Backgrounder: First Nations Control of First Nations Education Act

The Government of Canada is committed to providing First Nation children with access to a quality education, just like every other Canadian.

To this end, on February 7, 2014 Prime Minister Harper announced that the Government of Canada, with the support of the Assembly of First Nations (AFN), would be proceeding with the final drafting and introduction in Parliament of the First Nations Control of First Nations Education Act.

This historic agreement follows years of discussions, dialogue and studies reflecting the efforts of many in First Nations and in government to arrive at this point – a bill that recognizes First Nations control of First Nations education.

The legislation recognizes the responsibility and accountability of First Nations in the administration of their education system on-reserve and provides funding through a new statutory mechanism, which includes funding for language and culture programming. The legislation will also improve transparency and promote accountability by establishing clear roles and responsibilities for education administrators, and annual reporting requirements.

The Act will ensure that all First Nation students have access to a high quality education; that students graduate with a recognized certificate or diploma, that teachers are properly certified; that schools are required to provide a minimum number of instructional hours and instructional days; and that students can transition seamlessly between systems on reserve and provincial schools.

What is new?

The First Nations Control of First Nations Education Act outlines a significant change from the October 2013 draft legislative proposal shared with all First Nations Chiefs. It builds upon years of dialogue, studies and reports, and reflects the five conditions outlined in the November 2013 Open Letter from Assembly of First Nations National Chief Atleo. The Act proposes to:

  • Create a Joint Council of Education Professionals, comprised of experts in education, to provide advice to First Nations and the Government of Canada on the implementation of the Act and on the development of regulations. The Joint Council's role would be to support First Nations Band Councils and First Nations Education Authorities in the improvement of the their education system, as well as play an oversight role ensuring that the ministerial powers provided by the Act are exercised with the benefit of the First Nations perspectives and used as a last resort.
  • Outline the Government of Canada's commitment to a statutory guarantee for stable, predictable and sustainable funding. This streamlined funding approach would replace the complex structures now in place to three funding streams: a statutory funding stream that will have reasonable rate of growth; transition funding to support the new legislative framework; and funding for long-term investments in on-reserve school infrastructure.
  • Enable First Nations to incorporate language and culture programming into their education curricula, and provide funding for language and culture programming within the statutory funding stream; and
  • Commit the Government to work in conjunction with First Nations to develop the Act's regulations, with support from the Joint Council.

The Path to the Agreement:

The Government of Canada and Assembly of First Nations agree to work together on the development of necessary regulations. The partnership does not end with the introduction of a bill. The overriding goal of legislation is better outcomes for First Nation students. First Nations and the Government of Canada agree that this is best achieved through First Nations control over First Nations education.

Major milestones:

  • December 2010 – the Government of Canada and the AFN announce the creation of the National Panel on First Nation Elementary and Secondary Education
  • June 2011 – the Government of Canada, together with the AFN, officially launch an engagement process
  • February 2012 – the National Panel releases its Final Report
  • December 2012 – the Government of Canada launches consultations for development of a First Nation Education Act and releases a Discussion Guide
  • July 2013 – the Government of Canada releases Blueprint for Discussion – a document outlining what the Government heard during the consultative process – and shares it with all Chiefs.
  • October 2013 – the Government of Canada shares the draft legislative proposal with all Chiefs.
  • November 2013 – the National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations sends an Open Letter to the Government of Canada
  • December 2013 – the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development sends Open Letter to the National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations
  • February 7, 2014 – The Government of Canada and Assembly of First Nations reach an historic agreement to reform the First Nations K-12 education system through the First Nations Control of First Nations Education Act

For a more detailed chronology of activities to date see: Chronology of First Nations Education.

Document d'information : Loi sur le contrôle par les premières nations de leur système d'éducation

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à fournir aux enfants des Premières Nations une éducation de qualité, comme celle dont profitent les autres Canadiens.

À cette fin, le 7 février 2014, le premier ministre Harper a annoncé que le gouvernement du Canada, avec l'appui de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations (APN), produirait une dernière ébauche de la Loi sur le contrôle par les premières nations de leur système d'éducation et la déposerait au Parlement.

Cette entente historique est le fruit de plusieurs années de discussions, de dialogues et d'études mettant en évidence les efforts de nombreuses parties au sein des Premières Nations et du gouvernement pour arriver à ce résultat – un projet de loi donnant aux Premières Nations le contrôle de l'éducation des Premières Nations.

La loi reconnaît la responsabilité et la reddition de comptes des Premières Nations en ce qui à trait à l'administration de leurs systèmes d'éducation dans les réserves. Un régime de financement est également prévu et prescrit par la loi et comprend des fonds destinés aux programmes liés à la langue et à la culture. La loi améliorera également la transparence et encouragera la reddition de comptes en définissant clairement les rôles et responsabilités des administrateurs scolaires ainsi que les exigences en matière de rapports.

La loi s'assurerait que tous les élèves des Premières Nations puissent avoir accès à une éducation de grande qualité, qu'ils obtiennent des diplômes ou des certificats reconnus, que les enseignants soient, certifiés, que les écoles donnent un nombre minimal d'heures et de jours d'enseignement et que les élèves puissent passer aisément d'une école située dans une réserve à une école provinciale.

Qu'y a t il de nouveau?

La Loi sur le contrôle par les premières nations de leur système d'éducation contient des changements importants par rapport à l'ébauche du projet de loi en octobre 2013 qui a été communiquée à tous les chefs des Premières Nations. Elle s'appuie sur des années de dialogues, d'études, de rapports et traite de cinq conditions soulignées dans la lettre ouverte (novembre 2013) du chef Atleo de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations. La loi :

  • créera un Comité mixte de professionnels de l'éducation, composé de spécialistes en éducation et chargé de donner des conseils et du soutien au gouvernement du Canada quant à la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur le contrôle par les premières nations de leur système d'éducation;
  • décrirait l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada à assurer par une loi un financement stable, prévisible et durable. Cette approche simplifiée de financement remplacerait les structures complexes actuelles par trois volets de financement : un financement de base prescrit par la loi ayant un taux de croissance raisonnable, un financement de transition servant à appuyer le nouveau cadre législatif et un financement à long terme pour l'infrastructure scolaire dans les réserves.
  • permettrait aux Premières Nations d'ajouter d'un volet relatif à la langue et à la culture à leur programme éducatif, et assurerait des fonds, à même le financement prescrit par la loi, pour des programmes liés à la langue et à la culture.
  • engagerait le gouvernement à travailler de concert avec les Premières Nations pour élaborer la réglementation de la loi, avec l'aide du Comité mixte de professionnels de l'éducation.

La voie vers l'entente

Le gouvernement du Canada et l'APN acceptent de travailler ensemble à l'élaboration de la réglementation nécessaire. Le partenariat ne prend pas fin avec le dépôt d'un projet de loi. Le but premier de cette loi est d'améliorer les résultats des élèves des Premières Nations. Les Premières Nations et le gouvernement du Canada estiment d'un commun accord qu'il est préférable de donner le contrôle de l'éducation des Premières Nations à ces dernières pour atteindre cet objectif.

Principaux jalons

  • Décembre 2010 – Le gouvernement du Canada et l'APN annoncent la création du Panel national sur l'éducation primaire et secondaire des Premières Nations.
  • Juin 2011 – Le gouvernement du Canada et l'APN procèdent au lancement officiel d'un processus de participation.
  • Février 2012 – Le Panel national présente son rapport final.
  • Décembre 2012 – Le gouvernement du Canada entame le processus de consultation pour l'élaboration d'une loi sur l'éducation des Premières Nations et publie un guide de discussion.
  • Juillet 2013 – Le gouvernement du Canada publie le Plan pour l'ébauche d'une loi, un document décrivant ce que le gouvernement a entendu pendant le processus de consultation, et le transmet à tous les chefs.
  • Octobre 2013 – Le gouvernement du Canada transmet à tous les chefs l'ébauche du projet de loi.
  • Novembre 2013 – Le chef national de l'APN envoie une lettre ouverte au gouvernement du Canada.
  • Décembre 2013 – Le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien envoie une lettre ouverte au chef national de l'APN.
  • 7 février 2014 – Le gouvernement du Canada et l'APN concluent une entente historique visant à réformer le système d'éducation des Premières Nations, de la maternelle à la 12e année, au moyen de la Loi sur le contrôle par les premières nations de leur système d'éducation.

Pour obtenir une chronologie plus détaillée des activités réalisées à ce jour, consultez la chronologie de l'éducation des Premières Nations.