ARCHIVED - First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Name of lead department(s): Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)

Lead department program: Infrastructure and Capacity

Start date of the Horizontal Initiative: April 1, 2008

End date of the Horizontal Initiative: March 31, 2014

Total federal funding allocation (start to end date): $2,395,734,434

In 2008, the federal government announced $735,639,806 in funding for the first two years of this initiative. Of this amount, $202,500,000 was funded from existing reference levels in each of the fiscal years 2008–2009 and 2009–2010. New funds were sourced from the Fiscal Framework, as confirmed in Budget 2008. This new funding totaled $165,318,143 in fiscal year 2008–2009 and $165,321,663 in 2009–2010 and included employee benefit plans and Public Works and Government Services Canada accommodation requirements.

The program was extended for an additional two years, with funding confirmed as part of Budget 2010. This provided an additional $845,547,800 in investments for water and wastewater infrastructure over the extended period of the program from 2010–2012.

Budget 2012 allotted the same investment amounts for the water and wastewater action plan for a further two-year period. The Government of Canada released $330.8 million over the two years, in addition to the existing funding of $209,373,064 for 2012–1013 and $209,293,764 for 2013–2014. The total planned investment in safe water and wastewater for First Nations over the fiscal periods of 2012–2013 and 2013–2014 is $749,446,828. The total federal funding allocation since 2008 has been $2,395,734,434.

Description of the Horizontal Initiative (including funding agreement):

The prime objective of the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan (FNWWAP) is to help First Nation communities on reserves bring their drinking water and wastewater services to a level and quality of service comparable to those enjoyed by Canadians living in communities of similar size and location. There are five key activity areas in the FNWWAP: infrastructure investments, operations and maintenance, training, monitoring and awareness, and standards.

To meet the objectives of the FNWWAP, several program enhancements have been introduced, including the following:

The FNWWAP was implemented as part of government commitments in the 2007 Speech from the Throne, Budget 2008, Budget 2010 and Budget 2012 to support First Nation access to safe drinking water. It supports the continued commitment to promote access to clean water in Aboriginal communities announced in the 2011 Speech from the Throne.

The FNWWAP supports AANDC's strategic outcome, The Land and The Economy: Full participation of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis individuals and communities in the economy. The FNWWAP also supports the Health Canada (HC) strategic outcome of the department's First Nations and Inuit Health Programming and Services: Better health outcomes and reduction of health inequalities between First Nations and Inuit and other Canadians.

More information is available at these websites:

Shared outcome(s):

The FNWWAP works toward the achievement of four outcomes:

Governance structure(s):

The FNWWAP is a successor to the joint First Nations Water Management Strategy (2003–2008) and the AANDC Plan of Action for Drinking Water (2006–2008). A memorandum of understanding has been in place between AANDC and HC since 2005 regarding data sharing related to drinking water. AANDC shares information about proposed water and wastewater infrastructure investments, the annual inspections of water and wastewater treatment plants, and action related to drinking water advisories. Similarly, HC shares information such as drinking water sample results that do not meet the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality and reasons for recommending drinking water advisories. At the working level, the Strategic Water Management on Reserve Committee, which includes representatives from HC, AANDC, Environment Canada and the Assembly of First Nations, provides a forum to share information and coordinate joint action, although this is not a formal decision-making body. It also provides integrated and coordinated leadership and a vehicle to work toward safe drinking water for First Nation communities and implement the FNWWAP.

Directors general and assistant deputy ministers from HC and AANDC meet when needed to exchange and coordinate action on all relevant issues related to the FNWWAP.

Planning Highlights

Since 2011–2012, AANDC has responded strategically to the findings of the National Assessment of Water and Wastewater in First Nation communities. The Government of Canada is reducing water and wastewater system risk through three pillars of action:

1. Enhanced capacity building and operation training:

2. Enforceable Water and Wastewater Standards:

3. Capital Investments in 2013–2014:

 

Federal Partner: Health Canada and Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Federal Partner
Program
Names of programs funded
under the horizontal initiative
$
Total Allocation
(from Start to End Date)
Planned Spending
for 2014–2014
Infrastructure and Capacity FNWWAP funding TBC TBC
Infrastructure and Capacity A-base funding TBC TBC
Total TBC TBC

Expected results by program:

Since 2011–2012, AANDC has been responding strategically to the findings of the National Assessment in order to improve results for water and wastewater in First Nation communities. Over the next two years, the Government of Canada has committed nearly $750 million (AANDC $684.3 million, Health Canada $65.2 million) in water and wastewater investments. AANDC will continue to support the enhancement of First Nation capacity to maintain their water and wastewater infrastructure by building and maintaining strong relationships and working closely with partners and key stakeholders.

By working to increase the percentage of First Nations with low-risk water and wastewater systems, the Government of Canada is helping First Nations meet health and safety standards and provide their residents with similar levels of service to those in off-reserve communities. This effort supports the FNWWAP shared outcomes and the FSDS goal of protecting and enhancing water so that it is clean, safe and secure for all Canadians and supports healthy ecosystems.

AANDC

Federal Partner: Health Canada
Federal Partner
Program
Names of programs funded
under the horizontal initiative
$
Total Allocation
(from Start to End Date)
Planned Spending
for 2013–2014
First Nations and Inuit Health Drinking Water Safety Program – FNNWAP funding TBC TBC
Drinking Water Safety Program – A based funding TBC TBC
Total TBC TBC

Expected results by program:

Since 2011–2012, AANDC has been responding strategically to the findings of the National Assessment in order to improve results for water and wastewater in First Nation communities. Over the next two years, the Government of Canada has committed nearly $750 million (AANDC $684.3 million, Health Canada $65.2 million) in water and wastewater investments. AANDC will continue to support the enhancement of First Nation capacity to maintain their water and wastewater infrastructure by building and maintaining strong relationships and working closely with partners and key stakeholders.

By working to increase the percentage of First Nations with low-risk water and wastewater systems, the Government of Canada is helping First Nations meet health and safety standards and provide their residents with similar levels of service to those in off-reserve communities. This effort supports the FNWWAP shared outcomes and the FSDS goal of protecting and enhancing water so that it is clean, safe and secure for all Canadians and supports healthy ecosystems.

Health Canada

 

Total Allocation For All Federal Partners
(from Start to End Date)
Total Planned Spending for All Federal
Partners for 2014–2015
TBC TBC

Results to be achieved by non-federal partners (if applicable):
N/A

Contact Information

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
David Smith
Director
Program Design and Regional Partnerships Directorate, Community Infrastructure Branch
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Telephone: 819-953-6043
david.smith@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Health Canada
Ivy Chan
Director
Health Canada
Interprofessional Advisory and Program Support, Environmental Public Health Division
First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
Telephone: 613-948-7773
ivy.chan@hc-sc.gc.ca

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Nom du ou des ministères responsables : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC)

Programme de l'AAP du ministère responsable : Infrastructure et capacité

Date de mise en œuvre : 1er Avril 2008

Date de clôture : 31 Mars 2014

Montant total des fonds fédéraux affectés (de la mise en œuvre à la clôture) : 2 395 734 434 $

En 2008, le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé un financement de 735 639 806 $ pour les deux premières années de cette initiative. De cette somme, 202 500 000 $ ont été affectés en 2008-2009 et en 2009-2010, conformément au niveau de référence existant. Le budget de 2008 prévoyait en outre des fonds provenant du cadre fiscal. Ces nouveaux fonds ont totalisé 165 318 143 $ en 2008-2009 et 165 321 663 $ en 2009-2010 pour couvrir notamment les régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés et le coût des locaux fournis par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada.

Le Programme a été reconduit pour une période additionnelle de deux ans dans le cadre du budget de 2010. Un investissement additionnel de 845 547 800 $ a ainsi été effectué dans les systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées au cours de la période prolongée de 2010-2012.

Un montant identique a été alloué sur deux années supplémentaires dans le budget de 2012 pour le plan d'action sur l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées. Le gouvernement du Canada a accordé 330,8 millions de dollars au cours de ces deux ans, en plus des fonds déjà alloués de 209 373 064 $ pour 2012–2013 et de 209 293 764 $ pour 2013-2014. L'investissement total prévu pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations au cours des exercices financiers de 2012–2013 et de 2013-2014 est de 749 446 828 $. Le financement total accordé par le fédéral depuis 2008 a été de 2 395 734 434 $.

Description de l'initiative horizontale (y compris l'accord de financement) :

Le Plan d'action sur l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées a principalement pour objectif d'aider les collectivités des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves à avoir accès à des services d'alimentation en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées d'une qualité et d'un niveau comparables à ceux dont bénéficient les autres collectivités canadiennes de taille et d'emplacement semblables. Le Plan d'action se concentre sur cinq secteurs prioritaires : l'infrastructure; l'exploitation et l'entretien; la formation; le respect des normes; la surveillance et la sensibilisation.

Une série d'améliorations ont été apportées dans le but d'atteindre les objectifs du Programme, notamment :

Le Plan d'action a été établi en vue de permettre au gouvernement du Canada de s'acquitter de l'engagement qu'il a pris dans le discours du Trône de 2007 et dans les budgets de 2008, de 2010 et de 2012, soit d'aider les Premières Nations à avoir accès à une eau potable sécuritaire. Ce dernier permet de continuer à appuyer notre engagement à promouvoir l'accès à l'eau potable, dans les communautés autochtones annoncées dans le discours du Trône de 2011.

De même, le Plan d'action contribue à l'atteinte du résultat stratégique du Ministère axé sur les terres et l'économie, soit la « participation entière des personnes et des collectivités des Premières Nations, des Métis, des Indiens non inscrits et des Inuit à l'économie ». Il permet également d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats en matière de santé et de réduire les inégalités entre l'état de santé des Inuits et des Premières Nations et celui des autres Canadiens, un des résultats stratégiques établis par Santé Canada dans le cadre de ses Programmes et services de santé destinés aux Inuits et aux Premières Nations.

Pour obtenir d'autres renseignements, veuillez consulter les documents suivants :

Résultats partagés :

Le Plan d'action vise l'atteinte de quatre objectifs :

Structures de gouvernance :

Le Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations fait suite à la Stratégie de gestion de l'eau des Premières Nations (2003–2008) et au Plan d'action pour la gestion de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations (2006–2008). En 2005, AADNC et Santé Canada ont conclu un protocole d'entente en vertu duquel ils se sont engagés à échanger toute information pertinente relative à l'eau potable. Par conséquent, AADNC fournit de l'information sur les investissements proposés dans les installations d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées, sur les inspections menées chaque année dans les usines d'épuration de l'eau et de traitement des eaux usées ainsi que sur les mesures prises à la suite d'un avis concernant la qualité de l'eau potable. De son côté, Santé Canada transmet à AADNC les résultats de l'analyse des échantillons d'eau qui ne respectent pas les Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada et lui indique les raisons pour lesquelles il recommande l'émission d'un avis concernant l'eau potable. Sur le plan pratique, on a créé le Comité de gestion stratégique de l'eau dans les réserves qui regroupe des représentants d'AADNC, de Santé Canada, d'Environnement Canada et de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations. Ce comité offre une tribune privilégiée pour échanger de l'information et coordonner des actions collectives. Même s'il n'a pas de pouvoir de décision comme tel, le Comité dirige de façon cohérente la mise en œuvre du Plan d'action et une voie pour travailler dans le but de s'assurer que les collectivités des Premières Nations ont accès à une eau potable sécuritaire.

Les directeurs généraux et les sous-ministres adjoints d'AADNC et de Santé Canada se réunissent régulièrement pour discuter et coordonner les activités entreprises à l'appui du Plan d'action.

Points saillants de la planification :

Depuis 2011-2012, AADNC a réagi de façon stratégique aux constatations présentées dans l'Étude nationale des installations d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Le gouvernement du Canada réduit les risques associés à ces installations grâce à trois piliers d'action.

1. Amélioration du développement des capacités et de la formation sur le fonctionnement :

2. Normes applicables à l'approvisionnement en eau potable et au traitement des eaux usées :

3. Investissements en 2013-2014 :

 

Partenaires fédéraux : Santé Canada and Affaires Autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Programme du
partenaire fédéral
Noms des programmes
financés en vertu
de l'initiative horizontale
(en dollars)
Affectations totales
(de la mise en œuvre
à la clôture)
Dépenses prévues pour 2014–2015
Infrastructure et capacité Financement du plan d'action À compléter À compléter
Infrastructure et capacité Services votés-Crédits alloués À compléter À compléter
Total À compléter À compléter

Résultats attendus par programme:

Depuis 2011-2012, AADNC réagit de façon stratégique aux constatations de l'Étude nationale afin d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats relativement à l'approvisionnement en eau potable et au traitement des eaux usées dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à investir, au cours des deux prochaines années, près de 750 millions de dollars (AADNC, 684,3 millions de dollars et Santé Canada, 65,2 millions de dollars) dans l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées. AADNC continuera d'appuyer le développement des capacités des Premières Nations de préserver l'infrastructure en amorçant et en maintenant des relations fortes et en travaillant en étroite collaboration avec les partenaires et les principaux intervenants.

En s'efforçant d'augmenter le pourcentage des Premières Nations équipées de réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées présentant des risques faibles, le gouvernement du Canada aide les Premières Nations à respecter les normes relatives à la santé et à la sécurité et à offrir aux habitants des réserves des services comparables à ceux du reste de la population. Cette démarche va dans le sens des résultats partagés du Plan d'action pour l'eau et de l'objectif de la SFDD : protéger et améliorer la qualité de l'eau de sorte qu'elle soit salubre et sans danger pour tous les Canadiens et qu'elle soutienne des écosystèmes sains.

AADNC

Partenaire fédéral : Santé Canada
Programme du
partenaire fédéral
Noms des programmes
financés en vertu
de l'initiative horizontale
(en dollars)
Affectations totales
(de la mise en œuvre
à la clôture)
Dépenses prévues pour 2014–2015
Santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits Programme sur la qualité de l'eau potable — Financement du Plan d'action À compléter À compléter
Programme sur la qualité de l'eau potable — Services votés-Crédits alloués À compléter À compléter
Total À compléter À compléter

Résultats attendus par programme :

Depuis 2011-2012, AADNC réagit de façon stratégique aux constatations de l'Étude nationale afin d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats relativement à l'approvisionnement en eau potable et au traitement des eaux usées dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à investir, au cours des deux prochaines années, près de 750 millions de dollars (AADNC, 684,3 millions de dollars et Santé Canada, 65,2 millions de dollars) dans l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées. AADNC continuera d'appuyer le développement des capacités des Premières Nations de préserver l'infrastructure en amorçant et en maintenant des relations fortes et en travaillant en étroite collaboration avec les partenaires et les principaux intervenants.

En s'efforçant d'augmenter le pourcentage des Premières Nations équipées de réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées présentant des risques faibles, le gouvernement du Canada aide les Premières Nations à respecter les normes relatives à la santé et à la sécurité et à offrir aux habitants des réserves des services comparables à ceux du reste de la population. Cette démarche va dans le sens des résultats partagés du Plan d'action pour l'eau et de l'objectif de la SFDD : protéger et améliorer la qualité de l'eau de sorte qu'elle soit salubre et sans danger pour tous les Canadiens et qu'elle soutienne des écosystèmes sains.

Santé Canada

 

Affectations totales pour tous les partenaires
fédéraux (de la mise en œuvre à la clôture)
Total Dépenses prévues pour tous les
Partenaires fédéraux pour 2014–2015
À compléter À compléter

Résultats que les partenaires non fédéraux (le cas échéant) doivent atteindre :
S/O

Personne-ressource

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
David Smith
Directeur
Dévelopement des programmes et de partenariats régionaux, Infrastructures communautaires
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-953-6043
david.smith@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Santé Canada
Ivy Chan
Directrice
Conseils interprofessionnels et aide aux programmes Santé environnementale et publique
Direction générale de la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits
Santé Canada
Téléphone : 613-948-7773
ivy.chan@hc-sc.gc.ca

Date de modification :