Canadian Human Rights Act - Repeal of Section 67

The Canadian Human Rights Act prohibits discrimination in employment and services within federal jurisdiction. However, section 67 of the Act shielded decisions or actions by First Nation Band Councils and the Government of Canada made under or pursuant to the Indian Act from complaints.

In June 2008, section 67 of the Act was repealed with the passing of an amendment to the Canadian Human Rights Act, applying immediately to the federal government with a three year delayed application for First Nation governments. The revised legislation means that First Nations individuals who are registered Indians and members of Bands, or individuals residing or working on reserves can make complaints of discrimination to the Canadian Human Rights Commission relating to decisions or actions arising from or pursuant to the Indian Act.

This page is a resource centre that includes information related to this legislative change, as well as relevant reports that were generated by it.

Highlights

As part of its legislative requirements under the amended Canadian Human Rights Act, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) worked in cooperation with participating First Nations organizations to develop a report on the impacts of the 2008 repeal of section 67 of the Canadian Human Rights Act.

This report was tabled in Parliament and posted on the AANDC website, as was previously done with the 2011 three-year readiness report.

The results of this review will provide the Canadian Human Rights Commission, the Government of Canada, First Nations and other stakeholders with the information needed to better identify potential issues.

Reference

Contact Us

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada(INAC)
Public Enquiries
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Room 1415
10 Wellington Street
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H4
Toll Free: 1-800-567-9604
Fax: (819) 953-3017

Canadian Human Rights Commission
344 Slater Street,
8th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 1E1
Telephone: (613) 995-1151
Toll Free: 1-888-214-1090
TTY: 1-888-643-3304
Fax: (613) 996-9661

Date modified:

Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne – abrogation de l'article 67

La Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne interdit la discrimination dans les sphères de l'emploi et de la prestation de services de compétence fédérale. Toutefois, l'article 67 de la Loi empêchait de porter plainte contre des décisions ou des mesures prises par les conseils de bande des Premières Nations et le gouvernement du Canada en vertu ou en application de la Loi sur les Indiens.

En juin 2008, l'article 67 de la Loi a été abrogé par l'adoption d'une modification à la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne. Cette modification s'appliquait immédiatement au gouvernement fédéral avec une période de grâce de trois ans pour les gouvernements des Premières Nations. Cette modification de la Loi signifie que les membres des Premières Nations qui sont des Indiens inscrits et membres d'une bande ainsi que les personnes qui vivent ou travaillent dans les réserves peuvent saisir la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne de plaintes liées à des mesures découlant de la Loi sur les Indiens ou en application de celle-ci.

Cette page se veut un centre de ressource qui comprend de l'information liée à cette modification législative ainsi que les rapports pertinents qui ont été générés par celle-ci.

Points saillants

Dans le cadre de ses obligations découlant de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne modifiée, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a collaboré avec des organisations des Premières Nations participantes afin de produire un rapport sur les effets de l'abrogation de l'article 67 de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne.

Le rapport subséquent a été déposé au Parlement et publié sur le site Web d'AADNC, comme on l'avait déjà fait avec le Rapport sur l'état de préparation de 2011.

Les résultats de cet examen fourniront à la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne, au gouvernement du Canada, aux Premières Nations et à d'autres intervenants l'information dont ils ont besoin pour mieux cerner des problèmes potentiels.

Référence

Communiquez avec nous

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC)
Demandes de renseignements du public
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Pièce 1415
10, rue Wellington
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0H4
Sans frais : 1-800-567-9604
Téléc. : 819-953-3017

Commission canadienne des droits de la personne
344, rue Slater 
8e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 1E1
Téléphone : 613-995-1151
Sans frais : 1-888-214-1090
ATS : 1-888-643-3304
Téléc. : 613-996-9661

Date de modification :