Frequently Asked Questions - Consolidation of Transfer Payment Terms and Conditions

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Q1. Why is AANDC consolidating its transfer payment terms and conditions?

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is transforming its business practices by aligning and streamlining its processes and reducing the administrative burden for funding recipients.

As part of this transformation, AANDC is consolidating the transfer payment terms and conditions, and consequently reducing the number of grants and contributions listed for the Department in the Main Estimates.

At present, 80 per cent of the Department's budget, made available through the 2013-14 Main Estimates, is delivered through 69 authorities.

Through this initiative, AANDC is focused on consolidating 39 of its current compliment of 69 authorities into 14, with the balance being assessed for further consolidation.

The changes made to AANDC's transfer payment terms and conditions are solely administrative in nature and will not affect funding levels.

This initiative reflects recommendations made by the Blue Ribbon Panel on Grants and Contributions, and requirements under Treasury Board's Policy on Transfer Payments, both of which aim to provide clarity and consistency for all of government. This also addresses the June 2011 Office of the Auditor General of Canada Report, which called for changes to simplify and reduce administration on First Nation communities.

 
Q2. What kinds of programs are included in the proposed consolidation of transfer payment terms and conditions, and what will be the effect on these programs?

All programs were considered in the exercise to consolidate transfer payment program terms and conditions. A summary of the terms and conditions being consolidated is available on the AANDC website.

By modernizing the current structure, funding recipients will have increased opportunities for streamlined application and reporting processes, which will ultimately reduce their administrative burden and support a more effective structure over the longer-term. This will benefit both the Department, and more importantly funding recipients.

Generally speaking, the benefits of consolidating the Department's authorities are:

  • A more unified, predictable program environment;
  • The potential to decrease the administrative burden on funding recipients;
  • Standardization and refinement of program operations to increase efficiencies and improve functioning; and
  • Consolidation of funding recipient proposal and reporting processes.
 
Q3. How will the current transfer payment terms and conditions be consolidated?

Multiple, often duplicative, transfer payment terms and conditions will be consolidated into natural groupings based on program themes. This consolidation will enable the Department to further reduce the administrative burden on our funding recipients.

 
Q4. Will this consolidation result in cuts to AANDC programs and services?

There will be no changes to funding levels or any cuts resulting from the proposed consolidation. This initiative is purely administrative in nature and aimed at improving the way the Department does business.

Reviewing and consolidating transfer payment terms and conditions on a regular basis is sound practice and shared throughout government. Other departments have already taken similar steps. In 2007, Health Canada's First Nations Inuit Health Branch (FNIHB) consolidated its authorities, first from 32 authorities to 10, and then in 2011 to 3 authorities.

 
Q5. Will this consolidation change the Department's authority to administer programs, alter funding levels or impact funding agreements?

This consolidation does not change the Department's current authority to administer policies and programs, nor does it change funding levels. This initiative is solely administrative in nature and has no impact on funding agreements between the Department and its recipients.

Foire aux questions - Regroupement des modalités des paiements de transfert

Q1. Pourquoi Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) regroupe-t-il les modalités de ses paiements de transfert?

AADNC transforme ses pratiques d'affaires en harmonisant et en simplifiant ses processus afin de réduire le fardeau administratif des bénéficiaires.

Dans le cadre de cette transformation, AADNC regroupe les modalités des paiements de transfert et réduit ainsi le nombre de subventions et contributions figurant dans le Budget principal des dépenses du Ministère.

À l'heure actuelle, 80 % des fonds du Ministère prévus au Budget principal des dépenses de 2013-2014 sont répartis entre 69 autorisations.

Dans le cadre de cette initiative, AADNC concentre ses efforts sur le regroupement de 39 autorisations, sur les 69 actuellement en place, pour les ramener à 14; le reste des autorisations feront l’objet d’une évaluation en vue d’une prochaine étape de regroupement.

Les modifications apportées aux modalités des paiements de transfert d'AADNC sont uniquement de nature administrative et n'auront aucune répercussion sur les niveaux de financement.

Cette initiative tient compte des recommandations du Groupe d’experts sur les programmes de subventions et de contributions et des exigences de la Politique sur les paiements de transfert du Conseil du Trésor, qui visent tous deux à assurer clarté et uniformité dans l'ensemble du gouvernement. L'initiative tient également compte du rapport de juin 2011 du Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada, dans lequel on demandait des changements afin de simplifier et de réduire la charge administrative des collectivités des Premières Nations.

 
Q2. Quels sont les types de programmes visés par le projet de regroupement des modalités des paiements de transfert, et quels seront les effets de cette initiative sur ces programmes?

On a tenu compte de l'ensemble des programmes dans l'exercice de regroupement des modalités des paiements de transfert. Un sommaire des modalités visées se trouve sur le site Web d'AADNC (insérer hyperlien).

Grâce à la modernisation de la structure actuelle, les bénéficiaires de fonds disposeront de processus simplifiés pour présenter des demandes et des rapports, ce qui réduira leur fardeau administratif et contribuera à mettre en place une structure plus efficace à plus long terme. Le Ministère en profitera, mais surtout les bénéficiaires de financement.

De manière générale, les avantages du regroupement des autorisations du Ministère sont les suivants :

  • un contexte plus unifié et plus prévisible sur le plan des programmes;
  • la diminution potentielle du fardeau administratif des bénéficiaires;
  • la normalisation et le perfectionnement des activités relatives aux programmes afin de réaliser des gains d’efficacité et d’améliorer le fonctionnement;
  • le regroupement des processus de proposition et de production de rapports pour les bénéficiaires de financement.
 
Q3. Comment regroupera-t-on les modalités actuelles des paiements de transfert?

Les nombreuses modalités de paiements de transfert, qui souvent se chevauchent, seront réunies en groupements naturels, par thèmes de programmes. Ce regroupement permettra au Ministère de réduire encore davantage le fardeau administratif des bénéficiaires de financement.

 
Q4. Le regroupement des modalités entraînera-t-il des coupes dans les programmes et les services d'AADNC?

Les niveaux de financement resteront les mêmes et le projet de regroupement des autorisations n'occasionnera aucune coupe. Cette initiative purement administrative est destinée à améliorer le mode de gestion du Ministère.

La révision et le regroupement des modalités des paiements de transfert de manière périodique constituent une saine pratique qui a cours partout au gouvernement. D’autres ministères ont déjà pris des mesures semblables. En 2007, la Direction générale de la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits de Santé Canada a regroupé ses 32 autorisations pour n'en conserver que 10. En 2011, elle a encore réduit ce nombre à trois.

 
Q5. Ce regroupement aura-t-il des effets sur le pouvoir du Ministère d'administrer des programmes, sur les niveaux de financement ou sur les ententes de financement?

Le regroupement des modalités ne modifie en rien le pouvoir accordé au Ministère pour administrer les politiques et les programmes, ni les niveaux de financement. Cette initiative est de nature purement administrative et n'a aucun effet sur les ententes de financement conclues entre le Ministère et ses bénéficiaires.