Transfer Payments - Terms and Conditions

Terms and conditions set out the parameters under which transfer payments may be made for a given program. At Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC), we are focusing our efforts on simplifying and streamlining our services. An integral part of these efforts is the consolidation of the transfer payment terms and conditions.

Consolidation of Authorities

In an effort to bring greater clarity and understanding to its suite of programs, the Department has undertaken a consolidation of some of its transfer payment terms and conditions. This consolidation will contribute to increased flexibility and supports the reduction of reporting burden for recipients, as well as more appropriately managing the administration of transfer payments. The goal is to collapse multiple, and often duplicative, stand alone authorities into natural groupings based on program themes.

There will be no changes to spending levels or any cuts resulting from this consolidation. This initiative is purely administrative in nature and aimed at improving the way the Department does business. A Table Summary of Changes - Consolidation of Transfer Payment Terms and Conditions has been developed that explains the changes to the consolidated authorities.

To help recipients in the completion of their 2014–15 funding agreements, the Department is making available online all of its Terms and Conditions for AANDC Transfer Payments. These terms and conditions come into effect April 1, 2014 and are subject to the availability of funding appropriated by Parliament.

This initiative reflects recommendations made by the Blue Ribbon Panel on Grants and Contributions, and requirements under Treasury Board's Policy on Transfer Payments, both of which aim to provide clarity and consistency for all of government. This initiative also addresses the June 2011, Office of the Auditor General of Canada Report, which called for changes to reduce the administrative burden on First Nation communities.

You may also be interested in:

Paiements de transfert - Modalités

Les modalités énoncent les paramètres selon lesquels les paiements de transfert peuvent être faits dans le cadre d'un programme donné. Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) s'emploie à rationaliser et à simplifier ses services. Les modalités des paiements de transfert sont au cœur de ces efforts.

Regroupement des autorisations de financement

Afin de clarifier ses programmes et d'en améliorer la compréhension, le Ministère a entrepris de regrouper certaines modalités associées aux paiements de transfert. Ce regroupement permettra une souplesse accrue et appuiera la réduction du fardeau administratif des bénéficiaires tout en améliorant la gestion des paiements de transfert. L'objectif consistait à regrouper de multiples autorisations indépendantes, qui souvent se répétaient, en des regroupements naturels fondés sur les thèmes des programmes.

Les niveaux de dépenses resteront les mêmes et le regroupement des autorisations n'occasionnera aucune coupe. Cette initiative purement administrative est destinée à améliorer le mode de gestion du Ministère. Un Tableau sommaire des changements - Consolidation des modalités applicables aux paiements de transfert a été créé pour expliquer les changements apportés aux autorisations regroupées.

Afin d'aider les bénéficiaires à remplir leurs ententes de financement pour 2014-2015, le Ministère publie en ligne les Modalités pour les paiements de transfert d'AADNC dont il assure le versement. Ces modalités entreront en vigueur le 1er avril 2014 et sont sujettes à l'accès aux crédits parlementaires.

Cette initiative tient compte des recommandations du Groupe d'experts sur les programmes de subventions et de contributions et des exigences de la Politique sur les paiements de transfert du Conseil du Trésor, qui visent tous deux à assurer clarté et uniformité dans l'ensemble du gouvernement. L'initiative tient également compte du rapport de juin 2011 du Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada, dans lequel on demandait des changements afin de réduire le fardeau administratif des collectivités des Premières Nations.

Autres liens d'intérêt :