Fact Sheet - 2011 Manitoba Flood Evacuees: Update

Since severe flooding in Manitoba in 2011 led to the evacuation of people from 18 First Nation communities, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the province and First Nations have been working on recovery efforts.

Some 1,300 residents have returned to their home communities.

However, as of August 9, 2016, 1,971 people from the most affected First Nation communities remain evacuated as recovery efforts continue. More than 1,800 come from the four Lake St. Martin First Nation area communities: Lake St. Martin, Little Saskatchewan, Dauphin River and Pinaymootang.

The Government of Canada recognizes the difficult situation for those who remain evacuated from their homes. Achieving long-term accommodation for First Nation communities affected by the flooding is a priority for this Government.

The Government of Canada, in collaboration with the Province of Manitoba, is advancing negotiations for comprehensive final settlement packages that will see flood evacuees from the four Lake St. Martin area First Nations return to their home communities. Infrastructure development and community reconstruction is taking place at the same time as negotiations.

The negotiations will aim to reach final settlement packages that include flood mitigation measures, replacement lands from the province, compensation for damages, and infrastructure and housing to rebuild First Nation communities, and ultimately aim to return the remaining flood evacuees to their home communities.

The Government of Canada is also working to return evacuees from Ebb and Flow and Peguis First Nations to their home communities.

The health and safety of First Nation communities is a priority for the Government, which is taking action to ensure that all First Nation communities receive emergency services comparable to those that protect other Canadians.

Prevention/mitigation efforts are crucial to avoiding future situations such as the severe 2011 Manitoba flood. Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada invested more than $80 million to protect Manitoba First Nations from the flood of 2011. This included approximately $44 million to construct permanent dikes. An additional $10.9 million was invested after the 2011 flood to make temporary dikes permanent at 11 Manitoba First Nations: Sioux Valley, Opaskwayak, Canupawakpa, Sandy Bay, Ebb and Flow, Lake Manitoba, O Chi Chak Ko Sipi, Little Saskatchewan, Poplar River, Berens River and Kinonjeoshtegon.

INAC Emergency Management

Date modified:

Fiche d’information - Le point sur les évacuations liées aux inondations de 2011 au Manitoba

Comme les graves inondations survenues au Manitoba en 2011 ont mené à l'évacuation de résidants de 18 collectivités des Premières Nations, Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada, le gouvernement provincial et les Premières Nations ne ménagent aucun effort de rétablissement.

Environ 1 300 résidants ont réintégré leur collectivité.

Cependant, en date du 24 octobre 2017, 2 023 membres des collectivités des Premières Nations les plus touchées demeurent évacués, tandis que les efforts de rétablissement se poursuivent. Plus de 1 900 personnes évacuées proviennent de quatre Premières Nations à proximité du lac St. Martin, soit Lake St. Martin, Little Saskatchewan, Dauphin River et Pinaymootang.

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît qu'il s'agit d'une situation difficile pour les personnes qui demeurent évacuées, loin de leur maison, et il considère comme prioritaire d’offrir des logements à long terme aux collectivités des Premières Nations touchées par les inondations.

Le gouvernement du Canada, en collaboration avec le gouvernement du Manitoba, poursuit les négociations en vue d’un règlement définitif complet qui permettra aux membres évacués des quatre Premières Nations situées à proximité du lac St. Martin de réintégrer leur collectivité. Les infrastructures sont mises en place et les collectivités sont reconstruites parallèlement aux négociations.

Les négociations auront comme objectif de conclure des offres de règlement définitif comprenant des mesures d'atténuation des inondations, des terres de remplacement venant de la province, des indemnités pour les dommages, ainsi que des infrastructures et des logements pour rebâtir les collectivités des Premières Nations. Au bout du compte, elles visent à permettre aux personnes évacuées de retourner dans leurs collectivités.

D'autre part, le gouvernement du Canada continue de travailler afin de faciliter le retour dans leur collectivité des personnes évacuées des Premières Nations d'Ebb and Flow et de Peguis.

La santé et la sécurité des collectivités des Premières Nations sont une priorité pour le gouvernement, qui prend des mesures pour veiller à ce que toutes les collectivités des Premières Nations reçoivent des services d'urgence comparables à ceux qui protègent les autres Canadiens.

Les efforts en matière de prévention et d'atténuation sont essentiels pour éviter que ne se reproduisent des situations comme les graves inondations de 2011 au Manitoba. Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada a investi plus de 80 millions de dollars pour protéger les Premières Nations du Manitoba à l'égard des inondations de 2011. De cette somme, environ 44 millions de dollars ont servi à construire des digues permanentes. Un montant supplémentaire de 10,9 millions de dollars a été investi après les inondations pour rendre permanentes les digues temporaires de 11 Premières Nations du Manitoba : Sioux Valley, Opaskwayak, Canupawakpa, Sandy Bay, Ebb and Flow, Lake Manitoba, O Chi Chak Ko Sipi, Little Saskatchewan, Poplar River, Berens River et Kinonjeoshtegon.

Gestion des urgences à AANC

Date de modification :