Fact Sheet - Sunsetting the Regional Land Administration Program and 53/60 Delegated Authority Program

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) has delivered Indian Act land management funding programs, beginning in the late 1980' s with the 53/60 Delegated Authority Program and the early 1990's with the Regional Land Administrative Program.

A 2002 evaluation concluded that these programs failed to adequately address the complex nature of reserve land management, that there was a need for comprehensive First Nation land management capacity development and a revised funding formula that met the modern land management needs of First Nations. In response, AANDC, in partnership with First Nations and First Nation organizations, developed the Reserve Land and Environment Management Program (RLEMP).

The RLEMP maintains many of the common elements of the Regional Lands Administration Program and the 53/60 Delegated Authority Program, but also integrates land use planning, environmental management and compliance into the responsibilities of participating First Nations.

As designed, the full implementation of the RLEMP triggers the sunsetting of the Regional Lands Administration Program and the 53/60 Delegated Authority Program.

Effective April 1, 2012, First Nations enrolled in the Regional Land Administration Program and 53/60 Delegated Authority Program commenced the transition into the RLEMP. To assist with the transition, an assessment tool has been developed and First Nations will be assessed against the criteria of the RLEMP to determine eligibility. First Nations who meet the RLEMP entry criteria will receive land management funding and will be required to complete any necessary training commencing April 2014. First Nations assessed as ineligible to enter into the RLEMP will be notified by AANDC. An overview of the assessment will be provided to assist with developing a strategy to meet entry criteria if the First Nation chooses to.

First Nations who are ineligible or unwilling to enter into the RLEMPwill cease to receive land management funding and AANDC regional offices will resume providing reserve land management services.

For more information on the RLEMP, please call 1-800-567-9604 or email:  RLEMP@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Fiche d’information - Fin du Programme régional d’administration des terres (PRAT) et du Programme de délégation de la gestion foncière (53/60)

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) met en œuvre des programmes de financement de la gestion des terres en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens depuis la fin des années 1980 avec le Programme de délégation de la gestion foncière (53/60) et le début des années 1990 avec le PRAT.

Une évaluation réalisée en 2002 a conclu, d'une part, que ces programmes n'avaient pas su répondre adéquatement à la nature complexe de la gestion des terres des réserves et, d'autre part, qu'il était nécessaire de développer intégralement les capacités des Premières Nations en gestion des terres et d'instaurer une nouvelle formule de financement satisfaisant à leurs besoins actuels en la matière. À la suite de ce constat, AADNC a créé le Programme de gestion de l'environnement et des terres de réserve (PGETR) en partenariat avec des Premières Nations et des organisations autochtones.

Plusieurs des éléments communs du PRAT et du Programme de délégation de la gestion foncière (53/60) ont été conservés dans le PGETR, mais ce dernier s'appuie également sur la planification de l'utilisation des terres, la gestion environnementale et la conformité des Premières Nations dans l'exercice de leurs responsabilités.

Tel que le PGETR a été conçu, son implantation entraîne la fin du PRAT et du Programme de délégation de la gestion foncière (53/60). À partir du 1er avril 2012, les Premières Nations prenant part au PRAT et au Programme de délégation de la gestion foncière (53/60) doivent entreprendre la transition vers le PGETR. Un outil d'évaluation a été créé pour faciliter ce processus. Ainsi, les Premières Nations seront évaluées en fonction des critères du PGETR pour déterminer leur admissibilité. Celles qui satisfont aux critères d'admissibilité du PGETR recevront un financement pour la gestion des terres et devront suivre la formation requise dès avril 2014. Les Premières Nations jugées inadmissibles au PGETR seront avisées par AADNC. Un aperçu de l'évaluation leur sera fourni pour les aider à établir une stratégie afin de répondre aux critères d'admissibilité, si elles le souhaitent.

Les Premières Nations qui sont inadmissibles ou décident de ne pas participer au PGETR cesseront de recevoir un financement au titre de la gestion des terres dès avril 2014, et les bureaux régionaux d'AADNC prendront le relai en leur fournissant ces services.

Pour obtenir plus d'information au sujet du PGETR, veuillez appeler au 1‑800‑567-9604 ou envoyez un courriel à : RLEMP@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.