ARCHIVED - Management Letter - Lac La Croix First Nation

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Chief and Council
Lac La Croix First Nation
PO BOX 640
FORT FRANCES ON P9A 3M9

Ref: 2012-13 Recipient Audit Results and Follow-Up

Dear Chief and Council:

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) conducted a number of recipient audits in fiscal year 2012-13, including an audit of Lac La Croix First Nation. Please find attached a copy of the full audit report and a summary of the report. The summary will be published on the department’s website in the coming weeks, along with this management letter. Should you wish to, you may provide a written response to me, pertaining to this audit within 30 days. Your response will also be posted.

As a result of this recipient audit, a non-compliant amount of $108,525 has been identified and is subject to recovery unless additional evidence is provided within 30 days. A representative of AANDC will contact you shortly to follow up on recovery/repayment arrangements.

The audit report also included the following recommendations, which we advise you and your organization to address:

  1. The Lac La Croix First Nation should implement appropriate procedures and financial controls, including documentation retention procedures, to enable it to demonstrate that expenditures incurred are supported by appropriate documentation and that expenditures funded by the Government of Canada were incurred in accordance with the terms and conditions of the funding agreements between Lac La Croix First Nation and the Government of Canada.
  2. The Lac La Croix First Nation should develop, approve and implement a Strategic Governance Plan and implement policies and/or codes that include roles and responsibilities for Chief and Council.
  3. The Lac La Croix First Nation should submit required reports in a timely manner and as described in the Contribution Agreements.
  4. The Chief and Council should implement a budget for all programs that is aligned with the requirements of the Contribution Agreements. On a regular basis, Lac La Croix First Nation should conduct budget to actual variance analysis and ensure significant variances are substantiated by Program Managers.
  5. The Lac La Croix First Nation should develop, approve and implement an Accountability Framework, as well as policies and codes as required by the Contribution Agreements.
  6. The Lac La Croix First Nation should ensure proper access to technical support for its accounting system, and that a backup process should be developed to ensure the integrity of the financial data.

Please contact your regional AANDC representative to discuss any questions or concerns you may have about this audit.

Sincerely,

 
 

Pamela d'Eon, B. COM, B. ED, MBA
Acting Chief Financial Officer

c.c.: Anne Scotton
Scott Stevenson
Mauricette Howlett
Deloitte LLP

 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Lettre de recommandation - Première Nation du Lac La Croix

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Chef et conseillers
Première Nation du Lac La Croix
C. P. 640
FORT FRANCES ON P9A 3M9

Réf. : Résultats et suivi de la vérification du bénéficiaire en 2012-2013

Chef et conseillers,

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a procédé à la vérification d'un certain nombre de bénéficiaires pendant l'exercice 2012-2013, y compris la Première Nation du Lac La Croix. Vous trouverez ci-joint le rapport de vérification complet et un sommaire de celui-ci. Le sommaire, ainsi que la présente lettre, seront affichés sur le site Web du Ministère au cours des prochaines semaines. Si vous désirez, vous disposez de 30 jours pour me faire parvenir une réponse à la vérification. Votre réponse sera également publiée.

La vérification du bénéficiaire a permis de constater l’existence d’un montant non conforme de 108 525 $ désigné comme étant à recouvrer, à moins que des éléments justificatifs additionnels ne soient fournis d’ici 30 jours. Un représentant d’AADNC vous contactera sous peu concernant les modalités de recouvrement ou de remboursement.

Le rapport de vérification contient les recommandations suivantes, auxquelles nous conseillons à votre organisation de donner suite :

  1. Nous recommandons que la Première Nation du Lac La Croix mette en œuvre des procédures et des mesures de contrôle financier appropriées, qui lui permettront de démontrer que les dépenses engagées sont étayées par des documents pertinents et que les fonds octroyés par le gouvernement du Canada ont été utilisés conformément aux modalités des ententes de financement entre la Première Nation du Lac La Croix et le gouvernement du Canada.
  2. La Première Nation du Lac La Croix devrait élaborer, approuver et mettre en œuvre un Plan de gouvernance stratégique et mettre en place des politiques ou des codes qui comprendraient notamment les rôles et les responsabilités du chef et des membres du conseil.
  3. La Première Nation du Lac La Croix doit transmettre ou publier les rapports requis dans les délais prévus conformément aux conditions décrites dans les accords de contribution.
  4. Le chef et les membres du conseil doivent mettre en œuvre un budget pour tous les programmes qui correspondent aux exigences décrites dans les accords de contribution. La Première Nation du Lac La Croix devrait, de façon périodique, procéder également à l'analyse des écarts entre les dépenses réelles et le budget et s'assurer que les écarts importants sont documentés par les gestionnaires de programme.
  5. La Première Nation du Lac La Croix devrait élaborer, approuver et mettre en œuvre un Cadre de reddition de comptes, ainsi que des politiques et des codes conformément aux conditions des accords de contribution.
  6. La Première Nation du Lac La Croix devrait s’assurer l’accès à un soutien technique pour son système de comptabilité, et un processus de sauvegarde devrait être mis en place afin de veiller à l’intégrité des données financières.

Veuillez communiquer avec votre représentant régional d’AADNC pour discuter de toute question ou préoccupation que vous pourriez avoir au sujet de cette vérification.

Veuillez agréer mes salutations les meilleures.

 
 

Pamela d'Eon, B. COM, B. ED, MBA
Dirigeante principale des finances intérimaire

c. c. : Anne Scotton
Scott Stevenson
Mauricette Howlett
Deloitte LLP

 
 
Date de modification :