Default Prevention and Management Policy Explained

First Nations programs and services are delivered through funding agreements signed by both Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) and the recipient. These agreements are legally binding and contain specific terms and conditions, including the actions Canada may take in the event that a recipient defaults on the terms and conditions of the funding agreement.

Generally speaking, a default occurs when:

  • The health, safety or welfare of the community is at risk or being compromised
  • The recipient has not met its obligations under the funding agreement
  • An auditor has flagged concerns with the recipient's annual audited financial statements
  • The recipient's financial position places the delivery of funded programs at risk
  • The recipient is bankrupt or at risk of bankruptcy; or has lost or is at risk of losing its corporate status

The Default Prevention and Management Policy was originally put in place in the summer of 2011 in response to the recommendations of an internal audit, an evaluation of AANDC's Intervention Policy, and discussions with First Nation governments and financial experts. The DPMP was revised in 2013.

This policy was developed in collaboration with the Aboriginal Financial Officers Association and First Nation governments, and was reviewed and vetted by the Department’s External Audit Committee; comprised of members outside the public service.

The DPMP focuses on prevention, management and sustainability in order to reduce the number of communities in default management status and the duration of the default. It includes default management processes intended to ensure the delivery of Departmentally funded programs and services while a First Nation recipient is in default.

Default Management

The revised DPMP came into effect in November 2013, replacing the previous version of the policy dated June 2011. It exists to support community capacity development so that communities can continue to increase their ability to self-manage and thereby prevent defaults. The Department reports on three levels of default management:

  1. Recipient Managed – Management Action Plan: replaces Recipient Managed in accordance with Remedial Management plans (RMP) under the former Intervention policy. In this level of default management, the recipient develops a plan, acceptable to the Department, to remedy and recover from a default, to address the default and prevent its recurrence.
  2. Recipient-Appointed Advisor – Management Action Plan (MAP): replaces Expert Resource Support under the previous DPMP. The Recipient-Appointed Advisor is contracted by the recipient as part of their Management Action Plan to address the default and prevent its recurrence. In some cases, a Co-Managed level of default exists where the recipient has entered into a Co-Management Agreement prior to the implementation of the DPMP and that Co-Management Agreement has not yet expired.
  3. Third-Party Management: the Third-Party Manager, contracted by the Department, administers the Department's funding for the delivery of programs and services and works to remedy the underlying causes of the default. This level of default management is a temporary measure to ensure the continued delivery of programs and services to community members.

When deciding what measures to take, the Department weighs risks and circumstances associated with the default, the degree of co-operation between the recipient and the Department, and the willingness and ability of the recipient to remedy the default. The decision to place a recipient in default management is not taken lightly and the appointment of a Third-Party Manager is used as a last resort to ensure the continued delivery of programs and services to community members.

Recipients who are in default are regularly re-assessed to determine whether their level of default management should be escalated or de-escalated. As a result, the number of First Nations under default management and their level of default management fluctuate over time.

Additional Information:

Précisions sur la Politique de prévention et gestion des manquements

La prestation des programmes et des services aux Premières Nations est assurée grâce à des ententes de financement signées par Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) et le bénéficiaire. Ces ententes ont force obligatoire et prévoient des modalités précises, notamment des mesures que le Canada peut prendre en cas de manquement.

De façon générale, il y a manquement lorsque survient l'une des situations suivantes :

  • La santé, la sécurité ou le bien-être de la collectivité est compromis ou risque de l'être;
  • Le bénéficiaire a manqué à ses obligations énoncées dans l'entente de financement;
  • Un vérificateur a formulé des préoccupations au sujet des états financiers du bénéficiaire, qui sont vérifiés annuellement;
  • La situation financière du bénéficiaire compromet la prestation des programmes financés;
  • Le bénéficiaire est en faillite ou risque de le devenir, ou encore il a perdu ou risque de perdre son statut de personnalité morale.

La Politique de prévention et gestion des manquements (PPGM) a été mise en place à l'été 2011 en réaction aux recommandations issues d'une vérification interne, à une évaluation de la Politique d'intervention d'AADNC et à des discussions avec des gouvernements des Premières Nations et des experts financiers. La Politique a été revue en 2013.

Cette politique a été élaborée en collaboration avec l'Association des agents financiers autochtones et les gouvernements des Premières Nations, puis elle a été examinée et approuvée par le comité de vérification externe du Ministère, lequel est composé de membres provenant de l'extérieur de la fonction publique.

La PPGM est axée sur la prévention, la gestion et la durabilité avec pour objectif de réduire le nombre de collectivités en situation de manquement de gestion, de même que la durée de ces manquements. Elle prévoit des processus de gestion des manquements qui visent à assurer la continuité de la prestation des programmes et des services financés par le Ministère pendant que la Première Nation bénéficiaire est en situation de manquement.

Gestion des manquements

La Politique révisée est entrée en vigueur en novembre 2013, remplaçant ainsi la version de juin 2011. La Politique vise à appuyer le renforcement de la capacité communautaire afin que les collectivités continuent d'améliorer leur capacité d'autogestion, et ce, afin de prévenir les manquements. Le Ministère applique trois niveaux de gestion des manquements :

  1. Bénéficiaire – Plan d'action de gestion : remplace la « gestion par le bénéficiaire conformément à un plan de redressement » de l'ancienne Politique d'intervention. À ce niveau, le bénéficiaire élabore un plan, qui doit être accepté par le Ministère, afin de corriger un manquement et de prévenir une nouvelle occurrence.
  2. Conseiller nommé par le bénéficiaire – Plan d'action de gestion : remplace le « soutien d'une ressource spécialisée » dans le cadre de l'ancienne Politique. Le bénéficiaire embauche un conseiller spécial de son choix dans le cadre du Plan d'action de gestion afin de corriger le manquement et de prévenir une nouvelle occurrence. Dans certains cas, un manquement de cogestion peut survenir si le bénéficiaire a conclu une entente de cogestion avant la mise en œuvre de la nouvelle Politique et que cette entente est toujours en vigueur.
  3. Gestion par un séquestre-administrateur : le séquestre-administrateur embauché par le Ministère gère le financement ministériel pour la prestation des programmes et des services et travaille à éliminer les causes sous-jacentes du manquement. Ce niveau de gestion est une mesure temporaire visant à assurer la prestation continue des programmes et des services aux membres de la collectivité.

Lorsqu'il doit décider des mesures à prendre, le Ministère évalue les risques et le contexte associés au manquement, le degré de collaboration entre le bénéficiaire et le Ministère, ainsi que la volonté et la capacité du bénéficiaire de corriger le manquement. La décision de placer le bénéficiaire en situation de gestion des manquements n'est pas prise à la légère. La nomination d'un séquestre-administrateur ne se fait qu'en dernier recours afin d'assurer la prestation continue des programmes et des services aux membres de la collectivité.

Les Premières Nations qui sont en situation de gestion de manquement font l'objet de vérifications régulières visant à évaluer s'il convient d'élever ou d'abaisser le niveau d'intervention. Par conséquent, le nombre de Premières Nations visées par une gestion de manquement fluctue au fil du temps, tout comme le niveau de gestion auquel elles sont soumises.

Renseignements supplémentaires :