecting Nature and Canadians PAA Sub-program 4.2.1: Northern Contaminants

Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets
Contaminant related risk to ecosystem and human health is reduced Percentage decrease in concentrations of previously identified contaminants in northern wildlife 5 to 10% decrease in 3 indicator persistent organic pollutants concentrations over 1990 levels (by March 31, 2015)

1 to 3% decrease in Mercury concentrations over 1990 levels (by March 31, 2015)
Percentage decrease in concentrations of previously identified contaminants among northern populations 5 to 10% decrease in 3 indicator persistent organic pollutants concentrations over 1990 levels (by March 31, 2015)

1 to 3% decrease in Mercury concentrations over 1990 levels (by March 31, 2015)

Theme IV: Shrinking the Environmental Footprint — Beginning with Government Greening Government Operations

Details on AANDC's activities can be found in the Greening Government Operations Supplementary Information Table.

2014–2015 Stratégie ministérielle de développement durable — Thèmes I–IV

Aperçu de l'approche du gouvernement fédéral concernant le développement durable

La Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD) de 2013-2016, déposée le 4 novembre 2013, oriente les activités de développement durable du gouvernement du Canada pour la période 2013-2016. La SFDD présente les priorités du développement durable à l'échelle fédérale du Canada pour une période de trois ans, comme l'exige la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable (LFDD). L'objectif de la LFDD est de définir le cadre juridique pour l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre d’une Stratégie fédérale de développement durable qui rend le processus décisionnel en matière d'environnement plus transparent et fait en sorte qu’on soit tenu d’en rendre compte devant le Parlement. Le ministère d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada appuie la mise en œuvre de la SFDD par l'entremise des activités se trouvant dans cette stratégie ministérielle.

Système de gestion du développement durable

La vision d’AADNC est un idéal où les collectivités inuites, métisses, nordiques et des Premières Nations sont saines, sécuritaires, autosuffisantes et prospères. Nous rêvons d'un Canada où les gens prennent leurs propres décisions, gèrent leurs propres affaires et contribuent largement au bien être du pays dans son ensemble.

Le développement durable fait partie intégrante du mandat du Ministère et AADNC continue à tenir compte des risques liés au développement durable et à l’environnement à l'élaboration des politiques, programmes, plans, et rapports. Les engagements pris dans le cadre de cette stratégie sont conformes avec l’architecture d’alignement de programme et du cadre de mesure du rendement.

Cible dirigée par le Ministère

Objectif de la SFDD Cible de la SFDD Indicateur de rendement
Objectif 3 : Qualité de l’eau et quantité d’eau — Protéger et améliorer l’eau pour qu’elle soit propre, saine et sécuritaire pour tous les Canadiens et qu’elle soutienne des écosystèmes sains. Cible 3.1 : Accroître le pourcentage de réseaux d’approvisionnement en eau potable des Premières Nations sur les réserves présentant des risques faibles de 27 % à 50 % d’ici 2015. Augmenter le pourcentage de réseaux de traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations sur les réserves affichant des risques faibles de 35 % à 70 % d’ici 2015. Évaluation des risques pour la gestion des réseaux d’approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations dans les réserves.

Stratégies de mise en œuvre du Ministère

3.1.1 Accroître la capacité des Premières Nations dans les réserves à exploiter et maintenir des réseaux d’approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées en améliorant l’accès à la certification et à la formation des opérateurs et en leur offrant un soutien accru, afin d’accroître le nombre d’opérateurs certifiés. (AADNC)

3.1.2 Hiérarchiser le soutien à l’investissement sur les réserves des Premières Nations afin de cibler les réseaux d’approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées les plus à risque. (AADNC)

3.1.3 Offrir aux Premières Nations sur les réserves un financement et des conseils concernant la conception, la construction, le fonctionnement et l’entretien de leurs installations d’approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées. (AADNC)

3.1.6 Élaborer et mettre à jour, au besoin, des protocoles d’orientation technique, comme le Protocole pour les systèmes centralisés d’eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations et le Protocole ayant trait au traitement et à l’élimination des eaux usées dans les collectivités des Premières Nations, ainsi que le Protocole pour les systèmes décentralisés d’eaux potable et de traitement des eaux usées dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. (AADNC)

3.1.7 Établir un cadre de travail réglementaire approprié et une loi ayant trait à un traitement sécuritaire des eaux usées et de l’eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. (AADNC)

Thème II : Maintenir la qualité et la disponibilité de l'eau AAP — Sous-programme 3.3.1 : Rapport sur l'eau et les eaux usées

Résultats attendus Indicateur de rendements Cibles
Les collectivités des Premières Nations disposent de systèmes d’approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées qui répondent aux normes établies Pourcentage des systèmes d’approvisionnement en eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations ayant un coefficient de risque « faible » 50 %* d’ici le 31 mars 2015
(Année de référence 2011 : 27 %)
Pourcentage des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées dans les collectivités des Premières Nations ayant un coefficient de risque « faible » 65 % d’ici le 31 mars 2015
(Année de référence 2011 : 35 %)
Pourcentage des systèmes d’approvisionnement en eau potable dont l’eau traitée répond aux normes établies dans les Recommandations pour la qualité de l’eau potable au Canada 85 % d’ici le 31 mars 2015
(Année de référence 2011 : 46 %)
Pourcentage des systèmes d’eaux usées des Premières Nations produisant de l’eau traitée qui répondent à la réglementation et aux directives sur la qualité des effluents 70 % des systèmes respondent aux normes actuelles d’ici le 31 mars 2016
* Selon les résultats de l’évaluation nationale de 2010, l’année de référence pour le Pourcentage des systèmes d’approvisionnement en eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations ayant un coefficient de risque « faible » était établie à 27 %. On a évalué que les activités du Programme d’immobilisations et d’entretien aurait une incidence cumulée sur les risques pour le système, permettant au programme d’atteindre 50 % des systèmes d’ici 2015.

Stratégies de mise en œuvre du Ministère

Objectif de la SFDD Cible de la SFDD Stratégie de mise en œuvre du Ministère
Objectif 1 : Changements climatiques — Afin d’atténuer les effets des changements climatiques, de réduire les niveaux d’émission de gaz à effets de serre et de s’adapter aux impacts inévitables. Cible 1.1 : Atténuation des changements climatiques — Réduire de 17 % les émissions totales de gaz à effet de serre (GES) du Canada par rapport aux niveaux d’émission de 2005, d’ici 2020. (dirigée par Environnement Canada) 1.1.47 : Travailler avec les collectivités autochtones et du Nord, les organismes et les gouvernements; aux questions liées à la création d’énergie durable. (AADNC)

Thème I : Relever les défis des changements climatiques et de la qualité de l'air AAP — Sous-programme 3.4.5 : Énergies renouvelables et efficacité énergétique

Dépenses prévues pour le programme sur la qualité de l'air pour 2014-2015 : 3 926 420 $

Résultats attendus Indicateur de rendements Cibles
Réduction des gaz à effet de serre dans les collectivités autochtones et nordiques Réduction prévue des émissions de gaz à effet de serre découlant de tous les projets financés par le programme écoÉNERGIE pour les collectivités autochtones et nordiques (de 2011 à 2016) Réduction prévue de 1,5 Mt d’ici le 31 mars 2016

Objectif de la SFDD Cible de la SFDD Stratégie de mise en œuvre du Ministère
Objectif 1 : Changements climatiques — Afin d’atténuer les effets des changements climatiques, de réduire les niveaux d’émission de gaz à effets de serre et de s’adapter aux impacts inévitables. Cible 1.2 : Adaptation aux changements climatiques — Faciliter la réduction de la vulnérabilité des particuliers, des collectivités, des régions et des secteurs économiques aux impacts des changements climatiques grâce à la création et à la distribution de renseignements et d’outils. (dirigée par Environnement Canada) 1.2.1 : Travailler avec les collectivités autochtones et du Nord, les organismes et les gouvernements aux problèmes liés aux changements climatiques en les aidant à gérer les vulnérabilités et les possibilités créées par les changements climatiques. (AADNC)

Thème I : Relever les défis des changements climatiques et de la qualité de l'air AAP — Sous-programme 4.1.3 : Adaptation au changement climatique

Dépenses prévues pour le programme sur la qualité de l'air pour 2014-2015 : 4 599 420 $

Résultats attendus Indicateur de rendements Cibles
Les collectivités autochtones et du Nord appliquent des mesures d’adaptation et des décisions qui protègent la santé et la sécurité de leurs résidants Nombre de collectivités qui appliquent des mesures et des plans d’adaptation Dix collectivités sur quatre ans d’ici le 31 mars 2016


Objectif de la SFDD Cible de la SFDD Stratégie de mise en œuvre du Ministère
Objectif 1 : Changements climatiques — Afin d’atténuer les effets des changements climatiques, de réduire les niveaux d’émission de gaz à effets de serre et de s’adapter aux impacts inévitables. Cible 1.2 : Adaptation aux changements climatiques — Faciliter la réduction de la vulnérabilité des particuliers, des collectivités, des régions et des secteurs économiques aux impacts des changements climatiques grâce à la création et à la distribution de renseignements et d’outils. 1.2.5: Collaborer avec les collectivités autochtones et du Nord pour élaborer et déployer des normes qui favorisent la résilience de l’infrastructure et réduisent les impacts des changements climatiques au niveau communautaire. (AADNC, CCN)

Thème I : Relever les défis des changements climatiques et de la qualité de l'air AAP — Sous-programme 4.1.3 : Adaptation aux changements climatiques

Dépenses prévues pour le programme sur la qualité de l'air pour 2014-2015 : 187 000 $

Résultats attendus Indicateur de rendements Cibles
La santé et la sécurité communautaires sont renforcées dans le Nord Nombre de codes, de normes et de lignes directrices nouveaux ou révisés concernant les infrastructures dans le Nord qui sont adoptés Deux sur quatre codes complétés d'ici le 31 mars 2015

Objectif de la SFDD Cible de la SFDD Stratégie de mise en œuvre du Ministère
Objectif 4 : Conserver et restaurer les écosystèmes, la faune et l’habitat et protéger les Canadiens — Écosystèmes résilients jouissant de populations fauniques en santé, de sorte que les Canadiens puissent bénéficier des aires naturelles, des ressources et des services écologiques pour les générations à venir. Cible 4.7 : Catastrophes, urgences et incidents environnementaux — Les catastrophes, urgences et incidents environnementaux sont évités ou leurs incidences atténuées. (dirigée par Sécurité publique et Environnement Canada) 4.7.4 : Conformément aux responsabilités qui sont confiées, fournir des renseignements environnementaux ou autres renseignements afin de réduire le risque que ne surviennent des événements comme des incidents polluants, les maladies affligeant les espèces sauvages ou des conditions météorologiques sévères et autres événements hydro-météorologiques importants, le cas échéant, et donner des conseils en réponse à ces événements. (AAC, AADNC, EC, IC, MPO, PC, RNCan, SC, SP, TC, TPSGC)

Thème III : Protéger la nature et les Canadiens AAP — Sous-programme 3.4.6 : Aide à la gestion des urgences

Résultats attendus Indicateur de rendements Cibles
Les Premières Nations interviennent dans les situations d’urgence et rétablissent la situation Pourcentage des coûts d’intervention d’urgence admissibles* qui font l’objet d’un financement 100 % d’ici le 31 mars 2015
Pourcentage des projets de rétablissement admissibles* qui font l’objet d’un financement 100 % d’ici le 31 mars 2015
* Les coûts admissibles sont décrits dans les modalités du Programme d’aide à la gestion des urgences (PAGU) (décision no 330)

Dans le cadre du PAGU, des ententes ont été conclues avec des fournisseurs de services de gestion des urgences afin de dispenser des activités d’intervention et de rétablissement aux Premières Nations. Le Programme reçoit des fonds du Conseil du Trésor, lesquels sont utilisés pour rembourser les fournisseurs. Bien que le financement du PAGU ait un effet sur les Premières Nations, les activités d’intervention et de rétablissement menées par les Premières Nations ou les autres fournisseurs ne peuvent être évaluées dans le cadre du PAGU. Vu la nature des services de gestion des urgences, le seul indicateur de rendement actuel du PAGU est le financement.


Objectif de la SFDD Cible de la SFDD Stratégie de mise en œuvre du Ministère
Objectif 4 : Conserver et restaurer les écosystèmes, la faune et l’habitat et protéger les Canadiens — Écosystèmes résilients jouissant de populations fauniques en santé, de sorte que les Canadiens puissent bénéficier des aires naturelles, des ressources et des services écologiques pour les générations à venir. Cible 4.8 : Gestion des produits chimiques — Réduire les risques pour les Canadiens et les incidences sur l’environnement et la santé humaine que posent les rejets de substances nocives. (dirigée par Environnement Canada et Santé Canada) 4.8.1 : Mettre en oeuvre le Plan d’action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux et parachever les activités d’assainissement et de gestion des risques dans les sites contaminés fédéraux connus de haute priorité. (AAC, AADNC, SCC, CNRC, EC, GRC, MDN, MPO, PC, TC, TPSGC)

Thème III : Protéger la nature et les Canadiens AAP — Sous-programme 3.2.4 : Sites contaminés (sur les réserves)

Résultats attendus Indicateur de rendements Cibles
Diminution du passif financier du gouvernement fédéral relativement aux sites contaminés Au début de l’exercice, diminution du montant total en dollars du passif financier connu du gouvernement fédéral relativement aux sites contaminés confirmés 8 millions de dollars d’ici le 31 mars 2015
Les terres des Premières Nations sont disponibles pour le développement Nombre de sites contaminés complètement restaurés 5 d’ici le 31 mars 2015
Réduction des risques pour la santé et la sécurité publique Nombre de sites de classe 1 (suscitant actuellement des préoccupations sur le plan de la santé et de la sécurité publique) où l’on observe une réduction des risques 15 d’ici le 31 mars 2015

Thème III : Protéger la nature et les Canadiens AAP — Sous-programme 4.3.2 : Sites contaminés (du Nord)

Résultats attendus Indicateur de rendements Cibles
Les sites contaminés sont gérés de façon à protéger la santé humaine et l’environnement tout en procurant des bénéfices économiques pour le Nord Nombre de sites indiqués aux étapes huit (mise en œuvre) à dix (surveillance) du Plan d’action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux, qui compte dix étapes 40 d’ici le 31 mars 2015
Pourcentage de résidants du Nord et d’Autochtones embauchés dans le cadre de projets sur les sites contaminés 60 % d’ici le 31 mars 2015

Objectif de la SFDD Cible de la SFDD Stratégie de mise en œuvre du Ministère
Objectif 4 : Conserver et restaurer les écosystèmes, la faune et l’habitat et protéger les Canadiens — Écosystèmes résilients jouissant de populations fauniques en santé, de sorte que les Canadiens puissent bénéficier des aires naturelles, des ressources et des services écologiques pour les générations à venir. Cible 4.8 : Gestion des produits chimiques — Réduire les risques pour les Canadiens et les incidences sur l’environnement et la santé humaine que posent les rejets de substances nocives. (dirigée par Environnement Canada et Santé Canada) 4.8.7 : Le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord continuera de surveiller les concentrations de contaminants chez la faune et les personnes dans le Nord canadien. (AADNC)

Thème III : Protéger la nature et les Canadiens AAP — Sous-programme 4.2.1 : Lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord

Résultats attendus Indicateur de rendements Cibles
Diminution des risques pour l’écosystème et la santé humaine liés aux contaminants Diminution des taux de concentration des agents contaminants déjà observés dans la faune et la flore du Nord Diminution de 5 à 10 % pour trois indicateurs de la concentration des polluants organiques persistants par rapport au niveau de 1990 d’ici le 31 mars 2015

Diminution de 1 à 3 % des taux de concentration du mercure par rapport aux niveaux de 1990 d’ici le 31 mars 2015
Diminution des taux de concentration des agents contaminants déjà observés dans les populations du Nord Diminution de 5 à 10 % pour trois indicateurs de la concentration des polluants organiques persistants par rapport aux niveaux de 1990 d’ici le 31 mars 2015

Diminution de 1 à 3 % des taux de concentration du mercure par rapport aux niveaux de 1990 d’ici le 31 mars 2015

Thème IV : Réduire l'empreinte environnementale — en commençant par le gouvernement L'écologisation des opérations gouvernementales

D'autres détails sur les activités d'AADNC sont présentés dans le tableau supplémentaire de l'écologisation des opérations gouvernementales.