ARCHIVED - Report on Recipient Audit of Sayisi Dene First Nation

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Name: Sayisi Dene First Nation
Location: Manitoba
Population: 308 on reserve; 772 total registered
Default status at time of audit: Not in Default (2011-2012)
Current default status: Expert Resource Support, formerly know as Co-Managed (2013-14)
Current Chief: Peter Thorassie Jr.
Time period covered by audit: April 1, 2010 to March 31, 2012
Amount of AANDC funding audited: $7,736,734

BACKGROUND

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada selected the Sayisi Dene First Nation in Manitoba, for a recipient audit in 2012-2013 based on their 2011-2012 risk assessment score and other risk factors.

This recipient audit was undertaken to:

This audit was conducted by KPMG in February 2013.

FINDINGS

The audit identified numerous control weaknesses with governance, expenditure oversight and financial management that if operating effectively, would help ensure funds were spent for the intended purposes in compliance with funding agreements. In addition, a judgmentally selected sample of 4% of the in-scope funding identified a compliance rate of 78% (based on the dollar amount of samples reviewed). The audit identified that expenditures in the amount of $67,381 were not in compliance with the terms and conditions of the funding agreement and are potentially recoverable.

Expenditures

The audit reviewed a sample of transactions based on the following criteria: significance of the annual expenditure by program; the nature of the program; results of other compliance work completed by AANDC over the scope period; volume of transactions; and dollar amount of individual transactions. No issues were identified by AANDC’s Manitoba regional office arising from compliance work conducted on the nominal role for the Education program or other compliance work on Social programs. The audit considered other areas identified from discussions with AANDC staff, including: discretionary spending, payments to Band Council and travel.

Internal Controls

The following elements of the control framework had been previously noted as potential weaknesses during the audit scope period:

  • Accumulated debt totalling approximately $1.5M predating the audit scope period resulted in a remedial management plan that the recipient agreed to, and which forms part of the funding agreements of this current audit scope period. The audited financial statements for 2010/11 and 2011/12 reported annual expenditures in excess of revenues of approximately $2.8M and $2.0M respectively. The recipient has not reduced the amount of the accumulated debt, in fact it has grown from $1.5M in 2005/06 to $2.0M as of March 31, 2012;
  • Management oversight (governance) and financial management are weak due to lack of capacity; and
  • In regards to transparency and communication, there are complaints from Band members of lack of communication and that Chief and Council are often absent from the community. Chief and Council rarely holds band or program meetings and minutes not produced when meetings are held. Audited financial statements are not made available to members.

RECOMMENDATIONS

Sayisi Dene First Nation Chief and Council require improvement to their governance and expenditure oversight practices applicable to the funding provided by AANDC. In addition, Band Management requires significant improvements to practices relating to the financial management of funding provided, including: planning, budgeting and monitoring of programs, services and activities.

  1. The audit recommends that Chief and Council improve the governance and oversight of the funding provided by AANDC through:
    • Documentation of minutes for all Chief and Council meetings and provision of minutes for review by Members, AANDC, auditors and other stakeholders as appropriate;
    • Regular review of financial information (quarterly at a minimum, monthly is optimal) to assess actual program and administration expenditures compared to the budgeted amounts;
    • Clarification of the roles of Chief and Council should be documented and communicated, and should include responsibility to review and approve the annual budget, and to review the actual expenditures compared to the budgeted amounts on a monthly or quarterly basis; and
    • Presentation of annual budgets and audited financial statements to Members on a timely basis following their completion.
  2. The audit recommends that Chief and Council prepare a strategic plan, in order to articulate the objectives of the Band over the next one to three years.
  3. The audit recommends that Band Management prepare operational plans for all significant programs, which may include: Education, Social, facilities O&M and housing, and Band support.
  4. The audit recommends that Band Management improve the financial administration and management of funding provided by AANDC through:
    • Documenting financial policies including the requirements for cash receipts, cash disbursements, accounting and record keeping, and financial reporting. These policies should be communicated and implemented with appropriate training provided as needed;
    • Conducting a more thorough and documented review of monthly variance reporting; and
    • Providing Chief and Council with financial information on a regular basis that includes budget and actual results with explanations for significant variances over and under budget.
  5. The audit recommends that the Band Management document the cash disbursement process to clearly outline the process and related financial controls that must be followed for the procurement of goods and services and the payment of funds for program expenditures. The key financial controls related to the disbursement of funds provided by AANDC should include, at a minimum, the following requirements: original invoices and contracts must be provided or available to support all cheque requisitions; receipt of goods or services must be approved by band management; cheque requisitions must be approved by authorized individuals only; and a list of individuals authorized to approve cheque requisitions, sign cheques, and issue bank transfers must be maintained.

CURRENT STATUS

A copy of the final report was sent to the recipient.

 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Rapport sur la vérification du bénéficiaire – Première Nation des Dénés sayisi

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Nom : Première Nation des Dénés sayisi
Lieu : Manitoba
Population : 308 dans la réserve; 772 inscrits au total
État des manquements au moment de la vérification : Pas de manquement (2011-2012)
État actuel des manquements : Soutien d’une ressource spécialisée, anciennement appelée cogestion (2013-2014)
Chef actuel : Peter Thorassie Jr.
Période couverte par la vérification : du 1er avril 2010 au 31 mars 2012
Montant du financement d'AADNC vérifié : 7 736 734 $

CONTEXTE

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada a choisi la Première Nation des Dénés sayisi, Manitoba, pour faire l’objet d’une vérification du bénéficiaire en 2012-2013 en raison du résultat obtenu lors de l’évaluation des risques 2011-2012 et d’autres facteurs de risque.

La vérification de ce bénéficiaire a été effectuée parce que l’on souhaitait :

Cette vérification a été effectuée par KPMG en février 2013.

CONSTATATIONS

La vérification a révélé des faiblesses en matière de contrôle en ce qui a trait aux activités de gouvernance, de surveillance des dépenses et de gestion financière, alors que si ces activités étaient bien conçues et fonctionnaient de manière efficace, elles permettraient de s'assurer que les fonds ont été dépensés aux fins prévues et conformément aux accords de financement. De plus, un échantillon discrétionnaire de 4 % du financement considéré a révélé un taux de conformité de 78 % (sur la base du montant en dollars des échantillons examinés). Les vérificateurs ont constaté qu’un montant de 67 381 $ n’était pas en conformité avec les modalités de l’accord de financement, et qu’il était désigné comme potentiellement à recouvrer.

Dépenses

Les vérificateurs ont examiné un échantillon des transactions sur la base des critères suivants : importance des dépenses annuelles par programme; nature du programme; résultats des autres travaux de vérification de la conformité effectués par AADNC pendant la période considérée; volume des transactions; et montant en dollars de chaque transaction individuelle. Aucun problème n’a été relevé par le bureau régional du Manitoba d’AADNC en ce qui a trait aux travaux de vérification de la conformité effectués sur le rôle nominal du programme d’éducation ou à d’autres travaux de vérification de la conformité des programmes sociaux. Les vérificateurs se sont penchés sur d’autres aspects relevés au cours de discussions avec des fonctionnaires d’AADNC, notamment : dépenses discrétionnaires, paiements au conseil de bande et déplacements.

Contrôles internes

Les éléments suivants du cadre des mesures de contrôle avaient déjà été mentionnés comme des faiblesses potentielles au cours de la période considérée :

  • Des dettes accumulées totalisant environ 1,5 million de dollars antérieurement à la période de vérification ont entraîné la mise en place d’un plan de redressement auquel le bénéficiaire avait donné son accord, et qui fait partie des accords de financement visés par la présente période de vérification. Les états financiers vérifiés pour 2010-2011 et 2011-2012 ont fait état de dépenses annuelles qui dépassent les revenus d’environ 2,8 millions de dollars et 2,0 millions de dollars respectivement. Le bénéficiaire n’a pas réduit le montant de la dette accumulée, et de fait, il l’a fait passer de 1,5 million en 2005-2006 à 2,0 millions au 31 mars 2012;
  • La surveillance de la gestion (gouvernance) et la gestion financière dénotent des faiblesses dues à un manque de capacité;
  • Pour ce qui est de la transparence et des communications, les membres de la bande déplorent un manque de communication et le fait que le chef et les membres du conseil sont souvent absents de la collectivité. Le chef et les membres du conseil tiennent rarement des réunions de la bande ou pour les programmes et des procès-verbaux ne sont pas produits lorsque des réunions ont effectivement lieu. Les états financiers vérifiés ne sont pas mis à la disposition des membres.

RECOMMANDATIONS

Le chef et les membres du conseil de la Première Nation des Dénés sayisi doivent améliorer leur gouvernance et les méthodes de surveillance des dépenses applicables au financement fourni par AADNC. De plus, l’administrateur de la bande doit améliorer considérablement ses pratiques relatives à la gestion financière des fonds fournis, y compris : la planification, l’établissement du budget et le suivi des programmes, services et activités.

  1. Les vérificateurs recommandent que le chef et le conseil améliorent la gouvernance et la surveillance du financement fourni par AADNC en adoptant les mesures suivantes :
    • La documentation des procès-verbaux pour toutes les réunions du chef et du conseil et la soumission de ces procès-verbaux à l’examen des membres de la Première Nation, d’AADNC, des vérificateurs et des autres parties prenantes, au besoin;
    • Un examen régulier de l'information financière (trimestriel au minimum, quoiqu'un examen mensuel soit optimal) pour évaluer les dépenses de programme et d'administration réelles par rapport aux montants budgétisés;
    • La clarification des rôles du chef et du conseil doit être documentée et communiquée et devrait comprendre notamment la responsabilité d’examiner et d’approuver le budget annuel, et d’examiner les dépenses réelles comparativement aux montants budgétisés sur une base mensuelle ou trimestrielle;
    • La présentation de budgets annuels et d’états financiers vérifiés aux membres en temps utile dès qu’ils ont été réalisés.
  2. Les vérificateurs recommandent que le chef et le conseil préparent un plan pour atteindre les objectifs stratégiques de la bande dans un horizon de un à trois ans.
  3. Les vérificateurs recommandent que la gestion de la bande prépare des plans opérationnels pour tous les programmes importants, notamment : éducation, programmes sociaux, fonctionnement et entretien des installations et logement, ainsi que soutien à la bande.
  4. Les vérificateurs recommandent que la gestion de la bande améliore l’administration financière et la gestion du financement fourni par AADNC en adoptant les mesures suivantes :
    • La documentation des politiques financières en ce qui concerne entre autres les rentrées et sorties de fonds, la comptabilité, la tenue des dossiers et l’information financière. Ces politiques devraient être accompagnées des formations nécessaires, parallèlement à leur communication et à leur mise en place;
    • L’examen plus approfondi et documenté des rapports sur les écarts mensuels;
    • La fourniture sur une base régulière de renseignements financiers à l’intention du chef et du conseil, notamment le budget et les résultats réels accompagnés d’explications au sujet des écarts importants par rapport au budget, qu’ils soient supérieurs ou inférieurs au budget prévu.
  5. Les vérificateurs recommandent que l’administrateur de la bande documente le processus des décaissements de façon à définir clairement le processus et les mesures de contrôle financier connexes qui doivent être suivis dans le cadre du cycle d’approvisionnement des biens et des services et le versement des fonds pour les dépenses des programmes. Les principales mesures de contrôle financier ayant trait au décaissement des fonds fournis par AADNC devraient inclure, au minimum, les exigences suivantes : l’original des factures et des contrats doit être fourni ou disponible à l’appui de chaque demande de chèque; la réception de biens ou de services doit être approuvée par la gestion de la bande; les demandes de chèques doivent être approuvées uniquement par les personnes autorisées; et une liste des personnes autorisées à approuver les demandes de chèques, à signer les chèques, et à effectuer des virements bancaires doit être tenue à jour.

ÉTAT ACTUEL

Le rapport final a été envoyé au bénéficiaire.

 
 
Date de modification :