Contributions to Support the Basic Organizational Capacity of Representative Aboriginal Organizations

Terms and Conditions

1.0 Introduction

The purpose of this contributions program is to provide support towards the core operations of national, provincial, territorial and/or regional representative Aboriginal organizations and national women's organizations representing the interest, issues, and concerns of their members.

These terms and conditions are specifically targeted to Aboriginal people.

2.0 Legal and Policy Authority

  • Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Act, R.S.C. 1985 c. I-6, s. 4;

Order dated July 2004 authorizing the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development to Act as Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians.

3. Purpose, Objectives and Expected Results

This contribution authority furthers the departmental objective of ensuring that Aboriginal perspectives are reflected in the development of government policies and programs and supports all strategic outcomes of the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

i.e. Improving the quality of life and fostering self-reliance for First Nations, Inuit and Métis and Non-Status Indians by supporting the strategic outcome of good governance and effective institutions for Aboriginal peoples, built on co-operative relationships.

Funding under this authority supports co-operative relationships with Aboriginal peoples by providing basic organizational capacity to organizations mandated by Aboriginal peoples to represent them. Providing basic organizational capacity enables these organizations to be effective voices for their members and represent the interest of their respective communities. Funding provided under this authority is intended to have the following outcomes:

  • Core organizational capacity to make Aboriginal organizations capable of contributing and participating in government policy and program development;
  • Better informed representative Aboriginal organizations, their members, and elected officials;
  • Identification and agreement among members on priorities for action and approaches to issues;
  • Input to legislation, policies and programs so that they are more reflective of Aboriginal perspectives;
  • Increase members' understanding, acceptance and support for the government's Aboriginal policies; and
  • Improvements in the relations between Aboriginal peoples and the federal government.

In the Program Activity Architecture, this authority is listed under: The Government / Governance and Institutions of Government and Aboriginal Rights and Interests.

4.0 Eligibility

An organization is an eligible recipient if:

  1. it is a
    1. recognized representative Aboriginal organization at the national (e.g. the Assembly of First Nations, the Métis National Council) or the provincial/territorial or regional level (e.g. Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations, Council of Yukon First Nations, or Inuvialuit Regional Corporation); or,
    2. it is an autonomous, national Aboriginal women's organization representing the interests of its respective First Nations, Inuit, Métis and Non-Status constituents;
  2. it is an Aboriginal organizations incorporated under Part II of the Canada Corporations Act or under corresponding provincial or territorial legislation;
  3. its membership is restricted to a defined or identifiable group of First Nations, Inuit, Métis and Non-Status communities and/or organizations;
  4. it is mandated, by its members, to represent or advocate for the interests of those members; and
  5. it is not in receipt of any other core funding from any other federal department, including DIAND/OFI, for the purpose of maintaining a basic organizational capacity to represent or advocate for the interests of its members.

Funding under this authority supports basic organizational capacity of organizations mandated by Aboriginal peoples to represent them.

5.0 Type and Nature of Eligible Expenditures

Eligible expenditures include, but are not limited to: staff salaries, travel costs, accommodation costs, professional services, meeting/workshop cost, communications and office overhead.

6.0 Total Canadian Government Funding and Stacking Limits

Proposals for funding from each recipient shall address the requirement for the recipient to declare any and all prospective sources of funding for the program, inclusive of all federal, provincial, territorial or municipal governments (total government assistance) and other sources that is expected to be received. Annual financial reporting shall show all sources of funding received. Provision for repayment shall be included in the funding arrangements. Maximum funding by DIAND/OFI and maximum total government assistance is 100% for eligible programs.

7.0 Method for Determining the Amount of Funding

The method for determining the amount of funding is based on proposals received.

8.0 Maximum Amounts Payable

The maximum amount payable to any one recipient in any year will not exceed $5 million.

9.0 Basis on Which Payments will be Made

Payments are made based on a cash flow forecast from the recipient.

10.0 Application Requirements and Assessment Criteria

In order for the department to consider entering into an agreement with a prospective recipient, the recipient will be required to provide:

  • proof, in an acceptable form, that the organization is incorporated and in good standing with the jurisdiction where it is incorporated;
  • a list of members, member communities or member organizations;
  • a statement, acceptable to the department (i.e. copies of resolutions from an annual or special meeting of members; copies of Band Council resolutions from members; copy of an annual general report), that the organization is mandated by its individual members, member communities or member organizations to undertake the activities it plans to undertake with the funds;
  • a description of how the organization will report to its individual members, member communities or member organizations on the use of the funds received, activities undertaken and results achieved;
  • a statement that the organization is not in receipt of basic organizational funding from any other federal government department, including DIAND/OFI, for the purpose of maintaining a basic organizational capacity as an advocacy organization;
  • a copy of the applicant's most recent audited financial statements;
  • a proposal to, and reach agreement with, the department respecting the activities to be carried out, the objectives as they relate to the department's mandate and priorities, the total cost of the activities, and the results to be achieved;
  • disclose/declare, in the proposal for funding, any and all prospective sources of funding for the program, inclusive of all federal, provincial or other government sources that is expected to be received; and
  • disclose the involvement of any former public servants who are under the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service.

Continuing eligibility will depend on demonstrated performance.

Recipients who are former public office holders must respect and comply with the Conflict of Interest and Post-Employment Code for Public Office Holders and the Conflict of Interest and Post-Employment Code for the Public Service (2003). Recipients who are former public servants must respect and comply with the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service. Where an applicant employs or has a major shareholder who is either a current or former (in the last twelve months) public office holder or public servant in the federal government, compliance with the Code(s) must be demonstrated.

Applicants shall provide assurance that, where lobbyists are utilized, they are registered in accordance with the Lobbyist Registration Act and that no contingency fee arrangement exists.

11.0 Due Diligence and Reporting

The department has in place the appropriate systems, procedures and resources for ensuring due diligence in approving/verifying eligibility for the management and administration of the contributions.

12.0 Official Languages

Where a program supports activities that may be delivered to members of either official language community, access to services from the recipient will be provided in both official languages where there is significant demand and Part IV of the Official Languages Act is applicable. In addition, the department will ensure that the design and the delivery of programs respect the obligations of the Government of Canada as set out in Part VII of the Official Languages Act.

13.0 Intellectual Property

Where a contribution is provided for the development of material in which copyright subsists, conditions for shared rights will be set out in the funding agreement.

14.0 Repayable Contributions

Provisions for repayable contributions do not apply. Any contributions made to private firms under these programs are not intended to generate profits or to increase the value of a business.

15.0 Redistribution of Contributions

Where a recipient delegates authority or further distributes contribution funding to an agency or a third party (such as an authority, board, committee, or other entity authorized to act on behalf of the recipient), the recipient shall remain liable to the Department for the performance of its obligations under the funding agreement. Neither the objectives of the programs and services nor the expectations of transparent, fair and equitable services shall be compromised by any delegation or redistribution of contribution funding.

Recipients have full independence in the selection of such third parties and will not be acting as an agent of the government in making distributions.

16.0 Other Terms and Conditions

None

Date modified:

Contributions pour appuyer la capacité organisationnelle de base des organismes représentant les Autochtones : Modalités

Table des matières

1. Introduction

Ce programme de contributions a pour objet de fournir un soutien aux activités de base des organisations autochtones représentatives nationales, provinciales, territoriales et/ou régionales, ainsi que les organisations nationales de femmes autochtones qui représentent les intérêts, les enjeux et les préoccupations de leurs membres.

Ces modalités sont spécialement conçues pour les Autochtones.

2. Autorisation légale et politique

Décret de juillet 2004 autorisant le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien à agir à titre d'interlocuteur fédéral pour les Métis et les Indiens non inscrits.

3. But, objectifs du programme et résultats attendus

La présente autorisation de contribution a pour but de favoriser l'atteinte de l'objectif ministériel visant à s'assurer que les perspectives des Autochtones soient prises en compte dans l'élaboration des politiques et des programmes gouvernementaux et appuient l'ensemble des résultats stratégiques d'Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada.

C'est-à-dire améliorer la qualité de vie et favoriser l'autonomie des Premières nations, des Inuits, des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits en appuyant le résultat stratégique que constituent la saine gouvernance et des institutions effectives pour les populations autochtones, fondées sur des relations de coopération.

Le financement procuré en vertu de la présente autorisation vise à soutenir l'établissement de relations de coopération avec les populations autochtones, notamment en assurant une capacité organisationnelle de base aux organisations mandatées par les Autochtones pour les représenter. En acquérant une telle capacité organisationnelle, ces organisations permettent à leurs membres de s'exprimer de manière efficace et de représenter les intérêts de leurs communautés respectives. La prestation du financement dans le cadre de la présente autorisation vise les résultats suivants :

Dans l'Architecture des activités de programme du Ministère, cette autorisation figure aux rubriques Le gouvernement / La gouvernance et les institutions gouvernementales; et Le Bureau de l'interlocuteur fédéral (BIF) / Le développement des capacités organisationnelles des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits.

4. Admissibilité

Une organisation est un bénéficiaire admissible si :

  1. elle est
    1. une organisation autochtone représentative reconnue à l'échelle nationale (p. ex., l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, le Ralliement national des Métis), à l'échelle provinciale, territoriale ou régionale (p. ex., la Fédération des nations indiennes de la Saskatchewan, le Conseil des Premières nations du Yukon ou la Société régionale inuvialuit); ou,
    2. une organisation nationale autonome de femmes autochtones qui représente les intérêts de ses membres Inuits, métis, des Premières nations ou d'Indiens non inscrits;
  2. l'organisation autochtone est constituée en vertu de la partie II de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes ou d'une loi provinciale ou territoriale équivalente;
  3. l'appartenance à l'organisation est limitée à un groupe défini ou identifiable de collectivités ou d'organisations de Premières nations, d'Inuits, de Métis ou d'Indiens non inscrits;
  4. l'organisation est mandatée par ses membres pour représenter ou défendre leurs intérêts; et
  5. l'organisation ne reçoit aucun financement de base d'un ministère fédéral, y compris Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (et le Bureau de l'interlocuteur fédéral) aux fins du maintien d'une capacité organisationnelle de base pour représenter ou défendre les intérêts de ses membres.

Le financement procuré en vertu de la présente autorisation vise à soutenir la capacité organisationnelle de base des organisations mandatées par les Autochtones pour les représenter.

5. Type et nature des dépenses admissibles

Les dépenses admissibles sont notamment, sans s'y restreindre, celles ayant trait aux salaires des employés, aux frais de voyage, aux frais d'hébergement, aux services professionnels, aux réunions et ateliers, aux communications et aux frais fixes administratifs.

6. Aide financière totale du gouvernement du Canada et limites sur le cumul

Les propositions de financement des bénéficiaires doivent comporter une mention relative à l'exigence faite au bénéficiaire de déclarer toutes les sources prospectives de financement du programme, de la part des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ou les administrations municipales (l'ensemble de l'aide gouvernementale), et toute autre source de laquelle le bénéficiaire prévoit recevoir du financement. Les rapports financiers annuels doivent notamment faire état du financement reçu. Les accords de financement doivent faire état des modalités de remboursement, le cas échéant. Le maximum du financement de la part d'AINC et du BIF et le maximum de l'aide gouvernementale totale ne doivent pas correspondre à plus de 100 % en ce qui a trait aux programmes admissibles.

7. Méthode de calcul du montant de financement

La méthode utilisée pour calculer le montant du financement est établie suivant les propositions reçues.

8. Montants maximaux payables

Le montant maximum payable à un seul et même bénéficiaire au cours d'un même exercice ne doit pas être supérieur à la somme de 10 millions de dollars.

9. Base selon laquelle les paiements seront versés

Les versements sont établis suivant les prévisions d'encaisse présentées par le bénéficiaire.

10. Exigences relatives aux demandes et critères d'évaluation

Afin que le Ministère puisse considérer la conclusion d'un accord de contribution avec un bénéficiaire éventuel, le bénéficiaire doit présenter ce qui suit :

L'admissibilité continue au financement est tributaire de la démonstration du rendement.

Les bénéficiaires qui sont d'anciens titulaires d'une charge publique doivent se conformer aux dispositions du Code régissant la conduite des titulaires de charge publique en ce qui concerne les conflits d'intérêts et l'après-mandat (2003). Les bénéficiaires qui sont d'anciens fonctionnaires doivent se conformer au Code de valeurs et d'éthique de la fonction publique. Lorsqu'un demandeur embauche ou a à son service une partie prenante importante qui est soit un titulaire actuel d'une charge publique ou un ancien titulaire d'une charge publique (au cours des douze derniers mois) ou fonctionnaire du gouvernement fédéral, il doit faire la démonstration qu'il se conforme aux dispositions des codes précités.

Les demandeurs doivent fournir l'assurance, lorsque des lobbyistes sont utilisés, que ceux-ci sont dûment inscrits à ce titre conformément à la Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes et qu'il n'existe aucune entente quant au versement d'honoraires de démarchage.

11. Diligence raisonnable et production de rapports

Le Ministère maintient des systèmes, des mécanismes et des ressources visant à assurer une diligence raisonnable dans l'approbation et la vérification de l'admissibilité aux fins de la gestion et de l'administration des contributions.

12. Langues officielles

Si un programme appuie des activités susceptible d'être offertes aux members de l'une ou l'autre collectivité de langue officielle, les services du bénéficiare doivent être offerts dans les deux langues officielles lorsque la demande est importante et que la partie IV de la Loi sue les langues officielles est applicable. De plus, le Ministère veillera à ce que la conception et la mise en oeuvre des programmes respectent les obligations du gouvernement du Canada prescrites à la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles.

13. Propriété intellectuelle

Lorsqu'une subvention ou une contribution est offerte pour la rédaction de documents pour lesquels il existe un droit d'auteur, les conditions touchant les droits communs seront énoncées dans l'accord de financement.

14. Contributions remboursables

Les dispositions portant sur les contributions remboursables ne s'appliquent pas. Les contributions offertes à des entreprises privées dans le cadre de ces programmes, initiatives et projets n'ont pas pour but de leur faire générer des profits ou d'augmenter la valeur de ces entreprises.

15. Redistribution des contributions

Lorsqu'un bénéficiaire délègue son pouvoir ou distribue ses fonds de contribution à un organisme tiers (qu'il s'agisse d'une administration, d'un conseil, d'un comité ou d'un autre organisme autorisé à agir en son nom), il demeure responsable envers le Ministère de l'exécution de ses obligations liées à l'entente de financement. Ni les objectifs des programmes et services, ni l'attente d'un service transparent, juste et équitable ne peuvent être compromis par la délégation ou la redistribution des fonds de contribution.

Les bénéficiaires choisissent en toute indépendance les tierces parties et ne font pas fonction d'agent du gouvernement dans leurs distributions.

16. Autres modalités

Aucune

Date de modification :