Grants to the Government of the Northwest Territories and the Government of Nunavut for Health Care of Indians and Inuit

Terms and Conditions

1.0 Introduction

Since the early 1950s the Government of Canada has been involved with ensuring the delivery of health care programs in the territories. The original intent was for the federal government and the territories to share equally (50%) in assuming health care costs pursuant to the Acts; however, territorial governments could not meet their commitments because of large aboriginal populations. In 1959 Canada made provision for annual grants to the Northwest Territories for hospital and health services, administered by the Department of Northern Affairs and Natural Resources. A June 25, 1959, Cabinet decision stipulated:

… that approval in principle be given for the payment to the Northwest Territories of a special annual grant (in addition to amounts payable pursuant to the Hospital Insurance and Diagnostic Services Act) so calculated that the Federal Government will continue to bear the total cost of hospital care for Indians and Eskimos, having due regard for indigency, and that the amount of such grants be provided annually in the estimates of the Department of Northern Affairs and Natural Resources.

In 1966 the program was transferred to the newly created Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. In 1970 the grant terms and conditions were expanded to include physician services. In 1977 changes to the Canadian Financial Administration Act, led to the conversion of the 'special grant' arrangements into Contribution Agreements. In 2004, Treasury Board approved the use of a grant authority in place of a contribution authority. This change to grants respects the intent of the funding originally approved by Cabinet in 1959.

These terms and conditions are specifically targeted to other orders of government.

2.0 Legal and Policy Authority

  • Northwest Territories Act (Canada), Section 16 (q) 1985
  • Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Act, Section 5(c) R.S.C. 1985
  • Nunavut Act (Canada), Section 23(1) (h), 1993.

3.0 Purpose, Program Objectives and Expected Results

The purpose of the grant is to support the Government of the Northwest Territories and the Government of Nunavut in providing Hospital Services and Physician Services for Indian and Inuit residents. The grant allows the territorial governments to deliver health services to their residents as stipulated in the Northwest Territories Act (Canada), 1985 and the Nunavut Act, 1993.

The activities funded through this grant contribute to program-level outcomes in DIAND's program activity architecture. The program activity "Healthy Northern Communities" seeks to achieve individual and family well-being through various factors, such as the improved health of northerners. The range of hospital and physician services offered by the two territorial governments are designed to lead to better health outcomes for Indian and Inuit residents in the territories and their communities.

In the Program Activity Architecture, this authority is listed under: The North / Healthy Northern Communities.

4.0 Eligibility

The Government of the Northwest Territories and the Government of Nunavut are the sole recipients.

5.0 Type and Nature of Eligible Expenditures

Eligible expenditures include the following:

Hospital Facilities: The Hospital Facilities within the territories are named in each agreement; and, outside the territory can include any facility or portion thereof that provides Hospital Services, including acute, rehabilitative or chronic care, but does not include: a) a hospital or institution primarily for the mentally disordered; or b) a facility or portion thereof that provides nursing home intermediate care service or adult residential care service or comparable services for children.

Hospital Services: Hospital services means any of the following services provided to in-patients at a hospital, if the services are medically necessary for the purpose of maintaining health, preventing disease or diagnosing or treating an injury, illness or disability, namely: accommodation and meals at the standard or public ward level and preferred accommodation if medically required; nursing service; laboratory, radiological and other diagnostic procedures, together with the necessary interpretations; drugs, biological and related preparations when administered in the hospital; use of operating room, case room and anesthetics facilities, including necessary equipment and supplies; medical and surgical equipment and supplies; use of radiotherapy facilities; use of physiotherapy facilities; and, services provided by persons who receive remuneration there fore from the hospital. It does not include services that are excluded by the regulations to the Canada Health Act, R.S.C. 1985. c. C-6.

Physicians Services: Physicians services include any medically required services rendered by Medical Practitioners to the status Indian and Inuit residents of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut in a manner consistent with the terms and conditions of the Canada Health Act, R.S.C. 1985. c. C-6 and the Medical Care Act, R.S.C., R.S.N.W.T., 1988, c.M-8.

Medical Practitioner: Medical Practitioner is a person lawfully entitled to practice medicine in the place in which the practice is carried on by that person.

6.0 Total Canadian Government Funding and Stacking Limites

Stacking limits do not apply as DIAND provides 100% of the funding for these activities.

7.0 Method for Determining the Amount of Funding

With the creation of Nunavut, effective April 1, 1999, DIAND's appropriation for hospital and physician services for Indians and Inuit was divided between the Government of the Northwest Territories and the Government of Nunavut through the Annual Reference Level Update, with the former receiving approximately fifty-six percent (56%) and the latter forty-four percent (44 %).

8.0 Maximum Amount Payable

Under the Hospital and Physician Services Grant program, the maximum amount payable to the two territorial governments is calculated as the $42.867 million base as of April 1, 2004. Annual increases, over the duration of the terms and conditions of the grant, are consistent with those in the Indian and Inuit Envelope currently set at two percent (2%) annually or after adjustments that the federal government may provide to DIAND in relation to health expenditures for Aboriginal people in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

9.0 Basis on Which Payments will be Made

The annual maximum limit will be attained through twelve (12) monthly payments from DIAND. Actual payment will be made at the end of each month.

The payment schedule is a follows: The territories will receive 2/12 of the funds at the end of April; and 1/11th of the amount at the end of each month, May to March.

DIAND will enter into a 5-year Grant Agreement with each of the Government of the Northwest Territories and the Government of Nunavut. The Grant Agreement will contain the following Terms and Conditions:

  1. Program Objectives
  2. Eligible Expenditures
  3. Basis and timing of payments
  4. Accountability Requirement. (DIAND will require each government to report the actual expenditures for hospital and physician services for Indian and Inuit residents in their Public Accounts. The Public Accounts are reviewed annually by the Office of the Auditor General).

10.0 Application Requirements and Assessment Criteria

No special application is required. DIAND deems the Government of the Northwest Territories and the Government of Nunavut to have applied for this grant through the administrative arrangements that evolved from the 1959 Cabinet decisions for a “special annual grant” and subsequent operations. The 1999-2000 Annual Reference Level Update (ARLU) approved authority for the calculations for the Government of the Northwest Territories and the Government of Nunavut to reflect the creation of Nunavut, with approximately fifty-six percent (56%) of the maximum level going to the Government of the Northwest Territories and forty-four percent (44%) to the Government of Nunavut.

The Grant Agreements will contain the Government of the Northwest Territories' and the Government of Nunavut's Expenditure Plans and the cash flow arrangements from DIAND. The cash flow accounts for expenditure needs as demonstrated by the recipients. DIAND reviews the Expenditure Plans and if it is accepted, DIAND subsequently establishes the monthly payment schedule.

11.0 Due Diligence and Reporting

Performance Measurement Strategies are being developed for all programs, consistent with the requirements in the Policy on Transfer Payments, as part of the phased-in approach to implement the renewed Policy on Transfer Payments.

12.0 Official Languages

Where a program supports activities that may be delivered to members of either official language community, access to services from the recipient will be provided in both official languages where there is significant demand and Part IV of the Official Languages Act is applicable. In addition, the department will ensure that the design and the delivery of programs respect the obligations of the Government of Canada as set out in Part VII of the Official Languages Act.

13.0 Intellectual Property

Where a grant is provided for the development of material in which copyright subsists, conditions for shared rights between the recipient and the crown will be set out in the funding agreement.

14.0 Other Terms and Conditions

None

Subventions au gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au gouvernement du Nunavut pour les services de santé dispensés aux Indiens et aux Inuits : Modalités

Table des matières

1. Introduction

Depuis le début des années 1950, le gouvernement du Canada veuille à assurer l'exécution des programmes de soins de santé dans les territoires. Au départ, l'objectif était que le gouvernement fédéral et les territoires partagent à parts égales (50 %) les coûts des soins de santé conformément aux lois. Toutefois, les gouvernements territoriaux ne pouvaient respecter cet engagement en raison des importantes populations autochtones. En 1959, le Canada a prévu des subventions annuelles aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest pour les hôpitaux et les services de santé, des subventions qui étaient régies par le ministère du Nord canadien et des Ressources nationales. Une décision du Cabinet datant du 25 juin 1959 stipulait :

… que l'approbation de principe devait être donnée pour le versement d'une subvention annuelle spéciale aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest (en plus des montants à payer conformément à la Loi sur l'assurance-hospitalisation et les services diagnostiques, calculée de façon à ce que le gouvernement fédéral continue d'assumer la totalité des coûts des soins hospitaliers pour les Indiens et les Inuits, compte tenu de leur état impécunieux, et que le montant de telles subventions devait être indiqué chaque année dans le budget des dépenses du ministère du Nord canadien et des Ressources nationales. [traduction]

En 1966, le programme a été transféré au ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, nouvellement créé. En 1970, les modalités de la subvention ont été élargies pour y inclure les services médicaux. En 1977, les changements apportés à la Loi canadienne sur la gestion des finances publiques ont entraîné la conversion de la subvention spéciale en accord de contribution. En 2004, le Conseil du Trésor a approuvé le recours à une autorisation de subvention à la place d'une autorisation de contribution. Ce changement respecte l'objectif du financement originalement approuvé par le Cabinet en 1959.

Ces modalités visent expressément les autres ordres de gouvernement.

2. Autorisation légale et politique

3. But, objectifs du programme et résultats attendus

L'objectif de la subvention est de soutenir le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord Ouest et le gouvernement du Nunavut dans la prestation de services hospitaliers et médicaux aux résidants indiens et inuits. La subvention permet aux gouvernements territoriaux de fournir des services de santé à leurs résidants comme c'est stipulé dans la Loi sur les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (Canada), 1985, et la Loi sur le Nunavut, 1993.

Les activités financées par cette subvention contribuent aux résultats propres au programme décrits dans l'architecture des activités de programme d'AINC. L'activité de programme « Des collectivités nordiques saines » a pour objectif l'atteinte du bien-être individuel et familial par la voie de divers facteurs, comme l'amélioration de la santé des résidants du Nord. La gamme de services hospitaliers et médicaux offerts par les deux gouvernements territoriaux vise l'amélioration des résultats pour la santé des résidants indiens et inuits dans les territoires et leurs collectivités.

Dans l'architecture des activités de programme, cette autorisation se trouve dans la catégorie : Le Nord – Des collectivités nordiques en santé.

4. Admissibilité

Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le gouvernement du Nunavut sont les seuls bénéficiaires.

5. Type et nature des dépenses admissibles

Sont admissibles les dépenses suivantes :

Les dépenses pour les hôpitaux : Les hôpitaux dans les territoires sont identifiés nommément dans chaque accord et, à l'extérieur du territoire, ils peuvent comprendre tout ou partie des établissements où sont offerts des soins hospitaliers, notamment des soins achetés, de réadaptation ou aux malades chroniques, à l'exception : a) des hôpitaux ou établissements destinés principalement aux personnes souffrant de troubles mentaux; b) de tout ou partie des établissements où sont fournis des soins intermédiaires en maison de soins de longue durée ou des soins en résidences pour adultes ou des soins comparables pour les enfants;

Les dépenses pour les services hospitaliers : On entend par services hospitaliers tous les services fournis dans un hôpital aux malades hospitalisés, si ces services sont médicalement nécessaires pour le maintien de la santé, la prévention des maladies ou le diagnostic ou le traitement des blessures, maladies ou invalidités, à savoir l'hébergement et la fourniture des repas en salle commune ou, si c'est médicalement nécessaire, en un autre lieu; les services infirmiers; les actes de laboratoires, de radiologie ou autres actes de diagnostic, ainsi que les interprétations nécessaires; les produits pharmaceutiques, substances biologiques et préparations connexes administrés à l'hôpital; l'usage des salles d'opération, des salles d'accouchement et des installations d'anesthésie, ainsi que le matériel et les fournitures nécessaires; le matériel et les fournitures médicaux et chirurgicaux; l'usage des installations de radiothérapie; l'usage des installations de physiothérapie; les services fournis par les personnes rémunérées à cet effet par l'hôpital. Ne sont pas compris parmi les services hospitaliers les services exclus par les règlements afférents à la Loi canadienne sur la santé, L.R.C. 1985, ch. C-6;

Les dépenses pour les services médicaux : Les services médicaux comprennent tous les services médicalement nécessaires fournis par un médecin aux résidants indiens et inuits des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut conformément aux modalités de la Loi canadienne sur la santé, L.R.C. 1985, ch. C-6, et de la Loi sur les soins médicaux, L.R.C., L.R.T.N.-O., 1988, ch. M-8;

Les dépenses pour les médecins : Un médecin est une personne légalement autorisée à exercer la médecine au lieu où elle se livre à cet exercice.

6. Aide financière totale du gouvernement du Canada et limites sur le cumul

Les limites sur le cumul de l'aide ne s'appliquent pas puisque AINC finance ces activités à 100 %.

7. Méthode de calcul du montant de financement

Avec la création officielle du Nunavut, à compter du 1er avril 1999, l'affectation de crédits d'AINC pour la prestation de services hospitaliers et médicaux aux Indiens et aux Inuits a été divisée entre le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le gouvernement du Nunavut par la voie de la Mise à jour annuelle des niveaux de référence (MJANR) : le premier recevant environ 56 % de l'affectation et le deuxième 44 %.

8. Montants maximaux payables

En vertu du programme de subvention pour des services hospitaliers et médicaux, le montant maximal payable aux deux gouvernements territoriaux est calculé, en date du 1er avril 2004, comme un montant de base de 42,867 millions de dollars. Les augmentations annuelles, sur la durée des modalités de la subvention, sont conformes à celles du portefeuille destiné aux Indiens et aux Inuits actuellement fixées à 2 % par année ou après les ajustements apportés aux dépenses de santé des Autochtones dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut que le gouvernement fédéral fournira à AINC.

9. Base selon laquelle les paiements seront versés

Le montant maximal annuel sera atteint au moyen de douze (12) paiements mensuels effectués par AINC. Le paiement réel sera versé à la fin de chaque mois.

Le calendrier des paiements est le suivant : les territoires recevront 2/12es des fonds à la fin avril et 1/11e du montant à la fin de chaque mois, soit de mai à mars.

AINC participera à un accord de subvention quinquennal avec le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le gouvernement du Nunavut. Cet accord comprendra les modalités suivantes :

  1. Objectifs du programme
  2. Dépenses admissibles
  3. Modalités et calendrier des paiements
  4. Exigence de reddition de comptes (AINC exigera que chaque gouvernement inscrive dans ses comptes publics les dépenses réelles des services hospitaliers et médicaux pour les résidants indiens et inuits. Les comptes publics sont examinés chaque année par le Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada.

10. Exigences relatives aux demandes et critères d'évaluation

Aucune demande spéciale n'est requise. AINC estime que le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le gouvernement du Nunavut ont présenté une demande pour cette subvention par la voie des dispositions administratives dégagées des décisions du Cabinet de 1959 pour une « subvention annuelle spéciale » et les activités subséquentes. On a approuvé, dans la MJANR de 1999-2000, l'autorisation voulant que les calculs pour le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le gouvernement du Nunavut tiennent compte de la création du Nunavut : 56 % du montant maximal allant au gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et 44 % au gouvernement du Nunavut.

Les accords de subvention incluront les plans de dépenses du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du gouvernement du Nunavut et les arrangements en matière de mouvements de trésorerie d'AINC. Les comptes de trésorerie pour les dépenses doivent refléter les dépenses justifiées par les bénéficiaires. AINC examine les plans de dépenses et, s'ils sont acceptés, AINC déterminera ensuite le calendrier des paiements mensuels.

11. Diligence raisonnable et production de rapports

Des stratégies de mesure du rendement sont élaborées pour tous les programmes, conformément aux exigences de la nouvelle Politique sur les paiements de transfert, dans le cadre de son application progressive.

12. Langues officielles

Lorsqu'un programme soutient des activités pouvant être offertes à des membres de l'une ou l'autre des collectivités de langue officielle, les bénéficiaires doivent avoir accès aux services dans les deux langues officielles, si la demande est appréciable et la partie IV de la Loi sur les langues officielles du Canada s'applique. En outre, le Ministère veillera à ce que la conception et la mise en œuvre des programmes respectent les obligations du gouvernement du Canada énoncées dans la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles.

13. Propriété intellectuelle

Lorsqu'une subvention est offerte pour la redaction de documents pour lesquels il existe un droit d'auteur, les conditions touchant les droits communs seront énoncées dans l'accord de financement.

14. Autres modalités

Aucune

Date de modification :