Status of Re-entry by Community

The 2011 flood caused serious damage to housing and infrastructure in some First Nation communities. Together with the Province of Manitoba, Indigenous Services Canada is advancing rebuilding and the return of those still displaced from their homes. Progress is being made to rebuild safe, flood-protected communities so that evacuees can return home.

Each First Nation is managing its respective flood recovery project. This includes the allocation of houses, which is the responsibility of the First Nation. Detailed questions about plans and status should be directed to the Band Council. Below is a general listing on the status of projects. Timing of return to communities will depend on successful negotiation with First Nations.

Lake St. Martin First Nation

What needs to be done before evacuees can return?

There was extensive damage to housing and infrastructure. All housing and infrastructure needed replacement. To prevent future flooding, the entire community is being rebuilt in a new location at a higher elevation. Steps to rebuild include:

What has been done so far?

Little Saskatchewan First Nation

What needs to be done before evacuees can return?

There was extensive damage to housing and infrastructure. Most housing and some significant infrastructure needed replacement. To prevent future flooding most of the community is being rebuilt in a new location at a higher elevation. Steps to rebuild include:

What has been done so far?

Dauphin River First Nation

What needs to be done before evacuees can return?

There was extensive damage to housing and infrastructure. Most housing and some significant infrastructure required replacement. Steps to rebuild include:

What has been done so far?

Pinaymootang First Nation

What needs to be done before evacuees can return?

What has been done so far?

Ebb and Flow First Nation

What needs to be done before evacuees can return?

What has been done so far?

Except for one person, all of those evacuated during the 2011 flood have now returned to their community.

Peguis First Nation

What needs to be done before evacuees can return?

What has been done so far?

Date modified:

État des retours par collectivité

Les logements et l'infrastructure de certaines collectivités des Premières Nations ont subi de graves dommages lors des inondations de 2011. De concert avec la province du Manitoba, Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada déploie des efforts afin de faire progresser la reconstruction et de permettre aux personnes déplacées de réintégrer leur logement. Des progrès sont accomplis afin de reconstruire des collectivités sécuritaires et à l’abri des inondations, de sorte que les personnes évacuées puissent rentrer chez elles.

Chaque Première Nation gère son propre projet de rétablissement, qui comprend l'attribution des logements. Les questions détaillées sur les plans et la situation devraient être adressées au conseil de bande. L'ensemble de la situation des projets est présenté ci-après. Le moment du retour dans les collectivités dépendra de la réussite des négociations avec les Premières Nations.

Première Nation de Lake St. Martin

Efforts à déployer avant le retour des personnes évacuées

Les logements et les infrastructures ont subi d’importants dommages et doivent tous être remplacés. Afin d’éviter l’inondation de la collectivité à l’avenir, celle-ci est reconstruite à un nouvel emplacement situé à une altitude supérieure. Les étapes de la reconstruction comprennent les suivantes :


Qu'a-t-on accompli jusqu'à maintenant?

Première Nation de Little Saskatchewan

Efforts à déployer avant le retour des personnes évacuées

Les logements et les infrastructures ont subi d'importants dommages. La majorité des logements et certaines infrastructures importantes doivent être remplacés. Afin d’éviter l’inondation de la collectivité à l’avenir, la majeure partie de celle-ci est reconstruite à un nouvel emplacement situé à une altitude supérieure. Les étapes de la reconstruction comprennent les suivantes :


Qu'a-t-on accompli jusqu'à maintenant?

Première Nation de Dauphin River

Efforts à déployer avant le retour des personnes évacuées

Les logements et les infrastructures ont subi d’importants dommages. La majorité des logements et certaines infrastructures importantes doivent être remplacés. Les étapes de la reconstruction comprennent les suivantes :


Qu'a-t-on accompli jusqu'à maintenant?

Première Nation de Pinaymootang

Efforts à déployer avant le retour des personnes évacuées


Qu'a-t-on accompli jusqu'à maintenant?

Première Nation d'Ebb and Flow

Efforts à déployer avant le retour des personnes évacuées


Qu'a-t-on accompli jusqu'à maintenant?

À une exception près, toutes les personnes évacuées lors des inondations de 2011 sont de retour dans leur collectivité.

À une exception près, toutes les personnes évacuées lors des inondations de 2011 sont de retour dans leur collectivité.

Première Nation de Peguis

Efforts à déployer avant le retour des personnes évacuées


Qu'a-t-on accompli jusqu'à maintenant?

Date de modification :