Audit of Management of Negotiation Loans - Follow-up Report Status Update as of June 30, 2013

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (23 Kb, 3 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Audit Committee - As of June 30, 2013

TAG, CFO

Audit of Management of Negotiation Loans
Approval Date: 04-26-2013

Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program Response
1. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of the Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector should ensure that the negotiation loans program is a standing/regular item on a (likely pre-existing) independent oversight body, so that appropriate governance is exercised over the negotiation loans program. On September 4th, 2012, the Minister announced plans to move to a more results based approach to negotiations. The annual table review exercise allows senior management and the Minister to assess the alignment of resource plans and priorities for negotiations to achieve results. Negotiation loans accumulated will be among the factors considered in the assessment of each table. The department is working with central agencies on an approach to report annually on regional negotiation plans that will provide additional oversight on negotiations. April 2013 Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2013:


The table review process for 2012-13 was completed with the Minister on June 17, 2013. The Minister reviewed a number of documents related to negotiations. Information provided included detailed financial information on funding provided to each comprehensive claim negotiation including loan funding accumulated to date to ensure that loans is a consideration in developing negotiating strategies.

AES: Implemented. Recommendation to be closed. Closed.
2. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of the Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector should establish clear objectives specific to negotiation loans, as well as performance measures, to further support monitoring of the status and collectability of negotiation loans. The objective is to focus resources on those tables producing results. The revised table review exercise will assess performance at individual tables and determine if results are being achieved. Performance measures to support the status and collectability of loans is dependent on successful negotiations. The regional plans will also identify alternative approaches to achieve results for less productive tables. Collection of loans will be a consideration in these approaches, including appropriate action to remove loans from departmental books should negotiations be disengaged. April 2013 Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2013:


As part of the table review process, regional plans were presented to the Minister outlining strategic plans to advance negotiations. Also included in the package of information are strategies for individual tables. At this time the Minister does not want to disengage from negotiations however agrees he may need to put them in abeyance at certain times. Resources will continue to be focused on tables producing results. Loan funding will be allocated to tables where the recommendations are to continue negotiations.

AES: Implemented. Recommendation to be closed. Closed.
3. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of the Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector should ensure that a comprehensive risk management process, specific to negotiation loans, is established to appropriately identify, assess, mitigate and monitor the risks related to negotiation loans on a regular basis. The department is moving to improve the annual table assessment process to include, among other issues, information related to the debt accumulated for a particular negotiation and an assessment of the likelihood of arriving at an agreement in the future. Regional management plans will include the financial implications related to loans and appropriate mitigation and risk management strategies. April 2013 Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2013:


The table review process for 2012-13 was completed with the Minister on June 17, 2013. The table assessment process was changed this year to focus more on regional plans and strategies to mitigate certain risks and federal interests. The complete package of information however does include individual table approaches and detailed loan information.

AES: Implemented. Recommendation to be closed. Closed.
4. The Senior Assistant Deputy Minister of the Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector and the Chief Financial Officer, should monitor the adequacy of regional accounting support and consider the feasibility of centralizing the accounting function in the management of comprehensive claim negotiation loans to AANDC Headquarters. The CFO Sector, in collaboration with TAG West, BC Region and Manitoba Corporate Services will explore the best placing and responsibility for the accounting and the support functions for the release of loan advancements.    June 1, 2013    CFO Update:
Status:
Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2013:


The best placing and responsibility for the accounting and the support functions for the release of loan advancements has been resolved with input from TAG, BC Region, and the CFO Sector. A grid describing these matters has been produced.

TAG Update:

Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/06/2013:


The CFO Sector, TAG West, and BC Region have reviewed all support functions related to loans and developed a document that outlines the best placing of the accounting and support functions for loans in BC region.

AES: Implemented. Recommendation to be closed. Closed.
 
 
Date modified:

Vérification de la gestion des prêts pour les négociations - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 juin 2013

Format PDF (26 Ko, 4 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 juin 2013

TGA, DPF

Vérification de la gestion des prêts pour les négociations
Date d'approbation 26 avril 2013

Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement prévue
Réponse du programme
1. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal, Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone, devrait veiller à ce que le programme des prêts pour les négociations soit un point permanent ou régulier à l’ordre du jour d’un organisme de surveillance indépendant (vraisemblablement préexistant) afin d’assurer une gouvernance appropriée du programme Le 4 septembre 2012, le ministre a annoncé qu’il adopterait, pour les négociations, une approche davantage axée sur les résultats. L’exercice annuel d’examen des tables de négociation permet à la haute direction et au ministre d’évaluer l’alignement des priorités et des plans de gestion des ressources afin que les négociations donnent des résultats. Les prêts accumulés aux fins des négociations seront l’un des facteurs examinés lors de l’évaluation de chaque table. Le Ministère travaille avec les organismes centraux pour mettre au point une méthode de présentation de rapports annuels sur les plans de négociation régionaux, de manière à assurer un meilleur contrôle des négociations. Avril 2013 État : Demande de clôture (terminé)

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 juin 2013 :


Le processus d’examen des tables pour 2012-2013 a été complété avec la collaboration du ministre le 17 juin 2013. Le ministre a examiné un certain nombre de documents relatifs aux négociations. On y trouve notamment des renseignements détaillés sur le financement versé pour chaque revendication territoriale globale, y compris les prêts accumulés jusqu’à maintenant, en vue d’assurer qu’on tienne compte des prêts dans la conception des stratégies de négociation.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. Clôture recommandée. Dossier clos.

2. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal, Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone, devrait définir des objectifs précis concernant les prêts pour les négociations, ainsi que des mesures du rendement, afin d’appuyer davantage la surveillance de la situation et du recouvrement des prêts pour les négociations. L’objectif est d’axer les ressources sur les tables qui donnent des résultats. L’exercice modifié d’examen des tables de négociation permettra d’évaluer le rendement de chaque table et de déterminer si des résultats sont atteints. Les indices de rendement pour soutenir la surveillance de la situation et du recouvrement des prêts sont tributaires de la réussite des négociations. Les plans régionaux définiront également d’autres approches visant l’obtention de résultats à des tables moins productives. Le recouvrement des prêts sera un élément pris en considération dans ces approches, y compris une mesure adéquate de suppression des prêts dans les comptes ministériels en cas de retrait de la table de négociation. Avril 2013 État : Demande de clôture (terminé)

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 juin 2013 :


Dans le cadre du processus d’examen des tables, des plans régionaux précisant la stratégie pour faire progresser les négociations ont été présentés au ministre. Ces plans comportent aussi des stratégies pour des tables en particulier. Pour l’instant, le ministre ne veut pas se retirer des négociations, mais il admet qu’il pourrait éventuellement avoir à en suspendre certaines. Les ressources demeureront axées sur les tables qui produisent des résultats. Les prêts seront accordés aux tables pour lesquelles on recommande la poursuite des négociations.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. Clôture recommandée. Dossier clos.

3. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal, Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone, devrait s’assurer qu’un processus exhaustif de gestion du risque associé aux prêts pour les négociations est établi pour définir, évaluer, réduire et contrôler correctement et régulièrement le risque associé aux prêts pour les négociations. Le Ministère s’affaire à améliorer le processus annuel d’évaluation des tables de négociation pour qu’il permette aussi, entre autres, de recueillir de l’information sur la dette accumulée dans le cadre d’une négociation en particulier et d’évaluer la probabilité qu’on arrive à une entente à l’avenir. Les plans de gestion régionaux incluront les incidences financières liées aux prêts et les stratégies appropriées d’atténuation et de gestion du risque. Avril 2013 État : Demande de clôture (terminé)

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 juin 2013 :


Le processus d’examen des tables pour 2012-2013 a été complété avec la collaboration du ministre le 17 juin 2013. Le processus a été modifié cette année pour qu’il se concentre davantage sur les stratégies et les plans régionaux (afin de réduire certains risques) et sur les intérêts fédéraux. Cependant, l’information recueillie renferme aussi des renseignements sur l’approche adoptée à certaines tables et des renseignements détaillés sur les prêts.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. Clôture recommandée. Dossier clos.
4. Le sous-ministre adjoint principal, Secteur des traités et du gouvernement autochtone, et le dirigeant principal des finances devraient surveiller l’efficacité du soutien régional à la comptabilité et examiner s’il est possible de centraliser, à l’administration centrale d’AADNC, la comptabilité relative à la gestion des prêts pour la négociation des revendications territoriales globales. Le Secteur du dirigeant principal des finances, en collaboration avec TGA – Ouest, le bureau régional de la Colombie-Britannique et les Services ministériels du Manitoba, examinera la solution optimale concernant l’organisation et la responsabilité des fonctions de comptabilité et de soutien de la comptabilité pour l’octroi des avances de prêts. 1er juin 2013 Mise à jour – DPF :
État : Demande de clôture (terminé)

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 juin 2013 :


La solution optimale concernant l’organisation et la responsabilité des fonctions de comptabilité et de soutien de la comptabilité pour l’octroi des avances de prêts a été trouvée en collaboration avec TGA, le bureau régional de la C.-B. et le Secteur du DPF. Une grille exposant ces questions a été mise au point.

Mise à jour – TGA :

État : Demande de clôture (terminé)

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 juin 2013 :


Le Secteur du DPF, TGA – Ouest et le bureau régional de la C.-B. ont examiné toutes les fonctions de soutien relatives aux prêts et rédigé un document exposant la meilleure solution pour l’organisation des fonctions de comptabilité et de soutien de la comptabilité relativement aux prêts dans la région de la C.-B.

SVE : Mis en œuvre. Clôture recommandée. Dossier clos.
 
 
Date de modification :