Review of the Performance of the Emergency Management Assistance Program During the 2011-2012 Manitoba Floods - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2013

PDF Version (30 Kb, 5 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2013

Regional Operations Sector – Community Infrastructure Branch

Review of the Performance of the Emergency Management Assistance Program During the 2011-2012 Manitoba Floods
Approval Date: 23/06/12

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program Response
1. EMAP should develop better linkages with other programs within AANDC to ensure an effective system for supporting long term solutions for emergency management hazards and community resilience. Since the 2011 Manitoba floods, EIMD merged with the Community Infrastructure Branch (CIB) and has already begun making important linkages with other departmental programs, particularly with regard to the mitigation and recovery pillars.

EMAP will further leverage existing CFM programming to strengthen risk assessments, mitigation, reporting systems, and promote strategic infrastructure investments (community design, location of new infrastructure, etc).

Currently, EMAP is working closely with the Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program to develop options to strengthen emergency mitigation activities in on-reserve First Nations communities. AANDC will also leverage current activities underway within Public Safety Canada.
Ongoing Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012


EIMD's integration with the Community Infrastructure Branch has created better linkages with other programs such as the Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program and strengthened the Department's ability to support emergency management across all four pillars of emergency management, the mitigation and recovery pillars in particular.

AANDC is engaged in an ongoing dialogue with Public Safety Canada on ways to develop mitigation related policies with a focus on First Nations communities. This work will inform the development of mitigation options and long-term solutions for emergency management that will be communicated to the Minister and senior management of AANDC.

AES: Closed. Sufficient progress has been made.
2. EIMD should develop guidelines for First nation Emergency management Plans that include protocols for how a First Nation can access assistance when their internal resources are overwhelmed. Once the guidelines are in place, the AANDC Manitoba Regional Office should work with First Nations to update their plans and maintain copies of the plans that will form the basis for future coordination work. EMAP will develop a nation First Nations Emergency Management Manual on roles, responsibilities, protocols and service standards and guidelines on how AANDC Regional Office will engage First Nations, provinces and other organizations as well as define roles and responsibilities of all stakeholders. 2012-2013 (Q4) Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2013


EIMD, in collaboration with the regional offices, will develop region-specific handbooks on the delivery of emergency management services to First Nations. The Manitoba handbook will be developed first and all handbooks will be drafted by September 30, 2013.

EIMD, in collaboration with the AFN and AANDC Regional Offices, has created the State of Local Emergency (SOLE) On-Reserve Working Group. Progress has been made on the drafting of a National Framework for the Declaration of a State of Local Emergency by a First Nations Community, a SOLE guideline document, to be completed by March 31, 2013.

New policy emphasis on establishing bilateral agreements with provinces will result in the state of local emergency issue being developed through that mechanism.

To facilitate the roles and responsibilities of federal and provincial and First Nation partners, a Senior ADM Steering Committee has been established. It has been agreed that the focus will be on returning evacuees home. The joint initiative of updating Emergency Plans will be revisited at a later date.

AES: Underway (In progress)
The AANDC MB regional Office and the Manitoba Association of Native First Fighters (MANFF) will work collaboratively to strengthen First Nations emergency management plans by developing and emergency management plan template and supporting First Nations during plan development. 2012-2013 (Q4)
THE AANDC MB Regional Office will engage MANFF to implement a strategy to update and maintain community emergency management plans as well as to collect copies of finalized plans for AANDC’s records. The AANDC MB Regional Office will be responsible for overseeing this work. TBD
3. EIMD and the AANDC Manitoba Regional Office should explore how to scale emergency management roles and responsibilities based on the size and magnitude of emergency events, including when and how Headquarters should become involved in decision-making during a response. The AANDC MB regional Office along with CIB will develop a formalized structure which identifies:

A). various emergency thresholds based on the scale of an event; and B). the associated scale of emergency management roles and responsibilities for each threshold. This structure will clarify roles of Headquarters in the decision making process during an event.

AANDC Regional Emergency Management Plans will be adjusted to reflect these changes.
2013-2014 (Q3)  
4. The AANDC Manitoba Regional Office should develop the capacity to implement the full incident command system during future emergencies. AANDC MB regional Office will develop surge capacity within MB Region that aligns with the Incident Command System (ICS) providing a way of coordinating the efforts of agencies and resources as they work together toward safely responding, controlling, and mitigating as an emergency incident.

In the development of surge capacity, AANDC MB Regional Office will, explore best practices and other regional examples to help develop a surge capacity team that can be both effective and efficient and suits the needs for Manitoba First nation communities
2012-2013 (Q4)
(March 31, 2013)
Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2013


AANDC Manitoba Regional Office is exploring how other regions are dealing with surge capacity and developing an implementation plan to realign emergency management under the Directorate of Governance and Individual Affairs with cross training of additional staff.

AES: Underway (In progress)
5. In consultation with the AANDC Regional Offices, EIMD should develop clear procedures, protocols or guidelines for conducting risk assessments and supporting emergency responses (including activities such as flood fighting and evacuations). AANDC will use existing information about First Nation communities including First Nations emergency management plans, regional expertise, AANDC General Assessment and inspection reports for infrastructure to develop a risk based model that will support the department and First Nations in implementing appropriate mitigation activities.

Conducting community-level risk assessments is a First Nation responsibility and is part of an emergency management plan. AANDC is responsible for supporting First Nations in conducting risk assessments and, in Manitoba, the AANDC Regional Office will engage MANFF to provide this support.
2013-14 Q1 (Risk Assessment Database)  
6. Once the governance structure and processes have been clarified, EIMD and the AANDC Manitoba Regional Office should engage with partners to develop an effective emergency management system for Manitoba First Nation communities. AANDC to develop options to implement an efficient emergency management system for Manitoba First Nations communities.

AANDC to continue to participate in bi-lateral negotiations with the Province of Manitoba and Manitoba Association of Native Fire Fighters (MANFF) for Emergency Management Service Agreements in support of Aboriginal communities in Manitoba, as well as, Public Safety Canada regarding the Disaster Financial Assistance Arrangements (DFAA) program.
Ongoing Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2013


No change in Q4

AES: Underway (In progress)
 
 
Date modified:

Examen du rendement du Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences pendant les inondations de 2011-2012 au Manitoba - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2013

Format PDF (31 Ko, 5 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 mars 2013

Secteur des opérations régionales – Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires

Examen du rendement du Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences pendant les inondations de 2011-2012 au Manitoba
Date d'approbation 2012-06-23

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme  
1. Le Programme d’aide à la gestion des urgences (PAGU) doit être davantage lié aux autres programmes d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) afin que le système soit efficace et favorise les solutions à long terme en ce qui a trait à la gestion des urgences et à la résilience des collectivités. Depuis les inondations de 2011 au Manitoba, la Direction de la gestion des urgences et des enjeux (DGUE) s’est jointe à la Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires (DGIC), et elle a déjà commencé à établir des liens pertinents avec d’autres programmes du Ministère, surtout en ce qui a trait aux mesures d’atténuation et de rétablissement.

Le PAGU mettra davantage à contribution le Programme d’immobilisations et d’entretien (PIE) actuel dans le but d’améliorer l’évaluation des risques, les mesures d’atténuation et les systèmes de signalement, et de promouvoir des investissements stratégiques en matière d’infrastructure (aménagement de la collectivité, emplacement de la nouvelle structure, etc.).

À l’heure actuelle, les représentants du PAGU travaillent étroitement avec ceux du PIE afin de trouver des façons de renforcer les mesures d’atténuation des urgences au sein des collectivités des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves. AADNC mettra aussi à contribution les activités en cours de Sécurité publique Canada.
En cours État : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2012


L'intégration de la DGUE à la Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires (DGIC) a permis de créer des liens plus solides avec d'autres programmes, comme le programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien, et de renforcer la capacité du Ministère d'appuyer la gestion des urgences parmi les quatre piliers de la gestion des urgences, plus particulièrement les piliers concernant les mesures d'atténuation et le rétablissement.

AADNC a engagé un dialogue continu avec Sécurité publique Canada concernant les façons d'élaborer des politiques sur les mesures d'atténuation axées sur les collectivités des Premières Nations. Ces efforts permettront d'éclairer l'établissement de mesures d'atténuation et de solutions à long terme pour la gestion des urgences; ces mesures et solutions seront communiquées au ministre et à la haute direction d'AADNC.

SVE : Fermeture du dossier. Progrès suffisants.
2. La DGUE doit émettre des lignes directrices concernant les plans de gestion des urgences des Premières Nations, y compris un protocole de demande d’aide que les Premières Nations pourront utiliser si les ressources locales sont débordées. Une fois les lignes directrices en place, le bureau régional d’AADNC au Manitoba devra aider les Premières Nations à mettre à jour leur plan, dont il conservera une copie en vue d’un effort de coordination ultérieur.

Dans le cadre du PAGU, on concevra un manuel sur la gestion des urgences à l’intention des Premières Nations qui présentera les rôles et les responsabilités de chacun, de même que les protocoles et les normes de service qui s’appliquent. On élaborera aussi des lignes directrices afin d’expliquer le travail du bureau régional d’AADNC auprès des Premières Nations, des provinces et d’autres organismes, et de définir les rôles et les responsabilités de tous les intervenants.

Par ailleurs, le PAGU comportera des lignes directrices sur la déclaration de l’état d’urgence et sur la façon de déterminer quand il incombe aux Premières Nations de déclarer une situation d’urgence. Cet outil contribuera à clarifier les rôles et les responsabilités de chacun et à accroître l’efficacité du programme.

2012-2013 – 4e trimestre État : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2013


La DGUE, en collaboration avec les bureaux régionaux, préparera des manuels propres à chaque région sur la prestation des services de gestion des urgences aux Premières Nations. Le manuel du Manitoba sera préparé en premier, et les autres seront rédigés d’ici le 30 septembre 2013.

La DGUE, en collaboration avec l’APN et les bureaux régionaux d’AADNC, a mis sur pied le Groupe de travail sur l’état d’urgence local dans les réserves. Des progrès ont été réalisés en ce qui a trait à l’élaboration du Cadre national pour la déclaration de l’état d’urgence local par les collectivités des Premières Nations – les lignes directrices sur l’état d’urgence local –, qui devrait être achevé d’ici le 31 mars 2013.

La nouvelle importance stratégique accordée à l’élaboration d’ententes bilatérales avec les provinces fera en sorte que la question de l’état d’urgence local sera élaborée au moyen de ce mécanisme.

Un comité directeur des SMA principaux a été mis sur pied afin de faciliter le rôle et les responsabilités des partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux et des Premières Nations. Il a été convenu de mettre l’accent sur le retour à la maison des personnes évacuées. L’initiative conjointe visant à mettre à jour les plans de gestion des urgences sera modifiée ultérieurement.

SVE : En cours (se poursuit)
Afin de peaufiner les plans de gestion des urgences des Premières Nations, le bureau régional d’AADNC au Manitoba obtiendra le concours de la Manitoba Association of Native Fire Fighters (MANFF) pour créer un modèle de plan et aider les Premières Nations à le préparer. 2012-2013 — 4e trimestre
Le bureau régional d’AADNC au Manitoba confiera à la MANFF le mandat d’adopter une stratégie concernant la mise à jour et l’entretien des plans de gestion des urgences des collectivités. La MANFF devra aussi recueillir une copie des plans définitifs pour les dossiers d’AADNC. C’est le bureau régional d’AADNC au Manitoba qui surveillera cette tâche. À déterminer
3. La DGUE et le bureau régional d’AADNC au Manitoba doivent se pencher sur une échelle des rôles et des responsabilités en matière de gestion des urgences selon la portée et l’ampleur de la situation. Ils doivent notamment déterminer à quel moment le bureau national doit participer aux décisions d’intervention, et préciser la procédure à suivre à cet égard. Le bureau régional d’AADNC au Manitoba collaborera avec la DGIC afin de mettre au point une structure officielle comportant :
A) divers niveaux d’urgence en fonction de la gravité de la situation;
B) une échelle des rôles et des responsabilités en matière de gestion des urgences qui correspondent à chaque niveau.

Cette structure éclaircira le rôle du bureau national dans le processus décisionnel en situation d’urgence.

Les plans régionaux de gestion des urgences d’AADNC seront modifiés en conséquence.
2013-2014 – 3e trimestre  
4. Le bureau régional d’AADNC au Manitoba doit faire le nécessaire pour pouvoir utiliser l’ensemble du Système de commandement des interventions (SCI) en situation d’urgence à l’avenir. Le bureau régional du Manitoba dotera la province d’une capacité d’intervention répondant aux besoins du SCI, qui permettra aux organismes et aux ressources de coordonner leurs efforts afin d’intervenir, de maîtriser la situation d’urgence et de l’atténuer de façon sécuritaire. 2012-2013 – 4e trimestre

(31 mars 2013)
État : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2013


Le bureau régional d’AADNC au Manitoba examine la façon dont les autres régions composent avec la capacité d’appoint et élaborent un plan de mise en œuvre pour harmoniser la gestion des urgences, qui relève de la Direction de la gouvernance et des affaires individuelles, avec la formation réciproque du personnel supplémentaire.

SVE : En cours (se poursuit)
5. En consultation avec les bureaux régionaux d’AADNC, la DGUE doit mettre en place des procédures, des lignes directrices ou des protocoles clairs entourant l’évaluation des risques et l’aide en matière d'intervention d’urgence (par exemple, l'évacuation ou la lutte contre les inondations). À partir des renseignements dont le Ministère dispose sur les collectivités des Premières Nations, y compris les plans de gestion des urgences locaux, l’expertise régionale et les rapports généraux d’évaluation et d’inspection des infrastructures du Ministère, AADNC concevra un modèle fondé sur les risques pour que les Premières Nations et lui puissent prendre les mesures d’atténuation qui s'imposent.

Il incombe aux Premières Nations d’évaluer les risques locaux dans le cadre de leur plan de gestion des urgences. AADNC doit aider les Premières Nations à le faire. Au Manitoba, le bureau régional confiera cette tâche à la MANFF.
T1 2013-2014 (Base de données sur l'évaluation du risque)  
6. Une fois la structure de gouvernance et les procédures établies, la DGUE et le bureau régional d’AADNC au Manitoba doivent travailler avec des partenaires afin de mettre en place un système de gestion des urgences efficace pour les collectivités des Premières Nations du Manitoba. AADNC va se pencher sur des façons de mettre en place un système de gestion des urgences efficace pour les collectivités des Premières Nations du Manitoba.

AADNC va continuer à participer aux négociations bilatérales sur les ententes de services relativement à la gestion des urgences entre la province du Manitoba et la MANFF visant à aider les collectivités autochtones du Manitoba, et aux négociations concernant l’Accord d’aide financière en cas de catastrophe (AAFCC) de Sécurité publique Canada.
En cours État : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2013


Aucun changement au 4e trimestre

SVE : En cours (se poursuit)
 
 
Date de modification :