Evaluation of the Family Violence Prevention Program - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2013

PDF Version (29 Kb, 5 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2013

Education, Social Development and Partnerships Program

Evaluation of the Family Violence Prevention Program
em>Approval Date: 02/24/2012
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. FVPP should ensure that its priorities for shelter services and prevention activities are aligned with program objectives. Following the example of Alberta and Manitoba which have regional boards, FVPP should develop strategy approaches to funding prevention activities including projects that serve multiple communities. AANDC HQ will continue to work with regions on approaches to distribute prevention funds more strategically and to achieve value for money.

AANDC HQ will continue to work with the National Aboriginal Circle Against Family Violence to support capacity for shelters.
Start: April 1st, 2012

End: March 31st, 2013
Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2013


All regions are implementing region-specific strategic funding approaches to prevention projects which encourage innovation and partnerships. For example, Alberta and Manitoba are supporting First Nation prevention boards to help distribute prevention funding to communities. British Columbia has engaged First Nations on the development of a new funding approach which sets aside strategic funding for region-wide initiatives that benefit multiple communities. A national proposal guide is still under development.

Work with the National Aboriginal Circle Against Family Violence (NACAFV) is ongoing through annual contribution funding arrangements. In 2012-13, NACAFB hosted a training workshop for shelter staff, a shelter director’s conference and continues to offer awareness and training materials on its website.

AES: Close – Structures and processes are in place to address the recommendation.
2. The FVPP should enhance capacity of shelters where feasible. AANDC HQ will work with regions as well as with NACAFV to support capacity for shelters; however, the extent of capacity building will depend on the outcome of policy and program renewals. Start: April 1st, 2012

End: Ongoing
Status: Ongoing (Underway)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/12/2012


The FVPP supported NACAFV’s shelter director conference in December 2013. This event helped enhance shelter capacity by providing training as well as a forum for shelter directors to understand challenges, share best practices, and work together to address common issues.

In addition, the FVPP is developing and testing compliance tools and has conducted site visits to shelters in Ontario and Alberta. These activities are ongoing and will expand to all regions. The FVPP has updated its data collection instrument for 2013-2014 and intends to work further with shelter directors on these for the 2014-2015 data collection instruments.

This work helps to enhance shelter capacity by working directly with shelters to improve working relationships, address challenges and share best practices.

AES: Closed. Processes are in place to address the recommendation. The work will need to be ongoing.
3. The FVPP should establish clear performance measures and targets for prevention activities and the continuum of services. Performance measure such as proxies that can be used to measure incidents and rates of family violence on-reserve. Rates of family violence are difficult to capture on and off reserve, at both an aggregate and community level.

As a result, AANDC HQ will develop performance measures and targets aligned with our current Umbrella Performance Measurement Strategy and will explore measures such as proxies that can be used to measure incidents and rates of family violence on-reserve.
Start: April 1, 2012

End: March 31st, 2013
Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2013


Six key performance indicators and targets for the FVPP are outlined in Social Program’s 2011 Performance Measurement Strategy. To support measuring against these key indicators, FVPP streamlined its data collection instrument for 2013-2014 from two annual reports to one. New data will be collected on the leveraging of funding, recipient partnering efforts, engagement with community strategic planning processes, as well as information on shelter usage and clientele demographics. FVPP will review and if needed update annually its data collection instrument while continuing to work with key partners to explore data sources/proxies on rates of family violence on- reserve.

AES: Close – Structures and processes are in place to address the recommendation.
4. The FVPP should strengthen linkages with other departments, levels of government and communities to ensure that shelter services and prevention projects are delivered in a coordinated manner to improve access. AANDC will continue to participate in the federal Family Violence Initiative, and through joint Health Canada/AANDC committee on collaboration, strengthen linkages between on-reserve programs.

AANDC will support where possible, regional gatherings to share information and best practices to encourage coordination at the community level.

AANDC will encourage through its Social Programs National Manual coordination at the community level.
Start: April 1st, 2012

End: Ongoing
Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2013


In January 2013, HQ participated in site visits with two Alberta family violence shelters, and in a meeting with the Three Eagle Wellness Society which administer prevention funds on behalf of Alberta First Nations. This work provided insight on best practices, partnerships and challenges experienced by the shelters and the prevention board. Also, in February 2013, HQ participated in the National Aboriginal Circle Against Family Violence Annual Training Forum for shelter staff. This was an opportunity to hear directly from front-line workers and to share information.

AANDC has initiated bilateral meetings with CMHC; the first meeting took place in January 2013. CMHC and AANDC committed to meet again, share policy/program documents and develop a joint shelter chart to share information and explore areas for improved coordination. AANDC is also currently working with the Status of Women Canada and other partners such as Justice, Public Safety and Public Health Agency on options to improve federal coordination in the area of violence against women.

AES: Underway (in progress) – The program is exploring options to strengthen the coordination of services.
5. The FVPP should explore opportunities to build family violence prevention objectives into community planning and processes and integrate service delivery with other prevention programs. AANDC will explore, through its current efforts on the Community Development Framework, options for communities to build family violence prevention into their community-based plans to support integration of service delivery at the community level.

AANDC will encourage through its Social Program National Manual coordination at the community level.
Start: April 1st, 2012

End: Ongoing
Status: Request to Close (Completed)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2013


The updated FVPP 2013-14 data collection instrument assesses efforts at integrating service delivery with other prevention programs by asking recipients to identify their existing partnerships with other governments, organizations, and programs. The information will be useful to determine the extent of community planning processes and integration. Data on community planning and coordination will become available in 2014-15 and will be reported against in recommendation #4.

AES: Close – Structures and processes are in place to determine options for integrating family violence prevention programming and community planning.
Date modified:

Évaluation du Programme pour la prévention de la violence familiale - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2013

Format PDF (33 Ko, 6 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 mars 2013

Programme de sensibilisation, de développement social et de partenariats (PPVF)

Évaluation du Programme pour la prévention de la violence familiale
Date d'approbation 2012-02-24
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Le PPVF devrait veiller à ce que ses priorités concernant les services de refuge et les activités de prévention cadrent avec ses objectifs. À l’instar de l’Alberta et du Manitoba, qui ont des conseils régionaux, le PPVF devrait élaborer des mesures stratégiques pour le financement des activités de prévention, dont des projets qui servent plusieurs collectivités. L’AC d’AANDC continuera de travailler avec les régions à des approches visant à financer de manière stratégique les activités de prévention et à optimiser les ressources.

L’AC d’AANDC continuera de collaborer avec le Cercle national autochtone contre la violence familiale (CNACVF) afin de renforcer la capacité des services de refuge.
Début :
Le 1er avril 2012

Fin :

Le 31 mars 2013
État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (Terminé)

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 31 mars 2013 


Tous les bureaux régionaux appliquent des méthodes de financement stratégique pour les projets de prévention qui favorisent l’innovation et les partenariats. À titre d’exemple, l’Alberta et le Manitoba aident les conseils de prévention des Premières Nations à distribuer des fonds de prévention aux collectivités. La Colombie­Britannique a discuté avec les Premières Nations de l’élaboration d’une nouvelle méthode de financement consistant à mettre de côté des fonds en vue du financement stratégique d’initiatives régionales profitables à de nombreuses collectivités. L’élaboration d’un guide national de préparation des propositions n’est pas encore terminée.

Les travaux se poursuivent avec le CNACVF dans le cadre d’ententes annuelles de contribution. En 2012­2013, le CNACVF a organisé un atelier de formation à l’intention des préposés des maisons d’hébergement, de même qu’une conférence des directeurs de maisons d’hébergement. De plus, il continue de publier du matériel de sensibilisation et de formation sur son site Web.

SVE : Dossier clos – Des structures et des processus sont en place pour donner suite à la recommandation.
2. Dans la mesure du possible, le PPVF devrait améliorer la capacité des refuges. L’AC d’AANDC travaillera avec les régions et le CNACVF afin d’améliorer la capacité des refuges. Toutefois, l’amélioration dépendra de ce qui découlera du renouvellement des politiques et des programmes. Début :
Le 1er avril 2012

En cours
État : En cours (se poursuit)

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 31 décembre 2012


Le personnel du PPVF a appuyé la conférence des directeurs de refuges du CNACVF en 2013. Cet événement a contribué à renforcer la capacité des refuges par la formation offerte. En outre, le forum des directeurs de refuges a permis de comprendre les difficultés, de partager des pratiques exemplaires et de collaborer pour s’attaquer aux problèmes communs.

En outre, le personnel du PPVF élabore et met à l’essai des outils de conformité et il visite des refuges en Ontario et en Alberta. Ces activités se poursuivent et se dérouleront dans toutes les régions. Le personnel du PPVF a mis à jour son instrument de collecte des données pour 2013-2014 et il a l’intention de poursuivre son travail avec les directeurs de refuges dans ce domaine concernant les instruments de collecte des données 2014-2015.

Ce travail contribue à renforcer la capacité des refuges afin d’améliorer les relations de travail, de relever les défis et de partager des pratiques exemplaires.

SVE : Fermé. Des processus sont en place pour la mise en œuvre de la recommandation. Il faudrait poursuivre les efforts.
3. Le PPVF devrait établir des mesures et des cibles de rendement précises pour les activités de prévention et le continuum des services. Par exemple, il devrait définir des indicateurs servant à évaluer les incidents et les taux de violence familiale dans les réserves. Il est difficile de déterminer les taux de violence familiale à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des réserves, tant dans l’ensemble que dans la collectivité.

Par conséquent, l’AC d’AANDC élaborera des mesures et des cibles de rendement conformes à la stratégie globale de mesure du rendement actuelle et explorera des façons d’évaluer les incidents et les taux de violence familiale dans les réserves, notamment au moyen d’indicateurs.
Début :
Le 1er avril 2012

Fin :

Le 31 mars 2013
État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (Terminé)

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 31 mars 2013
 

Six indicateurs et cibles de rendement clés applicables au PPVF sont énoncés dans la Stratégie de mesure du rendement des programmes sociaux de 2011. Afin d’appuyer les activités de mesure du rendement en fonction de ces indicateurs clés, le PPVF a simplifié son instrument de collecte de données pour 2013­2014 de manière à ce qu’un seul rapport annuel, plutôt que deux, ne soit exigé. De nouvelles données seront recueillies sur l’obtention de financement, les efforts de partenariat des bénéficiaires, la participation à des processus de planification stratégique communautaire, l’utilisation des maisons d’hébergement, ainsi que sur le profil démographique de la clientèle. Chaque année, le personnel du PPVF examinera et mettra à jour, au besoin, son instrument de collecte de données tout en continuant à travailler avec ses principaux partenaires pour analyser les indicateurs ou les sources de données sur le taux de violence familiale dans les réserves.

SVE : Dossier clos – Des structures et des processus sont en place pour donner suite à la recommandation.
4. Le PPVF devrait accroître ses liens avec d’autres ministères, ordres de gouvernements et collectivités pour que les services de refuge et les projets de prévention soient coordonnés de manière à en améliorer l’accès. AANDC continuera de participer à l’Initiative de lutte contre la violence familiale du gouvernement fédéral et, par l’intermédiaire du comité mixte de Santé Canada et d’AANDC sur la collaboration, de consolider les liens entre les programmes dans les réserves.

Dans la mesure du possible, AANDC appuiera la mise en commun de renseignements et de pratiques exemplaires dans les régions afin de favoriser la coordination dans les collectivités.

AANDC favorisera la coordination dans les collectivités au moyen du manuel du Programme social national.
Début :

Le 1er avril 2012

En cours
État : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 31 mars 2013
 

En janvier 2013, le personnel de l’AC s’est rendu dans deux refuges pour les victimes de violence familiale en Alberta et a participé à une réunion avec la Three Eagle Wellness Society, qui administre les fonds de prévention au nom des Premières Nations de l’Alberta. Ce travail a donné un aperçu des pratiques exemplaires, des partenariats et des difficultés auxquelles sont confrontés les refuges et le conseil de prévention. De plus, en février 2013, l’AC a participé au forum national de formation du personnel des refuges organisé par le Cercle national des Autochtones contre la violence familiale. Cela a permis d’entendre directement le témoignage des intervenants de première ligne et d’échanger de l’information.

AANDC a commencé à tenir des réunions bilatérales avec la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement (SCHL); la première a eu lieu en janvier 2013. La SCHL et AANDC se sont engagés à se rencontrer de nouveau, à échanger des documents sur les politiques ou les programmes et à créer un tableau conjoint des refuges afin de permettre de communiquer de l’information et d’examiner les possibilités d’améliorer la coordination. En outre, AANDC collabore actuellement avec Condition féminine Canada et d’autres partenaires, tels que le ministère de la Justice, la Sécurité publique et l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada pour trouver des solutions visant à améliorer la coordination fédérale dans le domaine de la violence faite aux femmes.

SVE : En cours (se poursuit) – Le personnel du Programme examine des options en vue de renforcer la coordination des services.
5. Le PPVF devrait étudier les possibilités d’incorporer des objectifs en matière de violence familiale dans la planification communautaire et d’intégrer la prestation de services dans d’autres programmes de prévention. Dans ses efforts à l’égard du Cadre de développement communautaire, AANDC explorera des possibilités pour les collectivités d’incorporer la prévention de la violence familiale dans leurs plans communautaires afin d’appuyer l’intégration de la prestation de services dans les collectivités.

AANDC favorisera la coordination dans les collectivités au moyen du manuel du Programme social national.
Début :
Le 1er avril 2012

En cours
État : Demande de fermeture de dossier (Terminé)

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 31 mars 2013


L’instrument de collecte de données du PPVF mis à jour pour 2013-2014 permet d’évaluer les efforts d’intégration de la prestation des services aux autres programmes de prévention en demandant aux bénéficiaires d’indiquer leurs partenariats actuels avec d’autres gouvernements, organisations et programmes. Ces renseignements seront utiles pour déterminer l’étendue de l’intégration et des processus de planification communautaire. Les données sur la planification et la coordination dans les collectivités seront disponibles en 2014-2015 et devront faire l’objet de rapports en réponse à la recommandation no 4.

SVE : Dossier clos – Des structures et des processus sont en place pour déterminer les possibilités d’intégrer la prévention de la violence familiale dans les plans communautaires.
Date de modification :