Contributions to Indian Bands for Registration Administration

Terms and Conditions

1.0 Introduction

Sections 5 and 9 of the Indian Act provide for the maintenance in the department of the Indian Register as well as for the maintenance of Band Lists until such time as a band assumes control of its own Band List. Under these same sections, the Registrar is granted the authority to add the names of persons or delete the names of persons who are entitled, or not entitled, to be registered as the case may be. The Registrar has delegated the authority to make specific changes to the Indian Registration System (IRS) to certain headquarters and regional staff and to certain Indian Registry Administrators (IRAs) working for an Indian Band.

IRAs verify life events (e.g. births, marriages, deaths, divorces) which affect the Indian Register group(s) for which they are responsible by obtaining the appropriate supporting documents. They then either report these events to the regional office to update the IRS or, if authorized by the Registrar to have intranet access to the IRS, they enter the events directly into the IRS. IRAs also issue Certificate of Indian Status cards. This activity supports the "People" strategic outcome of the Department's Program Activity Architecture (PAA) under the activity referred to as Managing Individual Affairs.

Funding is provided to eligible recipients according to a formula based on two variables: population; and, the number of life events reported annually. The formula provides $7.07 per capita, and $15.00 per compensable event. The events that are considered compensable are life events such as births, adoptions, deaths, marriages and divorces, but can also include transfers between two bands. Supporting documentation is collected by the IRA and submitted to the Regional staff for entry into the Indian Register. Calculation of the formula is based on the events credited in the calendar year together with the population at December 31 for the given year.

The Contributions to Indian bands for registration administration are eligible to use set contribution funding approach. The Indian Registry Administration component of the Contributions to Indian bands for registration administration is eligible to use fixed contribution and block contribution funding approaches.

These terms and conditions are specifically targeted to Aboriginal people.

2.0 Legal and Policy Authority

Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Act, R.S.C. 1985 c. I-6, s. 4

3. Purpose, Objectives and Expected Results

The objectives of this transfer payments authority are to enable Indian Bands or their Tribal Councils to exercise increased authority and to participate in the administration of the Indian Registration System, maintenance of Band Lists, and issuance of the certificate of Indian Status at the community level. The transfer payments will provide for local administration of Indian Registration Administration that results in eligible Indians gaining Status and the attendant benefits thereof, as well as an updated Indian Register held by the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development (DIAND).

The contributions for registration administration and for estates management support the Department's Program Activity Architecture "People" outcome.

4.0 Eligibility

Contributions for Indian Registration Administration may be provided to Indian Bands and Tribal Councils.

5.0 Type and Nature of Eligible Expenditures

Acceptable expenditures for activities under this transfer payment authority covers disbursements for: salaries, wages, travel; accommodation; telecommunications; transportation; office rent and overheads such a heating, lights or janitorial; professional services such as legal, accounting, audit and evaluation; communications; training office supplies; office equipment such as computers, photocopiers, scanners, digital peripherals dedicated to the this program; printing; community information initiatives; data collection, analysis and reporting.

6.0 Total Canadian Government Funding and Stacking Limits

Proposals for funding from each recipient shall address the requirement for the recipient to declare any and all prospective sources of funding for the program or project, inclusive of all federal, provincial, territorial or municipal governments (total government assistance) and other sources that is expected to be received. Annual financial reporting shall show all sources of funding received. Maximum funding by DIAND and total maximum total government assistance is 100% for eligible programs and projects.

7.0 Method for Determining the Amount of Funding

Funding is provided to eligible recipients according to a formula based on two variables: population; and the number of life events reported annually. The formula provides $7.07 per capita, and $15.00 per compensable event.

8.0 Maximum Amounts Payable

The total maximum annual payment for any single eligible recipient, including amendments to the original funding amount, will not exceed $400,000.

9.0 Basis on Which Payments will be Made

Contributions are normally paid on the basis of achievement or performance objectives or as reimbursement of expenditures incurred. The fixed and block contribution funding approaches will be used.

10.0 Application Requirements and Assessment Criteria

Eligible recipients will be required to provide the following information in order to be eligible to enter into a funding arrangement with DIAND:

  • demonstrate it has the mandate and capacity to administer Indian registration administration responsibilities;
  • has, and can continue to maintain, sound financial management controls and practices;
  • provide a budget proposal outlining the program activities and costs;
  • provide a cash flow projection based on the budget proposal;
  • in the case of third party delivery, provide a description of the arrangement which indicates their respective roles, responsibilities and accountabilities of each party to the arrangement; undertake to provide DIAND with financial and/or program performance reports, information and data from the recipient no less frequently than once a year, or more often at the discretion of the funding authority;
  • agree to provisions for appropriate program compliance review, program evaluation, and audit as applicable;
  • and, undertake to provide DIAND auditors with access to relevant documentation on the premises of the First Nation or Managing Organization.

Minimum Program Requirements

The Indian Registry Administrator appointed by the Council will provide information required by DIAND for the purpose of maintaining the Indian Register and, where the band does not control its own membership rules under section 10 of the Indian Act, for the maintenance of the "band list" within the meaning of section 8 of the Indian Act, in accordance with the DIAND Indian Registry Reporting Manual and policies, as amended from time to time.

11.0 Due Diligence and Reporting

DIAND has internal control procedures, systems and human resources to ensure due diligence is properly exercised when: verifying eligibility for Indian Registration Administration program funding; assessing the recipient's capacity to manage or develop and deliver programs and services; verifying financial management capability; authorizing spending authority and approving payment requisitions; and, managing and administering this transfer payment authority. This responsibility is shared by DIAND headquarters and regional offices.

At the national level the Resolution and Individual Affairs Sector is responsible for specifying eligibility criteria for program funding, developing program guidelines and directives, establishing program reporting requirements, monitoring program implementation and reporting results. Corporate Services is responsible for establishing minimum financial terms and conditions, operating systems of internal control, monitoring budgets, and issuing compliance directives.

DIAND regional offices have the responsibility of liaising with eligible recipients to ensure that the program and financial terms and conditions are understood, management and funding arrangements are in place, reporting requirements are understood and met, monitoring activities are carried out in accordance with established directives and guidelines, operating a process to review recipients' annual audited financial statements, and reporting program and financial results to headquarters.

Performance Measurement Strategies are being developed for all programs, consistent with the requirements in the Policy on Transfer Payments, as part of the phased-in approach to implement the renewed Policy on Transfer Payments.

12.0 Official Languages

Where a program supports activities that may be delivered to members of either official language community, access to services from the recipient will be provided in both official languages where there is significant demand and Part IV of the Official Languages Act is applicable. In addition, the department will ensure that the design and the delivery of programs respect the obligations of the Government of Canada as set out in Part VII of the Official Languages Act.

13.0 Intellectual Property

Where a contribution is provided for the development of material in which copyright subsists, conditions for shared rights will be set out in the funding agreement.

14.0 Repayable Contributions

Provisions for repayable contributions do not apply. Any contributions made to private firms under these programs are not intended to generate profits or to increase the value of a business.

15.0 Redistribution of Contributions

Where a recipient delegates authority or further distributes contribution funding to an agency or a third party (such as an authority, board, committee, or other entity authorized to act on behalf of the recipient), the recipient shall remain liable to the Department for the performance of its obligations under the funding agreement. Neither the objectives of the programs and services nor the expectations of transparent, fair and equitable services shall be compromised by any delegation or redistribution of contribution funding.

Recipients have full independence in the selection of such third parties and will not be acting as an agent of the government in making distributions.

16.0 Other Terms and Conditions

None

Date modified:

Contributions aux bandes indiennes pour l'administration de l'inscription : Modalités

Table des matières

1. Introduction

Les articles 5 et 9 de la Loi sur les Indiens prévoient la tenue à jour du Registre des Indiens du Ministère ainsi que la tenue à jour des listes des bandes jusqu’à ce qu’une bande assume la responsabilité de sa liste. En vertu de ces mêmes articles, le registraire, qui est l'officier du département chargé du Registre des Indiens et des listes de bande, a le pouvoir d'ajouter ou de supprimer le nom des personnes qui ont le droit ou non d'être inscrit, selon le cas. Le registraire a délégué le pouvoir d'apporter des changements particuliers au Système d'inscription des Indiens (SII) à certains employés à l'administration centrale et dans les bureaux régionaux et à certains administrateurs du Registre des Indiens (ARI) qui travaillent pour une bande indienne. Le Registre des Indiens est maintenu dans les systèmes départementaux.

Les ARI vérifient les événements de la vie (p. ex., naissance, mariage, décès) qui ont une incidence sur le Registre des Indiens et le certificat sécurisé de statut indien pour les bandes qu'ils représentent. Ils fournissent des conseils et un soutien aux Indiens inscrits pour remplir les formulaires nécessaires pour demander un enregistrement ou une modification au Registre des Indiens, ou pour obtenir un certificat sécurisé de statut indien. À la demande de leurs membres et si elles sont autorisées par le registraire indien, elles peuvent également collecter des formulaires et des documents protégés et les transmettre au ministère pour que ces derniers ajoutent ou modifient des informations dans le SII et / ou délivrent un certificat sécurisé de statut indien. Les contributions aux bandes indiennes pour l'administration de l'inscription utiliseront des approches fixées, fixes et le financement global des contributions.

Les fonds accordés aux bénéficiaires admissibles sont établis au moyen d'une formule fondée sur deux variables : la population et le nombre d'événements de la vie rapportés par année. La formule de calcul prévoit 7,07 $ par personne et 15,00 $ par événement indemnisable. Les événements indemnisables sont les événements de la vie comme les naissances, les adoptions, les décès, les mariages et les divorces, et peuvent également comprendre les transferts entre deux bandes. Les ARI recueillent les documents justificatifs et les soumettent au personnel des bureaux régionaux pour qu'ils les saisissent dans le Registre des Indiens. La formule de calcul est fondée sur les événements saisis au cours de l'année civile en fonction de la population au 31 décembre de l'année.

Les contributions aux bandes indiennes pour l'administration des inscriptions sont admissibles au mode de financement par contribution préétablie. La composante Administration du Registre des Indiens des contributions aux bandes indiennes pour l'administration des inscriptions est admissible aux modes de financement par contribution fixe et par contribution globale.

Les modalités ciblent expressément les Autochtones.

2. Autorisation légale et politique

Loi sur le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, L.R.C. 1985, ch. I-6, article 4

3. But, objectifs du programme et résultats attendus

Les objectifs de cet autorité de paiement de transfert sont de permettre aux bandes indiennes ou à leurs conseils tribaux de faciliter l'administration du Système d'inscription des Indiens et la tenue des listes de bande et d'augmenter l'adoption du certificat sécurisé de statut indien au niveau communautaire. Les paiements de transfert prévoient la fourniture locale d'une administration de l'inscription indienne qui entraîne l'obtention du statut d'Indiens et l’admissibilité aux avantages qui en découlent, ainsi qu'un Registre des Indiens mis à jour par le Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du nord canadien (MAINC). Cette activité soutient le résultat stratégique "les gens" de l'Architecture de l'alignement des programmes du Ministère dans le cadre de l'activité intitulée Gestion des affaires individuelles. Cela entraîne une amélioration du bien-être individuel, familial et communautaire des Premières Nations.

4. Admissibilité

Les contributions pour l'administration des inscriptions peuvent être fournies aux bandes indiennes et aux conseils tribaux.

5. Type et nature des dépenses admissibles

Les dépenses acceptables pour les activités exercées dans le cadre de cette autorisation de paiement de transfert couvrent les décaissements suivants : salaires, traitements, déplacements; hébergement; télécommunications; transport; loyer de bureau et frais généraux, notamment pour le chauffage, l'éclairage ou les services de concierge; services professionnels, notamment les services juridiques, de comptabilité, de vérification et d'évaluation; communications; fournitures de bureau pour les formations; équipement de bureau comme les ordinateurs, photocopieurs, scanneurs et périphériques numériques spécialisés pour ce programme; impression; initiatives d'information des collectivités; collecte de données, analyse et rapports.

6. Aide financière totale du gouvernement du Canada et limites sur le cumul

L'information financière annuelle doit indiquer toutes les sources de financement reçues, y compris tous les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux (aide gouvernementale totale) et d'autres sources. Le financement gouvernemental maximal comprend le MAINC et peut atteindre 100% pour les programmes et projets éligibles.

7. Méthode de calcul du montant de financement

Les fonds accordés aux bénéficiaires admissibles sont établis selon une formule à deux variables : la population de la bande et le nombre de transaction rapportés par année. La formule de calcul prévoit 7,07 $ par personne, et 15,00 $ par transaction avec un minimum de 5 000 $ par année par bande. Le calcul est basé sur la population situé sur une réserve et hors réserve et le nombre de transactions enregistrées dans le Système d'Inscription des Indiens au 31 décembre de l'année civile précédente.

8. Montants maximaux payables

Le montant maximum annuel total par bénéficiaire admissible, y compris les modifications au montant initial du financement, ne dépassera pas 400 000 $.

9. Base selon laquelle les paiements seront versés

Les contributions octroyées en fonction du rendement mesuré par l'information fournie au MAINC par les administrateurs du Registre des Indiens.. On aura recours aux modes de financement par contribution fixe ou globale.

10. Exigences relatives aux demandes et critères d'évaluation

Le bénéficiaire admissible sera tenu de fournir les renseignements suivants pour pouvoir conclure une entente de financement avec le MAINC :

Exigences minimales du Programme

L'administrateur du Registre des Indiens désigné par le Conseil fournira au MAINC les renseignements nécessaires à la tenue du Registre des Indiens et, lorsque la bande ne décide pas de ses règles d'appartenance aux termes de l'article 10 de la Loi sur les Indiens, à la tenue de la « liste de bande » au sens de l'article 8 de la Loi sur les Indiens, conformément aux politiques et au Guide des rapports sur le Registre des Indiens du MAINC, dans sa version éventuellement modifiée.

11. Diligence raisonnable et production de rapports

Le MAINC est doté de procédures de contrôle interne, de systèmes et de ressources pour s'assurer que l'on fait preuve de prudence raisonnable au moment de vérifier l'admissibilité au financement du programme Administration de l'inscription des Indiens; d'évaluer la capacité du bénéficiaire à gérer ou à élaborer et à réaliser des programmes et à fournir des services; de vérifier la capacité de gestion financière; d'autoriser un pouvoir de dépenser et d'approuver les demandes de paiement; ainsi que de gérer et d'administrer l'autorisation de paiement de transfert. Les bureaux régionaux et l'administration du MAINC se partagent cette responsabilité.

À l'échelle nationale, il incombe au Secteur de la résolution et des affaires individuelles de préciser les critères d'admissibilité au financement de programmes, d'élaborer des lignes directrices et des directives sur les programmes, d'établir des exigences de production de rapports sur les programmes, de surveiller la mise en œuvre des programmes et de communiquer les résultats. Il incombe aux Services ministériels d'établir les conditions financières minimales, d'exploiter les systèmes de contrôle interne, de surveiller les budgets et de communiquer les directives sur la conformité.

Les bureaux régionaux du MAINC ont la responsabilité d'entretenir des rapports avec les bénéficiaires admissibles pour s'assurer que les conditions du programme et les modalités financières sont comprises, que les ententes de gestion et de financement sont en place, que les exigences relatives à la production de rapports sont comprises et suivies, que le contrôle des activités est effectué conformément aux directives et aux lignes directrices établies, qu'un processus visant à examiner les états financiers annuels vérifiés a été suivi, et que les résultats financiers et du programme ont été communiqués à l'administration centrale.

Des stratégies de mesure du rendement sont élaborées pour tous les programmes, conformément aux exigences de la Politique sur les paiements de transfert, dans le cadre de l'approche progressive de mise en œuvre de la nouvelle Politique sur les paiements de transfert.

12. Langues officielles

Si un programme appuie des activités susceptible d'être offertes aux members de l'une ou l'autre collectivité de langue officielle, les services du bénéficiare doivent être offerts dans les deux langues officielles lorsque la demande est importante et que la partie IV de la Loi sue les langues officielles est applicable. De plus, le Ministère veillera à ce que la conception et la mise en oeuvre des programmes respectent les obligations du gouvernement du Canada prescrites à la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles.

13. Propriété intellectuelle

Lorsqu'une subvention ou une contribution est offerte pour la rédaction de documents pour lesquels il existe un droit d'auteur, les conditions touchant les droits communs seront énoncées dans l'accord de financement.

14. Contributions remboursables

Les dispositions portant sur les contributions remboursables ne s'appliquent pas. Les contributions offertes à des entreprises privées dans le cadre de ces programmes, initiatives et projets n'ont pas pour but de leur faire générer des profits ou d'augmenter la valeur de ces entreprises.

15. Redistribution des contributions

Ne s’applique pas.

16. Autres modalités

Dans le cas où un ARI agira en tant qu'agent récepteur, l'autorité d'accès et de sauvegarde des documents protégés et d'accès aux systèmes du département liés à l'inscription et à l'adhésion ne sera accordée que si elle est conforme aux exigences de sécurité du ministère.

Date de modification :