Contribution for Inuit Counselling in the South: Terms and Conditions

Table of contents

1. Introduction

The federal government continues to recognize the need to fund outreach programs and other services offered to Inuit living in southern Canada. The services provided assure counselling-type services to the Inuit who have moved from isolated northern areas into a highly complex urban environment in southern Canada.

These terms and conditions are specifically targeted to Aboriginal people.

2. Legal and Policy Authority

Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Act, R.S.C. 1985 c. I-6, s. 4;

3. Purpose, Objectives and Expected Results

The principal purpose of the contribution for Inuit counselling in the South is to fund core activities of eligible recipients to improve the quality of life for Inuit people in urban environments by offering services indirectly through an establishment of a voluntary, predominantly Inuit Centre, established to deal with social, cultural and adjustment needs of the Inuit.

Counselling service and programming tailored to Inuit needs are expected to reduce the incidence of severe socio-economic problems that may arise when relocating to a largely different geographic and cultural area. Furthermore, it is expected that local Inuit will assume increasing administrative responsibility for these programs, increasing their capacity to manage their own affairs. An improved quality of life for relocated Inuit is a key outcome.

In the Program Activity Architecture, this authority is listed under: The North/Healthy Northern Communities.

4. Eligibility

Community-based Inuit friendship and cultural centres based in southern Canada, which offer Inuit programming.

Activities related to Inuit counselling and programs are eligible under these terms and conditions.

5. Type and Nature of Eligible Expenditures

Expenditures which are, in the opinion of the Department, reasonable and necessary for the recipient organization to carry out approved activities related to counselling and programs, including salaries and benefits to employees and casual workers, contract costs for administrative services, professional fees, rental of office and meeting space, communications, photocopying and printing, office supplies, travel, including meals and accommodations and other administrative costs are eligible.

6. Total Canadian Government Funding and Stacking Limits

Proposals for funding from each recipient shall address the requirement for the recipient to declare any and all prospective sources of funding for the program or project, inclusive of all federal, provincial, territorial or municipal governments (total government assistance) and other sources that is expected to be received. Annual financial reporting shall show all sources of funding received. Maximum funding by DIAND and total maximum total government assistance is 100% for eligible programs and projects.

7. Method for Determining the Amount of Funding

Funding is determined, within the maximum amount payable, following a review of expenditures which are, in the opinion of the Department, reasonable and necessary for the recipient organization.

8. Maximum Amounts Payable

The maximum annual payment total for any single eligible recipient, including any amendments to the original transfer payment agreement, will be $80,000.00 per annum.

9. Basis on Which Payments will be Made

Contributions are normally paid on the basis of achievement or performance objectives or as reimbursement of expenditures incurred. Payments are made based on a cash flow forecast from the recipient.

10. Application Requirements and Assessment Criteria

Prior to applying for contribution funding, the recipient shall establish which programming is expected to be offered. When the application for a contribution is approved, the recipient shall enter into a contribution agreement, having such form and content as the Minister considers necessary or appropriate, but including at least the following:

11. Due Diligence and Reporting

DIAND has internal control procedures, systems and human resources to ensure due diligence is properly exercised when verifying eligibility for Contributions for Inuit counselling in the South.

DIAND's program management has the responsibility of liaising with eligible recipients to ensure that the program and financial terms and conditions are understood, management and funding arrangements are in place, reporting requirements are understood and met, monitoring activities are carried out in accordance with established directives and guidelines, operating a process to review recipients' annual audited financial statements are reviewed and results are reported.

Performance Measurement Strategies are also being developed for all programs, consistent with the requirements in the Policy on Transfer Payments, as part of the phased-in approach to implement the renewed Policy on Transfer Payments.

12. Official Languages

Where a program supports activities that may be delivered to members of either official language community, access to services from the recipient will be provided in both official languages where there is significant demand and Part IV of the Official Languages Act is applicable. In addition, the department will ensure that the design and the delivery of programs respect the obligations of the Government of Canada as set out in Part VII of the Official Languages Act.

13. Intellectual Property

Where a contribution is provided for the development of material in which copyright subsists, conditions for shared rights between the recipient and the crown will be set out in the funding agreement.

14. Repayable Contributions

Provisions for repayable contributions do not apply. Any contributions made to private firms under these programs are not intended to generate profits or to increase the value of a business.

15. Redistribution of Contributions

Where a recipient delegates authority or further distributes contribution funding to an agency or a third party (such as an authority, board, committee, or other entity authorized to act on behalf of the recipient), the recipient shall remain liable to the Department for the performance of its obligations under the funding agreement. Neither the objectives of the programs and services nor the expectations of transparent, fair and equitable services shall be compromised by any delegation or redistribution of contribution funding.

Recipients have full independence in the selection of such third parties and will not be acting as an agent of the government in making distributions.

16. Other Terms and Conditions

None

Date modified:

Contribution au titre de services de consultation fournis aux Inuits dans le Sud : Modalités

Table des matières

1. Introduction

Le gouvernement fédéral continue de reconnaître la nécessité de financer les programmes d'extension et les autres services offerts aux Inuits dans le Sud du Canada. Les services fournis garantissent des services de consultation aux Inuits qui ont quitté les régions nordiques éloignées pour s'installer dans un environnement urbain très complexe du Sud du Canada.

Ces modalités sont spécialement conçues pour les Autochtones.

2. Autorisation légale et politique

Loi sur le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, L.R.C. 1985, chI-6, alinéa 4

3. But, objectifs du programme et résultats attendus

L'objectif principal de la contribution pour les services de consultation à l'intention des Inuits dans le Sud du Canada est de financer les activités de base des bénéficiaires admissibles en vue d'améliorer la qualité de vie des Inuits qui vivent dans les milieux urbains en leur offrant indirectement des services grâce à la mise sur pied d'un centre de bénévoles, principalement inuit, conçu pour répondre à leurs besoins sociaux, culturels et d'adaptation.

Il est prévu que les services et les programmes de consultation conçus spécialement pour répondre aux besoins des Inuits réduiront l'incidence de problèmes socioéconomiques graves qui peuvent survenir lors du transfert dans un milieu géographique et culturel extrêmement différent. De plus, on s'attend à ce que les Inuits locaux s'acquittent des responsabilités administratives croissantes relatives à ces programmes, ce qui leur permettra d'accroître leur capacité à gérer leurs propres affaires. Le principal objectif est d'offrir une meilleure qualité de vie aux Inuits réinstallés.

Dans le cadre de l'architecture des activités de programmes, cette autorisation est inscrite sous la rubrique : Le Nord — Collectivités nordiques en santé.

4. Admissibilité

Centres d'accueil et culturels inuits communautaires du Sud du Canada qui proposent des programmes à l'intention des Inuits.

Toute activité liée aux services de consultation et aux programmes à l'intention des Inuits est admissible au titre des présentes modalités.

5. Type et nature des dépenses admissibles

Les dépenses admissibles sont celles qui, selon le Ministère, sont jugées raisonnables et nécessaires pour que l'organisme bénéficiaire mène les activités autorisées liées à la consultation et aux programmes, y compris le versement de salaires et d'avantages sociaux aux employés et aux travailleurs occasionnels, les coûts contractuels de services d'administration, les frais professionnels, les frais de location de bureaux et de salles de réunion, et les coûts de communication, de photocopie et d'impression, de fournitures de bureau, de déplacement, dont les repas et l'hébergement, ainsi que les autres frais administratifs.

6. Aide financière totale du gouvernement du Canada et limites sur le cumul

Les propositions de financement exigent de chaque bénéficiaire qu'il déclare toute source prévue de financement pour le programme ou le projet, y compris les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux ou territoriaux, les administrations municipales (aide gouvernementale totale) ou autre. Le rapport financier annuel indiquera toutes les sources de financement perçues. Le financement maximum d'AINC et le financement total maximum du gouvernement équivalent à 100 % pour les programmes ou les projets admissibles.

7. Méthode de calcul du montant de financement

Le financement est déterminé, d'après le montant maximum payable, en fonction d'une révision des dépenses qui, selon le Ministère, doivent être raisonnables et nécessaires pour l'organisme bénéficiaire.

8. Montants maximaux payables

Le montant total maximum payable à un bénéficiaire admissible unique, y compris toute modification à l'entente de paiement de transfert originale, sera de l'ordre de 80 000 $ par année.

9. Base selon laquelle les paiements seront versés

En général, les contributions sont versées en fonction de l'atteinte des objectifs de rendement ou en remboursement des dépenses engagées. Les paiements sont effectués selon les prévisions de trésorerie du bénéficiaire.

10. Exigences relatives aux demandes et critères d'évaluation

Avant de faire une demande de financement sous forme de contribution, le bénéficiaire doit établir quel programme il prévoit offrir. Lorsque la demande de financement sous forme de contribution est approuvée, le bénéficiaire doit conclure un accord de contribution, dont le format et le contenu doivent être tels que jugés nécessaires ou appropriés par le ministre. L'accord doit toutefois comprendre, sans s'y limiter :

11. Diligence raisonnable et production de rapports

Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC) dispose de procédures et de systèmes de contrôle internes ainsi que de ressources humaines pour veiller à ce qu'une diligence raisonnable soit exercée adéquatement au moment de vérifier l'admissibilité aux Contributions au titre de services de consultation fournis aux Inuits dans le Sud.

Les responsables de la gestion du programme d'AINC ont la responsabilité de travailler en collaboration avec les bénéficiaires afin de veiller à ce que les modalités du programme et les conditions financières soient bien comprises, que les dispositions en matière de gestion et de financement soient en place, que les exigences en matière de rapports soient bien comprises et respectées, que la supervision des activités soit effectuée conformément aux directives établies et que les états financiers vérifiés annuels des bénéficiaires soient révisés et que les résultats soient consignés dans un rapport.

En outre, des stratégies de mesure du rendement sont élaborées pour tous les programmes, conformément aux exigences de la Politique sur les paiements de transfert, dans le cadre de l'approche progressive pour la mise en œuvre du renouvellement de la Politique sur les paiements de transfert.

12. Langues officielles

Si un programme appuie des activités susceptible d'être offertes aux members de l'une ou l'autre collectivité de langue officielle, les services du bénéficiare doivent être offerts dans les deux langues officielles lorsque la demande est importante et que la partie IV de la Loi sue les langues officielles est applicable. De plus, le Ministère veillera à ce que la conception et la mise en oeuvre des programmes respectent les obligations du gouvernement du Canada prescrites à la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles.

13. Propriété intellectuelle

Lorsqu'une subvention ou une contribution est offerte pour la rédaction de documents pour lesquels il existe un droit d'auteur, les conditions touchant les droits communs seront énoncées dans l'accord de financement.

14. Contributions remboursables

Les dispositions portant sur les contributions remboursables ne s'appliquent pas. Les contributions offertes à des entreprises privées dans le cadre de ces programmes, initiatives et projets n'ont pas pour but de leur faire générer des profits ou d'augmenter la valeur de ces entreprises.

15. Redistribution des contributions

Lorsqu'un bénéficiaire délègue son pouvoir ou distribue ses fonds de contribution à un organisme tiers (qu'il s'agisse d'une administration, d'un conseil, d'un comité ou d'un autre organisme autorisé à agir en son nom), il demeure responsable envers le Ministère de l'exécution de ses obligations liées à l'entente de financement. Ni les objectifs des programmes et services, ni l'attente d'un service transparent, juste et équitable ne peuvent être compromis par la délégation ou la redistribution des fonds de contribution.

Les bénéficiaires choisissent en toute indépendance les tierces parties et ne font pas fonction d'agent du gouvernement dans leurs distributions.

16. Autres modalités

Aucune

Date de modification :