Evaluation of Shelter Allowance as it Relates to On-Reserve Housing - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2013

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (26 Kb, 3 Pages)

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2013

EDUCATION & SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMS AND PARTNERSHIPS

Evaluation of Shelter Allowance as it Relates to On-Reserve Housing
Approval Date: August 9, 2011
Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. Review the National Shelter Allowance policy, including the objectives and eligibility criteria to:
  • clarify the intended scope and intent of the funding and the degree to which it is expected to contribute to shelter costs and
  • ensure that it is applied in a consistent manner across regions and reflects the provincial comparability principle.
Social Policy and Programs Branch (SPPD) is in the process of developing a strategy to address the shelter allowance issues as part of the Income Assistance reform process. Completion Date

Fall 2011
Work plan
Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2013
>

SPPB has conducted an analysis of how the shelter allowance works in each region. There is substantial variability and getting to a uniform policy would require significant adjustments at the community level and significant incremental funding. Policy revisions would also have to be linked to broader housing policy issues. SPPB continues to assess how the Shelter Allowance Policy is working and identify gaps through compliance reviews of the Income Assistance Program. A phased approach is planned, starting with testing and shifting approaches for shelter regimes (e.g. development of rental regimes).

SPPB continues to work with the Community Infrastructure Branch (CIB), Health Canada and CMHC to improve and ensure program alignment.

SPPB is exploring potential partnership initiatives with CIB as pilot projects to help build community capacity to manage housing and to deliver the shelter allowance component of the income assistance program in alignment with provincial regulations in BC.

Three First Nation communities in British Columbia (Lowe Nicola, Seabird Island and Chemainus) have signed Interim Agreements with AANDC BC Region as a transitional step towards implementing incremental changes to shelter allowance and achieve provincial alignment.

Other pilot projects related to shelter allowance are being explored to test models that could contribute to facilitating incremental changes to the shelter allowance component of the Income Assistance Program. Funding options will be explored that leverage resources through partnerships with other federal departments, First Nations and other partners.

As a first step to engage FNs, AANDC has met with the Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs (UBCIC) in BC and AFN to seek their input on the options to move forward with adopting incremental changes to the shelter allowance component of the Income Assistance Program.

AES: Underway

SPPD is in the midst of projects and initiatives designed to advance program alignment and partnerships. Pilot projects are underway and they are beginning to engage First Nations on discussions of incremental change.
SPPB has initiated discussions with Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada’s (AANDC) Community Infrastructure Branch and regional offices, as well as Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) to identify issues and provincial comparability. A work plan is being developed targeting Fall 2011 to identify options for the renewal of the policy.

A Working Group (including, AANDC’s Community Infrastructure, Regional offices, Income Assistance Program and CMHC is in the process of being established. Its mandate will consist of:

  1. facilitating and defining the scope of the review process of the policy,
  2. engaging First Nation organizations at regional and national level,
  3. exploring and proposing options for the review of the shelter allowance policy within the context of the Income Assistance reform, and

Identifying roles and responsibilities with regard to compliance.
Spring 2012
Policy Revisions
2. Clarify AANDC's role and responsibilities with regard to monitoring the implementation of Shelter Allowance in First Nation communities. The Working Group will facilitate discussions with SPPB, AANDC’s regional offices and Community Infrastructure Branch, CMHC and other stakeholders.
  • SPPB will work with its partners to clarify roles and responsibilities.
As part of the Income Assistance program accountabilities, SPPB will work with its partners to continue strengthening the shelter allowance program management through the application of performance and risk management strategies and compliance activities.
Spring 2012 Status: Recommend to Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2012


Social Policy Programs Branch has clarified the roles and responsibilities with regions, Community Infrastructure Branch, Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, Health Canada and other partners.

These roles and responsibilities will be shared with First nations and other stakeholders.

AANDC has developed an evergreen multi-step plan (see above) for the IA program that includes:
  • Alignment of the Key Performance Indicators.
  • Data Collection from a single point of data entry.
  • Data Collection Instrument (DCI) management.
  • Risk-based reporting.
AES: Closed – Fully Implemented

Structures and processes are in place to address this recommendation.
3. Clearly communicate the objectives of the Shelter Allowance program, as well as the determination of rates and eligibility criteria, to First Nations and other stakeholders. SPPB is aware that changes to policy need to be clearly communicated to all parties.

SPPB will work with the Working Group, partners and stakeholders to develop a communication strategy to communicate the objectives of the Shelter Allowance program and the recommended policy option with First Nation communities, partners and stakeholders.
Summer 2012 Status: Underway

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2013


As the Shelter Allowance component of the IA program is under review and the implementation plan has not been approved yet, the Communication Strategy and media lines are still to be completed and shared. In the meantime, AANDC has engaged the Union of British Columbia Chiefs (UBCIC) in BC and the AFN in discussions around the reform of the Shelter Allowance component of the Income Assistance Program.

AES: Underway

SPPD is currently awaiting the completion of program review and an implementation plan, communication strategy and media lines.
Date modified:

Évaluation de l'allocation-logement destinée au logement dans les réserves - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2013

Format PDF (29 Ko, 4 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 mars 2013

PROGRAMMES ET PARTENARIATS EN MATIÈRE D'ÉDUCATION ET DE DÉVELOPPEMENT SOCIAL

Évaluation de l'allocation-logement destinée au logement dans les réserves
Date d'approbation Le 9 août 2011
Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date d'achèvement prévue Réponse du programme
1. Revoir la politique nationale sur l'allocation-logement, y compris ses objectifs et critères d'admissibilité, pour
  • préciser la portée et l’intention du financement et la mesure dans laquelle celui-ci devrait contribuer à payer les frais de logement;
  • veiller à ce que la politique soit appliquée uniformément à l'échelle des régions et rende compte de la comparabilité provinciale.
La Direction générale de la politique sociale et des programmes (DGPSP) travaille à l’élaboration d’une stratégie pour traiter les enjeux de l’allocation-logement dans le cadre de la réforme de l’aide au revenu. Date d’achèvement

Automne 2011
Plan de travail
État : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 31 mars 2013


La DGPSP a analysé le fonctionnement de l’allocation-logement dans chaque région et a observé une grande variabilité. Il faudrait faire des ajustements considérables au niveau des collectivités et obtenir un important financement supplémentaire pour uniformiser la politique. Les modifications apportées à la politique devraient également être liées à des questions de politique plus vastes en matière de logement. La DGPSP continue d’évaluer le fonctionnement de la politique et de cerner les lacunes au moyen d’examens de la conformité du Programme d’aide au revenu. Une approche progressive est prévue, et la première étape consiste à mettre à l’essai et à changer les méthodes des régimes de logement (p. ex, élaboration de régimes de location).

La DGPSP continue de travailler avec la DGIC, Santé Canada et la SCHL afin d’améliorer et d’harmoniser le Programme.

La DGPSP explore des initiatives éventuelles de partenariat avec la DGIC en tant que projets pilotes en vue de contribuer au développement des capacités communautaires de gestion du logement et d’exécution de la composante d’allocation-logement du Programme d’aide au revenu, conformément aux règlements provinciaux en C.­B.

Trois collectivités des Premières Nations (Lowe Nicola, Seabird Island et Chemainus) ont signé des ententes provisoires avec le bureau régional d’AADNC en C.­B.. Il s’agit là d’une étape de transition vers la mise en œuvre des changements graduels apportés à l’allocation-logement et vers l’harmonisation provinciale.

D’autres projets pilotes liés à l’allocation-logement sont examinés en vue de mettre à l’essai les modèles qui pourraient contribuer à faciliter la mise en œuvre des changements graduels à la composante d’allocation­logement du Programme d’aide au revenu. Des options de financement consistant à optimiser les ressources en créant des partenariats avec d’autres ministères fédéraux, des Premières Nations et d’autres organisations sont envisagées.

Pour obtenir la participation des Premières Nations, AADNC a d’abord rencontré l’Union des chefs indiens de la Colombie­Britannique et l’APN pour obtenir leurs commentaires sur la possibilité d’aller de l’avant avec l’adoption des changements graduels proposés pour la composante d’allocation­logement du Programme d’aide au revenu.

SVE : En cours

La Direction de la planification et de la politique stratégique (DPPS) est au cœur de projets et d’initiatives visant à faire progresser l’harmonisation du Programme et la création de partenariats. Des projets pilotes sont en cours et commencent à susciter la participation des Premières Nations aux discussions sur les changements graduels.


La DGPSP a amorcé des discussions avec les bureaux régionaux et la Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires (DGIC) d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC), ainsi que la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement (SCHL), en vue de cerner les enjeux et de se pencher sur la comparabilité provinciale. Un plan de travail pour la définition des options de renouvellement de la politique est en cours d’élaboration (pour l’automne 2011).

Un groupe de travail (auquel participent la DGIC, les bureaux régionaux, le Programme d'aide au revenu et la SCHL) est en cours de formation. Il aura le mandat suivant :
  1. Définir la portée du processus d’examen de la politique et en faciliter la réalisation;
  2. Encourager la participation des organisations des Premières Nations, à l’échelle régionale et nationale;
  3. Explorer les possibilités et faire des propositions en vue de l’examen de la politique sur l’allocation-logement dans le contexte de la réforme de l’aide au revenu;
Définir les rôles et responsabilités en matière de conformité.
Printemps 2012
Révision de la politique
2. Préciser le rôle et les responsabilités d’AADNC à l’égard du suivi de la mise en œuvre de l’allocation-logement dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Le groupe de travail animera des discussions avec la DGPSP, les bureaux régionaux et la DGIC d’AADNC ainsi que la SCHL et d’autres intervenants.
  • La DGPSP et ses partenaires préciseront les rôles et responsabilités.
Dans le cadre des responsabilités relatives au Programme d’aide au revenu, la DGPSP travaillera avec ses partenaires en vue de renforcer la gestion du Programme d’allocation-logement grâce à l’application de stratégies de gestion du risque et du rendement et à la réalisation d’activités de conformité.
Printemps 2012 État : Fermeture recommandée

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 30 septembre 2012


La Direction générale de la politique sociale et des programmes a précisé les rôles et les responsabilités avec les régions, la Direction générale des infrastructures communautaires, la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement, Santé Canada et d’autres partenaires.

Ces rôles et responsabilités seront communiqués aux Premières Nations et à d’autres intervenants.

AADNC a élaboré un plan à étapes multiples renouvelable (voir ci-dessus) pour le programme d’aide au revenu, et celui-ci comprend ce qui suit :

  • Harmonisation des indicateurs clés de rendement.
  • Collecte de données à partir d’un point unique de saisie de données.
  • Gestion de l’instrument de collecte de données (ICD).
  • Rapports fondés sur le risque.
SVE : Dossier fermé - Mise en œuvre terminée

Les structures et les processus sont en place pour répondre à cette recommandation.
3. Communiquer clairement aux Premières Nations et aux autres intervenants les objectifs du Programme d’allocation-logement, de même que le mode de détermination des taux et les critères d’admissibilité. La DGPSP est consciente de l’importance de communiquer clairement à toutes les parties les changements apportés à la politique.

La DGPSP collaborera avec le groupe de travail, les partenaires et les intervenants en vue d’élaborer une stratégie de communication sur les objectifs du Programme d’allocation-logement et l’option recommandée, à l’intention des collectivités des Premières Nations, des partenaires et des intervenants.
Été 2012 État : En cours

Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 31 mars 2013


Puisque la composante d’allocation-logement du Programme d’aide au revenu fait l’objet d’un examen et que le plan de mise en œuvre n’a pas encore été approuvé, il reste à terminer et à diffuser la stratégie de communication et les infocapsules. Entre temps, AADNC a entamé des discussions avec l’Union des chefs indiens de la Colombie­Britannique et l’APN concernant la réforme de la composante d’allocation-logement du Programme d’aide au revenu.

SVE : En cours

La DPPS attend que l’examen du Programme, le plan de mise en œuvre, la stratégie de communication et les infocapsules soient achevés.
Date de modification :