Supporting Fire Safety

First Nation Band Councils manage fire protection services on First Nation lands. AANDC provides core capital funding to First Nations on an annual basis. First Nations prioritize their spending to meet the needs of their communities including fire protection services.

AANDC provides an average of approximately $26 million annually for fire protection services, including:

As part of its support for fire protection, AANDC allocates an average of approximately $226,198 annually to the Aboriginal Firefighters Association of Canada to coordinate a number of fire prevention awareness and training initiatives, including the annual National Aboriginal Firefighters Competition and the National Fire Safety Poster Contest for school-aged children and youth. For more information on these initiatives, visit the Aboriginal Firefighters' Association of Canada webpage.

Joint First Nations Fire Protection Strategy

In April 2016, INAC and Aboriginal Firefighters’ Association of Canada (AFAC) published an updated 2016-2021 Joint First Nations Fire Protection Strategy with an emphasis on increased collaboration between INAC and AFAC.

Although the 2010-2015 First Nations Fire Protection Strategy made progress in reducing fire related risks, both INAC and AFAC recognized a need to have a more focused approach for:

INAC and AFAC meet twice each year, in February and August, to oversee the renewed strategy, review progress, and plan collaborative activities.

For more details, visit the Joint First Nations Fire Protection Strategy (2016-2021).

National Fire Safety Poster Contest

The National Fire Safety Poster Contest is an annual event sponsored by AANDC and coordinated by the Aboriginal Firefighters Association of Canada in October of each year during Fire Prevention Week. The aim of the contest is to engage children and youth in spreading the word about fire safety through the design of posters or multi-media projects. For more information about the National Fire Safety Poster Contest, please visit the Aboriginal Firefighters' Association of Canada webpage.

National Aboriginal Firefighters Competition

The First Nations Fire Protection Strategy outlines the need to strengthen fire safety education and firefighter training on reserve. AANDC sponsors the Aboriginal Firefighters' Association of Canada to coordinate the annual National Aboriginal Firefighters Competition, which is a key event for capacity building.

Each summer, teams of firefighters from First Nation communities across Canada qualify for the competition through a series of regional competitions. The National Competition provides an opportunity to qualifying teams from British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Quebec, Nunavut and the Atlantic region to demonstrate their skills and abilities. Teams compete in a series of challenges ranging from rolling hoses, fast coupling drills and replacing a burst length. Participants also attend training seminars throughout the duration of the competition to hone their skills.

The National Aboriginal Nations Firefighters Competition provides an important venue to showcase new firefighting techniques and technologies, exchange best practices between communities, and increase awareness about fire prevention.

For more information about the National Aboriginal Firefighters Competition, please visit the Aboriginal Firefighters' Association of Canada webpage.

 

Date modified:

Soutien à la sécurité-incendie

Les conseils de bande des Premières Nations gèrent les services de protection contre les incendies dans les réserves. AADNC fournit annuellement un financement de base aux Premières Nations. Les Premières Nations établissent les priorités pour leurs dépenses afin de répondre aux besoins des collectivités, y compris en ce qui a trait aux services de protection contre les incendies.

En moyenne, AADNC verse environ 26 millions de dollars par année pour les services de protection contre les incendies, ce qui comprend :

Pour soutenir la protection contre les incendies, AADNC verse en moyenne 226 198 $ par année à l'Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada afin de coordonner des initiatives de prévention et de sensibilisation à la protection contre les incendies, notamment le concours national annuel des pompiers autochtones et le concours national annuel d'affiches de sécurité-incendie pour les enfants d'âge scolaire. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet de ces initiatives, veuillez consulter le site web de l'Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada.

Stratégie commune de protection des Premières Nations contre l’incendie

En avril 2016, Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) et l’Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada (APAC) ont publié la Stratégie commune de protection des Premières Nations contre les incendies 2016-2021. Ce document actualisé met l’accent sur une collaboration accrue entre le ministère et l’association.

Même si la Stratégie de protection des Premières Nations contre les incendies 2010-2015 a permis de réduire les risques liés aux incendies, AANC et l’APAC reconnaissent qu’il est nécessaire d’adopter une approche mieux ciblée à l’égard des éléments suivants :

Parmi les secteurs prioritaires, citons :

AANC et l’APAC se réunissent deux fois par année, soit en février et en août, afin d’évaluer la stratégie renouvelée, d’examiner les progrès réalisés et de planifier des activités de collaboration.

Pour plus amples informations, veuillez consulter la Stratégie commune de protection des Premières Nations contre les incendies (2016-2021).

Concours national d'affiches sur la sécurité-incendie

Le concours national d'affiches de sécurité incendie est un événement annuel parrainé par AADNC et coordonné par l'Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada en Octobre de chaque année pendant la Semaine de la prévention des incendies. Le but du concours est de faire participer les enfants et les jeunes à passer le mot à propos de la sécurité incendie à travers la conception d'affiches ou de projets multimédias. Pour plus d'informations sur le concours national d'affiches de sécurité-incendie, s'il vous plaît visitez la page web de l'Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada (site Web non disponible en français).

Concours national des pompiers des Premières Nations

La Stratégie de protection des Premières Nations contre les incendies expose le besoin de renforcer la sensibilisation à l'égard de la sécurité-incendie et la formation des pompiers dans les réserves. AADNC commandite l'Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada afin de coordonner le concours national annuel des pompiers des Premières Nations, un événement clé du renforcement de la capacité.

Chaque été, des équipes de pompiers de collectivités des Premières Nations de tout le pays se qualifient pour le concours dans le cadre de compétitions régionales. Le concours national offre de belles occasions aux équipes de la Colombie-Britannique, de l'Alberta, du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan, de l'Ontario, du Québec, du Nunavut et de la région de l'Atlantique qui se sont qualifiées de mettre en valeur leurs compétences et leurs habiletés. Les équipes s'affrontent dans une série de défis, comme le roulage du tuyau d'incendie, des exercices de raccordements rapides et le remplacement d'un tuyau perforé. Durant toute la durée du concours, les participants assistent également à des ateliers pour parfaire leurs connaissances.

Le concours national des pompiers des Premières Nations offre à ses participants une occasion précieuse de présenter de nouvelles techniques et technologies en ce qui a trait à la lutte contre les incendies, de mettre en commun les pratiques exemplaires des collectivités et d'accroître la sensibilisation à la prévention contre les incendies.

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur le concours national des pompiers des Premières Nations, veuillez consulter le site web de l'Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada (site Web non disponible en français).

 

Date de modification :