Post-Secondary Partnerships Program - National Program Guidelines 2015-2016

Table of Contents

1. Introduction

The Government of Canada provides significant financial support to provincial and territorial governments on an ongoing basis to assist them in the provision of programs and services. More specifically, the Canada Social Transfer (CST) supports specific policy areas such as post-secondary education.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) supports post-secondary education through two streams of programming: support to post-secondary institutions, provided through the Post-Secondary Partnerships Program (PSPP); and individual student financial support through the Post-Secondary Student Support Program (PSSSP) and the University and College Entrance Preparation (UCEP) program. These guidelines address the objectives of the Post-Secondary Partnerships Program (PSPP) and the criteria for funding. This Program is proposal-driven and the level of funding is determined by a national selection process to allocate resources based on merit, limited overall by total available funding and the number and quality of proposals submitted. The Program is not intended as a source of core operational funding.

2. Objective

The PSPP assists Canadian post-secondary institutions in the design and delivery of college and university level courses that respond to the educational needs of First Nation and Inuit students. Post-secondary institutions offering courses funded by the PSPP must not duplicate existing provincial or federal supports or programs.

3. Outcomes

It is expected that the PSPP will increase the availability of post-secondary courses and programs, targeted to First Nation and Inuit students in fields of high labour market demand, either locally, regionally or nationally, and in the fields of Aboriginal governance and business development.

4. Activities

The PSPP provides funding for proposals aimed at the following activities that must meet the Objectives and Outcomes of Section 2 and Section 3:

5. Eligible Recipients

Under PSPP, eligible recipients are Canadian post-secondary institutions.

The institution delivering the program must be degree-, diploma- or certificate-granting, and be recognized by a province or territory. Post-secondary education institutions affiliated with or operating in a formal partnership with a degree-, diploma- or certificate-granting institution recognized by a province or territory are also eligible. Exceptionally, for the province of Quebec only, First Nations and their organizations, in partnership with eligible post-secondary institutions, are eligible recipients.

6. Proposal Assessment Criteria

All funding for the PSPP is determined by a juried national selection process and based on selection criteria. Annex A provides an Applicants Guide to the overall proposal assessment criteria.

Proposals will be assessed against the criteria set out below.

Self-sufficiency: Institutions may be eligible for a maximum of five continuous years of funding for the same project.
Tuition: Rate determined by post-secondary institutions.
Short duration: The minimum duration is defined as the completion of courses leading towards a certificate or diploma as determined by post-secondary institutions. Short courses are eligible for funding if they have a minimum of 30 hours in duration.
Credits: All courses must be credited towards a certificate or diploma.

The deadline for submission of proposals is set for January 16, 2015, at midnight local time.

Only complete electronic proposals in AANDC format will be considered for assessment. The proposal form is available in the Reporting Guide. To access the proposal form, contact your regional office.

7. Review and Approval Process

A National Selection Committee (NSC) will review and approve all proposals. A written response will be sent to applicants to confirm whether or not their proposal has been approved for funding. Funding will be available in the form of a set contribution agreement of between one and five years duration for the same project. A waiting list of projects may be kept by the Department for potential additional investments should the opportunity arise.

Multi-year funding will be considered for low-risk recipients based on program effectiveness and institution stability and for projects whose proposals lay out clear annual workplans and dates for transitioning to self-sufficiency. Recipients approved for multi-year funding agreements will not have to re-submit annual proposals, although performance measurement data in the form of annual reports must be submitted to the Department based on reporting requirements set out in the funding agreement.

Information on funding approaches can be found through the Transfer Payments page on the AANDC website.

The Post-Secondary Partnerships Program will consider the provision of additional financial support for a proposal already being supported by another partner if this enhances the scope of the proposal and meets program objectives.

If a case is made that programs with existing cohorts be prioritized at the discretion of the National Selection Committee, this exception will be made only for 2015-2016.

8. Eligible Expenditures

Eligible expenditures include only the actual costs directly associated with designing and delivering the project as outlined in the proposal. Funding may be approved for the following costs:

Administration Costs: Administration costs must not exceed 10% of the sub-total amount requested before administration costs. The program's Data Collection Instrument (or DCI) will automatically calculate the amount.

9. Ineligible Expenditures

PSPP funding excludes capital funding, including acquisition of information technology and services, expenses related to institutions' day-to-day operations (not related to the submitted project), rent (except for the First Nations University of Canada), facility maintenance, permanent staff salaries, student tuition, student books and supplies (only eligible expenditures are relevant to learning supplies in the case of course delivery), food, academic research not related to course development, and daycare.

10. Monitoring and Accountability

Funding recipients must deliver the programs in accordance with the provisions of their funding agreement and the program delivery requirements outlined in these National Program Guidelines while also ensuring that the necessary management controls are in place to manage funding and monitor activities. Funding recipients are required to exercise due diligence when approving expenditures and must ensure that such expenditures are in accordance with the eligible expenditures criteria set out in the National Program Guidelines.

AANDC is committed to providing assistance to recipients in order for them to effectively carry out obligations under the National Program Guidelines and funding agreements. Regional offices and other departmental contacts are available to answer questions and provide guidance related to AANDC programs and funding.

To ensure that program delivery requirements are being met, that funds are expended on the intended purposes, and that AANDC's accountability to Parliament is being met, activities including audits, evaluations, as well as desk and on-site compliance reviews will be conducted with all funding recipients.

11. Reporting Requirements

The reporting requirements are listed in the recipient's funding agreement, and details on these requirements are available in the Reporting Guide. Recipients are responsible for ensuring that reporting requirements are met and reports are accurate and submitted on or before the established due dates. Recipients who have access to the AANDC Services Portal can access the reporting forms (Data Collection Instruments) by opening a session on the Portal. If you do not have access to the Portal, contact your regional office.

12. Contact Information

For further program information, please visit the Post-Secondary Partnerships Program page.

The regional offices coordinates can be found on the Contact Regional Offices page.

You can also write to:

Education Branch
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
10 Wellington Street
GATINEAU QC K1A 0H4
Fax number: 819-934-1478
education@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

These National Program Guidelines can be downloaded from AANDC's website, in the Education section. They can also be accessed through the View Instructions button on the first page of this program's Data Collection Instrument (DCI).

Annex 1 – Applicants Guide

Post-Secondary Partnerships Program – 2015-2016

Assessment Form

Proposal Assessment Criteria Weight
All proposals will be assessed using the following criteria by the National Selection Committee. Each criterion will be worth the value indicated in the second column, on a scale of 100. Recipients should ensure their proposal clearly addresses each criterion.  
Respond to a Labour Market Need
Evidence that the project is in a discipline in high labour market demand (locally, regionally, or nationally) should be included. Evidence of labour market research/data can be demonstrated either by using Employment and Social Development Canada's (ESDC) Labour Market Information at or by other sources of evidence of high demand in First Nations and Inuit communities (e.g., Aboriginal government administration, teachers in First Nation schools, through letters from potential employers, emerging development projects, quantitative analysis of labour shortages in a province, territory or region or in First Nations and Inuit communities).

University and College Entrance Preparation program projects have to demonstrate that the targeted students already received a high-school diploma and this extra program will provide the necessary courses to be eligible for admittance in a regular university or college credit program in a discipline in high labour market demand (e.g., complementary science or mathematics courses).
20
Respond to Educational Needs of First Nation and Inuit Students/Evidence of Aboriginal Support
Project is adapted to educational needs of First Nation and Inuit students, and shows evidence of First Nation and Inuit support for the project (e.g., use of Elders, Aboriginal mentors, tutors, availability of course in rural/remote areas, integration of language and culture into curricula, etc.).
15
Planned Activities, Expected Outcomes, and Evidence of Previous Success
Proposed curriculum is presented by semester, including start and end date of course/project and method of delivery. All courses must be credited towards a certificate or diploma including projected enrollment and expected take-up / minimum enrollment. Institution's expertise and capacity to deliver proposed activities as demonstrated by past success and past measures of performance over a number of years. Institution's ability to reach a sizeable number of students (aggregation) identified by expected number of students. If the project is new, demonstrate the institution's record of attraction and retention, in particular First Nation and Inuit students. Level and qualification of the teaching personnel planned for the project. Multi-year funding will be considered for low-risk recipients for projects whose proposals lay out clear annual workplans and dates for transitioning to self-sufficiency within the regular operations of the post-secondary institution.
15
Innovative and Efficient Delivery
Innovative learning tools, new instructional material for online courses, outreach, distance education, culturally adapted internships, course schedules that accommodate mature students who may have to work part-time or have day care needs.
15
Budget
Provide a budget detailed by activity with staff salaries broken down by staff categories and number of personnel. Demonstration that costs are directly related to the development and delivery of the project. Cost per student is justified. Tuition fees are included as revenues. Administration is within the 10% allowed.
10
Funding Partner(s)
Preference given to projects that include funding partner(s) with a firm commitment to monetary participation.
10
Transition Plan for Migration to Mainstream Activities of the PSE Institution
Clear timeline for program self-sufficiency and migration to the mainstream activities within the regular operations of the PSE institution, including dates for sunsetting of PSPP support.
10
Submission Quality 5
TOTAL 100
Date modified:

Programme de partenariats postsecondaires - Lignes directrices nationales 2015-2016

Table des matières

1. Introduction

Le gouvernement du Canada fournit, de façon permanente, une aide financière substantielle pour appuyer les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux dans la mise en œuvre de programmes et services. Plus précisément, le Transfert Canadien en matière de programmes sociaux (TCPS) aide dans le domaine de politiques particulières tel l'éducation postsecondaire.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) appuie l'éducation postsecondaire par l'entremise de deux volets de programmes : soutien aux établissements postsecondaires, dans le cadre du Programme de partenariats postsecondaires (PPP); et soutien financier aux étudiants, dans le cadre du Programme d'aide aux étudiants de niveau postsecondaire et du Programme préparatoire à l'entrée au collège et à l'université (PPECU). Les présentes lignes directrices portent sur les objectifs et les critères de financement du Programme de partenariats postsecondaires (PPP). Celui-ci repose sur la présentation de propositions, et son niveau de financement est déterminé par un processus national de sélection visant à répartir les ressources limitées qui sont disponibles de même que par le nombre et la qualité des propositions soumises. Le programme ne constitue en aucune façon une source de financement de fonctionnement de base.

2. Objectif

Le PPP aide les établissements postsecondaires canadiens à concevoir et à offrir des cours de niveau collégial et universitaire qui répondent aux besoins en éducation des étudiants inuits et des Premières Nations. Les établissements postsecondaires qui offrent des cours financés par le PPP ne doivent pas reproduire les programmes et les mesures de soutien provinciaux ou fédéraux.

3. Résultats

Le PPP devrait améliorer la disponibilité des cours et des programmes postsecondaires qui ciblent les étudiants inuits et des Premières Nations dans des domaines en forte demande sur le marché du travail local, régional ou national, ainsi que dans les domaines de la gouvernance autochtone et du développement des entreprises.

4. Activités

Le PPP fournit des fonds pour les propositions qui ciblent les activités suivantes et qui doivent rencontrer l'objectif et les résultats définis aux sections 2 et 3 :

5. Bénéficiaires admissibles

Les établissements postsecondaires canadiens sont les bénéficiaires admissibles au PPP.

L'établissement offrant le programme doit décerner des diplômes ou des certificats et doit être reconnu par une province ou un territoire. Sont admissibles les établissements postsecondaires qui sont affiliés à un établissement qui remet des diplômes ou des certificats et qui est reconnu par une province ou un territoire, ou qui a conclu un partenariat officiel avec un tel établissement. Pour la province de Québec seulement, les Premières Nations et leurs organisations, en partenariat avec les établissements postsecondaires reconnus, sont également admissibles.

6. Critères d’évaluation des propositions

Tout le financement accordé dans le cadre du PPP est déterminé par un comité de sélection en fonction des critères établis. L'annexe A contient un guide pour les demandeurs, et elle doit être lue dans le cadre des critères généraux d'évaluation des propositions.

Les propositions seront évaluées en fonction des critères indiqués ci-bas.

Autosuffisance : les établissements pourront être admissibles à un financement pour un maximum de cinq années consécutives pour un même projet.
Droits de scolarité : taux établi par les établissements postsecondaires.
Durée : la durée minimale est la période requise pour compléter un cours menant à l'obtention d'un certificat, conformément aux critères établis par les établissements postsecondaires. Les cours de courte durée sont admissibles à un financement s'ils durent au moins 30 heures.
Crédits : tous les cours doivent être crédités en vue de l'obtention d'un certificat ou d'un diplôme.

La date limite pour la présentation de ces propositions est le 16 janvier 2015, à minuit, heure locale.

Seules les propositions électroniques dûment remplies feront l'objet d'une évaluation. Le formulaire de proposition est disponible dans le Guide de présentation des rapports. Afin d'accéder le formulaire de proposition, communiquez avec votre bureau régional.

7. Processus d’examen et d’approbation

Le Comité national de sélection (CNS) examinera et approuvera toutes les propositions. Les demandeurs recevront une lettre les informant de l'approbation ou du rejet de leur proposition. Le financement sera disponible sous la forme d'une entente de contribution préétablie d'une durée d'un à cinq ans pour le même projet. Une liste d'attente de projets pourrait être conservée par le ministère dans l'éventualité où de nouveaux fonds seraient identifiés.

Le financement pluriannuel sera envisagé dans le cas des bénéficiaires à faible risque, compte tenu de l'efficacité réelle du programme ainsi que de la stabilité de l'établissement, de même que pour les projets dont les propositions comprennent des plans de travail annuels clairs et des dates pour la transition vers l'autosuffisance. Les bénéficiaires dont les projets ont été approuvés pour un financement pluriannuel ne seront pas tenus de soumettre de nouvelles propositions annuelles, mais des données de mesure du rendement devront être présentées au Ministère dans des rapports annuels, conformément aux exigences en matière de rapport énumérées dans l'entente de financement.

Pour de l'information sur les modes de financement et l'Évaluation générale, consultez la page Paiements de transfert sur le site Web d'AADNC.

Le Programme de partenariats postsecondaires considérera la disposition des fonds additionnels pour une proposition déjà financée par un partenaire dans le but d'élargir la portée du projet si cela rencontre les objectifs du Programme.

La priorité à accorder aux projets auxquels des étudiants sont déjà inscrits est laissée à la discrétion du comité national de sélection, mais uniquement pour l'exercice 2015-2016.

8. Dépenses admissibles

Les dépenses admissibles comprennent uniquement les coûts réels directement liés à la conception et à la réalisation du projet décrit dans la proposition. Du financement peut être approuvé pour les coûts suivants :

Frais d'administration : les frais d’administration ne peuvent dépasser 10 % du sous-total des dépenses avant les frais d’administration. Le formulaire de propositions (instrument de collecte de données ou ICD) calculera automatiquement ce montant.

9. Dépenses non admissibles

Le financement offert dans le cadre du PPP exclut les dépenses liées aux immobilisations, dont l'acquisition de technologies de l'information et de services, le fonctionnement quotidien de l'établissement (non lié au projet soumis), le loyer (sauf dans le cas de l'Université des Premières Nations du Canada), l'entretien des installations, les salaires des employés permanents, les droits de scolarité, les livres et fournitures des étudiants (seules les dépenses liées directement au matériel d'apprentissage), les voyages, la nourriture, la recherche académique non liée à la conception de cours et les services de garderie.

10. Surveillance et responsabilité

Les bénéficiaires qui verront leur proposition acceptée doivent se conformer aux dispositions de l'entente de financement qu'ils ont signée ainsi qu'aux exigences d'exécution de programme énoncées dans ces lignes directrices nationales tout en veillant à ce que des contrôles de gestion soient mis en place afin de faciliter la gestion des activités de financement et de suivi. Ils sont également tenus d'appliquer les principes de la diligence raisonnable dans l'approbation des dépenses et de faire en sorte que celles-ci soient conformes aux critères admissibles indiqués dans les lignes directrices nationales des programmes.

AADNC s'engage à aider les bénéficiaires à remplir efficacement les obligations en vertu des lignes directrices nationales des programmes et des ententes de financement. Les bureaux régionaux et d'autres personnes-ressources au Ministère sont disponibles pour répondre aux questions et fournir des conseils relatifs aux programmes et au financement d'AADNC.

Afin de garantir que les exigences d'exécution de programme soient respectées, que les sommes versées soient utilisées aux fins prévues et que le Ministère en rende compte comme il le doit au Parlement, des vérifications et des évaluations ainsi que des vérifications de la conformité, au bureau et sur place, seront effectués auprès de tous les bénéficiaires de financement.

11. Exigences en matière de rapports

Les exigences en matière de rapport sont énumérées dans l'entente de financement du bénéficiaire et les détails de ces exigences sont disponibles dans le Guide de présentation des rapports. Les bénéficiaires sont tenus de respecter les exigences établies en ce qui a trait à la présentation de rapports complets et fiables, au plus tard aux dates d'échéance prévues. Les bénéficiaires ayant accès au Portail des services d'AADNC peuvent accéder aux formulaires de rapport (instruments de collecte de données) en ouvrant une session dans le Portail. Si vous n'avez pas accès au Portail, communiquez avec votre bureau régional.

12. Coordonnées

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Programme, consultez la page du Programme de partenariats postsecondaires.

Les coordonnées des bureaux régionaux se trouvent sur la page Contactez les bureaux régionaux.

Vous pouvez aussi écrire à l'adresse suivante :

Direction générale de l'éducation d'AADNC
10, rue Wellington
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H4
Télécopieur : 819-934-1478
Education@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Il est possible de télécharger les présentes Lignes directrices nationales à partir de la section Éducation du site Web d'AADNC. On peut également y avoir accès en cliquant sur le bouton Voir les instructions se trouvant à la première page de l'instrument de collecte de données (ICD) de ce Programme.

Annexe 1 - Guide du demandeur

Programme de partenariats postsecondaires – 2015-2016

Formulaire d'évaluation

Critères d’évaluation du programme Points
Toutes les propositions seront évaluées en fonction des critères suivants par le Comité national de sélection. La valeur sur 100 accordée à chacun des critères est indiquée dans la colonne de droite. Les bénéficiaires doivent s'assurer que leur proposition répond clairement à tous les critères.  
Répondre à un besoin du marché du travail
Il faut démontrer que le projet se trouve dans un domaine en forte demande sur les marchés du travail local, régional ou national. On peut établir une preuve de recherches/données sur le marché du travail en utilisant l'information sur le marché du travail de Emploi et Développement social Canadal (EDSC) ou en ayant recours à d'autres sources pour démontrer la forte demande dans les collectivités autochtones (p. ex. administrations gouvernementales autochtones, enseignants des écoles des Premières Nations, lettres d'employeurs potentiels, nouveaux projets de développement et analyses quantitatives sur les pénuries de main-d'œuvre dans une province, un territoire, une région ou des collectivités autochtones).

Les projets du PPECU doivent démontrer que les étudiants ciblés détiennent un diplôme d'études secondaires, et que le programme additionnel leur offrira les cours nécessaires pour les rendre admissibles à un programme collégial ou universitaire régulier qui octroie des crédits dans un domaine en forte demande sur le marché du travail (p. ex. cours complémentaires en sciences ou en mathématiques).
20
Répondre aux besoins en éducation des étudiants Inuits et de Premières Nations/preuve que les Autochtones appuient le projet
Le projet est adapté aux besoins en éducation des étudiants Inuits et des Premières Nations et montre un appui de la part des Inuits et Premières Nations (p. ex. recours à des aînés, à des mentors et à des tuteurs autochtones, disponibilité des cours dans les régions rurales/éloignées et intégration de la langue et de la culture au programme d'enseignement).

15
Activités prévues, résultats attendus et preuve de succès antérieur
Le programme d'enseignement proposé doit être présenté par semestre, et les dates de début et de fin du projet/des cours ainsi que la méthode de prestation doivent être indiquées. Tous les cours doivent être crédités en vue de l'obtention d'un certificat ou d'un diplôme, incluant le nombre d'inscriptions prévu et le taux de participation/nombre minimum d'inscriptions attendu. L'expertise de l'établissement et sa capacité d'offrir les activités proposées sont démontrées par ses réussites et ses mesures du rendement passées sur plusieurs années. Sa capacité à attirer un bon nombre d'étudiants (agrégation) est démontrée par le nombre attendu d'étudiants. Si le projet est nouveau, fournir une preuve de la capacité de l'établissement à attirer et à garder les étudiants, en particulier les étudiants Inuits et des Premières Nations. Niveau et qualifications du personnel enseignant prévu pour le projet. Le financement pluriannuel sera considéré dans le cas des bénéficiaires à faible risque pour les projets dont les propositions comprennent des plans de travail annuels clairs et des dates pour la transition vers l'autosuffisance dans les limites des opérations régulières de l'établissement postsecondaire.
15
Prestation novatrice et efficiente
Outils d'apprentissage novateurs, nouveau matériel didactique pour les cours en ligne, rayonnement, éducation à distance, stages adaptés à la culture, horaires de cours adaptés aux étudiants adultes qui peuvent avoir un travail à temps partiel ou besoin de services de garderie.

15
Budget
Fournir le budget détaillé par activité ainsi que les salaires des employés ventilés selon les catégories de personnel et le nombre d'employés. Preuve que les coûts sont directement liés à la conception et à la réalisation du projet. Coût par étudiant justifié. Droits de scolarité inclus dans les revenus. Les frais d'administration ne dépassent pas la limite permise de 10 %.

10
Partenaires de financement
La préférence est accordée aux projets qui comprennent des partenaires de financement ayant pris un engagement ferme en matière de participation financière.

10
Plan de transition pour la migration vers les activités générales de l'établissement postsecondaire
Calendrier clair pour l'autosuffisance du programme et la migration vers les activités générales au sein des opérations régulières de l'établissement, y compris les dates pour le retrait progressif du soutien du PPP.

10
Qualité de la soumission 5
TOTAL 100
Date de modification :