Description & Guidance for the Project Description Form

Section Description and Guidance
Section A: Project Information This section includes the project title and proponent contact details. Identify the proposed start and expected completion date of the project, and describe all components of the project over the entire life cycle of the project, including site preparation, construction, operation, decommissioning, and site restoration or rehabilitation. Include any physical works or activities accessory to the principal project (for example if the project creates waste, include information on the proper disposal of that waste; or if certain utilities needed to be established or decommissioned for the project, include those ancillary works).

Identify all permits, licences or approvals (including any provincial or municipal requirements when applicable) that need to be obtained for the project and any other important characteristics of the regulatory environment. Please refer to maps of the area to be disturbed for the proposed project in relation to existing activities, topographic features, township grids, watercourses and water bodies. Copies of drawings, plans, maps showing the project location, and any key features referred to in the remainder of the document, etc. should be attached to the form.

Section B: Land Description Select all surface water bodies (lakes, rivers, streams, wetlands, bogs etc) in or within 30 m of the study area. Identify any drinking water wells or aquifer recharge zone (i.e., a land area into which water can infiltrate into and replenish an aquifer relatively easily) and the depth to groundwater, if known.

Select the soil type and topography, slope and any special landforms within the specified project area. Describe the land use (e.g. zoning, current and past land uses and ownership) at the project site. Describe existing and planned resource use within the boundaries or surrounding areas of the site that may be affected by the proposed project (e.g. farming, forestry, mining, commercial fisheries, wildlife populations/distribution, trapping/hunting, forestry, location of traditional plants, water resources).

Section C: Flora and Fauna Identify any plant and animal species that are listed under the federal Species at Risk Act that have the potential to be present in the project area. The Environment Canada (EC) SARA registry provides information on listed species at risk and their habitat. Check with your province/territory, as they may have species at risk websites as well.

Identify if the project has the potential to impact migratory birds – as populations and as individuals – or their habitats, eggs and nests. Contact Environment Canada for guidance on appropriate mitigation measures, such as timing restrictions.

If the project involves in-water works or is sited near water, contact the Department of Fisheries and Oceans for advice on appropriate mitigation measures and/or Fisheries Act authorizations. Authorizations may also be required if your project involves blasting in or near water, killing fish by means other than fishing, or creating a barrier to fish migration. Environment Canada is responsible for the administration and enforcement of the pollution prevention provisions of the Fisheries Act, which prohibit the deposit of deleterious (harmful) substances into water containing fish.

Describe the vegetation in the area, (such as forests, marshes, grass fields, cultivated fields) as well as in the adjacent areas. Describe animals in the area (aquatic species, amphibians, reptiles, birds, mammals) as well as in the adjacent areas. Identify any significant sensitive natural areas (e.g. wetlands, caribou fawning areas) in the project area.

Section D: Traditional/Cultural Uses Identify any traditional, historical, archaeological and/or cultural use areas in the project area. This information will help inform whether Aboriginal consultation by AANDC is warranted.
Section E: Consultation and Public Participation Indicate if the project has the potential to cause off-reserve impacts. This will assist AANDC in determining whether consultation with other Aboriginal or non-Aboriginal groups may be required prior to the project's authorization.
Section F: Comments and Other Information This section allows for the proponent to provide any additional information they feel pertinent for the reviewing officer to know about the project. For small projects, it is suggested that the proponent use this section to proactively identify any key best practices or mitigation measures they plan to implement during the project. This additional information may enable a speedier review of the PD form by AANDC, and in some cases, the AANDC environment officer may even be able to conclude that the proponent has addressed all the relevant risks and no further review is needed.

(Please note that for larger or more complex projects, it would not be appropriate to use Section F to identify all mitigation measures. For such projects, AANDC will likely require a separate, more thorough analysis of impacts and mitigation).

Section G: Contact Information This section involves identifying the First Nation (if not the proponent) and an alternative contact in case the primary contact (as identified in Section A) cannot be reached.
Section H: Determination, Sign-off and Approval This section is completed by AANDC. AANDC will use this section to identify the level of further review that the project should undergo, in order to make determination as to whether significant adverse environmental effects are likely. Other factors relating to areas of federal responsibility (Aboriginal consultation, input from other regulatory bodies, land tenure requirements) are identified here as well.

Description et conseil relatif au formulaire de description du projet

Section Description et instructions
Section A : Renseignements sur le projet Cette section contient le titre du projet et les coordonnées du promoteur. Indiquez la date de début proposée et la date de fin prévue pour le projet. Décrivez tous les éléments du projet sur toute sa durée de vie, y compris la préparation du site, la construction, l'exploitation, le démantèlement et la restauration ou la remise en état du site. Indiquez tous les travaux physiques ou activités accessoires du projet principal (par exemple, si le projet produit des déchets, proposez des précisions sur les méthodes d'élimination des rejets ou, si certains services publics doivent être établis ou mis hors service pour le projet, il faut inclure ces travaux auxiliaires).

Indiquez tous les permis, autorisations ou approbations (y compris aux niveaux provincial et municipal, s'il y a lieu) qui devront être obtenus pour le projet et toute autre caractéristique importante du cadre réglementaire. Veuillez faire référence aux cartes de la zone qui sera perturbée par le projet proposé du point de vue des activités existantes, des caractéristiques topographiques, des limites de canton, des cours d'eau et des plans d'eau. Des copies des dessins, des plans et des cartes illustrant l'emplacement du projet, les principales caractéristiques mentionnées dans le reste du document, etc., doivent être jointes au formulaire.

Section B : Description du terrain Sélectionnez tous les plans d'eau (lacs, rivières, ruisseaux, terrains humides, marécages, etc.) dans un rayon de 30 m de la zone étudiée. Indiquez les puits d'eau potable ou les zones de recharge de la nappe phréatique (c'est-à-dire la zone dans laquelle l'eau peut s'infiltrer et reconstituer assez facilement la nappe phréatique), précisez la profondeur de la nappe phréatique, si elle est connue.

Choisissez le type de sol et la topographie, la pente et tout relief particulier dans la zone désignée pour le projet. Décrivez l'utilisation des terres (p. ex., zonage, propriétés et utilisation actuelle et ancienne des terrains) pour le site du projet. Décrivez l'utilisation des ressources existantes et futures dans les limites du site ou dans les zones environnantes susceptibles d'être affectées par le projet proposé (p. ex., agriculture, foresterie, mine, pêche commerciale, populations/distribution de la faune, activités de trappage/chasse, forestières, emplacements des plantes traditionnelles, ressources en eau).

Section C : Flore et faune Indiquez toute plante ou espèce animale figurant au registre fédéral institué par la Loi sur les espèces en péril susceptible d'être présente dans la zone du projet. Le registre sur les espèces en péril d'Environnement Canada contient des informations sur les espèces en péril et leur habitat. Renseignez-vous auprès des autorités provinciales/territoriales qui peuvent éventuellement avoir des sites Web sur les espèces en péril.

Indiquez si le projet est susceptible d'avoir un effet sur les oiseaux migrateurs – en tant que population ou individuellement – ou leurs habitats, leurs œufs et leurs nids. Contactez Environnement Canada pour des directives sur les mesures d'atténuation appropriées, comme les restrictions dans le temps.

Si le projet comporte des travaux dans ou à proximité de l'eau, il faut consulter le ministère des Pêches et des Océans pour avoir son avis sur les mesures d'atténuation et/ou les autorisations exigées en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches. D'autres autorisations peuvent être nécessaires si votre projet comporte des opérations de sautage dans ou à proximité de l'eau, si des poissons sont tués par des moyens autres que la pêche ou si vous entravez les migrations de poissons. Environnement Canada est responsable de l'administration et de l'application des dispositions de prévention de la pollution de la Loi sur les pêches, qui interdisent notamment le dépôt de substances nocives dans des eaux contenant des poissons.

Décrivez la végétation de la zone (forêts, marées, prairies, champs cultivés), ainsi que celle des zones adjacentes. Décrivez les animaux vivant dans la zone (espèces aquatiques, amphibiens, reptiles, oiseaux, mammifères), ainsi que dans les zones adjacentes. Indiquez toute zone naturelle sensible importante (p. ex., terres humides, secteurs de mise bas des caribous) incluse dans la zone du projet.

Section D : Usages traditionnels/culturels Indiquez si des parties de la zone du projet ont eu des usages traditionnels, historiques, archéologiques ou culturels. Ces renseignements peuvent aider à déterminer si AADNC doit procéder à une consultation auprès des Autochtones.
Section E : Consultation et Participation du public Indiquez si le projet est susceptible d'avoir des effets en dehors de la réserve. Cela pourra aider AADNC à déterminer si des consultations avec d'autres Autochtones ou d'autres groupes non autochtones sont nécessaires avant d'autoriser le projet.
Section F : Commentaires et autres renseignements Cette section permet au promoteur de fournir des renseignements supplémentaires jugés pertinents par l'agent qui aura à examiner le projet. Pour les petits projets, le promoteur devrait utiliser cette section pour préciser les principales pratiques exemplaires ou mesures d'atténuation qu'il envisage d'appliquer au projet. Ce type de renseignements peut accélérer l'examen du formulaire de description de projet par AADNC et, dans certains cas, l'agent de l'environnement d'AADNC pourra se contenter de cette description pour conclure que le promoteur a pris en compte les risques pertinents et qu'il n'est pas nécessaire de pousser l'examen plus loin.

(Veuillez noter que pour les projets de plus grande envergure ou plus complexes, il ne convient pas d'utiliser la section F pour indiquer toutes les mesures d'atténuation. Pour de tels projets, AADNC exigera probablement une analyse séparée et plus poussée des effets et des mesures d'atténuation).

Section G : Renseignements sur les contacts Dans cette section, indiquez la Première Nation (si elle n'est pas le promoteur) et une seconde personne-ressource si la personne-ressource principale (indiquée dans la section A) n'est pas accessible.
Section H : Détermination, signature et approbation Cette section doit être remplie par AADNC. Elle doit servir à indiquer le niveau d'examen supplémentaire auquel le projet devra être soumis que les obligations en vertu de la LCEE 2012 et la politique du Ministère soient respectées. D'autres facteurs liés aux domaines de compétence fédérale (consultations des Autochtones, commentaires des autres organismes réglementaires, exigences de régime foncier) pourront y figurer.