Grants to First Nations to settle specific and special claims negotiated by Canada and/or awarded by the Specific Claims Tribunal: Terms and Conditions

Table of contents

1. Introduction

"Specific claims" are claims made by a First Nation against the federal government which relate to the administration of land or other First Nation assets and to the fulfillment of Indian treaties. The primary objective of the Specific Claims Policy is to discharge outstanding legal obligations of the federal government through negotiated settlement agreements.

In 2007, this government launched Justice at Last, an historic initiative intended to address significant process deficiencies that had resulted in a large and growing backlog of unresolved claims. Justice at Last is based on 3 major pillars:

  1. the Specific Claims Tribunal (the Tribunal), an independent adjudicative body established by statute in October, 2008 with the authority to make binding decisions in respect to the validity of claims and compensation to a maximum value of $150 million per claim;
  2. the Specific Claims Settlement Fund (Settlement Fund), created in December 2008 and resourced at that time at $250 million annually for 10 years to pay out settlement agreements and awards of the Tribunal; and
  3. a fundamental reform of internal processes based on 3 year operational frame works for the assessment and settlement of claims consistent with time frames set out in the Specific Claims Tribunal Act.

A less common category of claims known as special claims exists. Special claims are those claims, the substance of which does not fall precisely within the gambit of the specific or comprehensive policies, but for which compelling legal, moral, political and policy reasons exist to respond to them. Special claims require a separate source of funds and are not paid out of the funds for the settlement of specific claims.

2. Legal and Policy Authority

Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Act, R.S.C., 1985, c.I-6., s. 4

Specific Claims Tribunal Act, R.S.C., 2008, c. 22.

3. Purpose, Program Objectives and Expected Results

The overall objective is to ensure that specific and special claims are resolved with finality in a faster, fairer, and more transparent way. Achievement of this goal will be supported by:

Results will be achieved in three fundamental areas: review and assessment stage; assessment of validity; and negotiations.

As defined in section 16 (1) of the Specific Claims Tribunal Act, a First Nation may file a claim with the Tribunal only if the claim has been previously filed with the Minister and:

  1. the Minister has notified the First Nation in writing of his or her decision not to negotiate the claim, in whole or in part;
  2. three years have elapsed after the day on which the claim was filed with the Minister and the Minister has not notified the First Nation in writing of his or her decision on whether to negotiate the claim;
  3. in the course of negotiating the claim, the Minister consents in writing to the filing of the claim with the Tribunal; or
  4. three years have elapsed after the day on which the Minister has notified the First Nation in writing of the Minister’s decision to negotiate the claim, in whole or in part, and the claim has not been resolved by a final settlement agreement.

Successful achievement of the results will be supported by the observance of these time limits for addressing specific claims at each stage:

This process will support the expected results of the Aboriginal Rights and Interests Program Activity under The Government Strategic Outcome by achieving specific claims settlements and avoiding costly litigation for all parties.

The key results that DIAND plans to achieve are:

These results will contribute to the achievement of the long term outcomes of Canada’s Action Plan as follows:

A Performance Measurement Strategy has been developed to support Canada’s Action Plan on the resolution of Specific Claims. This Performance Measurement Strategy includes a plan for the collection of data for ongoing performance monitoring and measurement that will enable the Director General of the Specific Claims Branch to report on the progress towards achieving the planned objectives and outcomes. DIAND has the primary responsibility for monitoring, data collection and reporting and will use certain data and information supplied by officials of the Department of Justice as well as information from the Registry of the Specific Claims Tribunal.

Key performance measures identified in the Performance Measurement Strategy include:

The related indicators are:

The implementation of Canada’s Action Plan is subject to on-going performance monitoring by the Specific Claims Program management and an evaluation by DIAND’s Audit and Evaluation Sector as well as a review on compliance with the Treasury Board Policy on Transfer Payments. Performance results will be reported in DIAND’s Report on Plans and Priorities and in the Departmental Performance Report.

In the Program Activity Architecture, this authority is listed under The Government / Aboriginal Rights and Interests

4. Eligibility

Eligible recipients

  1. First Nations and individuals pursuant to the Indian Act and the Specific Claims Tribunal Act. Individual means those individual members who chose the severalty route, that is those who chose to live outside a reserve but are entitled to receive lands pursuant to Treaty No.8;
  2. Associations of Rural Municipalities for payment to Rural Municipalities for the loss of their tax base as a result of the Settlement of Treaty Land Entitlement Claims; and
  3. Provinces for the Payment to School Districts of compensation for the loss of their tax base as a result of the settlement of Treaty Land Entitlement claims or for the payment in relation to severalty claims.

Eligible Initiatives and Projects

Specific and Special Settlement Agreements achieved by Canada with First Nations.

Decisions that award monetary compensation rendered by the Specific Claims Tribunal.

5. Type and Nature of Eligible Expenditures

The eligible expenditures will be compensation to First Nations as negotiated by Canada and stipulated in settlement agreements; and monetary compensation established by the Specific Claims Tribunal to First Nations. Funds will be used to cover the costs of: specific claims settlement payments that have either been negotiated by Canada, including those settled after being filed with the Specific Claims Tribunal, or awarded by the Specific Claims Tribunal; interest attributable to Canada’s payment of settlements in instalments; reimbursing Canada for loans obtained by First Nations to participate in negotiations; and surveys, and environmental assessments conducted on Canada’s behalf when there is a land component in a negotiated settlement agreement. Loans obtained pursuant to the Loans to Native Claimants program will be deducted from the total financial compensation. The Tribunal shall deduct from any award of costs in favour of the claimant, any amount provided to the claimant by the Crown for the purpose of bringing the claim before the Tribunal. If the compensation is to be paid out in installments (multi-year payments), interests costs will also be included.

Funds, not from the Specific Claims Settlement Fund, will also be used for Special Claims for the same eligible expenditures as Specific Claims.

Due to the nature of the payments, the use of monetary compensation received by a First Nation are not subject to expenditure control by either Canada or the Specific Claims Tribunal. These payments are designed to achieve full and final settlement of a specific claim and are not considered Indian Moneys pursuant to the Indian Act. Charges to the specific claims settlement fund can include settlement agreements negotiated by Canada or awarded by the Specific Claims Tribunal (including amounts to recover negotiation loans) and in special circumstances, interest on settlement payments made by instalments not exceeding a five-year period from the date of the award by the Specific Claims Tribunal or as negotiated by Canada. In return, Canada will receive a full indemnification/release from the claimant Indian Band on all issues pertaining to the specific claim settled. In addition, a First Nation receiving monetary compensation from the Specific Claims Tribunal will be required to release and indemnify Canada related to their specific claims before the tribunal.

6. Total Canadian Government Funding and Stacking Limits

Total government assistance for the same purpose and eligible expenditures shall not exceed 100% of the eligible expenditures.

7. Method for Determining the Amount of Funding

The grant amount is determined through a settlement agreement between Canada and the claimant First Nation or through monetary awards established by the Specific Claims Tribunal.

8. Maximum Amount Payable

The maximum amount payable to the eligible recipients will not exceed the amount appropriated by Parliament for this purpose.

The maximum amount payable is $150 million per claim. The compensation determined by a settlement agreement between Canada and the claimant First Nation and monetary awards established by the Specific Claims Tribunal will typically be paid in one lump-sum. However, special circumstances may occur where scheduled payments are necessary. For example, the Specific Claims Tribunal could issue several decisions establishing monetary awards and Canada could achieve several settlement agreements in a given fiscal year. In this instance Canada may be obliged to make instalment payments until the Specific Claims Settlement Fund is replenished through Supplementary Estimates. In all instances, Canada will reserve the right to pay out all outstanding amounts.

9. Basis on which Payments will be made

Payments are made in accordance with the terms and conditions detailed in negotiated agreements. Compensation payable pursuant to a settlement agreement and/or established by the Specific Claims Tribunal will be paid in one lump sum. Only under special circumstances will payments be made in instalments and, pursuant to the Specific Claims Tribunal Act, the schedule of payments will be for a maximum of five years.

10. Application Requirements and Assessment Criteria

A specific claim must be submitted and filed with the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and must meet reasonable standards with respect to the type of information required.

11. Due Diligence and Reporting

The evaluation process or criteria to be used to assess the effectiveness of the program will be addressed through the Performance Measurement Strategy. This examination may include, but is not limited to: programming/initiative rationale, success, cost-effectiveness, design and delivery, results achieved, and the nature of impacts and effects resulting from the implementation of the initiative.

12. Official Languages

Where a program supports activities that may be delivered to members of either official language community, access to services from the recipient will be provided in both official languages where there is significant demand and Part IV of the Official Languages Act is applicable. In addition, the department will ensure that the design and the delivery of programs respect the obligations of the Government of Canada as set out in Part VII of the Official Languages Act.

13. Other Terms and Conditions

None.

Date modified:

Subventions aux Premières Nations pour le règlement de revendications particulières et spéciales négocié par le Canada ou imposé par le Tribunal des revendications particulières : Modalités

Table des matières

1. Introduction

Les « revendications particulières » correspondent à des revendications formulées par des Premières Nations à l’encontre du gouvernement fédéral relativement à l’administration des terres et d’autres biens des Premières Nations et à la réalisation des traités conclus avec les Indiens. Le principal objectif de la Politique sur les revendications particulières consiste à permettre au gouvernement fédéral d’honorer ses obligations légales par l’entremise d’ententes de règlements négociés.

En 2007, le gouvernement a lancé La justice enfin, une initiative historique visant à corriger d’importantes lacunes dans le processus qui ont entraîné un arriéré énorme et croissant des revendications non résolues. La justice, enfin est fondée sur trois principaux piliers :

  1. le Tribunal des revendications particulières (le Tribunal), qui est un organisme d’arbitrage indépendant, créé par une loi en octobre 2008, habilité à rendre des décisions exécutoires concernant la validité des revendications et à attribuer des compensations pécuniaires jusqu’à concurrence de 150 millions de dollars par revendication;
  2. le Fonds de règlement des revendications particulières (le Fonds de règlement), créé en décembre 2008 et disposant de 250 millions de dollars par année, sur 10 ans, pour payer ce qui est dû à l’issue des ententes de règlement et les dépens adjugés par le Tribunal; et
  3. une réforme fondamentale des processus internes fondés sur des cadres de travail triennaux pour l’évaluation et le règlement des revendications, conformément aux délais impartis dans la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières.

Il existe une autre catégorie moins courante de revendications connues sous le nom de revendications spéciales. Les revendications spéciales sont des revendications dont la substance ne relève pas précisément de politiques spécifiques ou globales, mais pour lesquelles il existe des raisons juridiques, morales, politiques et stratégiques incontestables de les traiter. Les revendications spéciales exigent une source de financement distincte et ne sont pas payées à même les fonds dédiés au règlement des revendications particulières.

2. Autorisation légale et politique

Loi sur le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, L.R.C., 1985, ch. I-6, art. 4

Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières, L.R.C., 2008, ch. 22

3. But, objectifs du programme et résultats attendus

L’objectif global est de s’assurer que chaque revendication particulière est réglée de façon définitive plus rapidement, plus équitablement et de façon plus transparente. L’atteinte de cet objectif sera appuyée par :

Des résultats seront atteints dans trois domaines fondamentaux : l’étape de l’examen et de l’évaluation, l’évaluation de la validité et les négociations.

Au sens du paragraphe 16 (1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières, une Première Nation ne peut saisir le Tribunal d’une revendication que si elle l’a préalablement déposée auprès du ministre et que celui-ci, selon le cas :

  1. l’a avisée par écrit de son refus de négocier le règlement de tout ou partie de la revendication;
  2. ne l’a pas avisée par écrit, dans les trois ans suivant la date de dépôt de la revendication, de son acceptation ou de son refus de négocier un tel règlement;
  3. a consenti par écrit, à toute étape de la négociation du règlement, à ce que le Tribunal soit saisi de la revendication; ou
  4. l’a avisée par écrit de son acceptation de négocier un tel règlement, mais qu’aucun accord définitif n’en a découlé dans les trois ans suivant l’avis.

L’atteinte des résultats attendus sera favorisée par l’observation des délais prévus suivants pour le traitement des revendications particulières à chaque étape :

Ce processus contribuera à l’atteinte des résultats attendus de l’activité de programme Relations de coopération sous le résultat stratégique Le gouvernement par l’atteinte des règlements des revendications particulières en évitant des actions en justice coûteuses pour toutes les parties en cause.

Les résultats clés qu’AADNC entend obtenir sont les suivants :

Ces résultats contribueront à l’atteinte des résultats à long terme suivants du plan d’action du Canada :

Une stratégie de mesure du rendement a été élaborée pour soutenir le plan d’action du Canada qui vise le règlement des revendications particulières. Cette stratégie de mesure du rendement comporte un plan pour la collecte des données pour l’exécution des activités continues de surveillance et de mesure du rendement qui permettront au directeur général de la Direction générale des revendications particulières de rendre compte des progrès en ce qui a trait à la réalisation des objectifs et des résultats attendus. AADNC est le principal responsable de la surveillance, de la collecte de données et de la présentation de rapports, et il utilisera un certain nombre de données et de renseignements fournis par des représentants du ministère de la Justice ainsi que de l’information provenant du greffe du Tribunal des revendications particulières.

Les principales mesures de rendement indiquées dans la stratégie de mesure du rendement englobent les suivantes :

Les indicateurs connexes sont :

La mise en œuvre du plan d’action du Canada est soumise à une surveillance continue de son rendement par la direction du programme des revendications particulières et à une évaluation par des représentants du Secteur de la vérification et de l’évaluation d’AADNC, ainsi qu’à une vérification de la conformité à la Politique sur les paiements de transfert du Conseil du Trésor. Les résultats du rendement seront présentés dans le rapport sur les plans et les priorités et le rapport ministériel sur le rendement d’AADNC.

Dans l’architecture des activités de programme, cette autorité est incluse sous Le gouvernement / Les droits et les intérêts des Autochtones.

4. Admissibilité

Bénéficiaires admissibles

  1. Les membres et collectivités des Premières Nations (la mise à jour est fondée sur le document terminologique recommandé), conformément à la Loi sur les Indiens et à la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières. Par membres individuels, on entend les membres qui choisissent d’acquérir des terres à titre individuel, c’est-à-dire qui choisissent de vivre à l’extérieur d’une réserve, mais sont en droit de se voir accorder des terres en vertu du Traité no 8;
  2. Les associations de municipalités rurales pour le paiement aux municipalités rurales d’une indemnité ayant trait à la perte de leur assiette fiscale par suite du règlement de revendications relatives à des droits fonciers issus des traités; et
  3. Les provinces pour le paiement aux districts scolaires ruraux d’une indemnité ayant trait à la perte de leur assiette fiscale par suite du règlement de revendications relatives à des droits fonciers issus de traités ou pour le paiement associé à des revendications de terres en particulier.

Projets et initiatives admissibles

Les ententes sur le règlement de revendications particulières et spéciales conclues entre le Canada et les Premières Nations.

Les décisions relatives à l’octroi d’une indemnité financière rendues par le Tribunal des revendications particulières.

5. Type et nature des dépenses admissibles

Les dépenses admissibles comprennent les indemnités accordées aux Premières Nations telles que négociées par le Canada et stipulées dans les ententes de règlement, et les indemnités financières établies par le Tribunal des revendications particulières pour les Premières Nations. Ces fonds serviront à couvrir les coûts : des paiements pour les règlements de revendications particulières négociées par le Canada, notamment celles qui ont été réglées après avoir été déposées auprès du Tribunal des revendications particulières ou imposées par le Tribunal des revendications particulières; des intérêts accumulés attribuables au paiement par le Canada des règlements par versements échelonnés; des remboursements au Canada des prêts obtenus par les Premières Nations pour participer aux négociations; des évaluations environnementales et des levés effectués au nom du Canada lorsque les ententes de règlement négociées comportent un volet foncier. Les prêts obtenus conformément au Programme des prêts à des requérants autochtones seront déduits du montant total des indemnités financières. Le Tribunal déduit des dépenses imputées au requérant les sommes que celui-ci a reçues de Sa Majesté pour lui permettre de saisir le Tribunal de sa revendication. Si les indemnités doivent être payées par versements échelonnés (paiements pluriannuels), les intérêts seront également inclus.

Les fonds, qui ne proviennent pas du Fonds de règlement des revendications particulières, seront également utilisés pour les revendications spéciales afin de couvrir les mêmes dépenses admissibles que celles des revendications particulières.

En raison de la nature des paiements, les indemnités financières reçues par une Première Nation ne sont pas soumises à un contrôle des dépenses par le Canada ou le Tribunal des revendications particulières. Ces paiements sont destinés à conclure un règlement complet et définitif de la revendication particulière et ne sont pas considérés comme de l’argent des Indiens au sens de la Loi sur les Indiens. Les frais imputés au Fonds de règlement des revendications particulières peuvent inclure les ententes de règlement négociées par le Canada ou imposées par le Tribunal des revendications particulières (y compris les montants pour le recouvrement des prêts accordés pour les négociations) et, dans certaines circonstances, les intérêts des paiements de règlement faits par versements échelonnés n’excédant pas une période de cinq ans à compter de la date de la décision du Tribunal des revendications particulières ou comme il a été négocié par le Canada. En contrepartie, le Canada recevra une indemnisation complète ou une libération de la bande indienne requérante sur toutes les questions relatives à la revendication particulière réglée. De plus, une Première Nation qui reçoit une indemnité financière accordée par le Tribunal des revendications particulières devra dégager de toute responsabilité et indemniser le Canada en ce qui a trait à leurs revendications particulières devant le Tribunal.

6. Aide financière totale du gouvernement du Canada et limites sur le cumul

L’aide gouvernementale totale pour les mêmes fins et les mêmes dépenses admissibles ne peut excéder 100 % des dépenses admissibles.

7. Méthode de calcul du montant de financement

Le montant des subventions accordées est déterminé en vertu d’une entente de règlement conclue entre le Canada et la Première Nation requérante ou en vertu des indemnités établies par le Tribunal des revendications particulières.

8. Montants maximaux payables

Les montants maximaux payables aux bénéficiaires admissibles ne peuvent pas dépasser le montant voté par le Parlement à cette fin.

Le montant maximal payable est de 150 millions de dollars par revendication. L’indemnité déterminée par une entente de règlement entre le Canada et la Première Nation requérante et les indemnités financières établies par le Tribunal des revendications particulières seront habituellement versées sous la forme d’un paiement forfaitaire. Il peut cependant y avoir des circonstances particulières dans lesquelles il est nécessaire d’effectuer des versements périodiques. Par exemple, le Tribunal des revendications particulières peut rendre plusieurs décisions imposant des indemnités financières, et le Canada peut conclure plusieurs ententes de règlement au cours d’un exercice donné. Dans ce cas, le Canada peut être obligé d’effectuer des paiements par versements échelonnés jusqu’à ce que le Fonds de règlement des revendications particulières soit réapprovisionné par l’entremise du budget supplémentaire des dépenses. Dans tous les cas, le Canada se réserve le droit de payer tous les montants arriérés.

9. Base selon laquelle les paiements seront versés

Les paiements sont effectués conformément aux modalités décrites de manière détaillée dans les ententes négociées. Les indemnités payables en vertu d’une entente de règlement ou d’une décision du Tribunal des revendications particulières seront versées sous la forme d’un paiement forfaitaire. Ce n’est que dans des circonstances particulières que les paiements seront effectués par versements échelonnés, et, conformément à la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières, le calendrier des paiements s’échelonnera sur une période d’au plus cinq ans.

10. Exigences relatives aux demandes et critères d’évaluation

Une revendication particulière doit être soumise et déposée auprès du ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord Canada et doit respecter des normes raisonnables en ce qui a trait au type d’information requise.

11. Diligence raisonnable et production de rapports

Le processus d’évaluation ou les critères qui serviront à évaluer l’efficacité du programme seront traités dans le cadre de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement. Cet examen portera notamment sur la raison d’être du programme ou de l’initiative, la réussite, le rapport coût-efficacité, la conception et l’exécution, les résultats obtenus et la nature des incidences et des effets découlant de la mise en œuvre de l’initiative ou du programme.

12. Langues officielles

Si un programme appuie des activités susceptibles d’être offertes aux membres de l’une ou l’autre collectivité de langue officielle, les services du bénéficiaire doivent être offerts dans les deux langues officielles lorsque la demande est importante et que la partie IV de la Loi sur les langues officielles est applicable. De plus, le Ministère veillera à ce que la conception et la mise en œuvre des programmes respectent les obligations du gouvernement du Canada prescrites à la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles.

13. Autres modalités

Aucune.

Date de modification :