Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Act Five-year Review

What is YESAA?

The Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Act (YESAA) was established after Chapter 12 of the Umbrella Final Agreement and Yukon First Nations’ Final Agreements, which require a review of YESAA within five years of it becoming law.  This assessment process applies to all Yukon lands: federal, territorial, First Nation and private. YESAA is federal legislation and was developed by the Council of Yukon First Nations (CYFN), the Government of Yukon and the Government of Canada. (The Umbrella Final Agreement (UFA) is a framework for Yukon First Nations and federal/territorial governments in their negotiations to conclude Yukon First Nation Final Agreements.)

YESAA is a single assessment process for considering the potential affects a proposed development may have on the Yukon’s environment, people, communities and economy.

In 2003, the Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Board (YESAB) was established under the Yukon Environmental and Socio-Economic Assessment Act. Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada provides funding for the Yukon Environmental and Socio-Economic Assessment process.

The review was a joint initiative of the UFA parties: Government of Canada, Council of Yukon First Nations and Government of Yukon, and was completed in March 2012.

The Five-year Review of YESAA examined all aspects of the Yukon development assessment process. The Review was conducted in three phases: information gathering and issues scoping, issues analysis, and response. See the YESAA Five-year Review Process Chart for more information.

The Five-year Review

The Five-year Review of the Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Act examined all aspects of the Yukon development assessment process including:

  • YESAA and its regulations
  • implementation, assessment and decision-making processes
  • implementation plan
  • funding
  • opportunities for public participation in the process
  • phases and timelines
  • process performance expectations
  • process documents such as rules, guides, forms
  • responsibilities, duties and functions of Decision Bodies, YESAB and other participants and their timelines and supporting documentation

Related Documents

L’Examen quinquennal de la Loi sur l’évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique au Yukon (LEESY)

En quoi consiste la Loi sur l’évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique au Yukon?

La Loi sur l’évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique au Yukon (LEESY) a été promulguée conformément au chapitre 12 de l’Accord-cadre définitif et des ententes définitives conclues avec les Premières Nations du Yukon, lesquels précisent que la LEESY doit faire l’objet d’un examen cinq ans après sa promulgation. Le processus d’évaluation créé par cette lois’applique à toutes les terres du Yukon, qu’elles appartiennent au gouvernement fédéral, au gouvernement territorial, à une Première Nation ou à des intérêts privés. La LEESY est une loi fédérale qui a été élaborée par le Conseil des Premières Nations du Yukon, le gouvernement du Yukon et le gouvernement du Canada. (L’Accord-cadre définitif est un document-cadre rédigé pour guider les Premières Nations du Yukon ainsi que les gouvernements fédéral et territorial dans la négociation d’ententes définitives avec les Premières Nations du territoire.)

La Loi sur l’évaluation environnementale du Yukon établit un processus d’évaluation unique permettant de tenir compte des incidences que pourrait avoir un projet d’aménagement proposé sur l’environnement, les résidents, les collectivités et l’économie du Yukon.

En 2003, l’Office d’évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique du Yukon a été créé en vertu de la Loi sur l’évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique du Yukon. AADNC finance le processus d’évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique au Yukon.

L’examen quinquennal, initiative conjointe des parties à l’Accord-cadre définitif, soit le gouvernement du Canada, le conseil des Premières Nations du Yukon et le gouvernement du Yukon, s’est terminé en mars 2012.

L’examen quinquennal de la LEESY a permis d’étudier tous les aspects du processus d’évaluation des projets d’aménagement proposés au Yukon. Il a eu lieu en trois étapes : collecte d’information et établissement de la portée des enjeux, analyse des enjeux, et suivi. Pour en savoir davantage, consultez le diagramme du processus de l’examen quinquennal de la LEESY.

Examen quinquennal

L’examen quinquennal de la Loi sur l’évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique au Yukon a permis d’étudier tous les aspects du processus d’évaluation des projets d’aménagement proposés au Yukon, notamment :

  • LEESY et ses règlements d’application;
  • mise en œuvre, évaluation et processus de prise de décision;
  • plan de mise en œuvre;
  • financement;
  • possibilités pour le public de participer au processus;
  • étapes et échéanciers;
  • attentes par rapport au rendement du processus;
  • documents afférents au processus (règles à suivre, guides et formulaires);
  • responsabilités, obligations et fonctions des organismes de décision, de l’Office d’évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique du Yukon et des autres participants ainsi que délais de réalisation de chacune et documentation pertinente.

Documents connexes