Bill S-6, Yukon and Nunavut Regulatory Improvement Act: Proposed Amendments to the Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Act (YESAA)

Bill S-6 aims to further unlock the economic potential of the North while ensuring sound environmental stewardship and helping the territories remain an attractive place in which to live, work and invest.

The amendments to the Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Act (YESAA) and the Nunavut Waters and Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal Act will enhance, improve, and modernize Northern regulatory regimes and ensure consistency with other regulatory regimes across the North and in the rest of Canada.

Yukon

The Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Act (YESAA) was established in 2003 in fulfilment of an obligation in the Yukon Umbrella Final Agreement, which required a mandatory review of YESAA within five years of it becoming law.

The proposed amendments to YESAA reflect agreed upon recommendations from the five-year review and also implement the Action Plan to Improve Northern Regulatory Regimes. These amendments align the regulatory regime in Yukon with the other two territories. The proposed amendments to YESAA would promote jobs, growth and long-term prosperity and help to further unlock the economic potential of Yukon.

Some of the proposed amendments to YESAA would:

  • provide the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development with the authority to provide binding policy direction to the Yukon Environmental Socio-economic Assessment Board, to equip the Government of Canada to communicate expectations on matters such as board conduct, use of new technology, and fulfilment of roles and responsibilities related to Aboriginal consultation;
  • introduce legislated time limits for assessments consistent with other federal environmental assessment legislation;
  • allow for a board member’s term to be extended for the purpose of completing a screening or review to ensure both quorum and continuity;
  • enable the Government of Canada to develop cost recovery regulations so that costs incurred for public reviews are borne by the proponents of development projects and not the taxpayer; and
  • reduce regulatory burden by clarifying that a project need not undergo another assessment when a project authorization is to be renewed or amended unless, in the opinion of the decision body or bodies, there is a significant change to the project.

Formal consultations on the proposed amendments were held between May 2013 and May 2014. The Council of Yukon First Nations, individual First Nations, the Yukon Government and the Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Board took part in discussions throughout the YESAA five-year review process and subsequent consultations. Other key stakeholders, such as industry, were also consulted.

Related Links

Projet de loi S-6, Loi sur l’amélioration de la réglementation au Yukon et au Nunavut : Modifications proposées à la Loi sur l’évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique au Yukon (LEESY)

Le projet de loi S-6 vise à libérer davantage le potentiel économique du Nord tout en assurant une bonne gérance environnementale et à aider les Territoires à demeurer un endroit attrayant où vivre, travailler et investir.

Les modifications à la Loi sur l'évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique au Yukon (LEESY) et à la Loi sur les eaux du Nunavut et le Tribunal des droits de surface du Nunavut permettront d’améliorer et de moderniser les régimes de réglementation dans le Nord et d’assurer l’uniformisation avec les autres régimes de réglementation dans le Nord et dans le reste du Canada.

Yukon

La Loi sur l’évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique au Yukon (LEESY) a été adoptée en 2003 pour respecter une obligation découlant de l’Accord-cadre définitif du Yukon, qui exigeait que cette loi soit examinée cinq ans après son entrée en vigueur.

Les modifications proposées à la LEESY reflètent les recommandations acceptées tirées de l’examen quinquennal, en plus de mettre en œuvre le Plan d’action visant à améliorer les régimes de réglementation dans le Nord. Ces modifications harmonisent le régime réglementaire au Yukon avec ceux des deux autres territoires. Les modifications proposées à la Loi favoriseraient la création d’emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme, en plus d’aider à libérer davantage le potentiel économique du Yukon.

Certaines des modifications proposées :

  • donnent au ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien le pouvoir de fournir des orientations stratégiques exécutoires à l’Office d’évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique du Yukon. Et ce, afin d’équiper adéquatement le gouvernement du Canada pour communiquer les attentes sur les questions comme la conduite de l’Office, l’utilisation des nouvelles technologies et le respect des rôles et responsabilités liés à la consultation des Autochtones;
  • mettent en place des délais prévus par la loi pour les évaluations conformes à d’autres lois fédérales sur l’évaluation environnementale;
  • permettent de prolonger le mandat d’un membre de l’Office afin de terminer une évaluation ou un examen en respectant le quorum et la continuité;
  • permettent au gouvernement du Canada d’élaborer des règlements sur le recouvrement des coûts afin que les frais encourus pour mener les examens publics soient défrayés par les promoteurs des projets de développement et non par les contribuables;
  • réduisent le fardeau de la réglementation en clarifiant qu’un projet ne doit pas faire l’objet d’une autre évaluation lorsque l’autorisation du projet doit être renouvelée ou modifiée, à moins que, à l’avis des organismes décisionnels, des changements importants aient été apportés au projet.

Des consultations officielles sur les modifications proposées ont été tenues entre mai 2013 et mai 2014. Le Conseil des Premières nations du Yukon, des Premières Nations individuelles, le gouvernement du Yukon, et l’Office d’évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique du Yukon ont participé à des discussions pendant le processus de l’examen quinquennal de la LEESY et d’autres consultations subséquentes. D’autres intervenants clés, comme l’industrie, ont aussi été consultés.

Liens connexes