Report on Recipient Audit of Spuzzum Indian Band

Name: Spuzzum Indian Band
Population: 45 on reserve; 294 total registered
Location: British Columbia
Default status at time of audit: Management Action Plan
Current default status: Recipient Managed
Current Chief: Harold Bobb
Time period covered by audit: April 1, 2010 to March 31, 2012.
Amount of AANDC funding audited: $1,405,359

Background

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), formally known as Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC), selected the Spuzzum Indian Band in British Columbia for a Recipient audit based on their 2012-13 risk assessment score and other risk factors.

The objective of the Recipient audit was to provide assurance that funding provided to the Recipient by Canada was spent for its intended purposes and was in compliance with the terms and conditions of the 2010-2011 and 2011-2012 Funding Agreements with INAC. The objective was achieved through:

Samson & Associates, an independent audit firm, was commissioned by INAC to undertake the Recipient audit. The audit procedures were performed from March 13, 2013 to March 20, 2013. Subsequent audit work was performed, where the potential recoverable was reduced.

Findings

The procedures performed identified weaknesses within internal controls, expenditures oversight and financial management that, if well designed and operating effectively, would help ensure that funds were spent for the intended purposes and in compliance with Funding Agreements.

Governance by Chief and Council

There were no governance issues noted.

Band Management

The procedures performed identified areas where there are opportunities to improve band management in support of programs funded by INAC. A key recommendation was that the Recipient should ensure that supporting documentation is complete and properly filed and that the general ledger reconciles to the annual audited financial statements. Another key recommendation was that the Recipient should perform month end accounting procedures to ensure that all expenses are accounted for and that expenses are allocated to the proper fund. Finally, it was recommended that the Recipient should document and approve a tendering policy that ensures the Band receives multiple bids for significant purchases and should also maintain all bids on file where tenders or quotes are required.

Current Status

A copy of the final report has been sent to the Recipient. INAC and the Recipient are working together to address the findings.

Disclaimer: This audit summary was prepared based on information contained in a Recipient Audit Report on Spuzzum Indian Band for INAC. The report produced for INAC is intended solely for the information and use of the Recipient and INAC Management. The audit summary only presents limited information on the general findings based on the audit procedures performed and does not provide information on the detailed procedures of findings. Consequently, this summary may not be appropriate for the purpose and use of the reader.

Date modified:

Rapport sommaire sur la vérification de bénéficiaire concernant la Spuzzum First Nation

Nom : La Spuzzum First Nation (site Web non disponible en français)
Lieu : Colombie-Britannique
Population : 45 personnes vivant dans la réserve; 294 personnes inscrites au total
Situation de manquement au moment de la vérification : Plan d'action de gestion
Situation actuelle de manquement : Conseiller nommé par le bénéficiaire
Chef actuel : Harold Bobb
Période visée par la vérification : Du 1er avril 2010 au 31 mars 2012
Montant du financement d'AANC vérifié : 1 405 359 $

Contexte

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC), autrefois appelé Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC), a choisi La Spuzzum First Nation pour faire l'objet d'une vérification de bénéficiaire en raison de son résultat à l'évaluation des risques 2012-2013 et d'autres facteurs de risque.

L'objectif de la vérification du bénéficiaire consistait à fournir l'assurance que le financement fourni au bénéficiaire par AANC a été dépensé aux fins prévues et en conformité avec les modalités des ententes de financement de 2010-2011 et de 2011-2012. Cet objectif a été atteint par deux moyens :

AANC a mandaté le cabinet de vérification indépendant Samson & Associés de procéder à la vérification du bénéficiaire. Les vérificateurs n'ont pu émettre une opinion sur l'ensemble de la période couverte par l'entente étant donné les détails des transactions financières n'ayant pu être fourni pour la période du 13 au 20 mars 2017.

Constatations

Les vérificateurs ont constaté des faiblesses dans les mesures de contrôle internes, la surveillance des dépenses et la gestion financière. Si ces activités étaient bien conçues et fonctionnaient de façon efficace, elles permettraient de s'assurer que les fonds sont dépensés aux fins prévues et conformément aux ententes de financement.

Gouvernance par le Chef et le Conseil

Pour ce qui est de la gouvernance, aucun problème n'a été relevé.

Gestion de la Bande

La vérification a permis de cerner des possibilités d'amélioration en ce qui a trait à la gestion de la bande à l'appui des programmes financés par AANC. Principalement, les vérificateurs ont recommandé au bénéficiaire de s'assurer que les documents à l'appui soient dûment remplis et déposés, et que les entrées du grand livre général concordent avec les états financiers vérifiés annuels; d'effectuer les procédures de comptabilisation de fin de mois pour s'assurer que toutes les dépenses ont été comptabilisées et imputés aux fonds appropriés; et, enfin, de documenter et d'approuver une politique d'appels d'offres qui lui permettrait de recevoir plusieurs soumissions pour les achats importants. La bande devrait également tenir un dossier pour toutes les soumissions reçues en réponse aux demandes de propositions ou soumissions.

Situation actuelle

Une copie du rapport final a été envoyée au bénéficiaire. AANC et le bénéficiaire travaillent conjointement pour donner suite à ces constatations.

Avertissement : Le présent rapport sommaire a été préparé en fonction des renseignements contenus dans le Rapport de vérification du bénéficiaire visant La Spuzzum First Nation pour le compte d'AANC. Le rapport produit pour AANC est réservé à l'utilisation du bénéficiaire et de la direction d'AANC. Le rapport sommaire ne présente qu'un portrait limité des constatations générales tirées de la vérification et ne fournit pas de détail sur le processus de vérification ou les constatations. Par conséquent, il pourrait ne pas convenir au but et à l'utilisation visés par le lecteur.

Date de modification :