Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada - Future-Oriented Statement of Operations for the Year Ending March 31, 2015

Table of contents

Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (Unaudited)
For the year ended March 31

(in thousands of dollars)

  Estimated
Results
2014
Planned
Results
2015
Expenses
tab1-c 3,698,633 3,615,556
Government 2,121,112 1,811,253
Land and Economy 1,422,405 1,456,886
Internal Services 431,668 273,305
North 52,878 86,256
Expenses incurred on behalf of Government (4,720) (4,612)
Total expenses 7,721,976 7,238,644
Revenues
Norman Wells project profits 103,440 98,268
Resource royalties 33,633 49,629
Interest on loans 5,955 5,955
Miscellaneous 3,780 3,777
Leases and rentals 776 724
Finance and administrative services 750 710
Revenues earned on behalf of Government (146,865) (157,351)
Total revenues 1,469 1,712
Net cost of operations 7,720,507 7,236,932

The accompanying notes form an integral part of the future-oriented statement of operations.

Notes to the Future-Oriented Financial Statements (Unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31

1. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and the plans of the department as described in the RPP.

The information in the estimated results for fiscal year 2013-14 is based on actual results as at December 31, 2013 and forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2014-15 fiscal year.

The main assumptions are as follows:

  1. AANDC's activities will remain substantially the same as the previous year.
  2. Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.
  3. Accruals for new contingent liabilities and new environmental liabilities cannot be reasonably foreseen or quantified and have therefore been excluded from the forecast.
  4. Allowances for uncollectibility are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.

These assumptions are adopted as of December 31, 2013.

2. Variations and changes to the forecast financial information

While every attempt has been made to accurately forecast final results for the remainder of 2013-14 and for 2014-15, actual results achieved for both years will vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation may be material.

In preparing the future-oriented statement of operations AANDC has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include:
  1. The timing and amounts of acquisitions and disposals of tangible capital assets, which would affect gains/losses and amortization expense.
  2. The implementation of new collective agreements, which would affect salaries and employee future benefits.
  3. Interest rates, which would affect the net present value of settled claims.
  4. Economic conditions, which would affect the amount of revenue earned and the collectibility of loans receivable.
  5. Further changes to the operating budget through additional new initiatives or technical adjustments later in the year, which would affect forecasted expenditures.

Once the RPP is presented, AANDC will not be updating the forecast for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

3. Summary of significant accounting policies

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared in accordance with the Government's accounting policies that came into effect for the 2011-12 fiscal year, which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

a) Expenses – Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for the Department operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered including services provided without charges for accommodation, employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and worker's compensation which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave as well as severance benefits are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.

Transfer payments are recorded as expenses when the recipient has met the eligibility criteria or fulfilled the terms of a contractual transfer agreement or, in the case of transactions which do not form part of an existing program, when the Government announces a decision to make a non-recurring transfer, provided the enabling legislation or authorization for payment receives parliamentary approval prior to the completion of the financial statement.

Expenses include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable and provisions for valuation on loans and advances, or liabilities, including contingent liabilities and environmental liabilities to the extent the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

b) Revenues – Revenues from regulatory fees are recognized in the accounts based on the services provided in the year. Other revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event that gave rise to the revenues takes place.

Revenues that are non-respendable are not available to discharge AANDC's liabilities. While the Deputy Minister is expected to maintain accounting control, he has no authority regarding the disposition of non-respendable revenues. As a result, non-respendable revenues are considered to be earned on behalf of the Government of Canada and therefore presented in reduction of AANDC's gross revenues.

4. Parliamentary authorities

AANDC is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to AANDC do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles since authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. Accordingly, the Department has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to authorities requested

(in thousands of dollars)

  Estimated
Results
2014
Planned
Results
2015
Net cost of operations 7,720,507 7,236,932
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Amortization of tangible capital assets (6,394) (7,164)
Gain (loss) on disposal of tangible capital assets 719 1,002
Transfer of land held for future claim settlements (328) (179)
Services provided without charge by other government departments (92,691) (81,630)
Bad debt expense (not incurred on behalf of government) (1,493) (1,958)
Decrease (increase) in vacation pay and compensatory leave (1,040) 2,425
Decrease (increase) in liability for settled claims 84,260 131,856
Decrease (increase) in provision for claims and litigation 509,484 506,812
Decrease (increase) in environmental liabilities 357,884 182,868
Decrease (increase) in employee future benefits 10,385 2,596
Decrease (increase) in accrued liabilities not charged to authorities 3,236 100
Refunds/adjustments to prior years' expenditures 64,616 63,342
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities 928,638 800,070
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Acquisition of tangible capital assets 22,300 11,973
Acquisition of land held for future claims settlements 970 5,000
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities 23,270 16,973
Authorities requested 8,672,415 8,053,975

 

b) Authorities requested

(in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated
Results
2014
Planned
Results
2015
Authorities requested
Vote 1 – Operating expenditures 1,478,741 1,215,376
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures 14,166 5,695
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions 7,011,939 6,654,153
Statutory amounts 167,569 178,751
Total requested authorities 8,672,415 8,053,975

Authorities presented reflect current forecasts of statutory items, approved initiatives included and expected to be included in Estimates documents and, when reasonable estimates can be made, estimates of amounts to be allocated from Treasury Board central votes.

Forecast authorities requested for the year ending March 31, 2015 are the planned spending amounts presented in the 2014-15 RPP. Estimated authorities requested for the year ending March 31, 2014 include amounts presented in the 2013-14 Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (A) and (B), planned for presentation in Supplementary Estimates (C) and estimates of amounts to be allocated at year-end from Treasury Board central votes.

Date modified:

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada : État des résultats prospectifs pour l'exercice terminant le 31 mars 2015

Table des matières

État des résultats prospectif (non vérifié)
pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars

(en milliers de dollars)

  Résultats
estimatifs
2014
Résultats
prévus
2015
Charges
Les gens 3 698 633 3 615 556
Le gouvernement 2 121 112 1 811 253
L'économie et les terres 1 422 405 1 456 886
Services internes 431 668 273 305
Le Nord 52 878 86 256
Charges engagées pour le compte du gouvernement (4 720) (4 612)
Total des charges 7 721 976 7 238 644
Revenus
Bénéfices du projet de Norman Wells 103 440 98 268
Redevances sur les ressources 33 633 49 629
Intérêts sur les prêts 5 955 5 955
Divers 3 780 3 777
Baux et location 776 724
Services administratifs et financiers 750 710
Revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement (146 865) (157 351)
Total des revenus 1 469 1 712
Coût de fonctionnement net 7 720 507 7 236 932

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de l'état des résultats prospectif.

Notes à l'état des résultats prospectif (non vérifié)
Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars

1. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

L'état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans ministériels qui sont décrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Les renseignements figurant dans les résultats estimatifs de l'exercice 2013-2014 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 31 décembre 2013 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l'année financière. Les prévisions ont été effectuées pour les résultats prévus pour cet exercice.

Les principales hypothèses utilisées sont :

  1. Les activités du ministère resteront, pour l'essentiel, pareilles à celles de l'exercice précédent.
  2. Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont basés sur l'expérience acquise. L'évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.
  3. Les nouveaux passifs éventuels et les nouveaux passifs environnementaux ne peuvent pas être raisonnablement anticipés ou évalués quantitativement, alors ils ont été exclus de la prévision.
  4. L'estimation des provisions irrécouvrables est basée sur l'expérience acquise. L'évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 31 décembre 2013.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir avec exactitude les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l'exercice 2013-2014 et pour 2014-2015, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et l'écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation de cet état des résultats prospectifs, AADNC a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l'égard d'événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Les estimations et les hypothèses sont évaluées de façon continue et sont fondés sur l'expérience acquise et d'autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relatives aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l'état des résultats prospectif et l'état des résultats historique sont notamment:
  1. Le moment et le montant des acquisitions et des aliénations d'immobilisations corporelles qui peuvent influer sur les gains ou les pertes et les charges d'amortissement.
  2. La mise en application de nouvelles conventions collectives pourrait avoir une incidence sur les salaires et les avantages sociaux futurs.
  3. Les taux d'intérêt en vigueur au moment de la présentation du rapport qui auront un effet sur la valeur actualisée nette des revendications réglées.
  4. La conjoncture économique peut avoir un effet à la fois sur le montant du revenu gagné et l'encaissement des prêts à recevoir.
  5. Les modifications supplémentaires au budget de fonctionnement, grâce à de nouvelles initiatives ou ajustements techniques mis en œuvre plus tard au courant de l'exercice.

Une fois que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités est présenté, AADNC ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L'état des résultats prospectif a été préparé en conformité avec les conventions comptables du gouvernement entrées en vigueur pour l'exercice financier 2011-2012, lesquelles s'appuient sur les Normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l'utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux Normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

a) Charges – Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement du gouvernement sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d'accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d'emploi sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d'emploi.

Les paiements de transfert sont passés en charges dès que le bénéficiaire a satisfait aux critères d'admissibilité ou qu'il a rempli les conditions de l'accord de transfert ou, dans le cas d'opérations qui ne font pas partie d'un programme existant, dès que le gouvernement annonce une décision d'effectuer un transfert ponctuel, pour autant que la loi habilitante ou l'autorisation de paiement soit approuvée par le Parlement avant l'achèvement de l'état financier.

Les charges incluent des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur des actifs ou des passifs. Cela comprend des provisions pour créances douteuses, des provisions pour moins-value de prêts ou de placements ainsi que les passifs éventuels et les passifs environnementaux, dans la mesure où l'événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable des répercussions peut être établie.

Les charges incluent également l'amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d'acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l'amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l'actif.

b) Revenus – Les revenus provenant de droits réglementaires sont constatés dans les comptes en fonction des services fournis au cours de l'exercice. Les autres revenus sont comptabilisés dans l'exercice pendant lequel les opérations ou les faits qui ont généré les revenus surviennent.

Les revenus non disponibles ne peuvent servir à acquitter les passifs des AADNC. Bien qu'on s'attende à ce que l'administrateur général maintienne le contrôle comptable, il n'a pas autorité pour disposer des revenus non disponibles. Par conséquent, les revenus non disponibles sont considérés comme étant gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada et sont donc présentés en réduction du montant brut des revenus de l'entité.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

AANDC est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties aux AADNC ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats prospectif d'un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires approuvés au cours d'un exercice précédent, de l'exercice en cours ou d'exercices futurs. Par conséquent, les résultats de fonctionnement nets du ministère diffèrent suivant qu'ils sont calculés selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées

(en milliers de dollars)

  Résultats
Estimatifs
2014
Résultats
Prévus
2015
Coût de fonctionnement net 7 720 507 7 236 932
Ajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur les autorisations :
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (6 394) (7 164)
Gain (perte) sur aliénation d'immobilisations corporelles 719 1 002
Transfert des terres conservées pour le règlement futur de revendications (328) (179)
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères (92 691) (81 630)
Créances douteuses (non engagées au nom du gouvernement) (1 493) (1 958)
Diminution (augmentation) des indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires (1 040) 2 425
Diminution (augmentation) du passif pour revendications réglées 84 260 131 856
Diminution (augmentation) de la réserve pour réclamations et litiges 509 484 506 812
Diminution (augmentation) des passifs environnementaux 357 884 182 868
Diminution (augmentation) des avantages sociaux futurs 10 385 2 596
Diminution (augmentation) des charges à payer qui n'ont pas été chargées aux autorités 3 236 100
Remboursements / ajustements aux dépenses des années précédentes 64 616 63 342
Total des éléments qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur les autorisations 928 638 800 070
Ajustements pour les éléments sans incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais ayant une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisition d'immobilisations corporelles 22 300 11 973
Acquisition des terres conservées pour le règlement futur de revendications 970 5 000
Total des éléments sans incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement, mais ayant une incidence sur les autorisations 23 270 16 973
Autorisations demandées 8 672 415 8 053 975

 

b) Autorisations demandées

(en milliers de dollars)
  Résultats
Estimatifs
2014
Résultats
Prévus
2015
Autorisations demandées :
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de fonctionnement 1 478 741 1 215 376
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 14 166 5 695
Crédit 10 – Subventions et Contributions 7 011 939 6 654 153
Montants législatifs 167 569 178 751
Autorisations demandées 8 672 415 8 053 975

Les autorités présentées reflètent les prévisions actuelles pour les postes législatifs et les initiatives approuvées qui sont et qui devraient être inclus dans les documents budgétaires. De plus, lorsque des estimations raisonnables peuvent être faites, les montants estimés seront attribués à partir des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor.

Les autorisations fournies prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 représentent les montants des dépenses prévues dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités de 2014-2015. Les autorisations fournies estimatives pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014 comprennent les montants présentés dans le Budget des dépenses et les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses (A) et (B) de 2013-2014, et ceux qui doivent être présentés dans le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (C) et les montants estimatifs, à la fin de l'exercice, des affectations des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor.

Date de modification :