Applications for Permits to Prospect on Crown lands in Nunavut

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada reviews applications for permits to prospect on Crown lands in Nunavut to ensure they meet all requirements under the Nunavut Mining Regulations. Under the regulations, an application may be submitted between February 1st and the last business day of November each year. The Department reviews the application and issues the permit as soon as possible after January 31 in the year following the receipt of the application, usually within 75 days from the closing date of the application period.

Service standard: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada's goal is to review an application for permit to prospect on Crown lands in Nunavut and issue the permit as soon as possible after January 31 in the year following the receipt of the application and within 75 days from the closing date of the application period, provided the application is complete and meets all requirements under the Nunavut Mining Regulations.

The service standard applies to the following process of departmental review and approval of the authorization:

Performance target: The target for achieving this standard is 90%, under normal circumstances.

Performance results:
In 2014-15, the service standard was met 100% of the time.
In 2015-16, the service standard was met 100% of the time.
In 2016-17, the service standard was met 100% of the time.

Applying for Permits to Prospect on Crown lands in Nunavut: A permit to prospect issued under  the Nunavut Mining Regulations allows the permittee to exclusively prospect for minerals or stake a claim on lands subject to the prospecting permit, from February 1st of the year of issue for a period of three years, in the case of a permit in respect of an area located south of the 68th parallel of north latitude, or five years in the case of a permit in respect of an area located north of the 68th parallel of north latitude.

Application Form: The North

Service feedback: If service expectations have not been met, complaints and comments may be addressed to landsmining@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

For more information, please contact:

Mining Recorder's Office
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Nunavut Regional Office
Qimugjuk Building
PO Box 100
Iqaluit, NU  X0A 0H0
Telephone: (867) 975-4275
Email: landsmining@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Demandes de permis de prospection sur les terres de la Couronne au Nunavut

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada examine les demandes de permis de prospection sur des terres de la Couronne au Nunavut pour assurer leur conformité au Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Nunavut. En vertu du Règlement, une demande doit être présentée entre le 1er février et le dernier jour ouvrable de novembre chaque année. Le Ministère examine la demande et délivre le permis de prospection dans les plus brefs délais après le 31 janvier de l'année qui suit la réception de la demande, d'ordinaire dans les 75 jours suivant la date de clôture de la période de présentation des demandes.

Norme de service : L'objectif d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada est d'examiner une demande de permis de prospection sur les terres de la Couronne  au Nunavut et de délivrer le permis de prospection dans les plus brefs délais après le 31 janvier de l'année qui suit la réception de la demande, d'ordinaire dans les 75 jours suivant la date de clôture de la période de présentation des demandes, pourvu que la demande soit complète et réponde à toutes les exigences énoncées dans le Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Nunavut.

La norme de service s'applique au processus ministériel d'examen et d'approbation de l'autorisation :

Cible de rendement : L'objectif, dans des circonstances normales, est de respecter cette norme dans 90 % des cas.

Résultats en matière de rendement :
En 2014-15, la norme de service a été respectée dans 100% du temps.
En 2015-16, la norme de service a été respectée dans 100% du temps.
En 2016-17, la norme de service a été respectée dans 100% du temps.

Présenter une demande de permis de prospection sur les terres de la Couronne  au Nunavut : Un permis de prospection délivré en vertu du Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Nunavut permet au titulaire de permis de prospecter des minéraux ou de jalonner un claim exclusivement sur les terres assujetties au permis de prospection, et ce, pendant trois ans à partir du 1er février de l'année de délivrance dans le cas d'un permis concernant une région située au sud du 68e parallèle, ou pendant cinq ans dans le cas d'un permis concernant une région située au nord du 68e parallèle.

Formulaire de demande : Le Nord

Mécanisme de rétroaction : En cas de non-respect des attentes en matière de service, les plaintes et les commentaires peuvent être envoyés à landsmining@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Bureau du conservateur des registres miniers
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Bureau régional du Nunavut
Édifice Qimugjuk
C.P. 100
Iqaluit (Nunavut)  X0A 0H0
Téléphone : 867-975-4275
Courriel : landsmining@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date de modification :