Audit of Water and Wastewater Infrastructure - Follow-up Report Status Update as of June 30, 2013

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (30 Kb, 5 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of June 30, 2013

Regional Operations

Audit of Water and Wastewater Infrastructure
Approval Date: 04-26-2013
   Project Recommendations       Action Plan    Expected
   Completion Date   
   Program Response   
1. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister (SADM) of Regional Operations should ensure all Regions have a Capital Review Committee in place to prioritize and approve capital project and planning decisions, with Terms of Reference which are up-to-date.  Decisions made by the Capital Review Committees should be adequately documented. SADM has directed RDGs to ensure they have a robust Regional First Nations Infrastructure Investment Plan process and Capital Review Committees (or equivalent), with terms of reference, in place.

Community Infrastructure Branch (CIB) will start a follow-up process with Regions which will continue during fiscal year 2013-14 to confirm that adequate investment planning and capital review processes have been established and decisions documented. 
November 2012 Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2013:


SADM has directed RDGs to ensure they have a robust Regional First Nations Infrastructure Investment Plan process and Capital Review Committees (or equivalent), with Terms of Reference, in place.

During oversight visits to the regions, CIB follows up to confirm that adequate investment planning and capital review process is in place, verifies whether a Capital Review Committee (or equivalent) is active in this process and whether the formal records of decision are prepared and maintained.

Expected completion date Q1-Q4 2013-14

AES: Underway
2. The SADM of Regional Operations should develop guidance to assist Regions in implementing a consistent approach for the conduct of annual inspections and ensure inspections are completed appropriately in all Regions and results are properly recorded. Revised annual inspection guidance, providing clear instructions was issued in October 2012.  Further, the Regional Operations Working Group will develop a framework by June 2013 for a risk-based scheduling of inspections to be implemented in the 2014-15 annual performance inspection cycle.

The Management Control Framework (MCF) for the Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program (CFMP) sets out requirements for the timing of inspection reporting. To ensure inspections are completed appropriately in all Regions and are properly recorded, regions are required to report progress on annual inspections in their Quarterly Reports. CIB monitors this reporting, and the rate of data uploaded to ICMS to ensure that inspections are completed appropriately and results are properly recorded. Uploads of inspection data will take place during December 2012 and January 2013 according to the established timetable.
October 2012



June 2013



January 2013
Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2013:


Revised annual inspections guidance was issued in October 2012. This package included clear instructions for annual inspections of water/wastewater systems. A framework for a risk-based scheduling of inspections (an analysis of the pros and cons of different inspection frequencies) has been drafted and is under review.

In the Quarterly Reports, Regions report on completed inspections within the quarter in which they are completed.

CIB performs random audits to determine the quality of data as they are uploaded. Then at the end of the results cycle, all data is examined. Most regions met the deadline to upload the 2012 results (Jan 31, 2013), although some uploaded later (before the end of March). For the 2013 results, a new deadline has been set for December 2013.

AES: Underway
3. The SADM of Regional Operations should clarify Water and Wastewater Infrastructure (WWI) project management information requirements, identify information sources, and develop a consistent approach for how project management information is to be collated using a single system. 3.1: A long-term strategy to enhance the effectiveness of the ICMS project tracking and support regions in meeting the project management information requirements of the MCF will be presented to the ICMS Steering Committee for approval. December 2012 3.1: Status: Completed, request to close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2013:


The long-term strategy for enhancing ICMS has been approved by the ICMS Steering Committee. The first phase of this strategy is the enhancement of the capital planning and project tracking module. Development of the enhancements is underway, and should be implemented with Release 6.5, scheduled for November 2013.

AES: Implemented.
3.2: To support regions in using ICMS to track projects, the ICMS team will provide regional offices with a guidance document: ICMS Infrastructure Investment Planning and Project Tracking (Instructions for the use of ICMS Project Tracking and Capital Planning modules). June 2013 3.2: Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2013:


The ICMS FNIIP and Project Tracking Instruction Manual to provide guidance to the regions is 90% complete. Consultations with regions took place for its development, as well as discussions about implementation. The final version of the manual will also be released in November 2013 (for Release 6.5). Training will be provided to regions after the November Release of ICMS 6.5 and the instruction manual.

AES: Partially Implemented.
3.3: Work to explore the feasibility of integrating the ICMS and FNITP project reporting systems into a single system will not be undertaken until the planned change to the underlying platform of the FNITP has been completed. 3.3: Status: Request to close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2013:


Work to explore the feasibility of integrating the ICMS and FNITP project reporting systems into a single system will not be undertaken until the planned change to the underlying platform of the FNITP has been completed. Request to close until IMIT resolves platform issues.

AES: Underway

Since the feasibility of integrating the ICMS and FNITP project has not yet been completed, the recommendation remains underway. Not expected to be completed until 2014 or later.
4. The SADM of Regional Operations should clarify MCF requirements and ensure Regions understand and comply with all aspects of the MCF for the CFM Program, including the delegated levels of authority, and Regions complete project risk assessments for all current and future projects. CIB is updating the MCF to provide greater clarity on approvals processes for projects that are high risk and of high materiality ($10M and above) and on how to calculate and apply risk management to capital projects. This includes new text in the body of the MCF as well as more robust instructions in the Annex. CIB will be presenting the revised MCF to Operations Committee for approval in mid-November, 2012. November 2012. Status: Complete, request to close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2013:


Complete: The Operations Committee approved version 3 of the Management Control Framework, including greater clarity regarding projects identified as high risk and high materiality (revisions were made to both the body of the MCF and Risk Management Annex). The Management Control Framework will be reviewed and updated again in the fall of 2013.

Expected completion date: Q2, 2013-14

AES: Fully implemented. Recommendation to be closed. Closed.
 
 
Date modified:

Vérification de l'infrastructure d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 juin 2013

Format PDF (32 Ko, 5 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 juin 2013

Opérations régionales

Vérification de l'infrastructure d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées
Date d'approbation : 26 avril 2013
   Recommandations du projet       Plan d'action    Date
   d'achèvement prévue   
   Réponse du programme   
1. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal (SMAP) des Opérations régionales devrait veiller à ce que toutes les régions aient un comité d’examen des immobilisations chargé d’établir l’ordre de priorité des décisions relatives aux projets d’immobi­lisations et à la planification, et d’approuver ces décisions. Ce comité, dont le mandat devrait être à jour, devrait documenter adéquatement les décisions qu’il prend. Le SMAP a demandé aux directeurs généraux régionaux de s’assurer qu’ils disposent d’un processus solide pour établir le plan régional d’investissement dans l’infrastructure des Premières Nations, et d’un comité d’examen des immobilisations (ou l’équivalent) dont le mandat est à jour.

La Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires (DGIC) entamera, de concert avec les bureaux régionaux, un processus de suivi qui se poursuivra au cours de l’exercice 2013-2014, dans le but de confirmer que des processus adéquats de planification des investissements et d’examen des immobilisations ont été établis et que les décisions prises sont documentées.
Novembre 2012 État : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 juin 2013 :


Le SMAP a demandé aux DGR de s’assurer de disposer d’un processus solide pour établir le plan régional d’investissement dans l’infrastructure des Premières Nations et d’un comité d’examen des immobilisations (ou l’équivalent) dont le mandat est à jour.

Lors des visites de supervision dans les régions, la DGIC fait un suivi pour confirmer qu’un processus d’examen de la planification des investissements et des immobilisations est appliqué, pour s’assurer de la participation active d’un comité d’examen des immobilisations (ou l’équivalent) dans ce processus et pour vérifier qu’un compte rendu officiel des décisions est rédigé et tenu à jour.

Date d’achèvement prévue T1-T4 2013-2014

SVE : En cours
2. Le SMAP des Opérations régionales devrait élaborer des lignes directrices afin d’aider les bureaux régionaux à adopter une approche uniforme dans la réalisation des inspections annuelles, et devrait s’assurer que les inspections sont correctement effectuées dans l’ensemble des régions et que les résultats sont consignés de façon adéquate. Des lignes directrices sur les inspections annuelles, révisées et plus claires, ont été diffusées en octobre 2012. De plus, d’ici juin 2013, le groupe de travail des Opérations régionales élaborera un cadre pour l’établissement d’un calendrier des inspections en fonction du risque, lequel sera mis en œuvre au cours du cycle d’inspections annuelles du rendement de 2014-2015.

Le Cadre de contrôle de gestion (CCG) du Programme d’immobilisations et d’entretien (PIE) définit les exigences relatives au calendrier de présentation des rapports d’inspection. Afin d’assurer que les inspections sont correctement effectuées dans l’ensemble des régions et que les résultats sont dûment consignés, les bureaux régionaux sont tenus de rendre compte du progrès des inspections dans leurs rapports trimestriels. La DGIC contrôle ces rapports et le taux de données téléchargées dans le Système intégré de gestion des immobilisations (SIGI) afin de s’assurer que les inspections sont correctement effectuées et que les résultats sont correctement consignés. Le téléchargement des données d’inspection se fera en décembre 2012 et en janvier 2013 selon le calendrier établi.
Octobre 2012




Juin 2013



Janvier 2013
État : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 juin 2013 :


Des lignes directrices sur les inspections annuelles, révisées et plus claires, ont été diffusées en octobre 2012. Elles comportaient des instructions précises pour les inspections annuelles des systèmes d’approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées. Un cadre pour l’établissement d’un calendrier des inspections en fonction du risque (une analyse des avantages et inconvénients de différentes fréquences d’inspection) a été rédigé et est en cours d’examen.

Les inspections réalisées par les bureaux régionaux doivent figurer dans le rapport trimestriel portant sur le trimestre où elles ont été faites.

La DGIC effectue des vérifications au hasard pour vérifier la qualité des données à mesure qu’elles sont téléchargées. À la fin du cycle, toutes les données sont examinées. La plupart des régions ont respecté la date limite pour le téléchargement des données de 2012 (31 janvier 2013). Certaines l’ont fait en retard, mais avant la fin de mars. Pour les résultats de 2013, la date limite est fixée en décembre 2013.

SVE : En cours
3. Le SMAP des Opérations régionales devrait clarifier les exigences en matière d’information sur la gestion des projets d’infrastructure d’approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées, préciser les sources d’information et élaborer une approche uniforme pour la saisie d’information sur la gestion des projets à l’aide d’un seul système. 3.1 : Une stratégie à long terme visant à accroître l’efficacité du suivi de projets au moyen du SIGI, et à aider les bureaux régionaux à satisfaire aux exigences établies dans le CCG concernant l’information sur la gestion des projets, sera soumise à l’approbation du comité directeur du SIGI. Décembre 2012 3.1: État : Terminé, demande de clôture

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 juin 2013 :


La stratégie à long terme pour l’amélioration du SIGI a été approuvée par le comité directeur du SIGI. La première phase de cette stratégie est l’amélioration du module consacré au suivi des projets et à la planification des immobilisations. Des travaux en ce sens sont en cours, et le changement devrait être implanté avec l’installation de la version 6.5, prévue pour novembre 2013.

SVE : Mis en oeuvre
3.2 : Afin d’encourager les bureaux régionaux à utiliser le SIGI pour faire le suivi des projets, l’équipe du SIGI leur distribuera un guide de la planification des investissements dans l’infrastructure et du suivi des projets (instructions pour l’utilisation des modules du SIGI consacrés au suivi de projets et à la planification des immobilisations). Juin 2013 3.2 : État : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 juin 2013 :


Le manuel d’instructions sur les investissements dans l’infrastructure et le suivi des projets conçu par le SIGI à l’intention des bureaux régionaux est rédigé à 90 %. On a consulté les régions à l’étape préparatoire et discuté avec elles au sujet de son application. La version finale du manuel sera distribuée en novembre 2013 (à temps pour la version 6.5). De la formation sera offerte aux régions après l’installation de la version 6.5 du SIGI et la distribution du manuel.

SVE : Partiellement mis en oeuvre
3.3 : Les travaux visant à étudier la possibilité de regrouper les systèmes de production de rapports sur les projets SIGI et PTPNI en un seul système ne seront pas entrepris avant que le changement prévu à la plateforme sous­jacente du système PTPNI soit réalisé. 3.3 : État : Demande de clôture

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 juin 2013 
:

Les travaux visant à étudier la possibilité de regrouper les systèmes de production de rapports sur les projets SIGI et PTPNI en un seul système ne seront pas entrepris avant que le changement prévu à la plateforme sous­jacente du PTPNI soit réalisé. Demande de clôture jusqu’à ce que la GI-TI règle les problèmes concernant la plateforme.

SVE : En cours

Comme le projet de regrouper le SIGI et le PTPNI n’est pas terminé, la recommandation demeure valable, mais on ne s’attend pas à ce qu’elle soit réalisée avant au moins 2014.
4. Le SMAP des Opérations régionales devrait clarifier les exigences du CCG du PIE et veiller à ce que les bureaux régionaux en comprennent tous les aspects et s’y conforment – y compris en ce qui a trait aux niveaux de pouvoirs délégués – et qu’ils fassent une évaluation des risques de tous les projets actuels et futurs. La DGIC met à jour le CCG de manière à clarifier les processus d’approbation des projets présentant un risque élevé ou ayant une haute importance (projets de 10 M$ et plus), ainsi que la méthode de calcul de la gestion du risque et son application aux projets d’immobilisations. Cette mise à jour consiste à ajouter du texte dans le corps du CCG et à inclure des instructions plus rigoureuses dans l’annexe. La DGIC présentera le CCG révisé au Comité des opérations, pour approbation, à la mi­novembre 2012. Novembre 2012

État : Terminé, demande de clôture

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 juin 2013 :


Terminé : Le Comité des opérations a approuvé la version 3 du Cadre de contrôle de gestion. Les exigences sont plus claires concernant les projets à risque élevé ou de haute importance (des modifications ont été faites dans le corps du CCG et dans l’annexe sur la gestion du risque). Le Cadre de contrôle de gestion sera de nouveau révisé et mis à jour à l’automne 2013.

Date d’achèvement prévue : T 2, 2013-2014

SVE : Totalement mis en œuvre. Clôture recommandée. Dossier clos.

 
 
Date de modification :