Flooding in First Nation communities

Seasonal flooding can put First Nation communities at risk. Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada’s (INAC) regional officials work closely with First Nations at risk of flooding and partners to help ensure emergency preparedness and response plans are in place and fund eligible flood mitigation preparedness and response measures.

Choose a topic:

Flood risk by region

Flood risk monitoring and emergency response is managed by the provinces and territories. For more information on flood monitoring in your region, consult the regional organizations listed below.

Newfoundland

Prince Edward Island

Nova Scotia

New Brunswick

Quebec

Ontario

Manitoba

Saskatchewan

Alberta

British Columbia

Northwest Territories

Yukon

Nunavut

Preparing for a flood

To learn more about preparing for a flood, visit Flood Ready.

Visit Canadian Red Cross’s website for information on how to prepare for emergencies:

Flood preparation measures in First Nation communities

INAC provides funding support for flood preparation and mitigation measures in First Nation communities.

Ontario

INAC supports emergency preparedness activities for all First Nations in Ontario. INAC also supports flood watch for the Mushkegowuk Tribal Council and the First Nation communities of:

  • Albany
  • Attawapiskat
  • Kashechewan
  • Weenusk
  • Moose Cree
  • Fort Severn

This includes funding for an Emergency Coordinator to work with James Bay First Nations to help them prepare and manage flood responses and other emergencies. In addition, INAC has contracted the Ontario First Nations Technical Services Corporation to work with First Nations to review and update their Emergency Management Plans, train, and test the preparedness of First Nations' staff in plan implementation.

In recent years, INAC has invested in work on the dike valves to prevent flooding within the dike at Kashechewan First Nation.

A study examining flood mitigation options on the Albany River (Far Field Flood Study) is critical to determining a proper community planning strategy. This study is expected to be completed in spring 2017.

INAC continues to work with Kashechewan First Nation to implement an infrastructure investment plan that outlines repairs that are required to ensure that the community’s wastewater and flood protection systems are working effectively.

Manitoba

INAC has made significant investments in permanent measures to protect Manitoba First Nations from flooding. Permanent dikes are in place at 12 Manitoba First Nations:

  • Sioux Valley
  • Opaskwayak
  • Canupawakpa
  • Sandy Bay
  • Ebb and Flow
  • Lake Manitoba
  • O-Chi-Chak-Ko-Sipi
  • Little Saskatchewan
  • Poplar River
  • Berens River
  • Kinonjeoshtegon
  • Roseau River Anishinabe

Temporary dikes were also constructed at Lake St. Martin and Pinaymootang First Nations. These dikes have the potential to be left in place permanently pending the outcome of discussions with the First Nations.

INAC signed a five-year agreement with the Canadian Red Cross, effective April 1, 2017, to support Manitoba First Nations in emergency situations, including managing response and evacuations due to flood, fire and other circumstances. The Red Cross will also work with Manitoba First Nations in preparing the communities for potential emergencies. Under the agreement, INAC has committed $5.6 million over five years for the Canadian Red Cross to provide these services. The Canadian Red Cross is investing an additional $2.9 million to provide emergency resources and personnel support to Manitoba First Nations.

In advance of potential flooding in spring 2017, the department committed approximately $5 million for flood preparation work in 23 First Nations around the province. This includes clearing ditches and culverts, improving water drainage, inspecting dikes and pumps, and reviewing evacuation plans.

Saskatchewan

INAC has made significant investments to reduce the potential for flooding that threatens residents, houses and infrastructure in Saskatchewan First Nation communities, both now and in future years.

In addition to direct investments in Saskatchewan First Nations, INAC has an arrangement with the province of Saskatchewan to provide emergency response and recovery support to First Nations.

Alberta

Funded by INAC, the Alberta Bow River Basin Flood Hazard Assessment Project assesses flood hazards for the parts of the Bow River Basin flowing through Tsuut'ina Nation and Stoney Tribe Nations to help the First Nations develop options for flood mitigation.

INAC has a comprehensive emergency management service agreement with the Province of Alberta. The agreement ensures the First Nations are fully integrated into the provincial emergency management system. This includes a direct provincial presence, as required, during emergency events on-reserve that is integrated with the broader Provincial response, as well as preparedness training and emergency planning assistance.

Date modified:

Les inondations dans les collectivités des Premières Nations

Les crues saisonnières peuvent comporter des risques pour les collectivités des Premières Nations. Les fonctionnaires des bureaux régionaux d’Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) collaborent étroitement avec les Premières Nations à risque et les partenaires afin de veiller à la mise en place de plans de préparation en situation d’urgence et de plans d’intervention et au financement des mesures admissibles d’atténuation, de préparation et d’intervention en cas d’inondation.

Choisir un sujet :

Risques d’inondation par région

La surveillance des risques d’inondation et les interventions en cas d’urgence relèvent de la compétence des provinces et des territoires. Pour plus de renseignements sur la surveillance des risques d’inondation dans votre région, consultez la liste des organisations régionales ci-dessous :

Terre-Neuve

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Nouvelle-Écosse

Nouveau-Brunswick

Québec

Ontario

Manitoba

Saskatchewan

Alberta

Colombie-Britannique

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Yukon

Nunavut

Se préparer aux inondations

Consultez la page Prévention Inondation pour obtenir des renseignements sur les préparatifs en vue d’une inondation.

Visitez le site Web de la Croix-Rouge canadienne pour obtenir de l’information sur la manière de vous préparer à des situations d’urgence :

Mesures de préparation aux inondations dans les collectivités des Premières Nations

AANC offre un soutien financier pour des mesures de préparation et d’atténuation au risque d’inondations dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.

Ontario

AANC fournit du financement pour des activités de préparation aux urgences dans toutes les Premières Nations de l’Ontario. AANC soutient également les activités de surveillance des inondations pour le Conseil tribal de Mushkegowuk et les collectivités des Premières Nations de :

  • Albany
  • Attawapiskat
  • Kashechewan
  • Weenusk
  • Moose Cree
  • Fort Severn

Cela inclut du financement pour un coordonnateur des urgences qui travaille avec les Premières Nations de la baie James afin de les aider à préparer et à gérer les interventions en cas d’inondations et d’autres urgences. De plus, AANC a retenu les services de la Société de services techniques des Premières Nations de l’Ontario pour qu’elle travaille avec les Premières Nations afin de revoir et de mettre à jour leurs plans de gestion des urgences, de former leur personnel et de vérifier leur état de preparation en vue de la mise en œuvre du plan.

Au cours des dernières années, AANC a financé des travaux relatifs aux valves de la digue afin de prévenir les inondations à l’intérieur de la digue de la Première Nation de Kashechewan.

Une étude portant sur les options d’atténuation des risques d’inondation de la rivière Albany (étude sur les inondations en zone éloignée) est cruciale pour déterminer une bonne stratégie de planification communautaire. Cette étude devrait être terminée en printemps 2017.

AANC continue de collaborer avec la Première Nation de Kashechewan pour mettre en œuvre un plan d’investissement dans l’infrastructure, qui décrit les réparations requises pour veiller à ce que les systèmes de traitement des eaux usées et de protection contre les inondations de la collectivité fonctionnent efficacement.

Manitoba

AANC a fait des investissements importants pour la mise en œuvre de mesures permanentes afin de protéger les Premières Nations du Manitoba contre les inondations. Des digues permanentes sont en place dans 12 Premières Nations du Manitoba;

  • Sioux Valley
  • Opaskwayak
  • Canupawakpa
  • Sandy Bay
  • Ebb and Flow
  • Lake Manitoba
  • O-Chi-Chak-Ko-Sipi
  • Little Saskatchewan
  • Poplar River
  • Berens River
  • Kinonjeoshtegon
  • Roseau River Anishinabe

Des digues temporaires ont aussi été construites dans les Premières Nations de Lake St. Martin et de Pinaymootang. Ces digues pourront être laissées en place de façon permanente, en attendant le résultat des discussions avec les Premières Nations.

AANC a signé une entente de cinq ans avec la Croix-Rouge canadienne, qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2017, en vue de soutenir les Premières Nations du Manitoba en situation d’urgence, notamment pour la gestion des interventions et des évacuations à la suite d’une inondation, d’un incendie ou d’autres circonstances. La Croix-Rouge collaborera aussi avec les Premières Nations du Manitoba pour aider les collectivités à se préparer à d’éventuelles situations d’urgence. Dans le cadre de cette entente, AANC s’est engagé à verser 5,6 millions de dollars sur cinq ans à la Croix-Rouge canadienne afin qu’elle fournisse ces services. La Croix-Rrouge canadienne investit un montant supplémentaire de 2,9 millions de dollars pour fournir un soutien aux Premières Nations du Manitoba sous forme de ressources d’urgence et de personnel.

En prévision de possibles inondations au printemps 2017, le Ministère s'est engagé à verser quelque 5 millions de dollars pour la tenue de travaux de préparation aux inondations dans 23 Premières Nations de la province. Ces travaux comprennent le nettoyage des fossés et des ponceaux, l'amélioration du drainage de l'eau, l'inspection des digues et des pompes et l'examen des plans d'évacuation.

Saskatchewan

AANC a fait des investissements importants en vue de diminuer le risque que des inondations menacent les maisons, les infrastructures et les résidants des collectivités des Premières Nations de la Saskatchewan, aujourd’hui et pour les années à venir.

En plus d’investissements directs dans les Premières Nations de la Saskatchewan, AANC a conclu une entente avec la province de la Saskatchewan pour fournir aux Premières Nations du soutien aux activités d’intervention d’urgence et de rétablissement.

Alberta

Financé par AANC, le projet d’évaluation des risques d’inondation dans le bassin de la rivière Bow en Alberta est réalisé dans des secteurs du bassin de la rivière Bow qui touchent la Nation des Tsuut’ina et la Tribu des Stoney afin d’aider les Premières Nations à élaborer des options d’atténuation contre les inondations.

AANC a conclu une entente globale de services de gestion des urgences avec la province de l’Alberta. Cette entente vise à faire en sorte que les Premières nations sont entièrement intégrées au système provincial d’intervention en cas d’inondation. Cela suppose notamment une présence provinciale directe, au besoin, lors des urgences dans les réserves, qui est intégrée à l’intervention provinciale globale, ainsi qu’une formation sur la préparation et une aide à la planification des mesures d’urgence.

Date de modification :