ARCHIVED - Aboriginal Economic Development Strategic Partnerships Initiative

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Name of lead department(s): Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)

Lead department program: Under AANDC's Program Alignment Architecture, the Strategic Partnerships Initiative is categorized under the Strategic Outcome entitled "The Land and Economy." The program for the initiative is entitled "Strategic Partnerships."

AANDC, as the designated lead department for the program, reports on activities and results for all federal partners under AANDC's Performance Measurement Framework.

Start date of the Horizontal Initiative: June 17, 2010

End date of the Horizontal Initiative: Ongoing

Total federal funding allocation (start to end date): $85.5 million over five years — total Grants and Contributions (G&C) and Operations & Maintenance (O&M)

Description of the Horizontal Initiative (including funding agreement): With a focus on community readiness, the SPI supports Aboriginal participation in the economy, with a particular emphasis on the resource development sectors, including forestry, fisheries, mining, energy and agriculture. The program also supports other key economic development opportunities in areas such as shipbuilding, tourism and potash.

A key component of the new Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development, SPI provides a coordinated federal response to existing and emerging Aboriginal economic development opportunities. The program builds partnerships among participating federal departments and agencies, Aboriginal communities, provincial and territorial governments and the private sector to help Aboriginal Canadians take advantage of complex market-driven opportunities in key and emerging economic sectors. The initiative's funding is designed to fill gaps that cannot be addressed by existing programs.

The initiative also helps to build closer partnerships with non-federal cohorts, including provincial and territorial governments, the private sector and Aboriginal individuals, organizations, businesses and communities. These partnerships help bring together the people and resources required for Aboriginal communities to take advantage of key economic development opportunities across all regions of the country.

Shared outcome(s): SPI supports a horizontal approach to federal investments that ensures that these investments align with and target market-driven opportunities. It also ensures that the Government of Canada is able to anticipate, plan for and engage in opportunities; is able to maximize the results of federal investments; and is better positioned to lever funds from non-federal sources. SPI uses a single-window approach (shared application, monitoring and reporting) to federal investments in identified priorities and addresses program gaps that might preclude Aboriginal participation in economic opportunities. This process also allows funds to flow from multiple programs and departments through one federal lead department in support of the initiative.

Governance structure(s): Central to the governance structure of SPI is the Federal Coordination Committee (FCC) for Aboriginal Economic Development. The FCC validates and prioritizes opportunities taking a whole-of-government approach to investments under the program. The FCC also identifies relevant federal government departments that have a role to play in supporting any given initiative and ensures that they work together with Aboriginal groups to advance these opportunities. A DG-level Investment Committee supports the FCC by reviewing detailed proposals from federal departments on opportunities for consideration under the program and recommending investments to the FCC.

Planning Highlights: SPI is a federal horizontal initiative designed to further the objectives of the Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic by ensuring that:

Risk Assessment and Management:
There is a risk that the Strategic Partnerships Initiative does not achieve the desired level of federal coordination and departments/agencies continue to act independently on key opportunities, not working in partnership with each other or external stakeholders.

There is a risk that due to their complex nature, SPI projects may lead to approval and implementation delays, diffused accountabilities or even project failure.

Federal Partners: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada; Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada; Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency; Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec; Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario; Fisheries and Oceans Canada; Employment and Social Development Canada; Industry Canada, including FedNor; Natural Resources Canada; Parks Canada; Status of Women Canada; Western Economic Diversification Canada

Expected results by program: The objective of the SPI is to increase economic development opportunities for Aboriginal Canadians by stimulating partnerships between federal and non-federal partners and leveraging investments from other levels of government and the private sector. This is intended to lead to greater participation by Aboriginal peoples in the Canadian economy.

SPI will result in partnerships and investments in economic and resource development opportunities. Other outcomes identified for SPI include the following:

Total Allocation For All Federal Partners
from Start to End Date)
Total Planned Spending for All Federal Partners for 2014–2015

$85,500,000 (total G&C and O&M)

$17.3 million

 

AANDC: $9,716,887
CanNor: $1,341,000
DFO: $1,051,945
Parks Canada: TBD
NRCan: TBD
AAFC (Agriculture): TBD

Results to be achieved by non-federal partners (if applicable): N/A

Contact information:

Jennifer Cairnie
Director
Strategic Partnerships Initiative
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Tel.: 819-994-7219
Jennifer.Cairnie@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Initiative de partenariats stratégiques pour le développement économique des Autochtones

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Nom du ou des ministères responsables : Affaires Autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada  (AADNC)

Programme de l'AAP du ministère responsable: En vertu de l'architecture d'alignement de Programmes d'AADNC, l'initiative de partenariats stratégiques est classée dans le résultat stratégique intitulé « Les terres et l'économie ». Le Programme de l'initiative s'intitule « Partenariats stratégiques ».

AADNC, à titre de ministère responsable du Programme, rend compte des activités et des résultats pour tous les partenaires fédéraux conformément au cadre de mesure du rendement d'AADNC.

Date de mise en œuvre : 17 Juin 2010

Date de clôture: Sur une base continue

Montant total des fonds fédéraux affectés (de la mise en œuvre à la clôture) : 85,5 millions de dollars sur 5 ans (total pour les subventions et les contributions (S et C) et pour le fonctionnement et l'entretien (F et E))

Description de l'initiative horizontale (y compris l'accord de financement): Axée sur la préparation des collectivités, l'initiative de partenariats stratégiques (IPS) est un Programme visant à promouvoir la participation des Autochtones à l'économie qui accorde une place importante aux secteurs de mise en valeur des ressources, notamment la foresterie, les pêches, l'exploitation minière, l'énergie et l'agriculture. Le Programme favorise également les possibilités de développement économique dans des domaines tels que la construction navale, le tourisme et la potasse.

Volet important du nouveau Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones, l'IPS offre une réponse fédérale coordonnée aux possibilités déjà existantes et émergentes de développement économique autochtone. Le Programme permet aux ministères et organismes fédéraux, aux collectivités autochtones, aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et au secteur privé qui participent de nouer des partenariats entre eux afin d'aider les Canadiens autochtones à tirer parti de débouchés complexes axés sur le marché dans des secteurs essentiels de l'économie. Le financement de l'initiative a pour objet de combler les lacunes qui ne pourraient être comblées par les Programmes existants.

L'IPS contribue aussi à resserrer les liens avec les cohortes non fédérales, notamment les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, le secteur privé, ainsi que les particuliers, les organisations, les entreprises et les collectivités autochtones. Ces partenariats contribueront à regrouper les personnes et les ressources nécessaires pour permettre aux collectivités autochtones de profiter des possibilités économiques importantes offertes dans toutes les régions du pays.

Résultats partagés : L'IPS favorise une approche horizontale pour les investissements fédéraux, ce qui permettra de s'assurer que les investissements fédéraux cadrent avec les débouchés axés sur le marché et sont ciblés sur ceux-ci. Elle permet également de veiller à ce que le gouvernement du Canada soit en mesure de prévoir, de planifier et de saisir les occasions qui se présentent; qu'il est en mesure d'optimiser les résultats des investissements fédéraux et qu'il est mieux positionné pour tirer profit des fonds provenant de sources non fédérales. En outre, l'IPS offre un mode d'action à guichet unique (demande, surveillance et production de rapports partagées) pour les investissements fédéraux dans les priorités définies et comble les lacunes des Programmes qui pourraient empêcher la participation des Autochtones aux projets de développement économique. Ce processus permet également de procéder à des mouvements de fonds en provenance de plusieurs Programmes et ministères par l'entremise d'un ministère responsable, à l'appui d'une initiative.

Structures de gouvernance : Le Comité de coordination fédéral (CCF) pour le développement économique des Autochtones s'avère essentiel à la structure de gouvernance de l'IPS. Le CCF valide et classe en ordre de priorité les occasions d'adopter une démarche pangouvernementale pour l'investissement en vertu de l'IPS. Le CCF établit également les ministères fédéraux appropriés qui ont un rôle à jouer dans la promotion d'une initiative, et il veille à ce qu'ils travaillent ensemble avec les groupes autochtones, en vue de faire progresser ces occasions. Un comité d'investissement des directeurs généraux appuie le CCF en examinant les propositions détaillées des ministères fédéraux sur les occasions admissibles dans le cadre du Programme et en recommandant des investissements au CCF.

Points saillants de la planification : L'IPS est une initiative horizontale fédérale visant à faire progresser la réalisation des objectifs du Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones en veillant à ce :

Évaluation et gestion des risques :
Il y a un risque que l'initiative de partenariats stratégiques n'atteigne pas le niveau désiré de coordination fédérale et que les ministères et organismes continuent d'agir de manière indépendante à l'égard des occasions importantes, qu'ils ne travaillent pas en partenariat les uns avec les autres ou avec les intervenants externes.

Il y a un risque qu'en raison de leur nature complexe, les projets de l'IPS puissent entraîner des retards dans l'approbation et la mise en œuvre, des responsabilités diffuses ou même l'échec du projet.

Partenaires fédéraux: Affaires Autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada ; Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada; Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord; Développement économique Canada pour les régions du Québec; Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario; Pêches et Océans Canada; Emploi et développement social Canada; Industrie Canada, incluant FedNor; Ressources Naturelles Canada; Parcs Canada; Condition féminine Canada; Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada

Résultats attendus par Programme : L'objectif de l'Initiative de partenariats stratégiques consiste à multiplier les perspectives de développement économique pour les Canadiens autochtones en favorisant la création de partenariats entre les organismes fédéraux et non fédéraux partenaires ainsi qu'en misant sur les investissements d'autres ordres du gouvernement et du secteur privé. Elle vise à améliorer la participation des Autochtones à l'économie canadienne.

L'IPS entraînera la création de partenariats et des investissements dans des possibilités d'activité économique et d'exploitation des ressources. Parmi les autres résultats attendus pour l'IPS, on peut citer :

Affectations totales pour tous les partenaires fédéraux (de la mise en œuvre à la clôture) Total Dépenses prévues pour tous les Partenaires fédéraux pour 2014–2015

85 500 000$ (total des Subventions et contributions et des F et E)

17 300 000 $

 

AADNC : 9 716 887 $
CanNor : 1 341 000 $
MPO : 1 051 945 $
Parcs Canada : à déterminer
RNCan : à déterminer
AAC (Agriculture) : à déterminer

Résultats que les partenaires non fédéraux (le cas échéant) doivent atteindre: S/O

Personne-ressource :

Jennifer Cairnie
Directrice
Initiative de Partenariats stratégiques
Affaires Autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Tél.: 819-994-7219
Jennifer.Cairnie@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date de modification :