Contributions to First Nations for the Management of Contaminated Sites

Terms and Conditions

1.0 Introduction

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) has developed a policy and program for managing contaminated sites within its jurisdiction. The following objectives apply to the Indian and Inuit Affairs Program (IIAP):

To manage contaminated sites by following the Treasury Board Policy on the Management of Real Property, and by applying the Contaminated Sites Management Working Group's "Federal Approach to Contaminated Sites" and its recommended guidelines and standards — including those from the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) and the Canadian Standards Association (CSA);

To apply the following criteria in determining the priority for managing contaminated sites:

  • human health and safety;
  • legal and claims obligations ;
  • significant impacts on the environment;
  • concerns of First Nations and other stakeholders;

To work collaboratively with First Nations and other entities to manage contaminated sites located on reserve lands and on any other lands under INAC's custodial responsibility;

To manage the Department's current and future policies and programs in order to prevent future liabilities to the Crown from the creation of new contaminated sites; and 

To follow the federal "polluter pays" principle.

Funds for the management of IIAP contaminated sites are considered a departmental funding pressure and will be prioritized against all other departmental funding pressures through risk analysis and risk management. INAC's Minister, on the recommendation of INAC Executive Management, will determine which pressures to fund, in whole, or in part, each fiscal year.

Site specific priorities will be determined on the basis of data generated by the Environmental Stewardship Strategy Information Management System (ESSIMS) and criteria under the National Contaminated Sites Classification System (NCSCS). The details of the delivery structure and ESSIMS can be found in the Annex B (RMAF). Remediation work will be carried out in accordance with regional management plans, and projects will be funded through contribution agreements between each individual First Nation and the Department. The amount of funding to be provided under any agreement with a First Nation will be based upon an environmental assessment of the work required.

2.0 Legal and Policy Authority

  • Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Act, R.S.C. 1985 c. I-6, s. 4;

3. Purpose, Objectives and Expected Results

The objective of this contribution program is to ensure the removal of known contamination from NCSCS Class 1 and Class 2 sites for which a Crown liability has been established and documented.

Class 1 sites are contaminated sites where available information (assessment) indicates that action is required to address existing concerns for public health and safety. Class 2 sites are those sites where available information (assessment) indicates that there is a high potential for adverse off-site impacts, although threat to human health and the environment (public health and safety) is generally not imminent and action is likely required.

4.0 Eligibility

First Nations living on lands with known NCSCS Class 1 or Class 2 contaminated sites, Bands/Settlements and Communities, District Councils / Chief Councils, Tribal Councils, First Nations Organizations, Associations and Institutions will be eligible to receive this funding.

5.0 Type and Nature of Eligible Expenditures

Eligible expenditures under the Contaminated Sites Management Program can be generally divided into environmental site assessment, remediation and preventive activities. These activities are detailed below.

Environmental Site Assessment:
Types of expenditures would include site visits, report writing for recommendations and record keeping, sampling and lab analysis of potential contaminates and the installation and operation of monitoring wells.

Remediation:
Types of expenditure anticipated would include site work using heavy equipment for excavation, removal, stock-piling, grading and transportation of contaminates; monitoring wells, sampling and lab analysis for assessing remediation results; and report writing for verification, confirmation and record keeping.

Preventative Actions:
Types of expenditure anticipated would include site visits, data collection and report writing for the development of inventories; repairs, replacement or decommissioning of assets to minimize or eliminate releases or emissions that may result in contaminated sites; and awareness sessions, training processes and communication mechanisms to owner/operators of assets that may through their operations and practices result in a contaminated site if not operated in a due diligent manner.

Any of the above noted activities may also include the use of consultants, engineers or any other necessary expertise.

6.0 Total Canadian Government Funding and Stacking Limits

Stacking provisions do not apply, as DIAND is the only source of funds for the planned remediation activity.

7.0 Method for Determining the Amount of Funding

Contaminated Sites Management Program funding allocations for environmental site assessment, remediation, risk management and long term monitoring are prioritized regionally and nationally by taking into account various factors such as site classification score, human and/or ecological health receptors and type of land use (ex. residential). Funding is limited by the amount of available funds. Other factors that further determine funding allocations include legal obligations, economic development opportunities, and cost-sharing opportunities.

Pollution Prevention funding is determined based on review and consideration of the proposal, and taking into account: the relevance of the proposal to the program’s objectives and expected results; expected economic benefits accruing to Aboriginal individuals, business or communities; and the demonstrated need for federal funding. Contributions will be determined based on the minimum level amount to ensure that the project or initiative is realized in accordance with the proposed time-frame, scope and location. Funding will be limited by the amount of available funds.

8.0 Maximum Amounts Payable

The maximum amount payable under the Contaminated Sites Management Program (Responsible Federal Stewardship program activity) for each project is $10 million annually.

9.0 Basis on Which Payments will be Made

Payments are made monthly based on a cash flow forecast from the recipient. Where advance payments are necessary, they are limited to the immediate cash requirements of the recipient and do not exceed the payment frequency set out in the provisions of the Cash Management Policy.

DIAND may hold back a minimum of 10 percent of the funds allocated to a recipient until all milestones and financial reports have been reached or received and approved by both regional and headquarters officials. The final payment of this contribution is released only when both regional and headquarters officials are satisfied that the project has been completed and agreed upon reports have been received. Audited financial statements are requested in the terms and conditions of the contribution agreement. Audits are reviewed by the regional office.

Any surplus or other amount owing by the recipient to the Minister is a debt due and payable on the date the audit is due. DIAND shall notify the recipient in writing of the amount owing and may thereafter set off such amount against any amount payable by DIAND to the recipient.

10.0 Application Requirements and Assessment Criteria

Before entering into a funding arrangement, DIAND shall confirm its authorities to enter into an agreement with the applicant and to fund the proposed activities.

Recipients shall comply with the Conflict of Interest and Post-employment Code for the Public Service and the Conflict of Interest and Post-employment Code for Public Office Holders. Where an applicant employs or has a major shareholder who is either a current or former (in the last twelve months) public office holder or public servant in the federal government, compliance with the Code(s) must be demonstrated.

Regional offices ensure that IIAP's inventory of contaminated sites is regularly updated and that a remediation plan is ready for the commencement of any site management activities. There is an annual exercise, through which IIAP sets the priorities for remediation based on the physical status of the site and available funding. Where a site is identified on a First Nation reserve or settlement, DIAND engages the First Nation to develop a remediation plan for the year. IIAP staff monitor site activities through the assessment, remediation and monitoring phases of the planned project. Throughout the project, IIAP staff regularly update the contaminated sites inventory in order to accurately reflect the most current site status and project expenditures to date.

11.0 Due Diligence and Reporting

DIAND has in place departmental systems, procedures, authorities, controls and resources for ensuring due diligence in all aspects of the management and administration of this transfer payment program.

12.0 Official Languages

Where a program supports activities that may be delivered to members of either official language community, access to services from the recipient will be provided in both official languages where there is significant demand and Part IV of the Official Languages Act is applicable. In addition, the department will ensure that the design and the delivery of programs respect the obligations of the Government of Canada as set out in Part VII of the Official Languages Act.

13.0 Intellectual Property

Where a contribution is provided for the development of material in which copyright subsists, conditions for shared rights will be set out in the funding agreement.

14.0 Repayable Contributions

Provisions for repayable contributions do not apply. Any contributions made to private firms under these programs are not intended to generate profits or to increase the value of a business.

15.0 Redistribution of Contributions

Where a recipient delegates authority or further distributes contribution funding to an agency or a third party (such as an authority, board, committee, or other entity authorized to act on behalf of the recipient), the recipient shall remain liable to the Department for the performance of its obligations under the funding agreement. Neither the objectives of the programs and services nor the expectations of transparent, fair and equitable services shall be compromised by any delegation or redistribution of contribution funding.

Recipients have full independence in the selection of such third parties and will not be acting as an agent of the government in making distributions.

16.0 Other Terms and Conditions

The recipient shall adhere to the management and accountability regimes outlined in the agreements and include:

  • Clear statements of expectations, roles and responsibilities (including financial roles and responsibilities) for the initial and final recipients;
  • Transparent and open decision-making processes; demonstration that the eligibility requirements are being met;
  • Provision for ongoing assessment by DIAND to ensure that performance is in line with expectations and that the initial and final recipients exercise due diligence;
  • Provision for DIAND's right of access to relevant documents and premises of the initial recipient and, where warranted, the final recipient; requirements for compliance and financial audits;
  • Provision for DIAND to receive regular financial and performance reports from the initial recipient, certified by an officer of the company, including if appropriate: annual audited financial statements with an external auditor's report and opinion; specification of admissible administrative costs that can be applied to the contribution by the initial recipient based on an accounting of expenses; and any completed evaluations funded in whole or in part by the transfer payment program;
  • Provision that DIAND obtains from the initial recipient, or has ready access to, a copy of all signed agreements with final recipients; and
  • A description of the redress provisions for ultimate recipients affected by decisions of the initial recipient; provision for appropriate reviews, program evaluations and audits.

Contributions versées aux Premières Nations pour la gestion de sites contaminés : Modalités

Table des matières

1. Introduction

Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC) a élaboré une politique et un programme de gestion des sites contaminés relevant de son autorité. Les objectifs suivants s'appliquent au Programme des affaires indiennes et inuit (PAII) :

Assurer la gestion des sites contaminés en conformité avec la Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers du Conseil du Trésor et les règles prescrites dans le document intitulé Approche fédérale en matière de lieux contaminés, du Groupe de travail sur la gestion des sites contaminés, ainsi que ses directives et ses normes, dont celles du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'Environnement (CCME) et de l'Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA);

Mettre en application les critères suivants lorsque viendra le temps de définir les priorités en matière de gestion des sites contaminés :

Collaborer avec les Premières nations et les autres entités afin de gérer les sites contaminés situés sur les réserves et les autres territoires sous la responsabilité d'AINC.

Gérer les politiques et les programmes actuels et futurs du Ministère de façon à éviter que d'autres responsabilités incombent à la Couronne en raison de l'apparition de nouveaux sites contaminés.

Mettre en pratique le principe du « pollueur-payeur » en vigueur au gouvernement fédéral.

La nature prioritaire des fonds nécessaires à la gestion des sites contaminés du PAII, considérés comme une contrainte de financement pour le Ministère, sera établie par rapport à tous les autres besoins financiers par un processus d'analyse et de gestion du risque. Sur recommandation de la direction supérieure du Ministère, le sous-ministre (SM) d'AINC déterminera les besoins financiers à combler, en tout ou en partie, à chaque exercice.

Les priorités spécifiques des sites contaminés seront établies en fonction des données générées par le Système de gestion de l'information de la stratégie de gérance environnementale (SGI-SGE) et des critères du Système national de classification des sites contaminés (SNCLC). L'Annexe B livre des détails sur la structure d'exécution et le SGI-SGE (Cadre de gestion et de responsabilité fondé sur les résultats). Les travaux d'assainissement seront effectués en conformité avec les plans de gestion régionaux et les projets seront financés par voie d'accord de contribution entre chacune des Premières nations et AINC. Le montant du financement accordé en vertu d'un accord de contribution conclu avec une Première nation sera établi en fonction d'une évaluation environnementale des travaux nécessaires.

2. Autorisation légale et politique

3. But, objectifs du programme et résultats attendus

Ce programme de contribution vise à assurer l'élimination de la contamination connue de sites de classes 1 et 2, pour lesquels la responsabilité de la Couronne a été établie et documentée.

Les sites de classe 1 sont des sites contaminés nécessitant des mesures visant à répondre aux préoccupations exprimées en matière de sécurité et de santé publiques, selon l'information recueillie (évaluation). Les sites de classe 2 sont ceux qui posent un risque élevé d'impacts à l'extérieur, selon l'information recueillie (évaluation), tout en ne constituant généralement pas un danger imminent pour la santé humaine et l'environnement (santé et sécurité publiques). Ces sites vont probablement nécessiter des mesures.

4. Admissibilité

Les Premières nations vivant sur des terres reconnues comme sites contaminés de classe 1 ou 2, les bandes / peuplements et les collectivités, les conseils de district / conseils des chefs, les conseils tribaux ainsi que les organisations, les associations et les institutions des Premières nations sont admissibles à ce financement.

5. Type et nature des dépenses admissibles

Les dépenses admissibles en vertu du Programme de gestion des sites contaminés concernent généralement les activités d'évaluation environnementale, d'assainissement et de prévention. Ces activités sont détaillées ci-dessous.

Évaluation environnementale du lieu :
Les dépenses comprennent les visites du lieu, la rédaction des rapports pour recommandation ou tenue des dossiers, l'échantillonnage et l'analyse en laboratoire des matières susceptibles d'être contaminées ainsi que l'installation et l'utilisation de puits de surveillance.

Assainissement :
Les dépenses prévues comprennent l'utilisation de matériel lourd pour l'excavation, l'enlèvement, le stockage, le nivellement et le transport des matières contaminées, les puits de surveillance, l'échantillonnage et les analyses en laboratoire nécessaires pour évaluer les résultats des mesures d'assainissement ainsi que la rédaction de rapports à des fins de vérification, de confirmation et de tenue de dossiers.

Mesures préventives :
Les dépenses prévues comprennent les visites sur place, la collecte de données et la rédaction de rapports pour l'élaboration des inventaires, les réparations, le remplacement ou le déclassement d'installations nécessaires pour atténuer ou éliminer les rejets ou les émissions pouvant contaminer les sites, ainsi que des séances de sensibilisation, des activités de formation et des mécanismes de communication destinés aux propriétaires ou aux exploitants d'installations dont les activités pourraient entraîner la contamination de sites si elles ne sont pas menées de façon correcte et diligente.

Les activités énumérées ci-dessus peuvent aussi comprendre les services de conseillers, d'ingénieurs ou d'autres experts.

6. Aide financière totale du gouvernement du Canada et limites sur le cumul

Le cumul de l'aide ne s'applique pas, puisque AINC est la seule source de fonds pour l'activité d'assainissement prévue.

7. Méthode de calcul du montant de financement

Les allocations de financement du Programme de gestion des sites contaminés pour l'évaluation environnementale de sites, l'assainissement, la gestion des risques et le suivi à long terme sont priorisés au niveau régional et national, en tenant compte de divers facteurs tels que la cote de classification du site, récepteurs de santé humaine et/ou écologique et le genre d'utilisation des terres (ex. résidentiel). Le financement est limité au fonds disponibles. D'autres facteurs qui déterminent le montant des allocations de financement comprennent les obligations légales, les possibilités de développement économique, et le partage des coûts.

Le financement pour la prévention de la pollution est déterminé en fonction de l'examen de la proposition et la prise en compte de la pertinence de la proposition selon les objectifs du programme et les résultats attendus; selon les avantages économiques attendus provenant d'individus, d'entreprise ou de collectivités autochtones; et d'une justification du besoin de financement fédéral. Les contributions seront déterminées sur une base de niveau minimum pour assurer la réalisation du projet ou de l'initiative en conformité avec l'échéancier, la portée et l'emplacement. Le financement sera limité aux fonds disponibles.

8. Montants maximaux payables

La contribution maximale en vertu du Programme de gestion de sites contaminés (activité de programme Une administration fédérale responsable) est de 10 millions de dollars par année pour chaque projet.

9. Base selon laquelle les paiements seront versés

Les paiements sont effectués chaque mois en fonction des prévisions de trésorerie effectuées par le bénéficiaire. S'ils sont nécessaires, les paiements anticipés ne servent qu'à répondre aux besoins d'encaisse immédiats et ne dépassent pas la fréquence des paiements établie par les dispositions de la Politique de gestion de la trésorerie.

AINC peut retenir une tranche minimale de 10 pour cent des fonds alloués à un bénéficiaire jusqu'à ce que toutes les phases et les rapports financiers aient été exécutés et approuvés par les responsables du bureau régional et de l'administration centrale. Le paiement final de la contribution est émis seulement lorsque les responsables du bureau régional et de l'administration centrale jugent que le projet a été mené à bien et que les rapports convenus ont été reçus. Les états financiers vérifiés constituent une condition de l'accord de contribution. Les vérifications sont examinées par le bureau régional.

Tout excédent ou autre somme que le bénéficiaire doit au ministre constitue une dette, payable à la date de remise de la vérification. AINC informera par écrit le bénéficiaire de la somme due et pourra par la suite l'affecter en compensation de toute somme payable par AINC au bénéficiaire.

10. Exigences relatives aux demandes et critères d'évaluation

Avant de conclure un accord de financement, AINC confirme ses pouvoirs de conclure une entente avec le requérant et de financer les activités proposées.

Les requérants doivent respecter le Code régissant les conflits d'intérêts et l'après mandat s'appliquant à la fonction publique et le Code régissant la conduite des titulaires de charge publique en ce qui concerne les conflits d'intérêts et l'après mandat. La conformité au(x) code(s) doit être démontrée dans le cas où le requérant a pour employé ou principal actionnaire un titulaire de charge publique ou un employé de l'État (qui est présentement en poste ou l'a été au cours des 12 derniers mois).

Les bureaux régionaux s'assurent que l'inventaire des sites contaminés du PAII est mis à jour régulièrement et qu'un plan d'assainissement a été établi avant le début des activités de gestion du lieu. Lors d'un exercice annuel, le PAII fixe les priorités d'assainissement en fonction de l'état physique du lieu et des ressources financières disponibles. Lorsqu'un lieu contaminé est situé dans une réserve ou un peuplement des Premières nations, AINC demande à la Première nation d'élaborer un plan d'assainissement pour l'année. Le personnel du PAII surveille les activités menées sur place lors des phases d'évaluation, d'assainissement et de suivi du projet. Tout au long du projet, le personnel du PAII met à jour régulièrement l'inventaire des sites contaminés afin de refléter exactement la situation des sites et les dépenses des projets à ce jour.

11. Diligence raisonnable et production de rapports

AINC a établi des systèmes, méthodes, pouvoirs, contrôles et ressources garantissant une diligence raisonnable dans tous les aspects de la gestion et de l'administration de ce programme de paiement de transfert.

12. Langues officielles

Si un programme appuie des activités susceptible d'être offertes aux members de l'une ou l'autre collectivité de langue officielle, les services du bénéficiare doivent être offerts dans les deux langues officielles lorsque la demande est importante et que la partie IV de la Loi sue les langues officielles est applicable. De plus, le Ministère veillera à ce que la conception et la mise en oeuvre des programmes respectent les obligations du gouvernement du Canada prescrites à la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles.

13. Propriété intellectuelle

Lorsqu'une subvention ou une contribution est offerte pour la rédaction de documents pour lesquels il existe un droit d'auteur, les conditions touchant les droits communs seront énoncées dans l'accord de financement.

14. Contributions remboursables

Les dispositions portant sur les contributions remboursables ne s'appliquent pas. Les contributions offertes à des entreprises privées dans le cadre de ces programmes, initiatives et projets n'ont pas pour but de leur faire générer des profits ou d'augmenter la valeur de ces entreprises.

15. Redistribution des contributions

Lorsqu'un bénéficiaire délègue son pouvoir ou distribue ses fonds de contribution à un organisme tiers (qu'il s'agisse d'une administration, d'un conseil, d'un comité ou d'un autre organisme autorisé à agir en son nom), il demeure responsable envers le Ministère de l'exécution de ses obligations liées à l'entente de financement. Ni les objectifs des programmes et services, ni l'attente d'un service transparent, juste et équitable ne peuvent être compromis par la délégation ou la redistribution des fonds de contribution.

Les bénéficiaires choisissent en toute indépendance les tierces parties et ne font pas fonction d'agent du gouvernement dans leurs distributions.

16. Autres modalités

Le bénéficiaire adhère aux régimes de gestion et de responsabilité établis dans l'accord entre autres :

Date de modification :