Testimonials: Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property

"Wendy Grant-John, a former Musqueam chief, said the creation of the Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property is critical because it addresses the need for 'capacity building' among First Nations."

- Kim Pemberton, Reporter: Source Source: Vancouver Sun: Law extends matrimonial rights to those living on reserves

"National Aboriginal Lands Managers Association (NALMA) is honoured to host the Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property. We realize that the transition into any new legislation always brings challenges. NALMA and the Centre of Excellence welcome this opportunity to assist First Nations to continue their long-standing tradition of caring for families and each other."

- Gino Clement, Chair, National Aboriginal Lands Managers Association: Source Source: AANDC news release: Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property

"The National Association of Friendship Centres and its centres currently provide transition services for Aboriginal people moving off-reserve through our New Journeys program and those services will be complemented by NALMA and its new mandate."

- Jeffrey Cyr, Executive Director, National Association of Friendship Centres: Source Source: AANDC news release: Legislation to Improve the Rights of Women and their Families Living on First Nation Reserves Comes Into Force

"It's exciting that this day has come. I just know from my work how much this means for women and families. It's so important. For decades there have been no tools to apply on reserves to protect women and children. Particularly when there is family violence, the women would have had to leave and been impoverished."

- Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond, British Columbia’s Representative for Children and Youth: Source Source: The Vancouver Sun: Law extends matrimonial rights to those living on reserves

"It's an issue the government has tried to solve through legislation since 2008. Three separate bills were introduced, but died after Parliament was either prorogued or dissolved, until Bill S-2 was introduced in the Senate in 2011. It was passed into law on June 19, 2013."

- Katie Hyslop, Reporter: Source Source: Katie Hyslop, TheTyee.ca: Feds Impose New Marriage Property Law on Reserves

"We can be proud as Canadians that we are closing a longstanding legislative gap that has hurt families and communities for too long."

- the Honourable Bernard Valcourt, Federal Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development: Source Source: AANDC news release: Law extends matrimonial rights to those living on reserves

"I am very pleased to see that the Bill S-2, the Family Homes on Reserves and Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act, is now law. Finally, we have in place legislation to ensure that women and families are protected with the same matrimonial rights as those living off-reserve. We congratulate Minister Valcourt for this significant accomplishment, and offer our ongoing support with the implementation of the Bill."

- Betty Ann Lavallée, National Chief, Congress of Aboriginal Peoples: Source Source: AANDC news release: Legislation to Improve the Rights of Women and their Families Living on First Nation Reserves Comes Into Force

"While the legislation is new, the principles are not: providing for, caring for, and protecting our families, building safe and strong communities; these principles are central to First Nations culture and teachings."

- Gordon Bluesky, Chair, National Aboriginal Lands Managers Association: Source TheTyee.ca: Feds Impose New Marriage Property Law on Reserves

"It's about women and men living on reserves getting the same rights and protections as every other Canadian."

- The Honourable Kerry-Lynne Findlay, Minister of Revenue, National Revenue: Source Source: Media Q Inc. Transcript: Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Bernard Valcourt, holds a news conference to make an important announcement regarding the Family Homes on Reserves or Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act

Témoignages : Centre d'excellence en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux

« Wendy Grant-John, ancienne chef des Musqueam, a affirmé que la création du Centre d’excellence en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux était cruciale, car elle cible la question du renforcement de la capacité dans les Premières Nations. »

-Kim Pemberton, Journaliste : Source Source : Law extends matrimonial rights to those living on reserves (site Web non disponible en français)

« L’Association nationale des gestionnaires des terres autochtones (ANGTA) est honorée d’héberger le Centre d’excellence en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux. Nous sommes conscients que toute transition vers une nouvelle loi apporte son lot de défis. L’ANGTA et le Centre d’excellence sont heureux d’aider les Premières Nations à poursuivre leur précieuse tradition d’entraide, que ce soit les uns les autres ou entre familles. »

-Gino Clement, président, Association nationale des gestionnaires des terres autochtones : Source Source : Entrée en vigueur d’une loi renforçant les droits des femmes et des familles qui vivent dans les réserves des Premières Nations (site Web non disponible en français)

« Grâce au programme New Journeys, l’Association et ses centres offrent actuellement des services d’aide à la transition aux Autochtones qui quittent leur réserve. Par le biais de son nouveau mandat, les services offerts par l’ANGTA viendront compléter nos services. »

-Jeffrey Cyr, directeur général, Association nationale des centres d’amitié : Source Source : Entrée en vigueur d’une loi renforçant les droits des femmes et des familles qui vivent dans les réserves des Premières Nations (site Web non disponible en français)

« C’est fabuleux de voir que ce jour est enfin arrivé. De par mon travail, je sais à quel point c’est important pour les femmes et les familles. C’est tellement important. Pendant des décennies, il n’existait aucun outil pour protéger les femmes et les enfants dans les réserves. Souvent, dans les cas de violence familiale, les femmes ont dû partir et s’appauvrir. »

-Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond, représentante de la Colombie-Britannique pour l’enfance et la jeunesse : Source Source : Law extends matrimonial rights to those living on reserves (site Web non disponible en français)

« Nous pouvons être fiers en tant que Canadiens d’éliminer une lacune législative de longue date qui a nui aux familles et aux collectivités pendant trop longtemps. »

-L’honorable Bernard Valcourt, ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien : Source Source : Law extends matrimonial rights to those living on reserves (site Web non disponible en français)

« Je suis très heureuse de constater que le projet de loi S-2, Loi sur les foyers familiaux situés dans les réserves et les droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux, est maintenant en vigueur. Enfin, nous avons une loi qui protège les femmes et les familles et qui leur donne accès aux mêmes droits matrimoniaux que celles vivant hors réserve. Nous félicitons le ministre Valcourt pour cette importante réalisation et nous lui offrons notre appui continu pendant la mise en œuvre de la Loi. »

-Betty Ann Lavallée, chef nationale, Congrès des peuples autochtones : Source Source : Entrée en vigueur d’une loi renforçant les droits des femmes et des familles qui vivent dans les réserves des Premières Nations (site Web non disponible en français)

« Même si cette loi est nouvelle, ses principes ne le sont pas : il faut pourvoir aux besoins de nos familles, en prendre soin et les protéger. Il faut bâtir des collectivités sécuritaires et dynamiques. Voilà des principes de base de la culture et des enseignements des Premières Nations. »

-Gordon Bluesky, président, Association nationale des gestionnaires des terres autochtones : Source Source : TheTyee.ca: Feds Impose New Marriage Property Law on Reserves (site Web non disponible en français)

« Il s’agit d’un problème que le gouvernement essaie de régler à l’aide d’une mesure législative depuis 2008. Trois projets de loi distincts ont été déposés, mais sont morts au Feuilleton en raison de la prorogation ou de la dissolution du Parlement. Ceci a changé avec le dépôt du projet de loi S-2 au Sénat en 2011, puisque le projet de loi a été adopté le 19 juin 2013. »

-Katie Hyslop, Journaliste : Source Source : TheTyee.ca: Feds Impose New Marriage Property Law on Reserves (site Web non disponible en français)

« Il est question de donner aux femmes et aux hommes qui vivent dans les réserves les mêmes droits et protections que tous les autres Canadiens. »

-L’honorable Kerry-Lynne Findlay, ministre du Revenu, Revenu national : Source Source : Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Bernard Valcourt, holds a news conference to make an important announcement regarding the Family Homes on Reserves or Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act (site Web non disponible en français)